Status of Claims
In the amendment filed on August 6th, 2026, claims 1, 2, 17, 22, 23, 24, 29, and 38 have been amended, claims 3-16, 18-21, 26, 32, 34, 37 have been cancelled and no new claim has been added. Therefore, claims 1, 2, 17, 22-25, 27-31, 33, 35-36, 38-42 are pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 17, 22-24, 27-30, 33, 35, 38-40 and 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong et al. (US 20180160782 A1) in view of Jayawardena et al. (CA 3025388 C) and Gerhardt et al. (EP 3419239 A1)
In regards to claim 1, Wong teaches a method at a first communication device for engaging in a communication device detection process, the method comprising: providing, to a detection function, a request for at least one of the first communication device and a second communication device to attempt to detect the other communication device during a detection phase (Paragraphs 12)
A method of using an Multi-Purpose Portable Fan include placing the three-position switch in the LED light position to illuminate the fan array with LED lights, sending a wireless signal to the user's mobile device, and activating an associated mobile device application where the user may be able select the color, and alternately the flashing pattern, of the LED lights. Placing the three-position switch in the aid request position may send a wireless signal to the user's mobile device, which may activate the associated mobile device application and the global positioning system-enabled location transmitter to signal aid request service providers that a person is in distress. Concurrently, the user's fan array with LED lights may change to display a red color and fan assemblies proximate to the user's fan array with LED lights may also switch to display a red color. [P-12]
Here we see an instance from Wong where a first communication device such as the portable fan with LED illuminating capabilities may engage in communication with a second communication device such a mobile device, wherein a request to detect the other communication device (the fan), to which when the request is received by the mobile device, the mobile device activates an application that acts as a detection function in which a GPS location transmitter is activated, as well as enabling the portable fan(s) lights within proximity to emit a distinct red color.
Furthermore, Wong teaches receiving, from the detection function, details on an emitted light pattern to be applied by the first communication device during the detection phase, and participating in the detection phase, based on at least parts of the received details on an emitted light pattern (red)(Paragraph 12).
A method of using an Multi-Purpose Portable Fan include placing the three-position switch in the LED light position to illuminate the fan array with LED lights, sending a wireless signal to the user's mobile device, and activating an associated mobile device application where the user may be able select the color, and alternately the flashing pattern, of the LED lights. Placing the three-position switch in the aid request position may send a wireless signal to the user's mobile device, which may activate the associated mobile device application and the global positioning system-enabled location transmitter to signal aid request service providers that a person is in distress. Concurrently, the user's fan array with LED lights may change to display a red color and fan assemblies proximate to the user's fan array with LED lights may also switch to display a red color. [P-12]
Wong fails to teach emitted light pattern(s), wherein the details include a code that is selected by the detection function and is uniquely distinguished from codes applied by other communication devices.
Jayawardena on the other hand teaches emitted light pattern(s), wherein the details include a code that is selected by the detection function and is uniquely distinguished from codes applied by other communication devices (Paragraphs 6, 17, 101)
In another aspect, the disclosure can generally relate to an asset communication device associated with an asset. The asset communication device can include a light source and a controller that determines when to send a first visible light communication (VLC) signal. The asset communication device can also include a VLC signal generator coupled to the controller, where the VLC signal generator generates the first VLC signal based on instructions received from the controller. The asset communication device can further include a transceiver coupled to the VLC signal generator, where the transceiver broadcasts the first VLC signal using the light source, where the first VLC signal comprises an identification of the asset. The first VLC signal can be configured to be received by a first VLC device comprising a second transceiver, where the first VLC device can determine, based on the first VLC signal received by the VLC device, a location of the asset.[P-6]
The example embodiments discussed herein are directed to systems, methods, and devices for asset tracking using VLC, either in whole or in part. In other words, asset tracking described herein requires two-way communication, and at least one direction of that communication uses VLC. In some cases, example embodiments may be directed to tracking one or more assets using VLC in a volume of space to communicate a location of those assets in the volume of space. For example, asset tracking using VLC can be used entirely within a volume of space. Asset tracking using VLC can be used in a combination of one or more hazardous locations and/or one or more non-hazardous locations. Further, example embodiments can coordinate a network of light sources, modulation circuits, and communication devices.[P-17]
The local controller 586 of the communication device 580 can coordinate and control the other components (e.g., power module 581, sensor device 582) of the communication device 580. For example, the local controller 586 can interpret a VLC signal received by the VLC signal detector 583. As another example, the local controller 586 can collect and interpret 3-axis motion information measured by one or more of the sensor devices 582. As yet another example, the local controller 586 can manage the power generated by the power module 581 and distributed to any or all of the other components of the communication device 580. As still another example, the local controller 586 (also called a signal generator) can generate and send, using the transceiver 584, a unique identification code through the VLC network so that the asset 398 associated with the transceiver 584 can be identified, located, and tracked.[P-101]
Here, we see Jayawardena teach the communication of two devices using light pattern modulation by way of VLC, wherein, communication is established and deciphered using unique code/identification, wherein the code consists of specific messages such as identity and location. Thereby enabling synonymously light pattern(s), wherein the details include a code that is selected by the detection function and is uniquely distinguished from codes applied by other communication devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious during the time of the filing date to combine Jayawardena’s teaching with Wong’s teaching in order to enable a more secure and cost effective method to establish communication between two specific devices within a given network.
Wong modified fails to teach the selected code is allocated by the detection function to both the first communication device and the second communication device for the communication device detection process before the detection phase.
Gerhardt on the other hand teaches the selected code is allocated by the detection function to both the first communication device and the second communication device for the communication device detection process before the detection phase (Paragraphs 58, 59)
The at least one light source 206 emits (or transmits) the validation code in the coded light signal, which is detected by the light detector 102 of the device 100. The light detector 102 of the device 100 thus receives the validation code from the at least one light source 206. The processor 104 of the device 100 may then use the validation code to establish communications with the one or more other devices 204 with which the device 100 is to be paired according to the method described herein. For example, in some embodiments, the processor 104 of the device 100 may be configured to confirm or check with one or more of the servers 210 (or, more specifically, the server 210 used in generating the validation code) that the validation code is in fact valid.[P-58]
In these embodiments, the processor 104 of the device 100 may proceed to pair the device with the at least one other device 204 only if the validation code is valid. In this way, the device 100 will only exchange data (or information) with the one or more other devices 204 or the one or more servers 210 if the validation code is valid. The use of the validation code makes it difficult, if not impossible, for any external source to replicate, or pretend to be, the at least one light source 206. This ensures that the communication links between the device 100, the at least one light source 206, the one or more other devices 204, and the one or more servers 210, are secure. The above-described method can thus be used to generate a secure validation (for example, location) code for the at least one light source 206.[P-59]
Here we see Gerhardt disclose the selected code is allocated by the detection function (which in Gerhardt’s case is a serve) to both the first communication device and the second communication device for the communication device detection process, i.e. the light detector 102 of the device 100 thus receives the validation code from the at least one light source 206. The processor 104 of the device 100 may then use the validation code to establish communications with the one or more other devices 204 with which the device 100 is to be paired according to the method described herein. For example, in some embodiments, the processor 104 of the device 100 may be configured to confirm or check with one or more of the servers 210 (or, more specifically, the server 210 used in generating the validation code) that the validation code is in fact valid. Upon validation the detection phase for pairing communication devices is conducted before multiple devices may then securely exchange data, i.e. the processor 104 of the device 100 may proceed to pair the device with the at least one other device 204 only if the validation code is valid. In this way, the device 100 will only exchange data (or information) with the one or more other devices 204 or the one or more servers 210 if the validation code is valid.
Therefore, it would have been obvious during the time of the filing date of the invention to combine Gerhardt’s teaching with Wong modified’s teaching in order to enable the secure pairing of communication devices where unauthorized devices would be prevented from communication other devices.
