DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Applicants' response of August 18, 2026, to the non-final action mailed February 18, 2026, has been entered. Claims 1, 2, 17, 18, 22, 24-26, and 28-24 have been amended, claims 18 and 19-21 have been cancelled, and claim 35 is newly added. Accordingly, claims 1-15, 17, 18, and 22-35 are pending and under current examination.
Withdrawn Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 28 was rejected in the previous Office action mailed February 18, 2026, under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Applicants' amendment narrowing claim 29 renders the rejection moot. Accordingly, the rejection is hereby withdrawn.
Withdrawn Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 and 6-14 were rejected in the previous Office action mailed February 18, 2026, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ambati et al. (Pub. No.: WO 2019/074884; Pub. Date: April 18, 2019). Applicant’s amendment reciting additional limitations renders the rejection moot. Accordingly, the rejection is hereby withdrawn.
Claim 5 was rejected in the previous Office action mailed February 18, 2026, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ambati et al. (Pub. No.: WO 2019/074884; Pub. Date: April 18, 2019) as applied to claims 2 above, and further in view of Revelo (Circulation Research, 2021; 129; 1086-1101). Applicant’s amendment renders the rejection moot. Accordingly, the rejection is hereby withdrawn.
Claim 15 was rejected in the previous Office action mailed February 18, 2026, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ambati et al. (Pub. No.: WO 2019/074884; Pub. Date: April 18, 2019) as applied to claims 1 and 14 in further view of the combination of Jiang et al. (Pub. No.: WO 2019/183637; Pub. Date: Sep. 26, 2019) here-in-after referred to as Jiang WO and Li et al. (Sci. Adv. 2020; 6 May 29, 2020). Applicant’s amendment renders the rejection moot. Accordingly, the rejection is hereby withdrawn.
Claims 16-26, 28-30, and 32-34 were rejected in the previous Office action mailed February 18, 2026, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ambati et al. (Pub. No.: WO 2019/074884; Pub. Date: April 18, 2019) as applied to claims 1 above, and further in view of the combination of Jiang et al. (Patent No.: US 8,617,592; Date of Patent: Dec. 31, 2013) and Yonezawa et al. (Advanced Drug Delivery Reviews, 154-155 (2020) 64-78). Applicant’s amendment renders the rejection moot. Accordingly, the rejection is hereby withdrawn.
Claim 27 was rejected in the previous Office action mailed February 18, 2026, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ambati et al. (Pub. No.: WO 2019/074884; Pub. Date: April 18, 2019) in view of Jiang et al. (Patent No.: US 8,617,592; Date of Patent: Dec. 31, 2013) and Yonezawa et al. (Advanced Drug Delivery Reviews, 154-155 (2020) 64-78) as applied to claims 1, 16, and 26 above and further in view of the combination of Jiang et al. (Pub. No.: WO 2019/183637; Pub. Date: Sep. 26, 2019) here-in-after referred to as Jiang WO and Li et al. (Sci. Adv. 2020; 6 May 29, 2020). Applicant’s amendment renders the rejection moot. Accordingly, the rejection is hereby withdrawn.
Claims 30 and 31 were rejected in the previous Office action mailed February 18, 2026, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ambati et al. (Pub. No.: WO 2019/074884; Pub. Date: April 18, 2019) in view of Jiang et al. (Patent No.: US 8,617,592; Date of Patent: Dec. 31, 2013) and Yonezawa et al. (Advanced Drug Delivery Reviews, 154-155 (2020) 64-78) as applied to claims 1 and 16 above and further in view of Benenato, et al. (Pub. No.: WO 2018/232120; Pub. Date: Dec. 20, 2018). Applicant’s amendment renders the rejection moot. Accordingly, the rejection is hereby withdrawn.
The claims are subject to new grounds of rejections as set forth below.
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 23 is newly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 23, depends from claims 1 and 22 and recites wherein the zwitterionic moiety is selected from the group consisting of a phosphobetaine, phosphatidylcholine, carboxybetaine, or sulfobetaine. Claim 1 has been amended to remove the species of a phosphobetaine, phosphatidylcholine, carboxybetaine, or sulfobetaine. Accordingly, claim 23 fails to further limit claims 1 and 22 as it recites additional species of zwitterionic moieties that are not in claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-14, 17, 18, 22-26, 28-30, and 32-35 are newly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ambati et al. (Pub. No.: WO 2019/074884; Pub. Date: April 18, 2019) in further view of the combination of Jiang et al. (Patent No.: US 8,617,592; Date of Patent: Dec. 31, 2013), Yonezawa et al. (Advanced Drug Delivery Reviews, 154-155 (2020) 64-78), and Li et al. (Sci. Adv. 2020; 6 May 29, 2020).
