Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “front side of the connection part comprises a ring structure” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s) 5-11. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5, the limitation “front side of the connection part comprises a ring structure” is unclear.
Paragraph 0099 disclosed the connection part 322 does not have any ring structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Wakata (US 2002/0115328).
Regarding claim 1, Wakata discloses a connector module (11) comprising:
a first connector comprising a first connector housing (17) that is recessed therein to define a first recessed portion (10), and a first conductive part (20) coupled to the first connector housing; and
a second connector comprising a second connector housing (12) inserted into and coupled to the first recessed portion, and a second conductive part (B) configured to be inserted into and coupled to the second connector housing so as to be electrically connected to the first conductive part,
wherein the first conductive part is electrically connected only to a single surface of the second conductive part (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 2, Wakata discloses the second connector housing comprises:
a frame (13) inserted into and coupled to the first recessed portion; and
a connection part (16) connected to one surface of the frame and coupled to the first connector, wherein the second conductive part is configured to be inserted into and coupled to the frame.
Regarding claim 5, Wakata discloses in a state in which a front side of the connection part is fixed and connected to a top surface of the frame, a rear side of the connection part is movable upward or downward, and wherein the front side of the connection part comprises a ring structure.
Regarding claim 12, Wakata discloses the connection part is connected to the first connector through hook coupling.
Regarding claim 13, Wakata discloses the second connector further comprises a coupling housing (33) that is in contact with the second connector housing and the second conductive part to couple the second connector housing to the second conductive part.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakata (US 2002/0115328).
Wakata substantially disclosed the claimed invention except the size of the height of the first connector is about 3.5 mm to 4 mm.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to change the size height of the first connector to 3.5-4mm for optimal performance, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakata (US 2002/0115328) in view of Weis (US 2022/0181732).
Regarding claim 18, Wakata substantially disclosed the claimed invention except the connector module is being used on a battery module.
Weis teach a battery module comprising:
a case (4) including an accommodation space (3) therein;
a plurality of battery cells (2) disposed in the accommodation space;
a control unit (34) configured to detect electrical signals of the plurality of battery cells so as to electrically control the plurality of battery cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide Wakata’s connector module into Weis’s battery module to electrically connect the plurality of battery cells to the control unit.
Regarding claim 19, in the modified battery module, Wakata substantially disclosed the claimed invention except the size of the first connector has a height of about 3.5 mm to 4 mm.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to change the size height of the first connector to 3.5-4mm for optimal performance, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-11, 14-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TRUC T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834