DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the preliminary correspondence filed on 02/18/2026.
Claims 52-71 are pending and rejected. Claims 1-51 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 52 & 62 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al (US20220386380A1) in view of Wallentin et al (US20200178162A1) in further view of Babaei (US20210227451A1) in further view of Liu et al (03-2021) “RACH in Self-powered NB-IoT Networks: energy Availability and Performance Evaluation”, in further view of Huawei [Zhang et al (US20230209442A1)], corresponding to International Application No. PCT/CN2021/108492/ WO2022048344A1)*.
*Note: Huawei is relied upon as prior art under 35 USC 102(a)(2) (in the 103 rejection). The US publication is a continuation of Internation Application No. PCT/CN2021/108492, filed July 26, 2021, which predates Applicant’s December 21, 2021 filing date, and the US application states that it claims priority to Chinese Patent Application Nos 202010921252.1 and 202011066491.1. See Huawei [0001]. The relied-upon disclosure corresponds to the disclosure in WO2022048344A1.
Regarding claim 52 (and method claim 62), He teaches an apparatus comprising:
at least one processor ([0106]-[0115], [0134]-[0142], expressly teaches a UE/device having at least one processor, memory and code/instructions that cause the UE to perform the disclosed access-control and random-access operations); and
at least one non-transitory memory including computer program code([0106]-[0115], [0134]-[0142], expressly teaches a UE/device having at least one processor, memory and code/instructions that cause the UE to perform the disclosed access-control and random-access operations); the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor ([0106]-[0115], [0134]-[0142], expressly teaches a UE/device having at least one processor, memory and code/instructions that cause the UE to perform the disclosed access-control and random-access operations), cause the apparatus at least to:
and receive a System Information Block 1 (SIB 1) from the cell ([0067], [0077]-[0078], [0123], [0166]-[0169], [0172], He teaches that the UE receives a network access control broadcast, that the broadcast may include a system information message, and that the access control criteria include a probabilistic barring factor and an associated barring backoff time; Applicant’s spec shows that the “energy-harvesting parameter” is functionally a special barring parameter for EH devices and that the “energy-harvesting back-off time parameter” is a special barring/backoff time for EH device in SIB1 ([0110]); the claim does not require a particular IE name or message syntax; under BRI He’s system-information-based barring factor and barring time for a special UE),
wherein the SIB1 includes (i) an energy-harvesting parameter and (ii) an energy-harvesting back-off time parameter ([0067], [0077]-[0078], [0123], [0166]-[0169], [0172], He teaches that the UE receives a network access control broadcast, that the broadcast may include a system information message, and that the access control criteria include a probabilistic barring factor and an associated barring backoff time; Applicant’s spec shows that the “energy-harvesting parameter” is functionally a special barring parameter for EH devices and that the “energy-harvesting back-off time parameter” is a special barring/backoff time for EH device in SIB1 ([0110]); the claim does not require a particular IE name or message syntax; under BRI He’s system-information-based barring factor and barring time for a special UE);
compute an effective barring value by multiplying (i) a barring parameter received in the system information block for energy-harvesting small data transmission devices by ([0077]-[0078], teaches using a barring factor from access-control criteria and comparing it to a UE-generated probability to device whether the UE may attempt access; Applicant’s spec recites the barring factor equation at a functional level, straightforward mathematical implementation of known barring-factor logic once the UE is also tracking remaining affordable attempts);
compute an effective barring value by multiplying (ii) the remaining transmission-attempt counter, wherein a result of the computing is limited to a maximum value of 1 ([0067], [0077]-[0078], [0123], [0166]-[0169], [0172], He is best for the portion of the limitation requiring an effective barring value used as a probabilistic threshold to decide whether the UE transmits or backs off).
