DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 17-36 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The claims are rejected under the newly cited United States Patent US 3,277,995A (Seed, Aniese).
Claim Objections
Claims 17 and 29 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 17 depends on Claim 18, however a claim cannot depend on a subsequent renumbered claim. Examiner suggests cancelling Claim 17 and re-entering the limitations as a new claim 37.
In Claim 29, line 2: after the phrase “second deflection pins”, enter --.--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 17-27, 29-34 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seed (United States Patent US 3,277,995 A).
Regarding Claim 18, Seed teaches An apparatus comprising a distribution conveyor for distributing packs of containers, said distribution conveyor comprising a distribution section that includes distribution tracks, peripherally-driven product carriers that move along the distribution tracks in a conveying direction, (Figure 5: Rails 56 and carriers 35) first and second deflectors for deflecting said product carriers onto selected ones of said distribution tracks, said first and second deflectors being adjacent to each other, (Figure 6: Switching device 73)wherein each of said product carriers comprises a guide pin to guide said product carrier along one of said distribution tracks and a pair of deflection pins, one of which engages one of said deflectors, wherein said deflection pins comprise at least a first deflection pin and a second deflection pin, wherein said deflection pins are configured to be adjusted in relation to each other such that when said first deflection pin engages said first deflector, said second deflection pin fails to engage said second deflector, (Columns 3-4, lines 50-5: "The end pins 43 function when they are released by the slide 50 to follow upper guide rails 56 (FIG. 5), each having, a metal portion 57 and a plastic wear portion 58, and each having a straight section 59 and a curved section 60 which is arranged as shown in FIG. 5 to deliver articles to a side of the discharge end 26. When neither end pin 43 on a carrier 35 is released, no pin engagement with -a rail 56 is made and the carriers 35 proceed down the center of the conveyor as shown by the upper two carriers 35 at the arrow in FIG. 5 (weight of article O.K.). However, when a right hand pin 43 as viewed in FIG. 5 is released, it engages the side of the right hand rail 56 where such rail 56 begins to curve toward the side of the conveyor and follows the rail 56 as shown by the two carriers 35 at the upper right hand side of FIG. sliding the respective carrier 35 to the side of the con- 65 veyor (weight of article too large or too small). Similarly, when a left hand pin 43 is released, it engages the side of the left hand rail 56 where such rail begins to curve toward the left side of the conveyor and follows the rail. Accordingly, articles, segregated according to weight (O.K., OVER and UNDER), are discharged onto the three endless take-away belts (not shown). As shown in FIG. 5, normally the released end pins 43 do not engage the straight sections 59 of the rails 56. Brackets 61 carried by square hollow tubes 62, extending between 75 4 the side plates 33 (FIG. 1), support the rails 56, screws 63 connecting the rails 56 to the bracket 61. Hence, the upper guide rails extend along the forward path of the conveyor for guiding ejected end pins 43 and, thus, the carriers of such end pins to sides of the conveyor.")and wherein said first and second deflection pins from said pair of deflection pins on said product carrier are mechanically coupled to each other, (Column 3, lines 19-47: "The slide 50 has a center position shown in FIG. 8, a first side position shown in FIG. 7, and a second side position shown in solid lines in FIG. 9. In the center position, the slide 50 by engagement with the pin shoulders 45 holds the pins 43 in opposition to the springs 41 in the retracted positions of the pins 43 shown in FIG. 8 and in the position of the right hand one of the pins 43 as viewed in FIG. 7. The pin shoulders 45 are