Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-21 in the reply filed on 08/10/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 22-31 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected kit and device for detecting a microbe in a biological sample, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/10/2026.
Applicant’s species election of enterobactin, without traverse, in the reply filed on 08/10/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 6 and 13 have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-12, and 14-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klebba et al. (WO 2019246118 A1), and further in view of Jones et al. (US 20040185454 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Klebba teaches a method for detecting a target analyte in a sample, said method comprising: providing an assay solution (pg 1, line 26) comprising a high affinity protein-based sensor (pg 1, line 28), wherein the high affinity protein-based sensor comprises a high affinity binding protein engineered with a detectable label that generates a detectable signal (pg 1, line 29-30); exposing said assay solution to an energy source to generate said detectable signal (pg 2, line 1); adding the target analyte to said assay solution, wherein said high affinity binding protein is specific for a target analyte (pg 1, line 30-32); exposing said assay solution to an energy source and detecting a change in the detectable signal in the assay solution over time (pg 2, line 1-3), wherein said changes correspond to interaction of said microbe-associated compound with said high affinity binding protein (pg 2, line 2-3).
Klebba does not mention detecting a microbe in a biological sample and adding a biological sample containing or suspected of containing said microbe to said assay solution, wherein said high affinity binding protein is specific for a microbe- associated compound secreted or produced by said microbe.
Jones teaches a detection and quantification method for microbial organisms (para 0021) using detectable label (‘fluorophore’, para 0045). Jones further teaches using protein or polypeptide to determine the presence or absence of microbes in assays for the benefit of detecting of specific microbes in contaminated food samples (para 0058 and 0075). Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before ethe effective filing date to modify Klebba with detecting a microbe in a biological sample and adding a biological sample containing or suspected of containing said microbe to said assay solution, wherein said high affinity binding protein is specific for a microbe- associated compound secreted or produced by said microbe as taught by Jones assays for the benefit of detecting of specific microbes in contaminated food samples (para 0058 and 0075).
Regarding claim 2, Klebba in view of Jones teaches the invention of claim 1. Klebba further teaches said target analyte binds with said high affinity binding protein, wherein said change in the detectable signal is quenching of said detectable signal (pg 6, line 3-6).
Regarding claim 3, Klebba in view of Jones teaches the invention of claim 2. Klebba further teaches intensity of the quenching indicates concentration of said microbe in said sample (pg 6, line 3-6, pg 1, line 26).
Regarding claim 4, Klebba in view of Jones teaches the invention of claim 1. Klebba further teaches the detectable label is a fluorophore (pg 2, line 12).
Regarding claim 5, Klebba in view of Jones teaches the invention of claim 4. Klebba further teaches the fluorophore is a maleimide fluorophore (pg 2, line 12).
Regarding claim 7, Klebba in view of Jones teaches the invention of claim 1. Klebba further teaches the microbe-associated compound is selected from the group consisting of ferric catecholates (‘ferric enterobactin’, pg 7, line 7-8).
Regarding claim 8, Klebba in view of Jones teaches the invention of claim 1. Klebba further teaches microbe-associated compound is selected from the group consisting of enterobactin (‘ferric enterobactin’, pg 7, line 7-8).
Regarding claim 9, Klebba in view of Jones teaches the invention of claim 1.
Klebba does not teach a biological sample is selected from the group consisting of bodily fluids, food and drink samples, environmental samples, and research materials.
Jones further teaches using biological samples such as samples from the environment for the benefit of identifying pathogenic and non-pathogenic microbial organisms (para 0002). Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Klebba with a biological sample being selected from the group consisting of bodily fluids, food and drink samples, environmental samples, and research materials as taught by Jones for the benefit of identifying pathogenic and non-pathogenic microbial organisms (para 0002).
Regarding claim 10, Klebba in view of Jones teaches the invention of claim 1.
Klebba does not teach biological sample is selected from the group consisting of blood, plasma, serum, urine, exhaled breath condensate, sputum, bronchoalveolar lavage fluid, sweat, saliva, cervicovaginal fluid, rectal secretion, tears, dairy milk, meat, food or drink ingredients, food or drink pre-mixes, food processing equipment swab sample, food handling equipment swab sample, soil samples, water samples, plant tissue, water, cell culture media.
Jones further teaches the biological sample is selected from blood, plasma, serum, urine, sputum, sweat, saliva, cell culture, soil sample, water sample, and food samples (para 0024-0025, 0028) for the benefit of detecting the presence of a microbe in sample suspected of being contaminated (para 0075). Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Klebba with biological sample is selected from the group consisting of blood, plasma, serum, urine, exhaled breath condensate, sputum, bronchoalveolar lavage fluid, sweat, saliva, cervicovaginal fluid, rectal secretion, tears, dairy milk, meat, food or drink ingredients, food or drink pre-mixes, food processing equipment swab sample, food handling equipment swab sample, soil samples, water samples, plant tissue, water, cell culture media as taught by Jones for the benefit of detecting the presence of a microbe in sample suspected of being contaminated (para 0075).
Regarding claim 11, Klebba in view of Jones teaches the invention of claim 1. Klebba further teaches a high affinity protein-based sensor is a transport-deficient bacterial cell expressing said engineered high affinity binding protein (pg 2, line 8-11).
Regarding claim 12, Klebba in view of Jones teaches the invention of claim 11. Klebba further teaches a transport-deficient bacterial cell is a Gram-negative bacteria selected from the group consisting of Escherichia coli (pg 15, line 10).
Regarding claim 14, Klebba in view of Jones teaches the invention of claim 1. Klebba further teaches a high affinity binding protein comprises an amino acid residue that has been engineered with a detectable label (pg 7, line 8-11).
Regarding claim 15, Klebba in view of Jones teaches the invention of claim 14. Klebba further teaches engineered amino acid residue consists of a cysteine substitution, wherein said detectable label is attached to said cysteine residue (pg 7, line 8-11).
Regarding claim 16, Klebba in view of Jones teaches the invention of claim 1. Klebba further teaches high affinity binding protein is selected from the group consisting of EcoFepA, EcoFhuA, EcoBtuB, and CcrHutA, engineered with a cysteine substitution and detectable label attached to said cysteine residue (pg 7, line 6-11).
Regarding claim 17, Klebba in view of Jones teaches the invention of claim 1. Klebba further teaches an assay solution has a volume of less than about 300 μL total solution (pg 9, line 21).
Regarding claim 18, Klebba in view of Jones teaches the invention of claim 1. Klebba further teaches distributing said assay solution into a plurality of individual reaction vessels before adding said the target sample, each vessel comprising respective reaction volumes (pg 9, line 25-28, pg 10, line 22-32).
Regarding claim 19, Klebba in view of Jones teaches the invention of claim 18. Klebba further teaches each reaction vessel is a microwell in a multi- compartment microplate (pg 9, 17-18).
Regarding claim 20, Klebba in view of Jones teaches the invention of claim 19. Klebba further teaches a plurality of different assay solutions comprising different high affinity protein-based sensors, are added to respective microwells on said microplate, each microwell containing a different assay solution (pg 9, line 17-28, pg 10, line 22-32).
Regarding claim 21, Klebba in view of Jones teaches the invention of claim 20. Klebba further teaches each of said different high affinity protein-based sensors has a binding affinity for a different a microbe-associated compound, said method further comprising adding aliquots of said target analyte to each of said microwells, and detecting changes in the detectable label in each microwell, wherein said changes indicate activity of a respective microbe in said microwell (pg 10, line 22-32, pg 11, line 1-6).
Conclusion
/H.R.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1798
/CHARLES CAPOZZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798