Ambati discloses administering a pharmaceutical composition comprising an effective amount of a compound via a lipid vehicle comprising nucleic acid (page 58- lines 16-26) in a subject with depleted microphages (page 82 lines 3-8).
Regarding claims 1, 28, and 35, Ambati discloses a method of delivery of a nucleic acid (page 58 lines 25-30, page 65 lines 10-15, and page 82 lines 3-8)) with a lipid vehicle loaded with nucleic acid (page 58 lines 16 and 17) wherein the delivery vehicle has an average particle size of 0.1 to about 200 nanometers (page 68 line 32 through page 69 line 1) to a subject with the with depleted macrophages (page 82 lines 3-8).
Regarding claim 2, Ambati discloses a method for delivering nucleic acids into a subject comprising depleting the macrophages by injection of 200 µl clodronate liposomes on day 0 and then administering a nucleic acid (Alu RNA) into the subject (page 82 lines 3-8) wherein the delivery nucleic acid vehicle has an average particle size of 0.1 to about 200 nanometers (page 58 lines 25-30 and page 68 line 32 through page 69 line 1).
Ambati fails to disclose wherein the lipid nanoparticle comprises i) at least one zwitterionic polymer-containing lipid in which a lipid moiety is covalently attached to a zwitterionic polymer; (ii) at least one non-cationic lipid selected from charged and uncharged lipids, wherein the non- cationic lipid is not attached to a polymer;(iii) at least one cationic or ionizable lipid.
However in the same field of endeavor lipid particle delivery vehicles containing therapeutic agents (abstract), Jiang discloses wherein the a lipid nanoparticle composition (Col 3 ln 5-8, Col 4 ln 22, Col 5 ln 35-49, Col 11 ln 35-38, and Col 19 ln 58-60), (i) at least one zwitterionic polymer-containing lipid in which a lipid moiety is covalently attached to a zwitterionic polymer (Col, 3, In 6-10; Col 6, In 6-10; Col 10, In 5-10; Col 10, In 54-63); (ii) at least one non-cationic lipid selected from charged and uncharged lipids, wherein the non-cationic lipid is not attached to a polymer (Col 4, In 6-9, "DOPG"); (iv) at least one therapeutic substance (Col 4, In 34-36), and iv wherein the therapeutic agent is a nucleic acid (column 11 lines 47-51).
Additionally, in the same field of endeavor lipid particle nanoparticles comprising zwitterionic polymers, (page 1 column 1), LI discloses wherein the zwitterionic polymers include poly(2-methacryloyloxyethyl phosphocholine), poly(sulfoxybetain), and poly(trimethylamine N-oxide (page 1 column 1).