urged against the slide 50 by means of the springs 41 holding or latching the slide in place. The slide 50 never touches the reduced pin ends 44, the slots 54 clearing such reduced pin ends 44 when the pin shoulders 45 are engaged by the slide 50. Pushing the slide 50 from its center position to the right as shown in FIG. 7 releases the left pin 43 which is urged by its spring 41 into the position shown in FIG. 7. In such released position, the left pin 43 prevents movement of the slide 50 to the left, the slide 50 continuing to hold the right pin 43 up in opposition to its spring 41. Similarly, pushing the slide from its center position to the left releases the right pin 43 while the left pin 43 continues to be held up in opposition to its spring 41. Hence, in the center position of the slide 50, both end pins 43 are held up as viewed in FIG. 7 in retracted positions in opposition to the springs 41, and in the side positions of the slide one or the other of the end pins 43 is released to move into its ejected position. The left hand pin 43 shown in FIG. 7 is in its released position. The center pin 53, as hereinafter described, functions as a means to shift the slide.")whereby each of said product carriers comprises at least three pins: said guide pin and said pair of deflection pins.(Figure 7: Pins 43 and 53)
Regarding Claim 17, Seed teaches the apparatus of Claim 18, as seen above. Seed further teaches wherein at least one of said deflection pins is adjustable.(Column 3, lines 19-47: "The slide 50 has a center position shown in FIG. 8, a first side position shown in FIG. 7, and a second side position shown in solid lines in FIG. 9. In the center position, the slide 50 by engagement with the pin shoulders 45 holds the pins 43 in opposition to the springs 41 in the retracted positions of the pins 43 shown in FIG. 8 and in the position of the right hand one of the pins 43 as viewed in FIG. 7. The pin shoulders 45 are urged against the slide 50 by means of the springs 41 holding or latching the slide in place. The slide 50 never touches the reduced pin ends 44, the slots 54 clearing such reduced pin ends 44 when the pin shoulders 45 are engaged by the slide 50. Pushing the slide 50 from its center position to the right as shown in FIG. 7 releases the left pin 43 which is urged by its spring 41 into the position shown in FIG. 7. In such released position, the left pin 43 prevents movement of the slide 50 to the left, the slide 50 continuing to hold the right pin 43 up in opposition to its spring 41. Similarly, pushing the slide from its center position to the left releases the right pin 43 while the left pin 43 continues to be held up in opposition to its spring 41. Hence, in the center position of the slide 50, both end pins 43 are held up as viewed in FIG. 7 in retracted positions in opposition to the springs 41, and in the side positions of the slide one or the other of the end pins 43 is released to move into its ejected position. The left hand pin 43 shown in FIG. 7 is in its released position. The center pin 53, as hereinafter described, functions as a means to shift the slide.")
Regarding Claim 19, Seed teaches the apparatus of Claim 18, as seen above. Seed further teaches wherein said first and second deflection pins has an engagement position in which said deflection pin engages one of said deflectors, and wherein, when said first deflection pin is in said engagement position, said first deflection pin protrudes further from said product carrier than said second deflection pin.(Figure 7: Left side pin 43 protruding further than right side)
Regarding Claim 20, Seed teaches the apparatus of Claim 18, as seen above. Seed further teaches wherein said guide pin projects further from said product carrier than said first and second deflection pins.(Column 5, lines 13-16: "When neither end pin 43 is released, no pin engagement with a rail 56 is made and the carriers 35 proceed down the center 15 of the conveyor.", wherein pin 53 extends further when neither pin 43 is engaged)
Regarding Claim 21, Seed teaches the apparatus of Claim 18, as seen above. Seed further teaches wherein said distribution section comprises at least three of said distribution tracks.(Figure 6: Straight, left and right sections 65, 66)