In regards to claim 2, Wong teaches a method at a second communication device for engaging in communication device detection process, the method comprising: receiving, from a detection function, an indication that a first communication device has requested at least one of a first communication device and the second communication device to attempt to detect the other communication device during a detection phase(Paragraphs 12)
A method of using an Multi-Purpose Portable Fan include placing the three-position switch in the LED light position to illuminate the fan array with LED lights, sending a wireless signal to the user's mobile device, and activating an associated mobile device application where the user may be able select the color, and alternately the flashing pattern, of the LED lights. Placing the three-position switch in the aid request position may send a wireless signal to the user's mobile device, which may activate the associated mobile device application and the global positioning system-enabled location transmitter to signal aid request service providers that a person is in distress. Concurrently, the user's fan array with LED lights may change to display a red color and fan assemblies proximate to the user's fan array with LED lights may also switch to display a red color. [P-12]
Here we see an instance from Wong where a second communication device such as the portable fan with LED illuminating capabilities may engage in communication with a first communication device such a mobile device, wherein a request to detect the other communication device (the fan), to which when the request is received by the mobile device, the mobile device activates an application that acts as a detection function in which a GPS location transmitter is activated, as well as enabling the portable fan(s) lights within proximity to emit a distinct red color.
Furthermore, Wong teaches receiving, from the detection function, details on an emitted light pattern to be applied by the second communication device during the detection phase, upon having provided an acceptance of the request to the detection function, and participating in the detection phase, by applying at least parts of the received details on the emitted light pattern(red)(Paragraph 12).
A method of using an Multi-Purpose Portable Fan include placing the three-position switch in the LED light position to illuminate the fan array with LED lights, sending a wireless signal to the user's mobile device, and activating an associated mobile device application where the user may be able select the color, and alternately the flashing pattern, of the LED lights. Placing the three-position switch in the aid request position may send a wireless signal to the user's mobile device, which may activate the associated mobile device application and the global positioning system-enabled location transmitter to signal aid request service providers that a person is in distress. Concurrently, the user's fan array with LED lights may change to display a red color and fan assemblies proximate to the user's fan array with LED lights may also switch to display a red color. [P-12]
Wong fails to teach emitted light pattern(s), wherein the details include a code that is selected by the detection function and is uniquely distinguished from codes applied by other communication devices.
Jayawardena on the other hand teaches emitted light pattern(s), wherein the details include a code that is selected by the detection function and is uniquely distinguished from codes applied by other communication devices (Paragraphs 6, 17, 101)
In another aspect, the disclosure can generally relate to an asset communication device associated with an asset. The asset communication device can include a light source and a controller that determines when to send a first visible light communication (VLC) signal. The asset communication device can also include a VLC signal generator coupled to the controller, where the VLC signal generator generates the first VLC signal based on instructions received from the controller. The asset communication device can further include a transceiver coupled to the VLC signal generator, where the transceiver broadcasts the first VLC signal using the light source, where the first VLC signal comprises an identification of the asset. The first VLC signal can be configured to be received by a first VLC device comprising a second transceiver, where the first VLC device can determine, based on the first VLC signal received by the VLC device, a location of the asset.[P-6]
The example embodiments discussed herein are directed to systems, methods, and devices for asset tracking using VLC, either in whole or in part. In other words, asset tracking described herein requires two-way communication, and at least one direction of that communication uses VLC. In some cases, example embodiments may be directed to tracking one or more assets using VLC in a volume of space to communicate a location of those assets in the volume of space. For example, asset tracking using VLC can be used entirely within a volume of space. Asset tracking using VLC can be used in a combination of one or more hazardous locations and/or one or more non-hazardous locations. Further, example embodiments can coordinate a network of light sources, modulation circuits, and communication devices.[P-17]
The local controller 586 of the communication device 580 can coordinate and control the other components (e.g., power module 581, sensor device 582) of the communication device 580. For example, the local controller 586 can interpret a VLC signal received by the VLC signal detector 583. As another example, the local controller 586 can collect and interpret 3-axis motion information measured by one or more of the sensor devices 582. As yet another example, the local controller 586 can manage the power generated by the power module 581 and distributed to any or all of the other components of the communication device 580. As still another example, the local controller 586 (also called a signal generator) can generate and send, using the transceiver 584, a unique identification code through the VLC network so that the asset 398 associated with the transceiver 584 can be identified, located, and tracked.[P-101]
Here, we see Jayawardena teach the communication of two devices using light pattern modulation by way of VLC, wherein, communication is established and deciphered using unique code/identification, wherein the code consists of specific messages such as identity and location. Thereby enabling synonymously light pattern(s), wherein the details include a code that is selected by the detection function and is uniquely distinguished from codes applied by other communication devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious during the time of the filing date to combine Jayawardena’s teaching with Wong’s teaching in order to enable a more secure and cost effective method to establish communication between two specific devices within a given network.
Wong modified fails to teach the selected code is allocated by the detection function to both the first communication device and the second communication device for the communication device detection process before the detection phase.
Gerhardt on the other hand teaches the selected code is allocated by the detection function to both the first communication device and the second communication device for the communication device detection process before the detection phase (Paragraphs 58, 59)
The at least one light source 206 emits (or transmits) the validation code in the coded light signal, which is detected by the light detector 102 of the device 100. The light detector 102 of the device 100 thus receives the validation code from the at least one light source 206. The processor 104 of the device 100 may then use the validation code to establish communications with the one or more other devices 204 with which the device 100 is to be paired according to the method described herein. For example, in some embodiments, the processor 104 of the device 100 may be configured to confirm or check with one or more of the servers 210 (or, more specifically, the server 210 used in generating the validation code) that the validation code is in fact valid.[P-58]
In these embodiments, the processor 104 of the device 100 may proceed to pair the device with the at least one other device 204 only if the validation code is valid. In this way, the device 100 will only exchange data (or information) with the one or more other devices 204 or the one or more servers 210 if the validation code is valid. The use of the validation code makes it difficult, if not impossible, for any external source to replicate, or pretend to be, the at least one light source 206. This ensures that the communication links between the device 100, the at least one light source 206, the one or more other devices 204, and the one or more servers 210, are secure. The above-described method can thus be used to generate a secure validation (for example, location) code for the at least one light source 206.[P-59]
Here we see Gerhardt disclose the selected code is allocated by the detection function (which in Gerhardt’s case is a serve) to both the first communication device and the second communication device for the communication device detection process, i.e. the light detector 102 of the device 100 thus receives the validation code from the at least one light source 206. The processor 104 of the device 100 may then use the validation code to establish communications with the one or more other devices 204 with which the device 100 is to be paired according to the method described herein. For example, in some embodiments, the processor 104 of the device 100 may be configured to confirm or check with one or more of the servers 210 (or, more specifically, the server 210 used in generating the validation code) that the validation code is in fact valid. Upon validation the detection phase for pairing communication devices is conducted before multiple devices may then securely exchange data, i.e. the processor 104 of the device 100 may proceed to pair the device with the at least one other device 204 only if the validation code is valid. In this way, the device 100 will only exchange data (or information) with the one or more other devices 204 or the one or more servers 210 if the validation code is valid.
Therefore, it would have been obvious during the time of the filing date of the invention to combine Gerhardt’s teaching with Wong modified’s teaching in order to enable the secure pairing of communication devices where unauthorized devices would be prevented from communication other devices.
In regards to claim 17, Wong teaches a method, at a detection function, for providing a communication device detection procedure to at least two communication devices (Paragraph 12)
A method of using an Multi-Purpose Portable Fan include placing the three-position switch in the LED light position to illuminate the fan array with LED lights, sending a wireless signal to the user's mobile device, and activating an associated mobile device application where the user may be able select the color, and alternately the flashing pattern, of the LED lights. Placing the three-position switch in the aid request position may send a wireless signal to the user's mobile device, which may activate the associated mobile device application and the global positioning system-enabled location transmitter to signal aid request service providers that a person is in distress. Concurrently, the user's fan array with LED lights may change to display a red color and fan assemblies proximate to the user's fan array with LED lights may also switch to display a red color.[P-12]
Here, the detection function occurs when the fan transmits a signal to a mobile device, thereafter the mobile device responds by controlling which color the fan device emits, enabling the completion of the detection function
Wong also teaches the method comprising receiving a request from the first communication device requesting one of a first communication device and a second communication device to attempt to detect the other communication device(Paragraphs 12)
A method of using an Multi-Purpose Portable Fan include placing the three-position switch in the LED light position to illuminate the fan array with LED lights, sending a wireless signal to the user's mobile device, and activating an associated mobile device application where the user may be able select the color, and alternately the flashing pattern, of the LED lights. Placing the three-position switch in the aid request position may send a wireless signal to the user's mobile device, which may activate the associated mobile device application and the global positioning system-enabled location transmitter to signal aid request service providers that a person is in distress. Concurrently, the user's fan array with LED lights may change to display a red color and fan assemblies proximate to the user's fan array with LED lights may also switch to display a red color. [P-12]
Furthermore, Wong teaches determining details on a light pattern to be applied by the first communication device and the second communication device during a detection phase (configuring by the mobile device which light pattern to be emitted via the fan device), upon having received an acceptance of the request from one of the communication devices, and providing the determined details on the light pattern (i.e. emit a red light) to the first and the second communication device (Paragraph 12).
