DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-10 are pending and presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
1. Claims 3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 3 and 8, the phrase "preferably" renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed inventions. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 8 recites the limitations "the roughness" and “the average thickness”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. For examination purposes, this claim has been interpreted as depending from claim 7 for which there is antecedent basis for “the roughness” and “the average thickness”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zaretski et al. (WO 2017/062784).
I. Regarding claims 1 and 4, Zaretski teaches a process for forming a strain sensor device (see claim 16) comprising: forming a graphene film on a substrate (claim 1 and 0025); depositing metal nanoislands to partially cover the graphene film leaving a portion of the graphene film not covered (claims 1, 2, 0025 and 0098), where the metal will modify the physicochemical properties of the graphene; a gas phase deposition of parylene polymer over the graphene film such that the parylene contacts the portion of the graphene film not covered by the nanoislands (0025 and 0098-0099); and a step of removing the substrate by etching (0098). Zaretski teaches all the limitations of claims 1 and 4; therefore, Zaretski anticipates the claims.
II. Regarding claims 2 and 3, Zaretski teaches the process of claim 1, and further teaches the nanoislands can have a diameter (comparable to an average thickness of 4-5 nm) at 0114 and the graphene is a single layer of graphene (0009 and note that a single layer of graphene has a thickness of about 0.34 nm). Therefore, based on the graphene having a small thickness, the roughness of this thin surface will inherently be less than 10% of the average thickness (4-5 nm) of the nanoisland functionalization material. Therefore, Zaretski also anticipates claims 2 and 3.
III. Regarding claims 6 and 9, Zaretski teaches a device comprising: a graphene film functionalized with nanoislands of gold (0098); and a layer of parylene covering the graphene film and the gold nanoislands and in contact with a portion of the graphene film not covered by nanoislands (0098-0099). Zaretski teaches all the limitations of claims 6 and 9; therefore, Zaretski anticipates the claims.
IV. Regarding claims 7 and 8, Zaretski teaches the device of claim 6, and further teaches the nanoislands can have a diameter (comparable to an average thickness of 4-5 nm) at 0114 and the graphene is a single layer of graphene (0009 and note that a single layer of graphene has a thickness of 0.34 nm). Therefore, based on the graphene having a small thickness, the roughness of this thin surface will inherently be less than 10% of the average thickness (4-5 nm) of the nanoisland functionalization material. Therefore, Zaretski also anticipates claims 7 and 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 5 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zaretski in view of Lee et al. (“A sensitive electrochemical sensor using an iron oxide/graphene composite for the simultaneous detection of heavy metal ions”).
Regarding claims 5 and 10, Zaretski teaches the method and device of claims 1 and 6, but fails to teach the functionalization material deposited in the form as claimed. However, Lee teaches a similar method and sensor device (abstract) wherein iron oxide (a magnetic material) is deposited as metal containing nanoparticles on a graphene film (Sections 2.3 and 3.1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zaretski’s process/device by substituting magnetic metal nanoislands/nanoparticles as disclosed by Lee in place of Zaretski’s metal nanoislands. One would have been motivated to make this substitution as Lee teaches that this allows for the generation of a highly sensitive electrochemical sensor (See Section 4).
Conclusion
Claims 1-10 are pending.
Claims 1-10 are rejected.
/ROBERT S WALTERS JR/
July 10, 2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717