Regarding Claim 22, Seed teaches the apparatus of Claim 18, as seen above. Seed further teaches wherein said deflectors are adjustable.(Column 4, lines 44-50: "The switching device 73 includes a solenoid-operated track 74 (FIGS. 10-12) which when rotated about a vertical axis 75 of a shoulder screw 76 moves any carrier center pin 53 which is located in the track to one side or the other, the slide 50 being freely movable at this time. ")
Regarding Claim 23, Seed teaches the apparatus of Claim 18, as seen above. Seed further teaches wherein said deflectors are rotatable by a servomotor.(Column 4, lines 44-50: "The switching device 73 includes a solenoid-operated track 74 (FIGS. 10-12) which when rotated about a vertical axis 75 of a shoulder screw 76 moves any carrier center pin 53 which is located in the track to one side or the other, the slide 50 being freely movable at this time. ")
Regarding Claim 24, Seed teaches the apparatus of Claim 18, as seen above. Seed further teaches wherein said product carriers are assembled to form transport groups and wherein each transport group travels long a single one of said distribution tracks.(Figure 6: Carriers 35 grouping at different sections)
Regarding Claim 25, Seed teaches the apparatus of Claim 18, as seen above. Seed further teaches wherein said product carriers comprise first and second product carriers that belong to a transport group, wherein said first deflection pin in said first product carrier and said first deflection pin in said second product carrier are configured in an engagement position, and wherein said second deflection pin in said first product carrier and said second deflection pin in said second product carrier are not configured in said engagement position.(Column 4, lines 44-68: "The switching device 73 includes a solenoid-operated track 74 (FIGS. 10-12) which when rotated about a vertical axis 75 of a shoulder screw 76 moves any carrier center pin 53 which is located in the track to one side or the other, the slide 50 being freely movable at this time. Once the track 74 is rotated, it remains in its rotated position until four carriers 35 pass under it and then it returns to its home or centered position, four carriers 35 being used to convey one article (matter of choice). All the track 74 has to do is move the free slide 50 and not the carriers 35. Hence, little power is required in the solenoid operation. As described above, when the slide 50 is moved laterally one way or the other, one of the end pins 43 is uncovered. After passing by the switching device 73, the carriers 35 are guided further by their rounded ends 55 sliding on the sides of the lower rails 64 to ensure that a released end pin 43 enters its proper channel. This is best shown in FIGS. 4 and 6 that show the rounded ends 55 of the carriers 35 being guided until a released end pin 43 passes beyond the end of the plate cam 69 to the outside of curved plates 77 which are attached at their lower ends to the plate cam 69 at 78 (FIG. 4) and at their upper ends to the tipper rails 56 at 79 (FIGS. 4 and 5).")
Regarding Claim 26, Seed teaches the apparatus of Claim 18, as seen above. Seed further teaches wherein said distribution conveyor comprises a return section of said distributing conveyor that is on an underside of said distribution conveyor and wherein said return section comprises return tracks for collecting pairs of product carriers that have traversed said distribution tracks.(Column 6, lines 50-60: "When neither end pin 43 on a carrier 35 is released, no pin engagement with a Tail 56 is made and the carriers 35 proceed down the center of the conveyor (weight O.K., neither solenoid energized). However, when an end pin 43 is released (weight OVER or UNDER, one or the) other of the solenoids energized), it engages the side of its rail 56 where such rail 56 begins to curve toward the side of the conveyor and follows the rail 56 as shown in FIG. 5. Accordingly, articles, segregated according to weight, are discharged onto the three take-away belts (not shown).")