A method of using an Multi-Purpose Portable Fan include placing the three-position switch in the LED light position to illuminate the fan array with LED lights, sending a wireless signal to the user's mobile device, and activating an associated mobile device application where the user may be able select the color, and alternately the flashing pattern, of the LED lights. Placing the three-position switch in the aid request position may send a wireless signal to the user's mobile device, which may activate the associated mobile device application and the global positioning system-enabled location transmitter to signal aid request service providers that a person is in distress. Concurrently, the user's fan array with LED lights may change to display a red color and fan assemblies proximate to the user's fan array with LED lights may also switch to display a red color. [P-12]
Wong fails to teach emitted light pattern(s), wherein the details include a code that is selected by the detection function and is uniquely distinguished from codes applied by other communication devices.
Jayawardena on the other hand teaches emitted light pattern(s), wherein the details include a code that is selected by the detection function and is uniquely distinguished from codes applied by other communication devices (Paragraphs 6, 17, 101)
In another aspect, the disclosure can generally relate to an asset communication device associated with an asset. The asset communication device can include a light source and a controller that determines when to send a first visible light communication (VLC) signal. The asset communication device can also include a VLC signal generator coupled to the controller, where the VLC signal generator generates the first VLC signal based on instructions received from the controller. The asset communication device can further include a transceiver coupled to the VLC signal generator, where the transceiver broadcasts the first VLC signal using the light source, where the first VLC signal comprises an identification of the asset. The first VLC signal can be configured to be received by a first VLC device comprising a second transceiver, where the first VLC device can determine, based on the first VLC signal received by the VLC device, a location of the asset.[P-6]
The example embodiments discussed herein are directed to systems, methods, and devices for asset tracking using VLC, either in whole or in part. In other words, asset tracking described herein requires two-way communication, and at least one direction of that communication uses VLC. In some cases, example embodiments may be directed to tracking one or more assets using VLC in a volume of space to communicate a location of those assets in the volume of space. For example, asset tracking using VLC can be used entirely within a volume of space. Asset tracking using VLC can be used in a combination of one or more hazardous locations and/or one or more non-hazardous locations. Further, example embodiments can coordinate a network of light sources, modulation circuits, and communication devices.[P-17]
The local controller 586 of the communication device 580 can coordinate and control the other components (e.g., power module 581, sensor device 582) of the communication device 580. For example, the local controller 586 can interpret a VLC signal received by the VLC signal detector 583. As another example, the local controller 586 can collect and interpret 3-axis motion information measured by one or more of the sensor devices 582. As yet another example, the local controller 586 can manage the power generated by the power module 581 and distributed to any or all of the other components of the communication device 580. As still another example, the local controller 586 (also called a signal generator) can generate and send, using the transceiver 584, a unique identification code through the VLC network so that the asset 398 associated with the transceiver 584 can be identified, located, and tracked.[P-101]
Here, we see Jayawardena teach the communication of two devices using light pattern modulation by way of VLC, wherein, communication is established and deciphered using unique code/identification, wherein the code consists of specific messages such as identity and location. Thereby enabling synonymously light pattern(s), wherein the details include a code that is selected by the detection function and is uniquely distinguished from codes applied by other communication devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious during the time of the filing date to combine Jayawardena’s teaching with Wong’s teaching in order to enable a more secure and cost effective method to establish communication between two specific devices within a given network.
Wong modified fails to teach the selected code is allocated by the detection function to both the first communication device and the second communication device for the communication device detection process before the detection phase.
Gerhardt on the other hand teaches the selected code is allocated by the detection function to both the first communication device and the second communication device for the communication device detection process before the detection phase (Paragraphs 58, 59)
The at least one light source 206 emits (or transmits) the validation code in the coded light signal, which is detected by the light detector 102 of the device 100. The light detector 102 of the device 100 thus receives the validation code from the at least one light source 206. The processor 104 of the device 100 may then use the validation code to establish communications with the one or more other devices 204 with which the device 100 is to be paired according to the method described herein. For example, in some embodiments, the processor 104 of the device 100 may be configured to confirm or check with one or more of the servers 210 (or, more specifically, the server 210 used in generating the validation code) that the validation code is in fact valid.[P-58]
In these embodiments, the processor 104 of the device 100 may proceed to pair the device with the at least one other device 204 only if the validation code is valid. In this way, the device 100 will only exchange data (or information) with the one or more other devices 204 or the one or more servers 210 if the validation code is valid. The use of the validation code makes it difficult, if not impossible, for any external source to replicate, or pretend to be, the at least one light source 206. This ensures that the communication links between the device 100, the at least one light source 206, the one or more other devices 204, and the one or more servers 210, are secure. The above-described method can thus be used to generate a secure validation (for example, location) code for the at least one light source 206.[P-59]
Here we see Gerhardt disclose the selected code is allocated by the detection function (which in Gerhardt’s case is a serve) to both the first communication device and the second communication device for the communication device detection process, i.e. the light detector 102 of the device 100 thus receives the validation code from the at least one light source 206. The processor 104 of the device 100 may then use the validation code to establish communications with the one or more other devices 204 with which the device 100 is to be paired according to the method described herein. For example, in some embodiments, the processor 104 of the device 100 may be configured to confirm or check with one or more of the servers 210 (or, more specifically, the server 210 used in generating the validation code) that the validation code is in fact valid. Upon validation the detection phase for pairing communication devices is conducted before multiple devices may then securely exchange data, i.e. the processor 104 of the device 100 may proceed to pair the device with the at least one other device 204 only if the validation code is valid. In this way, the device 100 will only exchange data (or information) with the one or more other devices 204 or the one or more servers 210 if the validation code is valid.
Therefore, it would have been obvious during the time of the filing date of the invention to combine Gerhardt’s teaching with Wong modified’s teaching in order to enable the secure pairing of communication devices where unauthorized devices would be prevented from communication other devices.
In regards to claim 22, Wong teaches a first communication device for engaging in communication device detection process, the first communication device being configured to: provide, to a detection function(Paragraph 12).
A method of using an Multi-Purpose Portable Fan include placing the three-position switch in the LED light position to illuminate the fan array with LED lights, sending a wireless signal to the user's mobile device, and activating an associated mobile device application where the user may be able select the color, and alternately the flashing pattern, of the LED lights. Placing the three-position switch in the aid request position may send a wireless signal to the user's mobile device, which may activate the associated mobile device application and the global positioning system-enabled location transmitter to signal aid request service providers that a person is in distress. Concurrently, the user's fan array with LED lights may change to display a red color and fan assemblies proximate to the user's fan array with LED lights may also switch to display a red color. [P-12]
Here the first communication device being the mobile device that is configured to provide a detection function, that configures a sequence that enables the detection of another device such as a multi-purpose LED fan
Furthermore, Wong teaches a request for at least one of the first communication device and a second communication device to attempt to detect the other communication device during a detection phase(Paragraphs 12)
A method of using an Multi-Purpose Portable Fan include placing the three-position switch in the LED light position to illuminate the fan array with LED lights, sending a wireless signal to the user's mobile device, and activating an associated mobile device application where the user may be able select the color, and alternately the flashing pattern, of the LED lights. Placing the three-position switch in the aid request position may send a wireless signal to the user's mobile device, which may activate the associated mobile device application and the global positioning system-enabled location transmitter to signal aid request service providers that a person is in distress. Concurrently, the user's fan array with LED lights may change to display a red color and fan assemblies proximate to the user's fan array with LED lights may also switch to display a red color. [P-12]
Here we see an instance from Wong where a second communication device such as the portable fan with LED illuminating capabilities may engage in communication with a first communication device such a mobile device, wherein a request to detect the other communication device (the fan), to which when the request is received by the mobile device, the mobile device activates an application that acts as a detection function in which a GPS location transmitter is activated, as well as enabling the portable fan(s) lights within proximity to emit a distinct red color.