generate a random number that is uniformly distributed between 0 and 1 ([0078], teaches that the UE compares a barring factor to a probability value randomly generated by the UE and waits if the probability value does not satisfy the barring factor; Applicant’s spec itself uses a random number between 0 and 1 ([0096]-[0097], [0114], [0125]));
determine whether to transmit a random access preamble at a next random access opportunity by comparing the random number to the effective barring value
([0077]-[0078], teaches comparing the UE-generated probability value against the barring factor to decide whether the UE may attempt access, and if barred, waiting a barring period; Applicant’s spec says the UE determines whether it is barred from attempting RAP based on RAND; the claim does not require more than that decision mechanism),
However, He does not fully teach but Wallentin teaches wherein (a) when the random number is greater than or equal to the effective barring value, do not attempt transmission and instead ([0023], [0046]-[0048], [0135]-[0143], [0190]-[0192], teaches that the UE obtains access barring information from system information and performs a barring check before attempting random access; expressly teaches generating a random number and comparing it to a barring factor, where the UE determines that the access attempt is not barred when the random number is less than the barring factor, and determines that the access attempt is barred when the random number is equal to or greater than the barring factor; further teaches that, if barred, the UE waits for a barring time before determining whether a subsequent access attempt is barred):
wait for a back-off period defined by the energy-harvesting-device back-off time parameter (([0023], [0046]-[0048], [0135]-[0143], [0190]-[0192], teaches that the UE obtains access barring information from system information and performs a barring check before attempting random access; expressly teaches generating a random number and comparing it to a barring factor, where the UE determines that the access attempt is not barred when the random number is less than the barring factor, and determines that the access attempt is barred when the random number is equal to or greater than the barring factor; further teaches that, if barred, the UE waits for a barring time before determining whether a subsequent access attempt is barred); and
(b) when the random number is less than the effective barring value, transmit the random access preamble at the next random access opportunity ([0023], [0046]-[0048], [0135]-[0143], [0190]-[0192], teaches that the UE obtains access barring information from system information and performs a barring check before attempting random access; expressly teaches generating a random number and comparing it to a barring factor, where the UE determines that the access attempt is not barred when the random number is less than the barring factor, and determines that the access attempt is barred when the random number is equal to or greater than the barring factor; further teaches that, if barred, the UE waits for a barring time before determining whether a subsequent access attempt is barred).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the references before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to yield a system to improve access control efficiency and avoiding excessive retransmissions. He teaches probabilistic access control in which a UE determines whether to attempt random access based on comparison of a generated random values with a barring factor. Wallentin teaches access barring using the exact RAND comparison rule: when the generated random number is less than the barring factor, access is not barred, and when the random number is equal to or greater than the barring factor, access is barred and the UE waits for a barring time before retrying.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the references before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a UE that probabilistically determines whether to attempt access (He), operates within RAND comparison rule, thereby predictably improving access control efficiency and avoiding excessive retransmissions.
However, Wallentin fails to teach but Babaei teaches while the apparatus is in a radio resource control inactive (RRCINACTIVE) state ([0084]-[0086], expressly teaches that the UE may be in RRC_INACTIVE, and that transition from RRC_INACTIVE to RRC_CONNECTED occurs via a connection resume procedure; further explains that RRC_INACTIVE is an NR state in which the UE retains context and resumes communication through RAN procedures) and after upper layers provide data for transmission ([0067], [0077]-[0078], [0166]-[0169], [0172], teaches that a UE determines whether to initiate a random access procedure by comparing a generated random value with a barring factor prior to attempting network access; such access attempts are triggered when the UE has UL data to transmit, i.e. after upper layers provide data for transmission)):
select a cell, synchronize to the cell ([0107]-[0112], teaches that the UE performs cell search/synchronization using SS/PBCH blocks and acquires system information including SIB12, where SIB1 contains information required for the UE to access the cell which corresponds to the claimed acts of selecting a cell, synchronizing, and receiving SIB1; Applicant’s spec expressly states that the UE in RRCInactive “may first select a cell, synchronization to it, and retrieve its system information ([0112] see also [0095], [0125], [0117])),
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the references before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to yield a system to improve access control efficiency and avoiding excessive retransmissions. He teaches probabilistic access control in which a UE determines whether to attempt random access based on comparison of a generated random values with a barring factor. Wallentin teaches access barring using the exact RAND comparison rule: when the generated random number is less than the barring factor, access is not barred, and when the random number is equal to or greater than the barring factor, access is barred and the UE waits for a barring time before retrying. Furthermore, Babaei teaches the NR framework in which a UE in RRC_INACTIVE selects a cell, acquires SIB1, and performs the random access procedure including Msg3.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the references before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a UE that probabilistically determines whether to attempt access (He), operates within RAND comparison rule and operates within the standard NR RRC_INACTIVE/SIB1/Msg3 procedure (Babaei), thereby predictably improving access control efficiency and avoiding excessive retransmissions.
