DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments/Arguments
The amendment made to claim 1and the withdrawal of claims 9-13, as filed on September 16, 2026, are acknowledged.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks filed on September 16, 2026, with respect to applying Kim reference to amended claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the previous rejections to the claim and its dependent claims based on Kim references, as set forth in Office Action mailed on June 16, 2026, have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in this Office Action.
Applicant's arguments, see Remarks filed on September 16, 2026, applying Lee reference to amended claim 1 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that “[a]mended Claim 1 now requires depositing the metal directly on the lower surface of the polymer mold. Lee does not disclose this limitation. Rather, Lee expressly teaches forming a release layer on the pattern surface of the mold before forming the transfer material layer on the release layer (see e.g., paragraphs [0013], [0021], [0022], claim 1). The transfer material layer is therefore not directly deposited on the mold, but instead is separated from the mold by the intervening release layer”. However, as seen in the figures below disclosed by Lee, the release layer 106 is considered part of the mode, and the transfer material layer 108 is directly deposited on the mold. During patent examination, the pending claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification. Because applicant has the opportunity to amend the claims during prosecution, giving a claim its broadest reasonable interpretation will reduce the possibility that the claim, once issued, will be interpreted more broadly than is justified. Though understanding the claim language may be aided by explanations contained in the written description, it is important not to import into a claim limitations that are not part of the claim (see MPEP 2111).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US20080217819).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a method for performing nanotransfer on a substrate (abstract), the method comprising: (a) forming a polymer mold having a mold protrusion, the mold protrusion being formed on a lower surface of the polymer mold and having a predetermined pattern (layer 100 comprising a polymer group material combined with layer 106 comprising a polymer material reads on a polymer mold, paragraphs 0019-0021, Fig. 2); (b) depositing a metal directly on the lower surface of the polymer mold, to form a metal layer on the mold protrusion (metal layer 108, the outer surface of layer 106 reads on the lower surface of the polymer mold, paragraph 0022 and Fig. 3); (c) positioning the polymer mold on an upper surface of a substrate body, and heating the polymer mold a predetermined temperature and pressurizing the substrate body by a predetermined pressure for a predetermined time, so that the metal layer is transferred on the upper surface of the substrate body according to a predetermined pattern (paragraphs 0026-0028; and Figs. 6-8); and (d) detaching the polymer mold from the substrate body, so that the polymer mold is separated from the metal layer transferred on the upper surface of the substrate body (paragraph 0031 and Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 8, Lee discloses wherein in the step (c), the upper surface of the substrate body is not chemically treated (paragraphs 0024-0025).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US20190011412) in view of Lee et al. (US20080217819).
Regarding claim 1, Jung discloses a method for performing nanotransfer on a substrate (abstract), the method comprising: (a) forming a polymer mold having a mold protrusion, the mold protrusion being formed on a lower surface of the polymer mold and having a predetermined pattern (substrate 10 combined with layer 50 reads on a mold, paragraph 0033 and Fig. 1a); (b) depositing a metal directly on the lower surface of the polymer mold, to form a metal layer on the mold protrusion (metal layer 100, the outer surface of layer 50 reads on the lower surface of the mold, paragraph 0035 and Fig. 1b); (c) positioning the polymer mold on an upper surface of a substrate body, and heating the mold a predetermined temperature and pressurizing the substrate body by a predetermined pressure for a predetermined time, so that the metal layer is transferred on the upper surface of the substrate body according to a predetermined pattern (paragraphs 0041-0043 and Figs. 1c-1d); and (d) detaching the mold from the substrate body, so that the polymer mold is separated from the metal layer transferred on the upper surface of the substrate body (paragraph 0044 and Fig. 1e).
Jung is silent about the mold being a polymer mold. However, Jung discloses that various types of substrates, such as silicon, may be used for producing the mold (paragraph 0033). In addition, Lee teaches that a mold used in a similar metal line transfer process can be made using silicon or polymer materials (paragraphs 0019-0021). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use polymer material as taught by Lee as the mold material in the method of Jung, with a reasonable expectation of success. It has been held that substituting equivalents known for the same purpose is obvious. See MPEP 2144.06 II.