Furthermore, Wong teaches receiving from the detection function, details on an emitted light pattern to be applied by the first communication device during the detection phase, and participate in the detection phase, based on at least parts of the received details on an emitted light pattern(red)(Paragraph 12).
A method of using an Multi-Purpose Portable Fan include placing the three-position switch in the LED light position to illuminate the fan array with LED lights, sending a wireless signal to the user's mobile device, and activating an associated mobile device application where the user may be able select the color, and alternately the flashing pattern, of the LED lights. Placing the three-position switch in the aid request position may send a wireless signal to the user's mobile device, which may activate the associated mobile device application and the global positioning system-enabled location transmitter to signal aid request service providers that a person is in distress. Concurrently, the user's fan array with LED lights may change to display a red color and fan assemblies proximate to the user's fan array with LED lights may also switch to display a red color. [P-12]
Wong fails to teach emitted light pattern(s), wherein the details include a code that is selected by the detection function and is uniquely distinguished from codes applied by other communication devices.
Jayawardena on the other hand teaches emitted light pattern(s), wherein the details include a code that is selected by the detection function and is uniquely distinguished from codes applied by other communication devices (Paragraphs 6, 17, 101)
In another aspect, the disclosure can generally relate to an asset communication device associated with an asset. The asset communication device can include a light source and a controller that determines when to send a first visible light communication (VLC) signal. The asset communication device can also include a VLC signal generator coupled to the controller, where the VLC signal generator generates the first VLC signal based on instructions received from the controller. The asset communication device can further include a transceiver coupled to the VLC signal generator, where the transceiver broadcasts the first VLC signal using the light source, where the first VLC signal comprises an identification of the asset. The first VLC signal can be configured to be received by a first VLC device comprising a second transceiver, where the first VLC device can determine, based on the first VLC signal received by the VLC device, a location of the asset.[P-6]
The example embodiments discussed herein are directed to systems, methods, and devices for asset tracking using VLC, either in whole or in part. In other words, asset tracking described herein requires two-way communication, and at least one direction of that communication uses VLC. In some cases, example embodiments may be directed to tracking one or more assets using VLC in a volume of space to communicate a location of those assets in the volume of space. For example, asset tracking using VLC can be used entirely within a volume of space. Asset tracking using VLC can be used in a combination of one or more hazardous locations and/or one or more non-hazardous locations. Further, example embodiments can coordinate a network of light sources, modulation circuits, and communication devices.[P-17]
The local controller 586 of the communication device 580 can coordinate and control the other components (e.g., power module 581, sensor device 582) of the communication device 580. For example, the local controller 586 can interpret a VLC signal received by the VLC signal detector 583. As another example, the local controller 586 can collect and interpret 3-axis motion information measured by one or more of the sensor devices 582. As yet another example, the local controller 586 can manage the power generated by the power module 581 and distributed to any or all of the other components of the communication device 580. As still another example, the local controller 586 (also called a signal generator) can generate and send, using the transceiver 584, a unique identification code through the VLC network so that the asset 398 associated with the transceiver 584 can be identified, located, and tracked.[P-101]
Here, we see Jayawardena teach the communication of two devices using light pattern modulation by way of VLC, wherein, communication is established and deciphered using unique code/identification, wherein the code consists of specific messages such as identity and location. Thereby enabling synonymously light pattern(s), wherein the details include a code that is selected by the detection function and is uniquely distinguished from codes applied by other communication devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious during the time of the filing date to combine Jayawardena’s teaching with Wong’s teaching in order to enable a more secure and cost effective method to establish communication between two specific devices within a given network.
Wong modified fails to teach the selected code is allocated by the detection function to both the first communication device and the second communication device for the communication device detection process before the detection phase.
Gerhardt on the other hand teaches the selected code is allocated by the detection function to both the first communication device and the second communication device for the communication device detection process before the detection phase (Paragraphs 58, 59)
The at least one light source 206 emits (or transmits) the validation code in the coded light signal, which is detected by the light detector 102 of the device 100. The light detector 102 of the device 100 thus receives the validation code from the at least one light source 206. The processor 104 of the device 100 may then use the validation code to establish communications with the one or more other devices 204 with which the device 100 is to be paired according to the method described herein. For example, in some embodiments, the processor 104 of the device 100 may be configured to confirm or check with one or more of the servers 210 (or, more specifically, the server 210 used in generating the validation code) that the validation code is in fact valid.[P-58]
In these embodiments, the processor 104 of the device 100 may proceed to pair the device with the at least one other device 204 only if the validation code is valid. In this way, the device 100 will only exchange data (or information) with the one or more other devices 204 or the one or more servers 210 if the validation code is valid. The use of the validation code makes it difficult, if not impossible, for any external source to replicate, or pretend to be, the at least one light source 206. This ensures that the communication links between the device 100, the at least one light source 206, the one or more other devices 204, and the one or more servers 210, are secure. The above-described method can thus be used to generate a secure validation (for example, location) code for the at least one light source 206.[P-59]
Here we see Gerhardt disclose the selected code is allocated by the detection function (which in Gerhardt’s case is a serve) to both the first communication device and the second communication device for the communication device detection process, i.e. the light detector 102 of the device 100 thus receives the validation code from the at least one light source 206. The processor 104 of the device 100 may then use the validation code to establish communications with the one or more other devices 204 with which the device 100 is to be paired according to the method described herein. For example, in some embodiments, the processor 104 of the device 100 may be configured to confirm or check with one or more of the servers 210 (or, more specifically, the server 210 used in generating the validation code) that the validation code is in fact valid. Upon validation the detection phase for pairing communication devices is conducted before multiple devices may then securely exchange data, i.e. the processor 104 of the device 100 may proceed to pair the device with the at least one other device 204 only if the validation code is valid. In this way, the device 100 will only exchange data (or information) with the one or more other devices 204 or the one or more servers 210 if the validation code is valid.
Therefore, it would have been obvious during the time of the filing date of the invention to combine Gerhardt’s teaching with Wong modified’s teaching in order to enable the secure pairing of communication devices where unauthorized devices would be prevented from communication other devices.
In regards to claim 23, Wong teaches a second communication device for engaging in a communication device detection process, the second communication device being configured to: receive, from a detection function, an indication that a first communication device has requested at least one of a first communication device and the second communication device to attempt to detect the other communication device during a detection phase(Paragraph 12).
A method of using an Multi-Purpose Portable Fan include placing the three-position switch in the LED light position to illuminate the fan array with LED lights, sending a wireless signal to the user's mobile device, and activating an associated mobile device application where the user may be able select the color, and alternately the flashing pattern, of the LED lights. Placing the three-position switch in the aid request position may send a wireless signal to the user's mobile device, which may activate the associated mobile device application and the global positioning system-enabled location transmitter to signal aid request service providers that a person is in distress. Concurrently, the user's fan array with LED lights may change to display a red color and fan assemblies proximate to the user's fan array with LED lights may also switch to display a red color. [P-12]
Here the second communication device being the mobile device that upon receiving a signal aid request from a first communication device, in which case would be a multi-purpose fan, which is then configured to provide a detection function, that configures a sequence that enables the detection of the first communication device (multi-purpose LED fan).
Furthermore, Wong teaches receiving from the detection function, details on an emitted light pattern to be applied by the second communication device during the detection phase, upon having provided an acceptance of the request to the detection function, and participate in the detection phase, by applying at least parts of the received details on the emitted light pattern(red)(Paragraph 12).
A method of using an Multi-Purpose Portable Fan include placing the three-position switch in the LED light position to illuminate the fan array with LED lights, sending a wireless signal to the user's mobile device, and activating an associated mobile device application where the user may be able select the color, and alternately the flashing pattern, of the LED lights. Placing the three-position switch in the aid request position may send a wireless signal to the user's mobile device, which may activate the associated mobile device application and the global positioning system-enabled location transmitter to signal aid request service providers that a person is in distress. Concurrently, the user's fan array with LED lights may change to display a red color and fan assemblies proximate to the user's fan array with LED lights may also switch to display a red color. [P-12]
Wong fails to teach emitted light pattern(s), wherein the details include a code that is selected by the detection function and is uniquely distinguished from codes applied by other communication devices.
