Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/21/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1, 3-9, 12-14, 16-17 and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miao (US. Pub. No. 2021/0392673 A1) in view of Guo et al. (US. Pub. No. 2018/0206132 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Miao discloses an apparatus (See Miao; Fig. 8; Device 800, which may be suitable for use as UEs 701), comprising: at least one processor (See Miao; Fig. 8; Application circuitry 805 that includes one or more processors); and at least one memory including computer program code (See Miao; Fig. 8; Memory circuitry 820 that store program code, which is executed by the one or more processors); the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to:
receive, from a network node, an indication of first and second uplink configurations (See Par. [23], [29], [33] of Miao for a reference to the UE receives a multiple-PUCCH transmission indicator that configures multiple-PUCCH transmissions from the UE to the gNB via a plurality of transmission-reception points (TRPs). The indicator include two PUCCH resource fields; #1 is associated with a master TRP and #2 is associated with a secondary TRP).
Miao does not explicitly disclose transmit a first uplink transmission of at least two overlapping uplink transmissions with the first uplink configuration and a second uplink transmission of the at least two overlapping uplink transmissions with the second uplink configuration, and/or transmit at least one non-overlapping uplink transmission with the first uplink configuration, the second uplink configuration, or a default uplink configuration.
However, Guo discloses transmit a first uplink transmission of at least two overlapping uplink transmissions with the first uplink configuration and a second uplink transmission of the at least two overlapping uplink transmissions with the second uplink configuration (See Par. [217]-[219] of Guo for a reference to the Tx beams applied to any two different NR-SRS resources would be potentially used by that UE simultaneously on one same OFDM symbol. Simultaneous same-symbol use of two uplink beam/SRS configurations. Overlapping/paired PUCCH repetition occasions are each transmitted using a different one of the two configured resources so that a first repetition uses the first configuration and a second repetition uses the second configuration), and/or transmit at least one non-overlapping uplink transmission with the first uplink configuration, the second uplink configuration, or a default uplink configuration (See Par. [104]-[106] of Guo for a reference to a default symbol index can be configured If the trigger message explicitly indicates default timing, the UE applies the configured default for an uplink SRS transmission).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Guo to Miao. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance; by overcoming the propagation losses to ensure adequate received signal quality at UE locations within the coverage area by enabling the transmit power amplification provided by the transmit beam with a width large enough to cover the area sufficiently. (Guo; Par. [86])
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Miao and Guo, specifically Miao discloses wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to:
directionally transmit the first uplink transmission towards a first transmission- reception point (See Par. [38], [43]-[44] of Miao for a reference to UE can use the two PUCCH resources with the IDs of n and n+1 associated with two different BPLs defined by the respective activated PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo [First resource/BPL is associated with one TRP and one transmit beam/SRS resource]); and
directionally transmit the second uplink transmission towards a second transmission-reception point (See Par. [33], [44] of Miao for a reference to the second resource is associated with secondary TRP and a different beam may be used simultaneously).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Miao and Guo, specifically Miao discloses wherein the indication of the first uplink configuration and the second uplink configuration is received in at least one of downlink control information, medium access control control element, or radio resource control signaling (See Par. [29], [35], [41]-[47] of Miao for a reference to multi-PUCCH transmission configurations may be carried in downlink control information (DCI), medium access control control element (MAC-CE), or radio resource control signaling (RRC)).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Miao and Guo, specifically Miao discloses wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to:
receive an indication of an association of the first uplink configuration and the second uplink configuration with a set of uplink transmission resources or an uplink transmission format (See Par. [38], [43]-[47], [54] of Miao for a reference to two resource fields/subsets are associated with different TRPs/BPLs and defined by time-frequency PUCCH resources).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Miao and Guo, specifically Miao discloses wherein the indication of the association of the first uplink configuration and the second uplink configuration with the set of uplink transmission resources or the uplink transmission format is received in radio resource control signaling (See Par. [30], [38], [41]-[42] of Miao for a reference to RRC parameter ‘multiPucchTransmission’ can be added to enable or disable the multi-PUCCH transmission. A PUCCH-Resource can define the time-frequency resources and be grouped into a particular set configured by RRC signaling [RRC configures the multi-PUCCH function and resource set]).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Miao and Guo, specifically Miao discloses wherein the first and second uplink transmissions comprise at least one of: uplink repetitions sharing same data content, different data content, or different subsets of data content of a frequency resource allocation (See Par. [42]-[44] of Miao for a reference to UE can use the two PUCCH resources with the IDs of n and n+1 associated with two different BPLs defined by the respective activated PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo. The pair carries HARQ-ACK feedback for the same scheduled multi-TRP PDSCH; this is a repeated/redundant control payload [“uplink repetitions sharing same data content” option is cited]).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Miao and Guo, specifically Miao discloses wherein the first uplink configuration is associated with or configured for the first transmission-reception point and the second uplink configuration is associated with or configured for the second transmission-reception point (See Par. [42]-[44] of Miao for a reference to the DCI can include two PUCCH resource fields #1 is associated with a master TRP and #2 is associated with a secondary TRP. Two PUCCH resource fields can be associated with the master TRP and the secondary TRP, respectively).
Regarding Claim 9, Miao does not explicitly disclose wherein the first transmission-reception point is identified based on at least one of a first control resource set pool index, a first control resource set identifier, a first beam failure detection reference signal set, a first sounding reference signal resource set, or a first physical cell identifier, and wherein the second transmission-reception point is identified based on at least one of a second control resource set pool index, a second control resource set identifier, a second beam failure detection reference signal set, a second sounding reference signal resource set, or a second physical cell identifier.
However, Guo discloses wherein the first transmission-reception point is identified based on a first sounding reference signal resource set, and the second transmission reception point is identified based on a second sounding reference signal resource set (See Par. [104]-[106] of Guo for a reference to that multiple SRS groups/indices correspond to distinct simultaneous UL beam configurations [First and second sounding reference signal resource set option is cited]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Guo to Miao. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance; by overcoming the propagation losses to ensure adequate received signal quality at UE locations within the coverage area by enabling the transmit power amplification provided by the transmit beam with a width large enough to cover the area sufficiently. (Guo; Par. [86])
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Miao and Guo, specifically Miao discloses wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to:
receive an indication to use or not to use different uplink configurations for the at least two overlapping uplink transmissions (See Par. [30], [32], [34], [41], [44]-[45] of Miao for a reference to Boolean multiPucchTransmission expressly enables/disables use of the paired multi-PUCCH configuration); and
determine to use or not to use one of the first and second uplink configurations for subsequent instances of the first and second uplink transmissions based on the indication to use or not to use the different uplink configurations (See Par. [43], [53]-[54] of Miao for a reference to a specific configuration can be applied over a time period of x ms after the HARQ-ACK carrying the MAC CE. Two PUCCH resource fields can be associated with the master TRP and the secondary TRP, respectively).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Miao and Guo, specifically Miao discloses wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to:
directionally transmit a subsequent instance of the first uplink transmission with the second uplink configuration towards the first transmission-reception point (See Par. [46]-[47], [53]-[54] of Miao for a reference to the MAC CE can signal the number of PUCCH resources associated with the master TRP and the remainder with the secondary TRP. A specific configuration can be applied over a time period of x ms after the HARQ-ACK carrying the MAC CE); and
directionally transmit a subsequent instance of the second uplink transmission with the first uplink configuration to the second transmission-reception point (See Par. [46]-[47], [53]-[54] of Miao for a reference to the PUCCH resource fields can be associated with the master TRP and the secondary TRP, respectively).