Regarding claim 3, Jung discloses wherein the metal layer has a thickness between about 5 nm and about 30 nm (paragraph 0037), which overlaps with the range discloses in the instant claim. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claims 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Lee et al. (US20080217819) as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 2, Lee is silent about the ranges for predetermined temperature, the predetermined pressure, and the predetermined time. However, Lee teaches that the temperature is in a range to ensure an adhesion effect can be produced between the metal layer 108 and the surface 202 of the substrate 200 (paragraph 0028), the pressure is to make the mold 100 contact with the substrate 200 closely (paragraph 0026), and the time is needed to produce an adhesion effect between the metal layer 108 and the surface 202 (paragraph 0028). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to optimize the temperature, pressure and time (known result-effective variables as taught by Lee) to achieve desirable adhesion effect and generate close contact between the metal layer 108 and the surface 202 of the substrate 200. Additionally, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable range by routine experimentation and there is no evidence of the criticality of the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05 II.
Regarding claim 5, Lee discloses wherein in the step (d), the polymer mold is cooled down, and then the polymer mold is separated from the substrate body (paragraph 0031 and Fig. 9). Lee is silent about the ranges for cool down time and temperature. However, a cool down process commonly involves cooling an object to room temperature, which is within or overlaps with the range recited in the instant claim. Time for cool down can easily be determined by one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Lee et al. (US20080217819) as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Hu et al. (US20170312747).
Regarding claim 4, Lee discloses wherein the substrate body comprises silicon (paragraph 0024). Lee is silent about the metal comprises one of gold, silver and platinum. However, Lee discloses that the method can be used to transfer a patterned material, such as metal, onto a substrate, such as silicon, for the purpose of fabricating a patterned structure on a substrate (paragraphs 0018 and 0028; claim 10; and Fig. 10). In addition, Hu teaches that a patterned metal layer can be used to fabricate a patterned structure on a silicon substrate using a metal-assisted chemical etching process (paragraph 0001 and claim 1). In particular, Hu teaches that the metal comprises one of gold, silver and platinum (paragraph 0039). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a known metal used for a metal-assisted chemical etching process as taught by Hu, in the method of Lee, with a reasonable expectation of success. It has been held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious. See MPEP 2143 I.(A).
Regarding claim 6, Lee is silent about coating an etching solution on the upper surface of the substrate body, so that an area in which the metal layer remains is removed and nanostructures are generated, after the step (d). However, Lee discloses that the method can be used to transfer a patterned material, such as metal, onto a substrate, such as silicon, for the purpose of fabricating a patterned structure on a substrate (paragraphs 0018 and 0028; claim 10; and Fig. 10). In addition, Hu teaches that a patterned metal layer can be used to fabricate a patterned structure on a silicon substrate using a metal-assisted chemical etching process (paragraph 0001 and claim 1). In particular, Hu teaches coating an etching solution on the upper surface of the substrate body, so that an area in which the metal layer remains is removed and nanostructures are generated, after the formation of the metal pattern on the upper surface of the substrate (paragraphs 0046-0047; Figs. 6 and 8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to coat an etching solution on the upper surface of the substrate body as taught by Hu, so that an area in which the metal layer remains is removed and nanostructures are generated, after the step (d) in the method of Lee, with a reasonable expectation of success. It has been held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious. See MPEP 2143 I.(A).
Regarding claim 7, Hu discloses wherein the etching solution comprises acids having hydrofluoric acid, oxidizing agents having hydrogen peroxide and isopropyl alcohol (paragraph 0046). Hu is silent about the etching solution comprising deionized water. However, deionized water is a well-known solvent in an etching solution for a metal-assisted chemical etching process.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office Action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JIONG-PING LU whose telephone number is (571) 270-1135. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F: 9:00am – 5:00pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joshua L Allen, can be reached at telephone number (571)270-3176. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JIONG-PING LU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713