However, Babaei fails to teach but Liu teaches determine, based on a current energy level of the apparatus, a maximum number of consecutive random access preamble transmission attempts the apparatus can afford while reserving energy to transmit Msg3, and set a maximum number value equal to the determined maximum number (pg. 4-6 Section III, focus on pg. 5, spanning Section II, teaches determining an energy-supported max transmission/repetition capability for a self-powered NB-IoT device based on current available energy; section III, Energy Availability, models the available energy required for each repetition Eo, and states that the ene4rgy state implies the maximum repetition value the IoT device can support with the energy; further accounts for successful RACH energy as including both RACH energy and data transmission energy Eos = EoRA + EoDA, thereby supporting an energy budget that preserves energy for post-RACH transmission corresponding to determining, based on current energy level, a max number of supportable RACH/preambles repetitions or attempts while accounting for energy needed to complete subsequent transmission).
set a remaining transmission-attempt counter equal to the determined maximum number (pg. 4-6 Section III, focus on pg. 5, spanning Section II, teaches determining an energy-supported max transmission/repetition capability for a self-powered NB-IoT device based on current available energy; section III, Energy Availability, models the available energy required for each repetition Eo, and states that the ene4rgy state implies the maximum repetition value the IoT device can support with the energy; further accounts for successful RACH energy as including both RACH energy and data transmission energy Eos = EoRA + EoDA, thereby supporting an energy budget that preserves energy for post-RACH transmission corresponding to determining, based on current energy level, a max number of supportable RACH/preambles repetitions or attempts while accounting for energy needed to complete subsequent transmission).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the references before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to yield a system to improve access control efficiency and avoiding excessive retransmissions. He teaches probabilistic access control in which a UE determines whether to attempt random access based on comparison of a generated random values with a barring factor. Wallentin teaches access barring using the exact RAND comparison rule: when the generated random number is less than the barring factor, access is not barred, and when the random number is equal to or greater than the barring factor, access is barred and the UE waits for a barring time before retrying. Furthermore, Babaei teaches the NR framework in which a UE in RRC_INACTIVE selects a cell, acquires SIB1, and performs the random access procedure including Msg3. Further, Liu teaches energy-harvesting/self-powered NB-IoT random access in which an IoT devices available energy determines whether it can support RACH transmission/repetition attempts, including determining an energy-supported maximum repetition value.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the references before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a UE that probabilistically determines whether to attempt access (He), operates within RAND comparison rule (Wallentin) and operates within the standard NR RRC_INACTIVE/SIB1/Msg3 procedure (Babaei), thereby predictably improving access control efficiency and avoiding excessive retransmissions.
However, He, Wallentin, Babaei and Liu does not fully teach multiplying the barring factor by the remaining-attempt counter but Zhang teaches compute an effective barring value by multiplying (ii) the remaining transmission-attempt counter, wherein a result of the computing is limited to a maximum value of 1 ([0110]-[0115], [0155]-[0162], teaches computing an adjusted/effective barring value by multiplying a system-information barring factor by an auxiliary probability factor; teaches that an access-control parameter set may be send in SIB1 and include uac-BarringFactor and uac-BarringTime; than an auxiliary parameter set may also be send, including in SIB1, and may include a probability factor for adjusting the barring factor; and that the UE obtains an access barring probability by multiplying the probability factor by the barring factor, e.g. uac-barringFactor-new = uac-BarringFactor x X, and uses that adjusted access barring probability to determine whether access is allowed)).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the references before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to yield a system to improve access control efficiency and avoiding excessive retransmissions. He teaches probabilistic access control in which a UE determines whether to attempt random access based on comparison of a generated random values with a barring factor. Wallentin teaches access barring using the exact RAND comparison rule: when the generated random number is less than the barring factor, access is not barred, and when the random number is equal to or greater than the barring factor, access is barred and the UE waits for a barring time before retrying. Furthermore, Babaei teaches the NR framework in which a UE in RRC_INACTIVE selects a cell, acquires SIB1, and performs the random access procedure including Msg3. Further, Liu teaches energy-harvesting/self-powered NB-IoT random access in which an IoT devices available energy determines whether it can support RACH transmission/repetition attempts, including determining an energy-supported maximum repetition value. Lastly, Zhang teaches receiving SIB1 access-control parameters a barring factor and barring time, and computing an adjusted/effective barring factor by multiplying the baring factor by an auxiliary probability factor for use in the RAND-based access-barring determination.