Regarding Claim 27, Seed teaches the apparatus of Claim 18, as seen above. Seed further teaches wherein said distribution conveyor further comprises a grouping device on a return section of said distribution conveyor, wherein said grouping device said product carriers into transport groups based on positions of deflection pins thereof, and wherein said grouping device adjusts said deflection pins of said product carriers.(Column 6, lines 28-60: "In operation, the article carriers 35 pass around the discharge end 26 of the conveyor and are gathered by the rails 64 as shown in FIG. 6 into a sin.-le file path which extends through the information station 68. The carrier end pins 43 engage the plate cani 69 and are gradually depressed releasing the slides 50 on the carriers which are moved to centered positions, while they are released by the pins 43, by means of the centering groove 71 in the stationary track member 72 which cams the carrier center pins 53 into centered positions. The carrier center pins 53 then pass through the switching device 73 which, when it is moved by one of the solenoids 93 and 98 to a reject position, directs the slides 50 to a reject side releasing the respective carrier end pins 43 which are permitted to move out of their carriers slowly, under the influence of their springs 41, by the cam rise 80. A released end pin 43 is shown in FIG. 4 on the outside of one of the curved plates 77 ready to come around the front end 20 of the segregation device. The curved plate 77 ensures that the end pin 43 cannot strike the end of the upper rail. Normally, such end pin does not touch its curved plate 77 or the straight section 59 of its upper rail 56 as shown in FIG. 5. When neither end pin 43 on a carrier 35 is released, no pin engagement with a Tail 56 is made and the carriers 35 proceed down the center of the conveyor (weight O.K., neither solenoid energized). However, when an end pin 43 is released (weight OVER or UNDER, one or the) other of the solenoids energized), it engages the side of its rail 56 where such rail 56 begins to curve toward the side of the conveyor and follows the rail 56 as shown in FIG. 5. Accordingly, articles, segregated according to weight, are discharged onto the three take-away belts (not shown).")
Regarding Claim 29, Seed teaches the apparatus of Claim 18, as seen above. Seed further teaches further comprising curve guides that mechanically coupled said first and second deflection pins(Figure 8: Slide 50 and retainers 51)
Regarding Claim 30, Seed teaches the apparatus of Claim 18, as seen above. Seed further teaches wherein said first and second deflection pins are mechanically coupled such that only one of said first and second deflection pins can be brought into an engagement position.(Figure 8: Slide 50 and retainers 51)
Regarding Claim 31, Seed teaches the apparatus of Claim 18, as seen above. Seed further teaches further comprising an adjustment plate, wherein said adjustment plate comprises curve guides that mechanically couple said first and second deflection pins to one another and wherein as a result of said first and second deflection pins having been mechanically coupled by said curve guides, only one of said first and second deflection pins can be brought into an engagement position.(Column 3, lines 19-47: "The slide 50 has a center position shown in FIG. 8, a first side position shown in FIG. 7, and a second side position shown in solid lines in FIG. 9. In the center position, the slide 50 by engagement with the pin shoulders 45 holds the pins 43 in opposition to the springs 41 in the retracted positions of the pins 43 shown in FIG. 8 and in the position of the right hand one of the pins 43 as viewed in FIG. 7. The pin shoulders 45 are urged against the slide 50 by means of the springs 41 holding or latching the slide in place. The slide 50 never touches the reduced pin ends 44, the slots 54 clearing such reduced pin ends 44 when the pin shoulders 45 are engaged by the slide 50. Pushing the slide 50 from its center position to the right as shown in FIG. 7 releases the left pin 43 which is urged by its spring 41 into the position shown in FIG. 7. In such released position, the left pin 43 prevents movement of the slide 50 to the left, the slide 50 continuing to hold the right pin 43 up in opposition to its spring 41. Similarly, pushing the slide from its center position to the left releases the right pin 43 while the left pin 43 continues to be held up in opposition to its spring 41. Hence, in the center position of the slide 50, both end pins 43 are held up as viewed in FIG. 7 in retracted positions in opposition to the springs 41, and in the side positions of the slide one or the other of the end pins 43 is released to move into its ejected position. The left hand pin 43 shown in FIG. 7 is in its released position. The center pin 53, as hereinafter described, functions as a means to shift the slide.")