Regarding Claim 14, Miao discloses an apparatus (See Miao; Fig. 8; Device 800, which may be suitable for use as servers 730), comprising: at least one processor (See Miao; Fig. 8; Application circuitry 805 that includes one or more processors); and at least one memory including computer program code (See Miao; Fig. 8; Memory circuitry 820 that store program code, which is executed by the one or more processors); the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to:
transmit to a user equipment, an indication of a first uplink configuration and a second uplink configuration (See Par. [23], [29], [33] of Miao for a reference to the server transmits a multiple-PUCCH transmission indicator that configures multiple-PUCCH transmissions from the UE to the gNB via a plurality of transmission-reception points (TRPs). The indicator include two PUCCH resource fields; #1 is associated with a master TRP and #2 is associated with a secondary TRP).
Miao does not explicitly disclose wherein the first and second uplink configurations are configured for at least two overlapping uplink transmissions from the user equipment; and
receive a first uplink transmission of the at least two overlapping uplink transmissions with the first uplink configuration or a second uplink transmission of the at least two overlapping uplink transmissions with the second uplink configuration.
However, Guo discloses wherein the first and second uplink configurations are configured for at least two overlapping uplink transmissions from the user equipment (See Par. [212]-[215] of Guo for a reference to the first and second configuration are simultaneous [Overlapping] same-symbol use of two uplink beam/SRS configurations); and
receive a first uplink transmission of the at least two overlapping uplink transmissions with the first uplink configuration or a second uplink transmission of the at least two overlapping uplink transmissions with the second uplink configuration (See Par. [217]-[219] of Guo for a reference to the Tx beams applied to any two different NR-SRS resources would be potentially used by that UE simultaneously on one same OFDM symbol. Simultaneous same-symbol use of two uplink beam/SRS configurations. Overlapping/paired PUCCH repetition occasions are each transmitted using a different one of the two configured resources so that a first repetition uses the first configuration and a second repetition uses the second configuration).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Guo to Miao. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance; by overcoming the propagation losses to ensure adequate received signal quality at UE locations within the coverage area by enabling the transmit power amplification provided by the transmit beam with a width large enough to cover the area sufficiently. (Guo; Par. [86])
Regarding claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 4.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 5.
Regarding Claim 22, the combination of Miao and Guo, specifically Miao discloses wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to: transmit an indication to use or not to use the second uplink configuration for the at least two overlapping uplink transmissions (See Par. [30], [32], [34], [41], [44]-[45] of Miao for a reference to Boolean multiPucchTransmission expressly enables/disables use of the paired multi-PUCCH configuration).
Regarding Claim 23, the combination of Miao and Guo, specifically Miao discloses wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to: transmit a request for swapping uplink configurations for at least one subsequent pair of overlapping uplink transmissions (See Par. [46]-[54] of Miao for a reference to the UE/network beam information signaling and network-driven dynamic resource reassociation. The UE request specifically asking to swap two configurations for a later overlapping pair).
Regarding claim 24, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 1.
5. Claims 2, 10-11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miao in view of Guo et al. and further in view of Kim et al. (US. Pub. No. 2019/0052425 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Miao and Guo does not explicitly disclose wherein the first and second uplink transmission configurations comprise at least one of:
a first initial cyclic shift for the first uplink transmission and a second initial cyclic shift for the second uplink transmission,
a first orthogonal cover code for the first uplink transmission and a second orthogonal cover code for the second uplink transmission,
a first reference signal initialization for the first uplink transmission and a second reference signal initialization for the second uplink transmission,
a first scrambling sequence initialization for the first uplink transmission and a second scrambling sequence initialization for the second uplink transmission, or
a first scrambling sequence for the first uplink transmission and a second scrambling sequence for the second uplink transmission.
