DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7 – 14, 16, 31, 32, 34, 35, 37, 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Cui et al. (US Publication 2015/0065133) in view of Fu et al. (US Publication 2023/0370926).
Regarding claims 1 and 16, Cui teaches an apparatus and a method performed by a wireless device, the method comprising: (i.e. fig. 13 shows a UE comprising a processor, memory and transceiver for executing programmed instructions; see paragraphs 65, 66)
receiving configuration information including a plurality of cell access threshold parameters, wherein each parameter indicates a cell access threshold for at least one feature, the configuration information being received in a UE-specific radio resource control (RRC) message; (i.e. fig. 10 shows a UE may receive parameter information indicating RAN access conditions (1002); see paragraphs 61) (See Also; the parameter information can be sent to the UE via different messaging types, including system information blocks (SIB), which are inherently wrapped within Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling messages. SIBs are not raw data; they are structured RRC containers used by the network to broadcast essential configuration parameters to User Equipment (UEs); see paragraph 32)
determining that a first feature associated with a first cell access threshold parameter is supported by the wireless device; (i.e. fig. 10 shows the UE may determine, based upon the received parameter information, a signal strength criterion is met for a RAN (1004, 1006); see paragraph 61) and
selecting a cell in accordance with the first cell access threshold parameter. (i.e. fig, 10 shows a RAN is selected based upon received access parameter information and threshold comparison (1008); see paragraphs 61)
However Cui does not explicitly teach selecting a cell in accordance with the first cell access threshold parameter, the first cell access threshold parameter being an offset value, the offset value being applied to a cell selection criterion.
However, Fu teaches selecting a cell in accordance with the first cell access threshold parameter, the first cell access threshold parameter being an offset value, the offset value being applied to a cell selection criterion. (i.e. Fu , fig. 3, discloses a cell selection method in which a terminal (UE) may receive cell selection parameters from a base station (301, 302), the cell selection parameters include threshold power levels and may including a cell reselection offset, a temporary offset; see paragraph 42, 43)
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to use the cell selection parameters of Fu into Cui. It is well known to a POSITA that a temporary offset is simply a temporary negative adjustment (in dB) applied to a cell's measured signal strength. Its purpose penalizes a cell's signal strength threshold for a short period when a mobile device first detects it. The temporary offset is applied to the signal strength criterion by definition. Both Fu and Cui teach network cell selection based on parameters sent to a UE, as such both publications are in the same field (e.g., cellular telecommunications/5G) and deal with the same problem: optimizing cell selection/reselection.
A person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to Cui to prevent "ping-ponging"—a problematic scenario where a fast-moving device rapidly switches back and forth between two cells, draining the battery and wasting network signaling resources.
Regarding claims 2, Cui teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the configuration information is received in a system information message. (i.e. the parameter information can be sent to the UE via different messaging types, including system information blocks (SIB); see paragraphs 32 and 61)
Regarding claims 4, Cui teaches the method of claim 1, wherein
the first cell access threshold parameter is associated with at least one of: a minimum signal strength allowed on the cell, and a minimum signal quality allowed on the cell. (i.e. the received parameter information may include a signal strength criterion is met for a RAN (1004, 1006); see paragraphs 26, 27, 61)
Regarding claims 5, Cui teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first cell access threshold parameter is associated with at least one of: a number of repetitions of a message within a random access procedure, a number of repetitions of message in a channel outside of random access, a wireless device type, and a supplementary uplink (SUL) access threshold. (i.e. the access threshold can be determined based upon different types of data such as network loading conditions, UE/RAN types, protocol type; see paragraphs 30, 55)
Regarding claims 7, Cui teaches the method claim 1, wherein multiple features are associated with the first cell access threshold parameter. (i.e. the cell access criteria or threshold parameters is determined by multiple features; ; see paragraphs 30, 55)
Regarding claims 8, Cui teaches the method of claim 7, wherein the multiple features are associated with multiple specification releases. (i.e. the multiple features that are utilized in determining cell access criteria may include different protocol types/updates, network/device requirements; 32,39, 55)
Regarding claims 9, Cui teaches the method of claim 1, wherein determining that the first feature associated with the first cell access threshold parameter is supported by the wireless device includes comparing the received plurality of cell access threshold parameters to a set of supported features of the wireless device. (i.e. the multiple features that are utilized in determining cell access criteria may include different protocol types/updates, network/device requirements; 32,39, 55)
Regarding claims 10, Cui teaches the method of claim 1, further
comprising, determining that multiple cell access threshold parameters are supported by the wireless device. (i.e. the cell access criteria parameters that are included comprise SST (signal strength threshold) and also load information; see paragraph 24, 41, 62, 64)
Regarding claims 11, Cui teaches the method of claim 10, further comprising, selecting the first cell access threshold parameter from the multiple supported cell access threshold parameters. (i.e. the prior art discloses SST (signal strength threshold) and other network information is utilized in determining whether the UE can access the RAN; see paragraph 24)