Regarding Claim 32, Seed teaches the apparatus of Claim 18, as seen above. Seed further teaches wherein said first deflection pin has an engagement position, wherein said second deflection pin has an engagement position, and wherein said first deflection pin is mechanically coupled to said second deflection pins such that bringing said first deflection pin into said engagement position thereof automatically retracts said second deflection pin out of said engagement position thereof.(Column 3, lines 19-47: "The slide 50 has a center position shown in FIG. 8, a first side position shown in FIG. 7, and a second side position shown in solid lines in FIG. 9. In the center position, the slide 50 by engagement with the pin shoulders 45 holds the pins 43 in opposition to the springs 41 in the retracted positions of the pins 43 shown in FIG. 8 and in the position of the right hand one of the pins 43 as viewed in FIG. 7. The pin shoulders 45 are urged against the slide 50 by means of the springs 41 holding or latching the slide in place. The slide 50 never touches the reduced pin ends 44, the slots 54 clearing such reduced pin ends 44 when the pin shoulders 45 are engaged by the slide 50. Pushing the slide 50 from its center position to the right as shown in FIG. 7 releases the left pin 43 which is urged by its spring 41 into the position shown in FIG. 7. In such released position, the left pin 43 prevents movement of the slide 50 to the left, the slide 50 continuing to hold the right pin 43 up in opposition to its spring 41. Similarly, pushing the slide from its center position to the left releases the right pin 43 while the left pin 43 continues to be held up in opposition to its spring 41. Hence, in the center position of the slide 50, both end pins 43 are held up as viewed in FIG. 7 in retracted positions in opposition to the springs 41, and in the side positions of the slide one or the other of the end pins 43 is released to move into its ejected position. The left hand pin 43 shown in FIG. 7 is in its released position. The center pin 53, as hereinafter described, functions as a means to shift the slide.")
Regarding Claim 33, Seed teaches the apparatus of Claim 18, as seen above. Seed further teaches wherein said first deflection pin is configured to transition between an engagement position thereof and a retracted position thereof, wherein said second deflection pin is configured to transition between an engagement position thereof and a retracted position thereof, and wherein said first deflection pin is mechanically coupled to said second deflection pin such that causing said first deflection pin to transition into said retracted position thereof also causes said second deflection pin to transition into said engagement position thereof and causing said first deflection pin to transition into said engagement position thereof also causes said second deflection pin to transition into said retracted position thereof.(Column 3, lines 19-47: "The slide 50 has a center position shown in FIG. 8, a first side position shown in FIG. 7, and a second side position shown in solid lines in FIG. 9. In the center position, the slide 50 by engagement with the pin shoulders 45 holds the pins 43 in opposition to the springs 41 in the retracted positions of the pins 43 shown in FIG. 8 and in the position of the right hand one of the pins 43 as viewed in FIG. 7. The pin shoulders 45 are urged against the slide 50 by means of the springs 41 holding or latching the slide in place. The slide 50 never touches the reduced pin ends 44, the slots 54 clearing such reduced pin ends 44 when the pin shoulders 45 are engaged by the slide 50. Pushing the slide 50 from its center position to the right as shown in FIG. 7 releases the left pin 43 which is urged by its spring 41 into the position shown in FIG. 7. In such released position, the left pin 43 prevents movement of the slide 50 to the left, the slide 50 continuing to hold the right pin 43 up in opposition to its spring 41. Similarly, pushing the slide from its center position to the left releases the right pin 43 while the left pin 43 continues to be held up in opposition to its spring 41. Hence, in the center position of the slide 50, both end pins 43 are held up as viewed in FIG. 7 in retracted positions in opposition to the springs 41, and in the side positions of the slide one or the other of the end pins 43 is released to move into its ejected position. The left hand pin 43 shown in FIG. 7 is in its released position. The center pin 53, as hereinafter described, functions as a means to shift the slide.")