Jayawardena on the other hand teaches emitted light pattern(s), wherein the details include a code that is selected by the detection function and is uniquely distinguished from codes applied by other communication devices (Paragraphs 6, 17, 101)
In another aspect, the disclosure can generally relate to an asset communication device associated with an asset. The asset communication device can include a light source and a controller that determines when to send a first visible light communication (VLC) signal. The asset communication device can also include a VLC signal generator coupled to the controller, where the VLC signal generator generates the first VLC signal based on instructions received from the controller. The asset communication device can further include a transceiver coupled to the VLC signal generator, where the transceiver broadcasts the first VLC signal using the light source, where the first VLC signal comprises an identification of the asset. The first VLC signal can be configured to be received by a first VLC device comprising a second transceiver, where the first VLC device can determine, based on the first VLC signal received by the VLC device, a location of the asset.[P-6]
The example embodiments discussed herein are directed to systems, methods, and devices for asset tracking using VLC, either in whole or in part. In other words, asset tracking described herein requires two-way communication, and at least one direction of that communication uses VLC. In some cases, example embodiments may be directed to tracking one or more assets using VLC in a volume of space to communicate a location of those assets in the volume of space. For example, asset tracking using VLC can be used entirely within a volume of space. Asset tracking using VLC can be used in a combination of one or more hazardous locations and/or one or more non-hazardous locations. Further, example embodiments can coordinate a network of light sources, modulation circuits, and communication devices.[P-17]
The local controller 586 of the communication device 580 can coordinate and control the other components (e.g., power module 581, sensor device 582) of the communication device 580. For example, the local controller 586 can interpret a VLC signal received by the VLC signal detector 583. As another example, the local controller 586 can collect and interpret 3-axis motion information measured by one or more of the sensor devices 582. As yet another example, the local controller 586 can manage the power generated by the power module 581 and distributed to any or all of the other components of the communication device 580. As still another example, the local controller 586 (also called a signal generator) can generate and send, using the transceiver 584, a unique identification code through the VLC network so that the asset 398 associated with the transceiver 584 can be identified, located, and tracked.[P-101]
Here, we see Jayawardena teach the communication of two devices using light pattern modulation by way of VLC, wherein, communication is established and deciphered using unique code/identification, wherein the code consists of specific messages such as identity and location. Thereby enabling synonymously light pattern(s), wherein the details include a code that is selected by the detection function and is uniquely distinguished from codes applied by other communication devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious during the time of the filing date to combine Jayawardena’s teaching with Wong’s teaching in order to enable a more secure and cost effective method to establish communication between two specific devices within a given network.
Wong modified fails to teach the selected code is allocated by the detection function to both the first communication device and the second communication device for the communication device detection process before the detection phase.
Gerhardt on the other hand teaches the selected code is allocated by the detection function to both the first communication device and the second communication device for the communication device detection process before the detection phase (Paragraphs 58, 59)
The at least one light source 206 emits (or transmits) the validation code in the coded light signal, which is detected by the light detector 102 of the device 100. The light detector 102 of the device 100 thus receives the validation code from the at least one light source 206. The processor 104 of the device 100 may then use the validation code to establish communications with the one or more other devices 204 with which the device 100 is to be paired according to the method described herein. For example, in some embodiments, the processor 104 of the device 100 may be configured to confirm or check with one or more of the servers 210 (or, more specifically, the server 210 used in generating the validation code) that the validation code is in fact valid.[P-58]
In these embodiments, the processor 104 of the device 100 may proceed to pair the device with the at least one other device 204 only if the validation code is valid. In this way, the device 100 will only exchange data (or information) with the one or more other devices 204 or the one or more servers 210 if the validation code is valid. The use of the validation code makes it difficult, if not impossible, for any external source to replicate, or pretend to be, the at least one light source 206. This ensures that the communication links between the device 100, the at least one light source 206, the one or more other devices 204, and the one or more servers 210, are secure. The above-described method can thus be used to generate a secure validation (for example, location) code for the at least one light source 206.[P-59]
Here we see Gerhardt disclose the selected code is allocated by the detection function (which in Gerhardt’s case is a serve) to both the first communication device and the second communication device for the communication device detection process, i.e. the light detector 102 of the device 100 thus receives the validation code from the at least one light source 206. The processor 104 of the device 100 may then use the validation code to establish communications with the one or more other devices 204 with which the device 100 is to be paired according to the method described herein. For example, in some embodiments, the processor 104 of the device 100 may be configured to confirm or check with one or more of the servers 210 (or, more specifically, the server 210 used in generating the validation code) that the validation code is in fact valid. Upon validation the detection phase for pairing communication devices is conducted before multiple devices may then securely exchange data, i.e. the processor 104 of the device 100 may proceed to pair the device with the at least one other device 204 only if the validation code is valid. In this way, the device 100 will only exchange data (or information) with the one or more other devices 204 or the one or more servers 210 if the validation code is valid.
Therefore, it would have been obvious during the time of the filing date of the invention to combine Gerhardt’s teaching with Wong modified’s teaching in order to enable the secure pairing of communication devices where unauthorized devices would be prevented from communication other devices.
In regards to claim 24, Wong teaches the first or second communication device, configured to participate in the detection phase, by applying at least parts of the received details on the emitted light pattern, by: emitting a light pattern according to at least parts of said details on an emitted light pattern, or searching for the emitted light pattern according to at least parts of said details on an emitted light pattern(Paragraph 12).
A method of using an Multi-Purpose Portable Fan include placing the three-position switch in the LED light position to illuminate the fan array with LED lights, sending a wireless signal to the user's mobile device, and activating an associated mobile device application where the user may be able select the color, and alternately the flashing pattern, of the LED lights. Placing the three-position switch in the aid request position may send a wireless signal to the user's mobile device, which may activate the associated mobile device application and the global positioning system-enabled location transmitter to signal aid request service providers that a person is in distress. Concurrently, the user's fan array with LED lights may change to display a red color and fan assemblies proximate to the user's fan array with LED lights may also switch to display a red color. [P-12]
Here, we see the application of the received details on the emitted light pattern, such that after the mobile device receives the distress signal request, it acknowledges via mobile device application that it (the mobile device or other providers/users in the proximity of the multi-purpose fan device, as the searchers for the light pattern. The multi-purpose fan is then designated to emit a specific color light pattern, in this case red, such that, the fan device may be detected accordingly.
In regards to claim 25, Though Wong does not directly mention the first or second communication device, wherein the request comprises information decisive on which of the communication devices that shall emit light and which communication device that shall search for the emitted light.
By disclosing a first communication device such as the portable fan with LED illuminating capabilities may engage in communication with a second communication device such a mobile device, wherein a request to detect the other communication device (the fan), to which when the request is received by the mobile device, the mobile device activates an application that acts as a detection function in which a GPS location transmitter is activated, as well as enabling the portable fan(s) lights within proximity to emit a distinct red color(Paragraph 12).
A method of using an Multi-Purpose Portable Fan include placing the three-position switch in the LED light position to illuminate the fan array with LED lights, sending a wireless signal to the user's mobile device, and activating an associated mobile device application where the user may be able select the color, and alternately the flashing pattern, of the LED lights. Placing the three-position switch in the aid request position may send a wireless signal to the user's mobile device, which may activate the associated mobile device application and the global positioning system-enabled location transmitter to signal aid request service providers that a person is in distress. Concurrently, the user's fan array with LED lights may change to display a red color and fan assemblies proximate to the user's fan array with LED lights may also switch to display a red color. [P-12]
It is obvious under one of ordinary skill in the art during the filing date of the said invention that by the mobile device acknowledging the distress signal of the multi-purpose LED fan and activating its mobile application to configure the LED fan to display a specific light pattern, automatically establishes which of the communication devices that shall emit light (LED fan) and which communication device(mobile device) that shall search for the emitted light, in order to more efficiently detect an intended device.