It would have been obvious to combine He’s system-information-based access control and probabilistic barring framework with Wallentin’s express RAND-to-barring-factor inequality, Babaei’s NR RRC_INACTIVE/SIB1/Msg3 random access framework, Liu’s energy-harvesting RACH energy-availability teachings, and Zhang’s adjusted barring-factor computation, in order to provide an energy-constrained UE with access-barring behavior that reduces wasted random access attempts, preserves energy, for successful random access completion, and maintains a valid probability-based access control threshold.
Claims 53-61, & 63-71 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He in view of Wallentin, in further view of Babaei and further in view of Liu, in further view of Zhang in further view of Lin et al (US20120033613A1).
Regarding claim 53 (and method claim 63), He teaches the apparatus wherein the apparatus comprises an energy-harvesting user equipment configured for small data transmission [0068], [0073], [0121], teaches a UE subject to differentiated access control depending on UE/service type and access category; Applicant’s spec expressly states that embodiments focus on EH devices supporting SDT ([0084]-[0088], [0101]), and defines energy-constrained devices broadly ([0153], [0169]); thus the limitation is narrowing species of the broader constrained UE framework already taught by the combination with Lin).
However, He fails to teach but Lin teaches user equipment configured for small data transmission ([0009]-[0011], [0030]-[0035], further teaches machine-type communication (MTC), low-power and constrained devices using specialized access barring and retry handling—combined with He yielding applying such differentiated access control specifically to an energy-harvesting UE configured for small data transmission, particularly because EH device are on recognized subset of constrained MTC devices).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the references before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to yield a system to improve access control efficiency and avoiding excessive retransmissions. He teaches probabilistic access control in which a UE determines whether to attempt random access based on comparison of a generated random values with a barring factor. Wallentin teaches access barring using the exact RAND comparison rule: when the generated random number is less than the barring factor, access is not barred, and when the random number is equal to or greater than the barring factor, access is barred and the UE waits for a barring time before retrying. Furthermore, Babaei teaches the NR framework in which a UE in RRC_INACTIVE selects a cell, acquires SIB1, and performs the random access procedure including Msg3. Further, Liu teaches energy-harvesting/self-powered NB-IoT random access in which an IoT devices available energy determines whether it can support RACH transmission/repetition attempts, including determining an energy-supported maximum repetition value. Lastly, Zhang teaches receiving SIB1 access-control parameters a barring factor and barring time, and computing an adjusted/effective barring factor by multiplying the baring factor by an auxiliary probability factor for use in the RAND-based access-barring determination.
It would have been obvious to combine He’s system-information-based access control and probabilistic barring framework with Wallentin’s express RAND-to-barring-factor inequality, Babaei’s NR RRC_INACTIVE/SIB1/Msg3 random access framework, Liu’s energy-harvesting RACH energy-availability teachings, and Zhang’s adjusted barring-factor computation, in order to provide an energy-constrained UE with access-barring behavior that reduces wasted random access attempts, preserves energy, for successful random access completion, and maintains a valid probability-based access control threshold.
Regarding claim 54 (and method claim 64), He and Wallentin does not fully teach but Babaei teaches the apparatus wherein the maximum number of consecutive random access preamble transmission attempts is determined further based on a dedicated power consumption model that accounts for energy required for transmission of the preamble and energy required for transmission of the message three of the random access procedure (([0084]-[0086], [0102]-[0104], teaches the standard NR random access process used for UL transmission including Msg1/Msg2/Msg3 which is triggered when the UE needs to send UL data).
However, Babaei does not fully teach but Lin discloses determined further based on a dedicated power consumption model that accounts for energy required for transmission of the preamble and energy required for transmission of the message three of the random access procedure ([0034]-[0039], teaches resource-aware access management for constrained devices and minimizing failed repeated access attempts—combination use a power consumption model accounting for both preamble transmission energy and MSg3 energy so that the UE preserves sufficient energy to complete the RA procedure rather than failing after preamble success; Applicant’s spec explicitly says the estimate may be performed using “a dedicated power consumption model” and may reserve enough energy for Msg3 ([0112], [0173]-[0175]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the references before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to yield a system to improve access control efficiency and avoiding excessive retransmissions. He teaches probabilistic access control in which a UE determines whether to attempt random access based on comparison of a generated random values with a barring factor. Wallentin teaches access barring using the exact RAND comparison rule: when the generated random number is less than the barring factor, access is not barred, and when the random number is equal to or greater than the barring factor, access is barred and the UE waits for a barring time before retrying. Furthermore, Babaei teaches the NR framework in which a UE in RRC_INACTIVE selects a cell, acquires SIB1, and performs the random access procedure including Msg3. Further, Liu teaches energy-harvesting/self-powered NB-IoT random access in which an IoT devices available energy determines whether it can support RACH transmission/repetition attempts, including determining an energy-supported maximum repetition value. Lastly, Zhang teaches receiving SIB1 access-control parameters a barring factor and barring time, and computing an adjusted/effective barring factor by multiplying the baring factor by an auxiliary probability factor for use in the RAND-based access-barring determination.