Additionally in the same field of endeavor of lipid based nanoparticles for nucleic acid (siRNA) delivery (abstract) Yamazawa discloses a lipid nanoparticle composition
(abstract) comprising (iii) at least one cationic or ionizable lipid containing a tertiary amino group (DODAP) (pg. 68, Col 1, para 4, Figure 7), and (iv) at least one therapeutic substance (siRNA) (abstract and pg. 68, Col 1, para 4, Figures 3 and 7).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to deliver a nucleic acid with a nanoparticle lipid vehicle loaded with nucleic acid to a subject whose macrophages have been depleted as disclosed by Ambati, as instantly claimed, with a reasonable expectation of success at the time of filing as a matter of design choice. Said design choice amounts to combining prior art elements disclosed by Ambati according to known methods to yield predictable results of a method of delivering nucleic acids into a subject comprising injecting an agent known to deplete macrophages followed by the administration of a nucleic acid (Alu RNA) into the subject. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so and have a reasonable expectation of success because Ambati had already disclosed such a method in order to treat diseases and disorders in a subject in need thereof (page 1 lines 27-30). It would have only required routine experimentation to modify the method of Ambati by injecting an agent known to deplete macrophages followed by the administration of a nucleic acid (Alu RNA) loaded into a lipid nanoparticle into the subject as required by the claimed invention.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to combine Ambati, Jiang , Li et al., and Yanazawa et al. to include as part of the lipid nanoparticle composition, (i) at least one zwitterionic polymer-containing lipid in which a lipid moiety is covalently attached to a zwitterionic polymer (Col, 3, In 6-10; Col 6, In 6-10; Col 10, In 5-10; Col 10, In 54-63); (ii) at least one non-cationic lipid selected from charged and uncharged lipids, wherein the non-cationic lipid is not attached to a polymer (Col 4, In 6-9, "DOPG"); (iv) at least one therapeutic substance (Col 4, In 34-36), and iv wherein the therapeutic agent is a nucleic acid (column 11 lines 47-51) as disclosed by Jiang wherein the zwitterionic polymer is poly(2-methacryloyloxyethyl phosphocholine) or poly(trimethylamine N-oxide (page 1 column 1) as disclosed by LI as a matter of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predicable results, as instantly claimed, with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include a zwitterion of tpoly(2-methacryloyloxyethyl phosphocholine) or poly(trimethylamine N-oxide (page 1 column 1) as zwitterions grant superior hydration capacity and resistance to fouling from biomolecules and microorganism, wherein the specific poly(2-methacryloyloxyethyl phosphocholine) and poly(trimethylamine N-oxide have been developed and extensively explored to improve the longevity and performance of drug delivery systems as evidenced by LI et al. (page 1 column 1). Additionally, one of ordinary skill would be motivated to include at least one cationic or ionizable lipid containing a tertiary amino group as it is known to be used in the pharmaceutical arts as a part of a lipid nanoparticulate for deliver delivery of therapeutic nucleic acids (pg 65, col 3, para 2) that improves lipid nanoparticle stability during formation and improves their stability in blood circulation as evidenced by Yonzewa (pg 65, Col 2, para 2). One who would have practiced this invention would have had reasonable expectation of success because Jiang had already disclosed a lipid nanoparticle for delivery of a therapeutic agent wherein lipid particle comprises multiple functional groups including zwitterions, while LI disclosed specific zwitterionic polymers used for drug delivery systems, and Yonzawa provided guidance with respect to additional functional groups known to be used to be used as part of a nucleic acid lipid nanoparticle for delivery of a therapeutic. It would have only required routine experimentation to include the instantly claimed zwitterionic polymer, a non-cationic lipid, and (iii) at least one cationic or ionizable lipid containing a tertiary amino group as required by the instantly claimed invention.
Therefore, the claimed invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date.
Claims 3 and 4, claim interpretation, recite small molecule drugs, paragraph [0025] recites multiple examples of small molecule drugs. In the interest of compact prosecution, small molecule drugs shall be given the meeting the broadest reasonable interpretation to include the small molecules exemplified in the specification and small molecules found in the prior art of record.
Regarding claims 3, 4, and 6 Ambati discloses depleting monocyte by the small molecule drug clodronate liposome (page 82 lines 3-8 and Fig. 19A).
Regarding claim 7, Ambati discloses wherein the depletion of microphages was achieved days 0 and day 2 (page 82 lines 3-8).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Ambati discloses wherein the subject is a mammal including human, animals, primages, dogs, cattle sheep, pigs, rabbits, horses or mice (page 51 lines 9-12, page 65 lines 5-9, page 82 lines 3-8, and page 48 lines 6-13, page 58 lines 27-35).
Regarding claim 10, Ambati discloses polynucleotides transgeneses (aka inserted genes or expressed genes) that are taken up by the cell that express therapeutically useful proteins that are taken up by a cell (page 54 1-9 and page 82 lines 3-8).
Regarding claim 11, Ambati discloses wherein the nucleic acid or nucleic acid construct is a component of a gene editing machinery that incudes for an amino acid substitution and spicing into an expression vector construct (page 63 lines12-16, page 43 lines 8-10, and page 71 lines 25-38)
Regarding claim 12, Ambati discloses wherein the composition is delivered to the kidney (page 44 lines 10-11) and lungs (page 38 lines 30-35).
Regarding claim 13, Ambati discloses wherein the nucleic acid comprises miRNA (page 58 lines 27-28), siRNA (page 57 line 30 through page 58 line 1) and mRNA (page 9 line 6).