In regards to claim 27, Wong teaches the first or second communication device wherein said communication device is configured to handle details on an emitted light pattern which comprise at least one of: a searching procedure to be applied during a detection phase; at least one direction in which to arrange at least one light pattern sensing device during a detection phase; at least one orientation in which to arrange at least one light pattern sensing device during a detection phase; at least one sequence in which to sweep at least one light pattern sensing device during a detection phase; details on how to activate at least one light pattern sensing device during a detection phase, and details on when in time in a detection phase to apply a light pattern sensing device, during a detection phase (Paragraph 12).
A method of using an Multi-Purpose Portable Fan include placing the three-position switch in the LED light position to illuminate the fan array with LED lights, sending a wireless signal to the user's mobile device, and activating an associated mobile device application where the user may be able select the color, and alternately the flashing pattern, of the LED lights. Placing the three-position switch in the aid request position may send a wireless signal to the user's mobile device, which may activate the associated mobile device application and the global positioning system-enabled location transmitter to signal aid request service providers that a person is in distress. Concurrently, the user's fan array with LED lights may change to display a red color and fan assemblies proximate to the user's fan array with LED lights may also switch to display a red color. [P-12]
The details being transmitted from the mobile device to the LED fan device to display/emit a red color pattern.
In regards to claim 28, Wong teaches the first or second communication device, wherein said communication device is configured to handle details on an emitted light pattern which comprise at least one of: a light emitting procedure to be applied during a detection phase; at least one direction in which to arrange at least one light pattern searching device during a detection phase; at least one orientation in which to arrange at least one light pattern searching device during a detection phase; at least one sequence in which to sweep at least one light pattern searching device during a detection phase; details on at least one light strength to apply by at least one emitting light source during a detection phase; details on at least one frequency to apply by at least one emitting light source during a detection phase; details on how to activate at least one light pattern searching device during a detection phase, and details on when in time in a detection phase to apply a light pattern searching device, during a detection phase(Paragraph 12).
A method of using an Multi-Purpose Portable Fan include placing the three-position switch in the LED light position to illuminate the fan array with LED lights, sending a wireless signal to the user's mobile device, and activating an associated mobile device application where the user may be able select the color, and alternately the flashing pattern, of the LED lights. Placing the three-position switch in the aid request position may send a wireless signal to the user's mobile device, which may activate the associated mobile device application and the global positioning system-enabled location transmitter to signal aid request service providers that a person is in distress. Concurrently, the user's fan array with LED lights may change to display a red color and fan assemblies proximate to the user's fan array with LED lights may also switch to display a red color. [P-12]
The details as well as the light emitting procedure being transmitted from the mobile device to the LED fan device to display/emit a red color pattern.
In regards to claim 29, Wong teaches the first or second communication device being configured to determine at least some emitting light pattern details and of transmitting the determined details to the other communication device(Paragraph 12).
A method of using an Multi-Purpose Portable Fan include placing the three-position switch in the LED light position to illuminate the fan array with LED lights, sending a wireless signal to the user's mobile device, and activating an associated mobile device application where the user may be able select the color, and alternately the flashing pattern, of the LED lights. Placing the three-position switch in the aid request position may send a wireless signal to the user's mobile device, which may activate the associated mobile device application and the global positioning system-enabled location transmitter to signal aid request service providers that a person is in distress. Concurrently, the user's fan array with LED lights may change to display a red color and fan assemblies proximate to the user's fan array with LED lights may also switch to display a red color. [P-12]
Here, the mobile device determines at least some emitting light pattern details, such as instructing the LED fan device to emit a red light pattern, and transmitting the determined details to the LED fan device accordingly.
In regards to claim 30, Wong teaches the first or second communication device ,further configured to: receive, from the detection function, updated details on an emitted light pattern to be applied by the receiving communication device during an upcoming detection phase, and participate in the upcoming detection phase, by applying at least parts of the received, updated details on the emitted light pattern(Paragraph 12).
A method of using an Multi-Purpose Portable Fan include placing the three-position switch in the LED light position to illuminate the fan array with LED lights, sending a wireless signal to the user's mobile device, and activating an associated mobile device application where the user may be able select the color, and alternately the flashing pattern, of the LED lights. Placing the three-position switch in the aid request position may send a wireless signal to the user's mobile device, which may activate the associated mobile device application and the global positioning system-enabled location transmitter to signal aid request service providers that a person is in distress. Concurrently, the user's fan array with LED lights may change to display a red color and fan assemblies proximate to the user's fan array with LED lights may also switch to display a red color. [P-12]
In Wong’s disclosure, the multi-purpose LED fan receives from its detection function/configuration, updated details on a light emitted pattern, in this case, instructed to emit a red light pattern, during the detection phase, such that the mobile device or other necessary users to possibly detect the LED fan emitting the red color pattern accordingly
In regards to claim 33, Wong teaches the first or second communication device configured to participate in the detection phase by applying at least parts of the emitted light pattern details by emitting light with at least one light emitting device(Paragraph 12).
A method of using an Multi-Purpose Portable Fan include placing the three-position switch in the LED light position to illuminate the fan array with LED lights, sending a wireless signal to the user's mobile device, and activating an associated mobile device application where the user may be able select the color, and alternately the flashing pattern, of the LED lights. Placing the three-position switch in the aid request position may send a wireless signal to the user's mobile device, which may activate the associated mobile device application and the global positioning system-enabled location transmitter to signal aid request service providers that a person is in distress. Concurrently, the user's fan array with LED lights may change to display a red color and fan assemblies proximate to the user's fan array with LED lights may also switch to display a red color. [P-12]
In Wong’s disclosure, the multi-purpose LED fan is configured to participate in the detection phase, by applying emitted light pattern details, by emitting light (red) with at least one LED.
In regards to claim 35, Wong teaches the first or second communication device, further configured to exchange capabilities, relevant for executing a detection attempt during a detection phase(Paragraph 12).
A method of using an Multi-Purpose Portable Fan include placing the three-position switch in the LED light position to illuminate the fan array with LED lights, sending a wireless signal to the user's mobile device, and activating an associated mobile device application where the user may be able select the color, and alternately the flashing pattern, of the LED lights. Placing the three-position switch in the aid request position may send a wireless signal to the user's mobile device, which may activate the associated mobile device application and the global positioning system-enabled location transmitter to signal aid request service providers that a person is in distress. Concurrently, the user's fan array with LED lights may change to display a red color and fan assemblies proximate to the user's fan array with LED lights may also switch to display a red color. [P-12]
In Wong’s disclosure, the mobile device and multi-purpose LED fan exchange capabilities relevant for executing a detection attempt during the detection phase; i.e. the exchange or a distress request signal that enables the mobile device to send a configuration response to the LED fan to emit a red light pattern for detection purposes.
In regards to claim 38, Wong teaches a detection function, for providing a communication device detection procedure to at least two communication devices (Paragraphs 12, 74).
A method of using an Multi-Purpose Portable Fan include placing the three-position switch in the LED light position to illuminate the fan array with LED lights, sending a wireless signal to the user's mobile device, and activating an associated mobile device application where the user may be able select the color, and alternately the flashing pattern, of the LED lights. Placing the three-position switch in the aid request position may send a wireless signal to the user's mobile device, which may activate the associated mobile device application and the global positioning system-enabled location transmitter to signal aid request service providers that a person is in distress. Concurrently, the user's fan array with LED lights may change to display a red color and fan assemblies proximate to the user's fan array with LED lights may also switch to display a red color. [P-12]
A method of using the present invention in at least one embodiment includes placing the three-position switch in the LED light position to illuminate the fan array with LED lights, sending a wireless signal to the user's mobile device, and activating an associated mobile device application where the user may be able select the color, and alternately the flashing pattern, of the LED lights. Placing the three-position switch in the aid request position may send a wireless signal to the user's mobile device, which may activate the associated mobile device application and the global positioning system-enabled location transmitter to signal aid request service providers that a person is in distress. Concurrently, the user's fan array with LED lights may change to display a red color and fan assemblies proximate to the user's fan array with LED lights may also switch to display a red color.[P-74]
Wong’s teaching of a detection function by way of a mobile application, which provides a communication device detection procedure (light emitting instructions) to at least two communication devices, such as at least two multi-purpose fans.
Furthermore, Wong teaches the detection function being configured to receive a request from the first communication device requesting one of a first communication device and a second communication device to attempt to detect the other communication device(Paragraph 12).