It would have been obvious to combine He’s system-information-based access control and probabilistic barring framework with Wallentin’s express RAND-to-barring-factor inequality, Babaei’s NR RRC_INACTIVE/SIB1/Msg3 random access framework, Liu’s energy-harvesting RACH energy-availability teachings, and Zhang’s adjusted barring-factor computation, in order to provide an energy-constrained UE with access-barring behavior that reduces wasted random access attempts, preserves energy, for successful random access completion, and maintains a valid probability-based access control threshold.
Regarding claim 55 (and method claim 66), He teaches the apparatus wherein the maximum number value is determined further based on: a battery capacity of the apparatus, an energy harvesting capability of the apparatus during the random access procedure, and a sum of previous unsuccessful preamble transmission attempts ([0073], [0077]-[0079], teaches repeated access attempts and temporary barring/backoff across retries).
However, He, Wallentin, Babaei, Liu and Zhang do not fully teach but Lin teaches wherein the maximum number value is determined further based on: a battery capacity of the apparatus, an energy harvesting capability of the apparatus during the random access procedure ([0009]-[0011], [0032]-[0039], teaches constrained-device access management based on device capability and retry conditions, including repeated access attempts and adaptive barring/backoff; Applicant’s spec expressly lists these exact factors as examples rather than mandatory narrow structure ([0123], [0147], [0163], [0173]), known retry control).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the references before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to yield a system to improve access control efficiency and avoiding excessive retransmissions. He teaches probabilistic access control in which a UE determines whether to attempt random access based on comparison of a generated random values with a barring factor. Wallentin teaches access barring using the exact RAND comparison rule: when the generated random number is less than the barring factor, access is not barred, and when the random number is equal to or greater than the barring factor, access is barred and the UE waits for a barring time before retrying. Furthermore, Babaei teaches the NR framework in which a UE in RRC_INACTIVE selects a cell, acquires SIB1, and performs the random access procedure including Msg3. Further, Liu teaches energy-harvesting/self-powered NB-IoT random access in which an IoT devices available energy determines whether it can support RACH transmission/repetition attempts, including determining an energy-supported maximum repetition value. Lastly, Zhang teaches receiving SIB1 access-control parameters a barring factor and barring time, and computing an adjusted/effective barring factor by multiplying the baring factor by an auxiliary probability factor for use in the RAND-based access-barring determination.
It would have been obvious to combine He’s system-information-based access control and probabilistic barring framework with Wallentin’s express RAND-to-barring-factor inequality, Babaei’s NR RRC_INACTIVE/SIB1/Msg3 random access framework, Liu’s energy-harvesting RACH energy-availability teachings, and Zhang’s adjusted barring-factor computation, in order to provide an energy-constrained UE with access-barring behavior that reduces wasted random access attempts, preserves energy, for successful random access completion, and maintains a valid probability-based access control threshold.
Regarding claim 56 (and method claim 66), He teaches the apparatus wherein the effective barring value is computed by multiplying the energy-harvesting parameter by the remaining transmission-attempt counter and limiting a result of the multiplying to a maximum value of 1 ([0077]-[0078], teaches use of barring factor for probabilistic access control; once UE tracks remaining attempts, in combination with Lin to yield scaling the barring factor by that remaining-attempt value so that access probability reflects the UE’s remaining affordable retries which limiting the result to 1 is a routine mathematical constraint for a probabilistic value).