Regarding claim 14, Ambati discloses wherein the nucleic acid comprises mRNA (page 9 line 6) and a targeting agent that is stimulatory to the targeted molecule (page 53 lines52-53); wherein a ligand binds to a target molecule or peptide with a binding partner (page 40 line 21 and page 31 lines 9-10).
Regarding claim 17, Jiang discloses wherein said lipid moiety in component (i) is a diacylglyceride (Col 6, In 1-10; Col 10, In 22-23, and Co. 13, line 49 "phosphatidylglycerol" and “diglycerides”).
Regarding claim 18, Jiang discloses the composition of claim 1, wherein component (i) excludes a polyalkylene oxide (Col 10, In 6-23).
Regarding claims 22 and 23 Jiang discloses (ii) at least one non-cationic lipid selected from charged and uncharged lipids, wherein the non-cationic lipid is not attached to a polymer (Col 4, In 6-9, "DOPG"); while Yonzewa discloses wherein the non-cationic lipid in component (ii) contains a zwitterionic moiety 1,2-distearoyl-sn glycero-3-phosphocholine (DSPC) (pg. 65, Col 2, para 2, "DSPC"). It would have been prima face obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to include DPPC in the lipid nanoparticle as it improves lipid nanoparticle stability during formation and improves their stability in blood circulation as evidenced by Yonzewa (pg 65, Col 2, para 2).
Regarding claim 24, Jiang discloses wherein the non-cationic lipid is selected from Dioleoylphosphatidylglycerol, dipalmitoylphosphati dylglycerol (DPPG), dioleoyl-phosphatidylethanolamine (DOPE), palmitoyloleoyl-phosphatidylethanolamine (POPE), dipalmitoyl phosphatidyl ethanolamine (DPPE), dimyristoylphosphoethanolamine (DMPE), distearoyl-phos phatidylethanolamine (DSPE), 16-O-monomethyl-phospho ethanolamine, 16-O-dimethyl-phosphoethanolamine, 18-1- trans-phosphoethanolamine, 1-stearoyl-2-oleoyl phosphatidyethanolamine (SOPE), or 1,2-dioleoyl-sn glycero-3-phophoethanolamine (transDOPE). (DOPG) (Col 4, In 8-19 and claim 9).
Regarding claim 25 Jiang discloses the composition of claim 1 wherein the component (ii) excludes a polyalkylene oxide segment (Col 10, In 14-22)
Regarding claim 26, Jiang discloses wherein the non-cationic lipid of component (ii) is a phospholipid selected from a phosphatidyl ethanolamine lipid (Col 10, In 14-22).
Regarding claim 29, Jiang discloses wherein the cationic lipid in component (iii) further comprises a quaternary group along with a functional group which is negatively charged under physiological conditions (Col 7, In 14-35).
As to Claim 30, Jiang discloses wherein the cationic lipid comprises the structure wherein R1 and R2 are each alkyl wherein the alkyl group can be is saturated and branched or unbranched and can be further substituted (Col 8, In 55-59; Col 7, In 25-40, "R6 and RS are each alkyl"), L is a covalent linker group between N and A, wherein the covalent linker group comprises CH2-COOCH2-(Col 7, In 45-46; Col 8, In 43-50), A-(X)n is a functional group that is negatively charged under certain pH conditions and can comprise (i) A(X)n as a carboxylic acid group, where A is COOH and n is O (Col 7, In 25-44, "A is carbon").
Regarding claim 32, Yonezawa discloses, wherein the cationic or ionizable lipid component in (iii) excludes polyalkylene oxide (pg. 68, Col 1, para 4, Figure 7, "DOTAP").
Regarding claim 33, Jiang discloses a lipid composition (abstract; Col 3, In 6-9; Col 15, In 44-48) further comprises cholesterol (column 14 lines 25 and 50).
Regarding claim 33, Yonzawa discloses a lipid composition comprises cholesterol (pg 66, para 1)).
Regarding claim 34, Jiang discloses a lipid composition (abstract; Col 3, In 6-9; Col 15, In 44-48) containing a lipid moiety attached to a quaternary amine group along with a functional group, wherein the functional group is negatively charged under physiological conditions (Col 3, In 6-9; Col 3, In 45-55; col 10, In 65 to col 11, In 6).