A method of using an Multi-Purpose Portable Fan include placing the three-position switch in the LED light position to illuminate the fan array with LED lights, sending a wireless signal to the user's mobile device, and activating an associated mobile device application where the user may be able select the color, and alternately the flashing pattern, of the LED lights. Placing the three-position switch in the aid request position may send a wireless signal to the user's mobile device, which may activate the associated mobile device application and the global positioning system-enabled location transmitter to signal aid request service providers that a person is in distress. Concurrently, the user's fan array with LED lights may change to display a red color and fan assemblies proximate to the user's fan array with LED lights may also switch to display a red color. [P-12]
The mobile application (detection function) of the mobile device receives a distress signal from a first multi-purpose fan (first communication device) requesting for the mobile device (second or third communication device), other multi-purpose fans within the proximity (second or third communication device), as well as aid request providers.
Lastly, Wong teaches determining details on a light pattern to be applied by the first communication device and the second communication device during a detection phase, upon having received an acceptance of the request from one of the communication devices, and provide the determined details on the light pattern to the first and the second communication device(Paragraph 12).
A method of using an Multi-Purpose Portable Fan include placing the three-position switch in the LED light position to illuminate the fan array with LED lights, sending a wireless signal to the user's mobile device, and activating an associated mobile device application where the user may be able select the color, and alternately the flashing pattern, of the LED lights. Placing the three-position switch in the aid request position may send a wireless signal to the user's mobile device, which may activate the associated mobile device application and the global positioning system-enabled location transmitter to signal aid request service providers that a person is in distress. Concurrently, the user's fan array with LED lights may change to display a red color and fan assemblies proximate to the user's fan array with LED lights may also switch to display a red color. [P-12]
Here the mobile device determines by way of the mobile application/detection function, details on a light pattern (red) to be applied by the first multi-purpose LED fan (first communication device), and other multi-purpose fan device (second communication device) during the detection phase. Furthermore, upon having received an acceptance of the request from the first multi-purpose LED fan, providing by the mobile device the determined details of the light pattern(red) to the first multi-purpose LED fan and other multi-purpose LED fan(s)
Wong fails to teach emitted light pattern(s), wherein the details include a code that is selected by the detection function and is uniquely distinguished from codes applied by other communication devices.
Jayawardena on the other hand teaches emitted light pattern(s), wherein the details include a code that is selected by the detection function and is uniquely distinguished from codes applied by other communication devices (Paragraphs 6, 17, 101)
In another aspect, the disclosure can generally relate to an asset communication device associated with an asset. The asset communication device can include a light source and a controller that determines when to send a first visible light communication (VLC) signal. The asset communication device can also include a VLC signal generator coupled to the controller, where the VLC signal generator generates the first VLC signal based on instructions received from the controller. The asset communication device can further include a transceiver coupled to the VLC signal generator, where the transceiver broadcasts the first VLC signal using the light source, where the first VLC signal comprises an identification of the asset. The first VLC signal can be configured to be received by a first VLC device comprising a second transceiver, where the first VLC device can determine, based on the first VLC signal received by the VLC device, a location of the asset.[P-6]
The example embodiments discussed herein are directed to systems, methods, and devices for asset tracking using VLC, either in whole or in part. In other words, asset tracking described herein requires two-way communication, and at least one direction of that communication uses VLC. In some cases, example embodiments may be directed to tracking one or more assets using VLC in a volume of space to communicate a location of those assets in the volume of space. For example, asset tracking using VLC can be used entirely within a volume of space. Asset tracking using VLC can be used in a combination of one or more hazardous locations and/or one or more non-hazardous locations. Further, example embodiments can coordinate a network of light sources, modulation circuits, and communication devices.[P-17]
The local controller 586 of the communication device 580 can coordinate and control the other components (e.g., power module 581, sensor device 582) of the communication device 580. For example, the local controller 586 can interpret a VLC signal received by the VLC signal detector 583. As another example, the local controller 586 can collect and interpret 3-axis motion information measured by one or more of the sensor devices 582. As yet another example, the local controller 586 can manage the power generated by the power module 581 and distributed to any or all of the other components of the communication device 580. As still another example, the local controller 586 (also called a signal generator) can generate and send, using the transceiver 584, a unique identification code through the VLC network so that the asset 398 associated with the transceiver 584 can be identified, located, and tracked.[P-101]
Here, we see Jayawardena teach the communication of two devices using light pattern modulation by way of VLC, wherein, communication is established and deciphered using unique code/identification, wherein the code consists of specific messages such as identity and location. Thereby enabling synonymously light pattern(s), wherein the details include a code that is selected by the detection function and is uniquely distinguished from codes applied by other communication devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious during the time of the filing date to combine Jayawardena’s teaching with Wong’s teaching in order to enable a more secure and cost effective method to establish communication between two specific devices within a given network.
Wong modified fails to teach the selected code is allocated by the detection function to both the first communication device and the second communication device for the communication device detection process before the detection phase.
Gerhardt on the other hand teaches the selected code is allocated by the detection function to both the first communication device and the second communication device for the communication device detection process before the detection phase (Paragraphs 58, 59)
The at least one light source 206 emits (or transmits) the validation code in the coded light signal, which is detected by the light detector 102 of the device 100. The light detector 102 of the device 100 thus receives the validation code from the at least one light source 206. The processor 104 of the device 100 may then use the validation code to establish communications with the one or more other devices 204 with which the device 100 is to be paired according to the method described herein. For example, in some embodiments, the processor 104 of the device 100 may be configured to confirm or check with one or more of the servers 210 (or, more specifically, the server 210 used in generating the validation code) that the validation code is in fact valid.[P-58]
In these embodiments, the processor 104 of the device 100 may proceed to pair the device with the at least one other device 204 only if the validation code is valid. In this way, the device 100 will only exchange data (or information) with the one or more other devices 204 or the one or more servers 210 if the validation code is valid. The use of the validation code makes it difficult, if not impossible, for any external source to replicate, or pretend to be, the at least one light source 206. This ensures that the communication links between the device 100, the at least one light source 206, the one or more other devices 204, and the one or more servers 210, are secure. The above-described method can thus be used to generate a secure validation (for example, location) code for the at least one light source 206.[P-59]
Here we see Gerhardt disclose the selected code is allocated by the detection function (which in Gerhardt’s case is a serve) to both the first communication device and the second communication device for the communication device detection process, i.e. the light detector 102 of the device 100 thus receives the validation code from the at least one light source 206. The processor 104 of the device 100 may then use the validation code to establish communications with the one or more other devices 204 with which the device 100 is to be paired according to the method described herein. For example, in some embodiments, the processor 104 of the device 100 may be configured to confirm or check with one or more of the servers 210 (or, more specifically, the server 210 used in generating the validation code) that the validation code is in fact valid. Upon validation the detection phase for pairing communication devices is conducted before multiple devices may then securely exchange data, i.e. the processor 104 of the device 100 may proceed to pair the device with the at least one other device 204 only if the validation code is valid. In this way, the device 100 will only exchange data (or information) with the one or more other devices 204 or the one or more servers 210 if the validation code is valid.
Therefore, it would have been obvious during the time of the filing date of the invention to combine Gerhardt’s teaching with Wong modified’s teaching in order to enable the secure pairing of communication devices where unauthorized devices would be prevented from communication other devices.
In regards to claim 39, Wong teaches the detection function configured to manage exchange of capabilities, relevant for execution of a detection phase, between the first communication device and the second communication device(Paragraph 12).
A method of using an Multi-Purpose Portable Fan include placing the three-position switch in the LED light position to illuminate the fan array with LED lights, sending a wireless signal to the user's mobile device, and activating an associated mobile device application where the user may be able select the color, and alternately the flashing pattern, of the LED lights. Placing the three-position switch in the aid request position may send a wireless signal to the user's mobile device, which may activate the associated mobile device application and the global positioning system-enabled location transmitter to signal aid request service providers that a person is in distress. Concurrently, the user's fan array with LED lights may change to display a red color and fan assemblies proximate to the user's fan array with LED lights may also switch to display a red color. [P-12]
In Wong’s disclosure, the mobile device using its mobile application (detection function) to manage the exchange of capabilities relevant for execution of the detection phase between the first multi-purpose LED fan and other multi-purpose fan(s) and/or the mobile device such that emission of red light patterns for detection purposes may be activated.