However, He, Wallentin, Babaei, Liu, and Zhang do not fully teach but Lin teaches remaining transmission-attempt counter and limiting a result of the multiplying to a maximum value of 1 ([0032], [0034]-[0039], teaches adaptive access probability based on constrained-device conditions; Applicant’s own formula is expressly EffBarringFactor = min(EHSDTBarrParam x RemEHTx, 1) [0113], strongly supports treatment as a straightforward mathematical implementation rather than separate inventive concept).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the references before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to yield a system to improve access control efficiency and avoiding excessive retransmissions. He teaches probabilistic access control in which a UE determines whether to attempt random access based on comparison of a generated random values with a barring factor. Wallentin teaches access barring using the exact RAND comparison rule: when the generated random number is less than the barring factor, access is not barred, and when the random number is equal to or greater than the barring factor, access is barred and the UE waits for a barring time before retrying. Furthermore, Babaei teaches the NR framework in which a UE in RRC_INACTIVE selects a cell, acquires SIB1, and performs the random access procedure including Msg3. Further, Liu teaches energy-harvesting/self-powered NB-IoT random access in which an IoT devices available energy determines whether it can support RACH transmission/repetition attempts, including determining an energy-supported maximum repetition value. Lastly, Zhang teaches receiving SIB1 access-control parameters a barring factor and barring time, and computing an adjusted/effective barring factor by multiplying the baring factor by an auxiliary probability factor for use in the RAND-based access-barring determination.
It would have been obvious to combine He’s system-information-based access control and probabilistic barring framework with Wallentin’s express RAND-to-barring-factor inequality, Babaei’s NR RRC_INACTIVE/SIB1/Msg3 random access framework, Liu’s energy-harvesting RACH energy-availability teachings, and Zhang’s adjusted barring-factor computation, in order to provide an energy-constrained UE with access-barring behavior that reduces wasted random access attempts, preserves energy, for successful random access completion, and maintains a valid probability-based access control threshold.
Regarding claim 57 (and method claim 67), He teaches the apparatus wherein the computer-executable instructions further cause the apparatus to, responsive to transmission of the random access preamble resulting in a collision, decrement the remaining transmission-attempt counter by one and perform the back-off period defined by the energy-harvesting-device back-off time parameter ([0078], teaches that after an unsuccessful access attempt/collision, the UE performs barring-time waiting before retrying).
However, He, Wallentin, Babaei, Liu, and Zhang do not fully teach but Lin teaches perform the back-off period defined by the energy-harvesting-device back-off time parameter ([0034]-[0039], teaches backoff after unsuccessful attempts; once the remaining attempt counter is used, decrementing that counter after each failed attempt combined with the He teaching; Applicant’s spec expressly states that after collision, the UE “decrease RemEGTx by one and perform a random backoff” [0119], [0126], [0180], confirming this is ordinary retry state maintenance).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the references before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to yield a system to improve access control efficiency and avoiding excessive retransmissions. He teaches probabilistic access control in which a UE determines whether to attempt random access based on comparison of a generated random values with a barring factor. Wallentin teaches access barring using the exact RAND comparison rule: when the generated random number is less than the barring factor, access is not barred, and when the random number is equal to or greater than the barring factor, access is barred and the UE waits for a barring time before retrying. Furthermore, Babaei teaches the NR framework in which a UE in RRC_INACTIVE selects a cell, acquires SIB1, and performs the random access procedure including Msg3. Further, Liu teaches energy-harvesting/self-powered NB-IoT random access in which an IoT devices available energy determines whether it can support RACH transmission/repetition attempts, including determining an energy-supported maximum repetition value. Lastly, Zhang teaches receiving SIB1 access-control parameters a barring factor and barring time, and computing an adjusted/effective barring factor by multiplying the baring factor by an auxiliary probability factor for use in the RAND-based access-barring determination.
It would have been obvious to combine He’s system-information-based access control and probabilistic barring framework with Wallentin’s express RAND-to-barring-factor inequality, Babaei’s NR RRC_INACTIVE/SIB1/Msg3 random access framework, Liu’s energy-harvesting RACH energy-availability teachings, and Zhang’s adjusted barring-factor computation, in order to provide an energy-constrained UE with access-barring behavior that reduces wasted random access attempts, preserves energy, for successful random access completion, and maintains a valid probability-based access control threshold.