Claim 5 is newly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ambati et al. (Pub. No.: WO 2019/074884; Pub. Date: April 18, 2019) in further view of the combination of Jiang et al. (Patent No.: US 8,617,592; Date of Patent: Dec. 31, 2013), Yonezawa et al. (Advanced Drug Delivery Reviews, 154-155 (2020) 64-78), and Li et al. (Sci. Adv. 2020; 6 May 29, 2020) as applied to claim 2 above in further view of Revelo (Circulation Research, 2021; 129; 1086-1101).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Ambati et al., Jiang , Yonezawa et al., and Li et al. remain as applied to claim 2 as fully set forth above. The combination teaches a method of delivery of a nucleic acid (page 58 lines 25-30, page 65 lines 10-15, and page 82 lines 3-8) with a lipid vehicle loaded with nucleic acid (page 58 lines 16 and 17) wherein the delivery vehicle has an average particle size of 0.1 to about 200 nanometers (page 68 line 32 through page 69 line 1) to a subject with the with depleted macrophages (page 82 lines 3-8) (i) at least one zwitterionic polymer-containing lipid in which a lipid moiety is covalently attached to a zwitterionic polymer (Col, 3, In 6-10; Col 6, In 6-10; Col 10, In 5-10; Col 10, In 54-63); (ii) at least one non-cationic lipid selected from charged and uncharged lipids, wherein the non-cationic lipid is not attached to a polymer (Col 4, In 6-9, "DOPG"); (iv) at least one therapeutic substance (Col 4, In 34-36), and iv wherein the therapeutic agent is a nucleic acid (column 11 lines 47-51). The combination fails to disclose wherein the antibodies are anti-CK115, anto-CCR2, anti-Ly6C, and anti-Gr-1.
However, in the same field of endeavor delivery of moieties to deplete macrophages, Revelo discloses the delivery of anti-CK115 to deplete macrophages (pg 1093, col 1, para 1; pg 1093, col 2, para 1)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to combine Ambati Jiang, Li et al., Yonezawa et al., and Revelo for anti-CK115 to deplete macrophages as disclosed by Revelo in the method of depleting macrophages by administering a moiety as a matter of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predicable results, as instantly claimed, with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to use anti-CK115 to deplete macrophages as a simple substitution of one know macrophage reducing agent for another with improved macrophage depletion effectiveness as evidenced by Revelo (pg 1093, col 2, para 1). One who would have practiced this invention would have had reasonable expectation of success because Ambati had already disclosed delivery of a microphage depletion agent, while Revelo provided guidance with respect to the administration of a different microphage depletion agent. It would have only required routine experimentation to substitute on microphage depletion agent for another as required by the instantly claimed invention.
Therefore, the claimed invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date.
Claims 15 and 27 are newly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ambati et al. (Pub. No.: WO 2019/074884; Pub. Date: April 18, 2019) in further view of the combination of Jiang et al. (Patent No.: US 8,617,592; Date of Patent: Dec. 31, 2013), Yonezawa et al. (Advanced Drug Delivery Reviews, 154-155 (2020) 64-78), and Li et al. (Sci. Adv. 2020; 6 May 29, 2020) as applied to claims 1, 14, and 26 above in further view of Jiang et al. (Pub. No.: WO 2019/183637; Pub. Date: Sep. 26, 2019) here-in-after referred to as Jiang WO.
Claim interpretation: claim 15 recites phosphoserine (PS) moiety, the instant specification provides examples of PS moieties to include more than phosphoserine including , 1,2-dioleoyl-sn-glycero-3-phospho-L-serine (DOPS), or a naturally-occurring PS-lipid, such as L-α-phosphatidylserine (brain) (para [0020]). As such phosphoserine (PS) moiety shall be interpreted to include a phosphate and serine group wherein additional chemical groups as part of the PS moiety are acceptable and still read on a phosphoserine (PS) moiety.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Ambati et al., Jiang , Yonezawa et al., and Li et al. remain as applied to claims 1 and 14 as fully set forth above. The combination teaches a method of delivery of a nucleic acid (Ambatipage 58 lines 25-30, page 65 lines 10-15, and page 82 lines 3-8) with a lipid vehicle loaded with nucleic acid (page 58 lines 16 and 17) wherein the delivery vehicle has an average particle size of 0.1 to about 200 nanometers (Ambati page 68 line 32 through page 69 line 1) to a subject with the with depleted macrophages (page 82 lines 3-8), wherein the nanoparticle comprises a targeting agent that is stimulatory to the targeted molecule (page 53 lines52-53); wherein a ligand binds to a target molecule or peptide with a binding partner (Ambati page 40 line 21 and page 31 lines 9-10), (i) at least one zwitterionic polymer-containing lipid in which a lipid moiety is covalently attached to a zwitterionic polymer (Jiang Col, 3, In 6-10; Col 6, In 6-10; Col 10, In 5-10; Col 10, In 54-63); (ii) at least one non-cationic lipid selected from charged and uncharged lipids, wherein the non-cationic lipid is not attached to a polymer (Col 4, In 6-9, "DOPG"); (iv) at least one therapeutic substance (Col 4, In 34-36), and iv wherein the therapeutic agent is a nucleic acid (column 11 lines 47-51).