Regarding Claim 34, Seed teaches the apparatus of Claim 18, as seen above. Seed further teaches whereby said deflection pins pass freely over said distribution tracks as a result of said guide pin projecting further from said product carrier than said first and second deflection pins.(Column 5, lines 13-16: "When neither end pin 43 is released, no pin engagement with a rail 56 is made and the carriers 35 proceed down the center 15 of the conveyor.", wherein pin 53 extends further when neither pin 43 is engaged)
Regarding Claim 36, Seed teaches the apparatus of Claim 18, as seen above. Seed further teaches further comprising a lever arrangement that comprises longitudinally displaceable plate, an adjustment pin, and two mutually opposed curve guides, wherein said first and second deflection pins are mechanically coupled by said lever arrangement, wherein opposed movement of said curve guides causes simultaneous opposed movement of said deflection pins.(Column 3, lines 19-47: "The slide 50 has a center position shown in FIG. 8, a first side position shown in FIG. 7, and a second side position shown in solid lines in FIG. 9. In the center position, the slide 50 by engagement with the pin shoulders 45 holds the pins 43 in opposition to the springs 41 in the retracted positions of the pins 43 shown in FIG. 8 and in the position of the right hand one of the pins 43 as viewed in FIG. 7. The pin shoulders 45 are urged against the slide 50 by means of the springs 41 holding or latching the slide in place. The slide 50 never touches the reduced pin ends 44, the slots 54 clearing such reduced pin ends 44 when the pin shoulders 45 are engaged by the slide 50. Pushing the slide 50 from its center position to the right as shown in FIG. 7 releases the left pin 43 which is urged by its spring 41 into the position shown in FIG. 7. In such released position, the left pin 43 prevents movement of the slide 50 to the left, the slide 50 continuing to hold the right pin 43 up in opposition to its spring 41. Similarly, pushing the slide from its center position to the left releases the right pin 43 while the left pin 43 continues to be held up in opposition to its spring 41. Hence, in the center position of the slide 50, both end pins 43 are held up as viewed in FIG. 7 in retracted positions in opposition to the springs 41, and in the side positions of the slide one or the other of the end pins 43 is released to move into its ejected position. The left hand pin 43 shown in FIG. 7 is in its released position. The center pin 53, as hereinafter described, functions as a means to shift the slide.")
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 28 and 35 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 28, there is no prior art alone or in combination that included the combination of recited limitations in Claims 18 and 28. The art alone or in combination did not disclose wherein said grouping device is configured to vertically actuate a plunger that presses one of said deflection elements, thereby causing said one of said deflection elements to transition between an engagement position and a position other than an engagement position. The closest prior art of record Seed (United States Patent US 3,277,995 A) teaches a similar apparatus comprising a distribution conveyor, distribution tracks, deflectors, product carriers, deflection pins and adjusters to engage and disengage the pins, but fails to teach a grouping device configured to vertically actuate a plunger that presses one of said deflection elements, thereby causing said one of said deflection elements to transition between an engagement position and a position other than an engagement position. Additionally, no other references, or reasonable combination thereof, could be found which disclose or suggest these features in combination with the other limitations in the claims.
Regarding Claim 35, there is no prior art alone or in combination that included the combination of recited limitations in Claims 18 and 35. The art alone or in combination did not disclose a grouper comprising vertically actuated plungers that cause said first deflection pins to transition from an engaged position thereof to a retracted positions thereof and that cause said second deflection pin to transition from a retracted position thereof to an engaging position thereof. The closest prior art of record Seed (United States Patent US 3,277,995 A) teaches a similar apparatus comprising a distribution conveyor, distribution tracks, deflectors, product carriers, deflection pins and adjusters to engage and disengage the pins, but fails to teach a grouper comprising vertically actuated plungers that cause said first deflection pins to transition from an engaged position thereof to a retracted positions thereof and that cause said second deflection pin to transition from a retracted position thereof to an engaging position thereof. Additionally, no other references, or reasonable combination thereof, could be found which disclose or suggest these features in combination with the other limitations in the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
United States Patent US 3,190,432 (Vanderhoof, Frank): Vanderhoof teaches a similar conveyor switching device comprising an endless conveyor, a carrier base, transfer rods, coupling means and switching devices as seen in Figure 1.
International Patent Application WO 2013/079164A1 (Nitsch, Thomas): Nitsch teaches a similar device for forming packaging units comprising packaging units, tracks, division channels, sectioning unit, compressor unit and sections as seen in Figure 1.
/ABBY A JORGENSEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3651