In regards to claim 40, Wong teaches the detection function configured to provide details on an emitted light pattern comprising at least one of: a searching procedure to be applied during a detection phase; at least one direction in which to arrange at least one light pattern sensing device during a detection phase; at least one orientation in which to arrange at least one light pattern sensing device during a detection phase; at least one sequence in which to sweep at least one light pattern sensing device during a detection phase; details on how to activate at least one light pattern sensing device during a detection phase; details on when in time in a detection phase to apply a light pattern sensing device, during a detection phase; a light emitting procedure to be applied during a detection phase; at least one direction in which to arrange at least one light pattern searching device during a detection phase; at least one orientation in which to arrange at least one light pattern searching device during a detection phase; at least one sequence in which to sweep at least one light pattern searching device during a detection phase; details on at least one light strength to apply by at least one emitting light source during a detection phase; details on at least one frequency to apply by at least one emitting light source during a detection phase; details on how to activate at least one light pattern searching device during a detection phase, and details on when in time in a detection phase to apply a light pattern searching device, during a detection phase(Paragraph 12).
A method of using an Multi-Purpose Portable Fan include placing the three-position switch in the LED light position to illuminate the fan array with LED lights, sending a wireless signal to the user's mobile device, and activating an associated mobile device application where the user may be able select the color, and alternately the flashing pattern, of the LED lights. Placing the three-position switch in the aid request position may send a wireless signal to the user's mobile device, which may activate the associated mobile device application and the global positioning system-enabled location transmitter to signal aid request service providers that a person is in distress. Concurrently, the user's fan array with LED lights may change to display a red color and fan assemblies proximate to the user's fan array with LED lights may also switch to display a red color. [P-12]
The details as well as the light emitting procedure being transmitted from the mobile device to the LED fan device to display/emit a red color pattern.
In regards to claim 41, Wong fails to explicitly teach the detection function further configured to determine that a third communication device is suitable for participating in the requested detection attempt, and repeat said steps for the third communication device.
However, by disclosing in a given scenario,
the Multi-Purpose Portable Fan contains circuitry for GPS locating. The transmitter and/or receiver, if either is present, may be involved in the said GPS locating process. The GPS locating features if present are utilized in finding the user in aid request and/or other situations. The Multi-Purpose Portable Fan may additionally include a music system, speakers and accompanying circuitry, audio component, or music/audio apparatus. The music system or apparatus is synchronized with the said lights and/or lighting system. The at least one button if present activates said fan to perform at least one of the following: send out a message, signal or alert; vibrate; light-up, audio respond; have the GPS track the time and last location; notify of the last location; send an alert. The button if present could have an S.O.S feature whereby once the button is pushed, it will alert all the fans in the event area within a thirty-foot radius and change to a specified color and also will send a signal to alert the proper authorities and show the area of where the person is in need of assistance and allows for the user or person(s) in need to receive the necessary assistance as fast as possible by using GPS location detection. In at least one embodiment the mobile application registers the fan owners in a database and allows all fan owners to meet and greet each other virtually and if, for instance, a fan owner would like to meet someone or a group they can FAN IN (Like) or FAN OUT (Dislike) the person and during meeting approach of each other when in close proximity, both fans would light up and the lights would start dancing until they connect as the GPS is used to identify the location of the fans. In at least one embodiment the fan allows for user to cool themselves off. The said fan and associated app allows for the crowds to network with each other and meet new people (Paragraph 72).
One of ordinary skill in the art, may use the teaching above to enable the mobile application to enable the communication requesting procedure from a first LED fan to multiple different LED fans within a network (thereby determining which fan is suitable for communication), the third communication may accept the request or decline accordingly. Therefore it is obvious that, Wong’s teaching enables the determination of one communication device capability of communicating with other fan device(s) capable of mutual communication, for the purpose of easily physically connecting with each other.
In regards to claim 42, Wong teaches the detection function configured to provide details on a light pattern which are determined based on at least: the communication devices capable of participating in the detection attempt; light conditions in the environment of at least one of the communication devices capable of participating in the detection attempt; mobility of the communication devices capable of participating in the detection attempt; capabilities of the communication devices capable of participating in the detection attempt. (Paragraph 12, 72).
A method of using an Multi-Purpose Portable Fan include placing the three-position switch in the LED light position to illuminate the fan array with LED lights, sending a wireless signal to the user's mobile device, and activating an associated mobile device application where the user may be able select the color, and alternately the flashing pattern, of the LED lights. Placing the three-position switch in the aid request position may send a wireless signal to the user's mobile device, which may activate the associated mobile device application and the global positioning system-enabled location transmitter to signal aid request service providers that a person is in distress. Concurrently, the user's fan array with LED lights may change to display a red color and fan assemblies proximate to the user's fan array with LED lights may also switch to display a red color. [P-12]
the Multi-Purpose Portable Fan contains circuitry for GPS locating. The transmitter and/or receiver, if either is present, may be involved in the said GPS locating process. The GPS locating features if present are utilized in finding the user in aid request and/or other situations. The Multi-Purpose Portable Fan may additionally include a music system, speakers and accompanying circuitry, audio component, or music/audio apparatus. The music system or apparatus is synchronized with the said lights and/or lighting system. The at least one button if present activates said fan to perform at least one of the following: send out a message, signal or alert; vibrate; light-up, audio respond; have the GPS track the time and last location; notify of the last location; send an alert. The button if present could have an S.O.S feature whereby once the button is pushed, it will alert all the fans in the event area within a thirty-foot radius and change to a specified color and also will send a signal to alert the proper authorities and show the area of where the person is in need of assistance and allows for the user or person(s) in need to receive the necessary assistance as fast as possible by using GPS location detection. In at least one embodiment the mobile application registers the fan owners in a database and allows all fan owners to meet and greet each other virtually and if, for instance, a fan owner would like to meet someone or a group they can FAN IN (Like) or FAN OUT (Dislike) the person and during meeting approach of each other when in close proximity, both fans would light up and the lights would start dancing until they connect as the GPS is used to identify the location of the fans. In at least one embodiment the fan allows for user to cool themselves off. The said fan and associated app allows for the crowds to network with each other and meet new people (Paragraph 72
The mobile application/detection function of the mobile device provides details of the light pattern based on the LED fans capable of the detection attempt, as well as the capabilities of the fans communication capabilities (light, sound, etc).
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong et al. (US 20180160782 A1) in view of Jayawardena et al. (CA 3025388 C) and Gerhardt et al. (EP 3419239 A1), as applied in claim 22 above, in further view of Izadi et al. (US 20090195402 A1).
In regards to claim 31, Wong modified fails to specify the first or second communication device, configured to participate in the detection phase by applying at least parts of the emitted light pattern details by searching for emitted light with at least one light sensing device.
Izadi on the other hand teaches the first or second communication device, configured to participate in the detection phase by applying at least parts of the emitted light pattern details by searching for emitted light with at least one light sensing device (Paragraph 5)
Methods and apparatus for uniquely identifying wireless devices in close physical proximity are described. When two wireless devices are brought into close proximity, one of the devices displays an optical indicator, such as a light pattern. This device then sends messages to other devices which are within wireless range to cause them to use any light sensor to detect a signal. In an embodiment, the light sensor is a camera and the detected signal is an image captured by the camera. Each device then sends data identifying what was detected back to the device displaying the pattern. By analyzing this data, the first device can determine which other device detected the indicator that it displayed and therefore determine that this device is in close physical proximity to it. In an example, the first device is an interactive surface arranged to identify the wireless addresses of devices which are placed on the surface.[P-5]
Here, Izadi teaches a method for uniquely identifying wireless devices in close proximity, such that one device may emit a light pattern such that a second device may capture the light pattern using a light pattern sensor such as a camera sensor during a detection phase. Hence using this method in combination with Wong’s teaching will enable one of ordinary skill in the art to have an optimized electronic means to detect a user device accordingly.
It would therefore be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art during the filing date of the invention to combine Izadi’s teaching with Wong modified’s teaching in order to enable a more efficient method to optimize detecting electronic devices within a proximity of each other and further identify their location relative to each other.
Response to Arguments
The examiner has acknowledged the applicant’s amendments and has addressed them above, under new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY D AFRIFA-KYEI/Examiner, Art Unit 2686
/BRIAN A ZIMMERMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2686