But the combination fails to disclose wherein the targeting ligand comprises phosphoserine moiety.
However, in the same field of endeavor of particles comprising lipids (claims 1, 4, and 5) for drug delivery of therapeutic agents (page 2 lines 20-22) Jiang WO discloses wherein the nanoparticle the nanoparticle comprises phosphoserine moieties (page 1 lines 22-30).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to combine Ambati, Jiang, et al, Li et al., Yonezawa et al., and Jiang WO to include a phosphoserine moiety as part of a drug delivery vehicle as disclosed by Jiang WO in the lipid nanoparticle of Ambati as a matter of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predicable results, as instantly claimed, with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include the phosphoserine moiety in order to help promote immune tolerance even in inflamed regions as evidenced by Jiang WO (page 1 lines 19-21). Wherein phosphatidylserine with the PS as a head group serves as an immunomodulatory signal under physiological conditions in order to promote clearance of apoptotic cells additionally the PS molecule is found to trigger the release of regulatory cytokines by directly or indirectly interacting with the PS receptor on the immune cells as disclosed by Li et al. (page 1 last paragraph through page 2 first paragraph). One who would have practiced this invention would have had reasonable expectation of success because Ambati had already disclosed a lipid nanoparticle for delivery of a therapeutic agent while Jiang WO provided guidance with respect to additional of phosphoserine moieties to lipid therapeutic agent delivery vehicles. It would have only required routine experimentation to include phosphoserine as required by the instantly claimed invention.
Therefore, the claimed invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date.
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Ambati et al., Jiang et al., Li et al., and Yiang et al. remains as applied to claims 1 and 26. While the combination teaches a method of delivery of a nucleic acid with a lipid vehicle loaded with nucleic acid as fully set forth above.
But the combination fails to disclose wherein the phospholipid is phosphatidyl serine lipid
However, in the same field of endeavor of particles comprising lipids (claims 1, 4, and 5) for drug delivery of therapeutic agents (page 2 lines 20-22) Jiang WO discloses wherein the nanoparticle the nanoparticle comprises phosphatidylserine (page 1 lines 19-27)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to combine Ambati and Jiang WO to include a phosphatidylserine as part of a drug delivery vehicle as disclosed by Jiang WO in the lipid nanoparticle of Ambati as a matter of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predicable results, as instantly claimed, with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include the phosphatidyl serine lipid in order to help promote immune tolerance even in inflamed regions as evidenced by Jiang WO (page 1 lines 19-21). Wherein phosphatidylserine with the PS as a head group serves as an immunomodulatory signal under physiological conditions in order to promote clearance of apoptotic cells additionally the PS molecule is found to trigger the release of regulatory cytokines by directly or indirectly interacting with the PS receptor on the immune cells as disclosed by Li et al. (page 1 last paragraph through page 2 first paragraph). One who would have practiced this invention would have had reasonable expectation of success because Ambati had already disclosed a lipid nanoparticle for delivery of a therapeutic agent while Jiang WO and Li et al. provided guidance with respect to additional of phosphatidyl serine to lipid therapeutic agent delivery vehicles. It would have only required routine experimentation to include phosphatidyl serine as required by the instantly claimed invention.
Therefore, the claimed invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date.