Regarding claim 58 (and method claim 68), He teaches the apparatus wherein the computer-executable instructions further cause the apparatus to, after the back-off period expires following the collision, recompute the effective barring value and generate a new random number prior to a subsequent random access opportunity ([0078], teaches that after waiting the barring time, the UE reevaluates whether it may attempt access again using the access-control criteria; once the effective barring value depends on remaining attempts, recomputing the effective value and generating a new random number before the next attempt is the expected and necessary implementation of repeated probabilistic access control; Applicant’s spec expressly states that after collision and backoff, the UE again determines whether it is barred, beginning again at the effective-barring computation and RAND generation [0119], [0125]-[0126], [0180], [0194]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the references before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to yield a system to improve access control efficiency and avoiding excessive retransmissions. He teaches probabilistic access control in which a UE determines whether to attempt random access based on comparison of a generated random values with a barring factor. Wallentin teaches access barring using the exact RAND comparison rule: when the generated random number is less than the barring factor, access is not barred, and when the random number is equal to or greater than the barring factor, access is barred and the UE waits for a barring time before retrying. Furthermore, Babaei teaches the NR framework in which a UE in RRC_INACTIVE selects a cell, acquires SIB1, and performs the random access procedure including Msg3. Further, Liu teaches energy-harvesting/self-powered NB-IoT random access in which an IoT devices available energy determines whether it can support RACH transmission/repetition attempts, including determining an energy-supported maximum repetition value. Lastly, Zhang teaches receiving SIB1 access-control parameters a barring factor and barring time, and computing an adjusted/effective barring factor by multiplying the baring factor by an auxiliary probability factor for use in the RAND-based access-barring determination.
It would have been obvious to combine He’s system-information-based access control and probabilistic barring framework with Wallentin’s express RAND-to-barring-factor inequality, Babaei’s NR RRC_INACTIVE/SIB1/Msg3 random access framework, Liu’s energy-harvesting RACH energy-availability teachings, and Zhang’s adjusted barring-factor computation, in order to provide an energy-constrained UE with access-barring behavior that reduces wasted random access attempts, preserves energy, for successful random access completion, and maintains a valid probability-based access control threshold.
Regarding claim 59 (and method claim 69), He teaches the apparatus wherein the computer-executable instructions further cause the apparatus to, responsive to successful completion of the random access procedure, transmit, as part of a radio resource control resume request, the maximum number value ([0121], teaches UE signaling/reporting associated with access procedure).
However, Babaei remedies the gap left by He in regards to transmit, as part of a radio resource control resume request, the maximum number value ([0086], RRC resume framework from RRC_INACTIVE; after successful completion of RA, to include the maximum affordable-attempt value in the RRC resume signaling so the network can optimize later barring behavior for constrained devices; Applicant’s spec expressly says the UE reports nMaxxEHTx upon successful transmission as part of RRCResumeRequest [0117], [0120]-[0122], [0148])).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the references before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to yield a system to improve access control efficiency and avoiding excessive retransmissions. He teaches probabilistic access control in which a UE determines whether to attempt random access based on comparison of a generated random values with a barring factor. Wallentin teaches access barring using the exact RAND comparison rule: when the generated random number is less than the barring factor, access is not barred, and when the random number is equal to or greater than the barring factor, access is barred and the UE waits for a barring time before retrying. Furthermore, Babaei teaches the NR framework in which a UE in RRC_INACTIVE selects a cell, acquires SIB1, and performs the random access procedure including Msg3. Further, Liu teaches energy-harvesting/self-powered NB-IoT random access in which an IoT devices available energy determines whether it can support RACH transmission/repetition attempts, including determining an energy-supported maximum repetition value. Lastly, Zhang teaches receiving SIB1 access-control parameters a barring factor and barring time, and computing an adjusted/effective barring factor by multiplying the baring factor by an auxiliary probability factor for use in the RAND-based access-barring determination.
It would have been obvious to combine He’s system-information-based access control and probabilistic barring framework with Wallentin’s express RAND-to-barring-factor inequality, Babaei’s NR RRC_INACTIVE/SIB1/Msg3 random access framework, Liu’s energy-harvesting RACH energy-availability teachings, and Zhang’s adjusted barring-factor computation, in order to provide an energy-constrained UE with access-barring behavior that reduces wasted random access attempts, preserves energy, for successful random access completion, and maintains a valid probability-based access control threshold.
Regarding claim 60 (and method claim 70), He teaches the apparatus wherein the maximum number value transmitted in the radio resource control resume request is encoded as an integer field ([0121], teaches UE signaling/reporting associated with access procedure).