Regarding claims 12, Cui teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the first cell access threshold parameter is selected in accordance with a priority order. (i.e. priority information may be utilized in determining whether a UE can access a particular RAN; see paragraphs 35, 54)
Regarding claims 13, Cui teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the first cell access threshold parameter is selected in accordance with the first cell access threshold parameter having a highest value such that a condition is fulfilled. (i.e. in determining the dynamic cell access criteria, levels of priority information may be determined with high priority getting preferred access conditions; see paragraph 55)
Regarding claims 14, Cui teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the first cell access threshold parameter is selected in accordance with at least one of: a traffic requirement, a power consumption requirement, and a reliability requirement. (i.e. in determining the dynamic cell access criteria, priority levels may be determined, along with load and traffic conditions; see paragraphs 26, 27, 29, 35, 54)
Regarding claims 31, 37, Cui teaches An apparatus and a method performed by a network node, the method comprising: (i.e. fig. 13 shows a network apparatus comprising a processor, memory and transceiver for executing programmed instructions; see paragraphs 65, 66)
generating configuration information including a plurality of cell access threshold parameters, wherein each parameter indicates a cell access threshold for at least one feature; (i.e. fig. 9 shows a network apparatus may determine network information and generate configuration parameters that are utilized as network access criteria (902, 904); see paragraphs 57, 58, 59) and
transmitting, to a wireless device, the configuration information including a plurality of cell access threshold parameters, the configuration information being transmitted in a UE- specific radio resource control (RRC) message. (i.e. fig, 9 shows the network apparatus may transmit the network access criteria to a UE (906); see paragraphs 59, 60) (See Also; the parameter information can be sent to the UE via different messaging types, including system information blocks (SIB), which are inherently wrapped within Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling messages. SIBs are not raw data; they are structured RRC containers used by the network to broadcast essential configuration parameters to User Equipment (UEs); see paragraph 32)
However Cui does not explicitly teach selecting a cell in accordance with the first cell access threshold parameter, the first cell access threshold parameter being an offset value, the offset value being applied to a cell selection criterion.
However, Fu teaches selecting a cell in accordance with the first cell access threshold parameter, the first cell access threshold parameter being an offset value, the offset value being applied to a cell selection criterion. (i.e. Fu , fig. 3, discloses a cell selection method in which a terminal (UE) may receive cell selection parameters from a base station (301, 302), the cell selection parameters include threshold power levels and may including a cell reselection offset, a temporary offset; see paragraph 42, 43)
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to use the cell selection parameters of Fu into Cui. It is well known to a POSITA that a temporary offset is simply a temporary negative adjustment (in dB) applied to a cell's measured signal strength. Its purpose penalizes a cell's signal strength threshold for a short period when a mobile device first detects it. The temporary offset is applied to the signal strength criterion by definition. Both Fu and Cui teach network cell selection based on parameters sent to a UE, as such both publications are in the same field (e.g., cellular telecommunications/5G) and deal with the same problem: optimizing cell selection/reselection.
A person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to Luo to prevent "ping-ponging"—a problematic scenario where a fast-moving device rapidly switches back and forth between two cells, draining the battery and wasting network signaling resources.
Regarding claims 32, Cui teaches the method of claim 31, wherein the configuration information is received in a system information message. (i.e. the parameter information can be sent to the UE via different messaging types, including system information blocks (SIB); see paragraphs 32 and 61)
Regarding claims 34, Cui teaches the method of claim 31, wherein
the first cell access threshold parameter is associated with at least one of: a minimum signal strength allowed on the cell, and a minimum signal quality allowed on the cell. (i.e. the received parameter information may include a signal strength criterion is met for a RAN (1004, 1006); see paragraphs 26, 27, 61)
Regarding claims 35, Cui teaches the method of claim 31, wherein the first cell access threshold parameter is associated with at least one of: a number of repetitions of a message within a random access procedure, a number of repetitions of message in a channel outside of random access, a wireless device type, and a supplementary uplink (SUL) access threshold. (i.e. the access threshold can be determined based upon different types of data such as network loading conditions, UE/RAN types, protocol type; see paragraphs 30, 55)
Regarding claim 36, Cui discloses all the recited limitations of claim 31 as described previously from which claim 6 depends. Cui does not explicitly teach further comprising, receiving, from the wireless device, a request for configuration information. ( Cui fig. 10, discloses cell selection parameters may be transmitted to a UE (wireless device); see paragraph 60, 61)
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to support the network device (UE) requesting the network configuration parameters as this is commonly known to a POSITA to be performed across most cellular protocols, a UE signals its intention to join a network and the base station may respond with connection parameters, this is simply a generic embodiment.
A person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to Cui for Interoperability or backwards compatibility as in modern, standard-based technology (e.g., LTE/5G NR), different protocols and parameter sets are often designed to be interchanged or combined.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ROBERT J. LOPATA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2471
/ROBERT J LOPATA/
September 14, 2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471