Claims 30 and 31 are newly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ambati et al. (Pub. No.: WO 2019/074884; Pub. Date: April 18, 2019) in further view of the combination of Jiang et al. (Patent No.: US 8,617,592; Date of Patent: Dec. 31, 2013), Yonezawa et al. (Advanced Drug Delivery Reviews, 154-155 (2020) 64-78), and Li et al. (Sci. Adv. 2020; 6 May 29, 2020) as applied to claim 1 above in further view of Benenato, et al. (Pub. No.: WO 2018/232120; Pub. Date: Dec. 20, 2018).
Regarding claims 30 and 31, the combination of Ambati et al., Jiang et al., Li et al., and Yonezawa et al. remains as applied to claim 1 as fully set forth above. While the combination teaches a method of delivery of a nucleic acid with a nanoparticle lipid vehicle loaded with nucleic acid to a subject with the with depleted macrophages wherein the lipid nanoparticle comprises i) at least one zwitterionic polymer-containing lipid in which a lipid moiety is covalently attached to a zwitterionic polymer; (ii) at least one non-cationic lipid selected from charged and uncharged lipids, wherein the non- cationic lipid is not attached to a polymer;(iii) at least one cationic or ionizable lipid.
The combination of prior art references does not disclose the instantly claimed species of cationic or ionizable lipid.
However in the same field of endeavor of lipid nanoparticles delivery vehicles comprising a cationic and/or ionizable amino lipid and a targeting moiety (abstract, [002], [00550], and [00551]) for delivery of a nucleic acid to a subject ([0073]), Benenato discloses wherein the cationic or ionizable lipid is:
[001067]
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to combine Ambati, Jiang, Li et al., Yonezawa et al., and Benenato et al. for the species of ionizable lipid to be 5-((8-(heptadecan-9-yloxy)-8-oxooct l)(8-(nonyloxy)-8-oxooctyl)amino)pentanoic acid as disclosed by Benenato in the lipid nanoparticle of the combination of Jiang and Yonezawa as a matter of combining prior art elements of lipid particle formation according to known methods to yield predicable results of a lipid particle nucleic acid delivery vehicle as instantly claimed, with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to use the ionizable lipid species as it has little or no immunogenicity and increased therapeutic index as evidenced by Benenato ([00130] [0073]). One who would have practiced this invention would have had reasonable expectation of success because Ambati had already disclosed a lipid nanoparticle for delivery of a therapeutic agent while Jiang and Yonezawa provided guidance with respect to the genus of the ionizable lipid and Benenato provided guidance with respect to the species of the ionizable lipid. It would have only required routine experimentation to include specific ionizable lipid species as required by the instantly claimed invention.
Therefore, the claimed invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date.
Response to arguments:
To the extent that Applicant’s arguments are pertinent to the new rejections, they are addressed as follows:
Applicant traverses the rejection arguing that the independent claims have been amended to narrow the claims to a few species of zwitterionic polymers previously found in a dependent claims’ Markush grouping and not included in the rejection of the previous Non-final while deleting species of the Markush group that was found in the Non-final Office action.
Applicant’s argument has been fully considered and found persuasive. Applicant has amended the claims to remove members of the Markush listing that was the subject of the previous Office action and changing the scope of the independent claims. Accordingly, the prior 103 type rejections have been withdrawn. The claims have been newly rejected with a different combination of art that includes members of the newly amended Markush group of zwitterionic polymers. Specifically, LI discloses wherein the zwitterionic polymers include poly(2-methacryloyloxyethyl phosphocholine), poly(sulfoxybetain), and poly(trimethylamine N-oxide (page 1 column 1).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-34 remain provisionally rejected and claim 35 is newly provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-62 of copending Application No. 18/268,472.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because independent the claims application ‘472 recite the method of using lipid nanoparticles of identical compositions to deliver a therapeutic substance to a subject, wherein the therapeutic substance is a nucleic acid, and wherein the lipid nanoparticle comprises a targeting agent.
The dependent claims overlap or are identical in scope each reciting the same species making up the lipid nanoparticle, the target site, and the species of therapeutic agent.
This is a provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to arguments:
To the extent that Applicant’s arguments are pertinent to the standing and new rejections, they are addressed as follows:
Applicant wishes to defer a response until an indication of otherwise allowable subject matter is made.
Applicant’s response has been fully considered. In the interest of compact prosecution all rejections are made in the earliest point in prosecution in order to provide applicant with notice. As such the rejection will be maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANNA R FALKOWITZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1600