However, He and Wallentin do not fully teach but Babaei teaches encoded as an integer field ([0086], RRC resume framework from RRC_INACTIVE; after successful completion of RA, to include the maximum affordable-attempt value in the RRC resume signaling so the network can optimize later barring behavior for constrained devices; Applicant’s spec expressly says the UE reports nMaxEHTx upon successful transmission as part of RRCResumeRequest [0117], [0120]-[0122], [0148])).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the references before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to yield a system to improve access control efficiency and avoiding excessive retransmissions. He teaches probabilistic access control in which a UE determines whether to attempt random access based on comparison of a generated random values with a barring factor. Wallentin teaches access barring using the exact RAND comparison rule: when the generated random number is less than the barring factor, access is not barred, and when the random number is equal to or greater than the barring factor, access is barred and the UE waits for a barring time before retrying. Furthermore, Babaei teaches the NR framework in which a UE in RRC_INACTIVE selects a cell, acquires SIB1, and performs the random access procedure including Msg3. Further, Liu teaches energy-harvesting/self-powered NB-IoT random access in which an IoT devices available energy determines whether it can support RACH transmission/repetition attempts, including determining an energy-supported maximum repetition value. Lastly, Zhang teaches receiving SIB1 access-control parameters a barring factor and barring time, and computing an adjusted/effective barring factor by multiplying the baring factor by an auxiliary probability factor for use in the RAND-based access-barring determination.
It would have been obvious to combine He’s system-information-based access control and probabilistic barring framework with Wallentin’s express RAND-to-barring-factor inequality, Babaei’s NR RRC_INACTIVE/SIB1/Msg3 random access framework, Liu’s energy-harvesting RACH energy-availability teachings, and Zhang’s adjusted barring-factor computation, in order to provide an energy-constrained UE with access-barring behavior that reduces wasted random access attempts, preserves energy, for successful random access completion, and maintains a valid probability-based access control threshold.
Regarding claim 61 (and method claim 71), He teaches the apparatus wherein the energy-harvesting parameter and the energy-harvesting back-off time parameter are included in a barring information element of the system information block and are configured specifically for energy-harvesting small data transmission devices and not for non-energy-harvesting devices ([0067], [0123], [0172], teaches access-control information being provided through a system information message; including barring criteria).
However, He, Wallentin, Babaei, Liu and Zhang do not fully teach but Lin teaches barring information element of the system information block and are configured specifically for energy-harvesting small data transmission devices and not for non-energy-harvesting devices ([0009]-[0011], [0030]-[0035], teaches that special constrained/MTC device categories may use differentiated access parameters and retry behaviors; thus, including such differentiated parameters within the SIB1 barring information element and configure them specifically for EH SDT devices while non-EH devices continue using ordinary barring parameters; Applicant’s spec explicitly states that EH barring parameter may be broadcasted in SIB1 and “may not be received by non-EH devices”, and specifically identifies the barring IE structure [0145], [0161]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the references before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to yield a system to improve access control efficiency and avoiding excessive retransmissions. He teaches probabilistic access control in which a UE determines whether to attempt random access based on comparison of a generated random values with a barring factor. Wallentin teaches access barring using the exact RAND comparison rule: when the generated random number is less than the barring factor, access is not barred, and when the random number is equal to or greater than the barring factor, access is barred and the UE waits for a barring time before retrying. Furthermore, Babaei teaches the NR framework in which a UE in RRC_INACTIVE selects a cell, acquires SIB1, and performs the random access procedure including Msg3. Further, Liu teaches energy-harvesting/self-powered NB-IoT random access in which an IoT devices available energy determines whether it can support RACH transmission/repetition attempts, including determining an energy-supported maximum repetition value. Lastly, Zhang teaches receiving SIB1 access-control parameters a barring factor and barring time, and computing an adjusted/effective barring factor by multiplying the baring factor by an auxiliary probability factor for use in the RAND-based access-barring determination.
It would have been obvious to combine He’s system-information-based access control and probabilistic barring framework with Wallentin’s express RAND-to-barring-factor inequality, Babaei’s NR RRC_INACTIVE/SIB1/Msg3 random access framework, Liu’s energy-harvesting RACH energy-availability teachings, and Zhang’s adjusted barring-factor computation, in order to provide an energy-constrained UE with access-barring behavior that reduces wasted random access attempts, preserves energy, for successful random access completion, and maintains a valid probability-based access control threshold.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pinheiro et al (US20110199905A1) discloses access control and congestion control in machine-to-machine communication.
/MICHAEL WILLIAM ABBATINE JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419