However, Kim discloses wherein the first and second uplink transmission configurations comprise at least one of:
a first initial cyclic shift for the first uplink transmission and a second initial cyclic shift for the second uplink transmission (See Par. [111] of Kim for a reference to the UE is configured with two cyclic shifts distinguish two DMRS ports on the same DMRS resource element),
a first orthogonal cover code for the first uplink transmission and a second orthogonal cover code for the second uplink transmission (See Par. [125] of Kim for a reference to the UE is configured with Length-2 OCC that supplies two orthogonal DMRS ports 0 and 1 that may be allocated),
a first reference signal initialization for the first uplink transmission and a second reference signal initialization for the second uplink transmission,
a first scrambling sequence initialization for the first uplink transmission and a second scrambling sequence initialization for the second uplink transmission (See Par. [112], [126] of Kim for a reference to the UE may receive its own DMRS port allocation information through downlink control information (DCI) of PDCCH. DCI allocates distinct DMRS ports/configurations), or
a first scrambling sequence for the first uplink transmission and a second scrambling sequence for the second uplink transmission (See Par. [111], [125] of Kim for a reference to two cyclic shifts may be applied to the same DMRS RE. As a result, DMRS ports 0 and 1 may be allocated. OCCs of length-2 may be applied to the same DMRS RE. Distinct orthogonal DMRS sequences are produced by CS/OCC).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Guo to Miao. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance; by improving different requirements such as data rates, latency, coverage by efficiently multiplexing a radio resource unit based on different numerologies. (Kim; Par. [50])
Regarding Claim 10, Miao does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to: use the first reference signal initialization for a demodulation reference signal of the first uplink transmission; and use the second reference signal initialization for a demodulation reference signal of the second uplink transmission.
However, Guo discloses use the first reference signal initialization for a demodulation reference signal of the first uplink transmission (See Par. [249], [251] of Guo for a reference to the gNB can signal one SRI in the DCI. SRI identifies the SRS spatial reference applied to NR-PUSCH DMRS); and
use the second reference signal initialization for a demodulation reference signal of the second uplink transmission (See Par. [251] of Guo for a reference to the second SRI/reference is applied to the other uplink channel’s DMRS).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Guo to Miao. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance; by overcoming the propagation losses to ensure adequate received signal quality at UE locations within the coverage area by enabling the transmit power amplification provided by the transmit beam with a width large enough to cover the area sufficiently. (Guo; Par. [86])
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Miao and Guo does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to: use a first cyclic shift or the first orthogonal cover code for the demodulation reference signal of the first uplink transmission; and use a second cyclic shift or the second orthogonal cover code for the demodulation reference signal of the second uplink transmission.
However, Kim discloses use a first cyclic shift or the first orthogonal cover code for the demodulation reference signal of the first uplink transmission (See Par. [109]-112], [122]-[125] of Kim for a reference to two cyclic shifts may be applied to the same DMRS RE. As a result, DMRS ports 0 and 1 may be allocated. OCCs of length-2 may be applied to the same DMRS RE. Distinct orthogonal DMRS sequences are produced by CS/OCC [CS/OCC orthogonalization of uplink DMRS ports]); and
use a second cyclic shift or the second orthogonal cover code for the demodulation reference signal of the second uplink transmission (See Par. [111]-112], [122]-[125] of Kim for a reference to two cyclic shifts may be applied to the same DMRS RE. As a result, DMRS ports 0 and 1 may be allocated. OCCs of length-2 may be applied to the same DMRS RE. Distinct orthogonal DMRS sequences are produced by CS/OCC [The second port receives the other cyclic-shift/OCC configuration]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Guo to Miao. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance; by improving different requirements such as data rates, latency, coverage by efficiently multiplexing a radio resource unit based on different numerologies. (Kim; Par. [50])
Regarding claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 2.
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sun et al. (US 2024/0205834 Al) teaches a method and apparatus for Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) reliability enhancement.
Takahashi et al. (US 2023/0232408 A1) teaches a method for performing an UL transmission even when cancel operation of the UL transmission is supported.
Sato et al. (U.S. 2021/0368534 Al) teaches a control unit that performs an uplink (UL) data transmission setting according to a radio resource control (RRC) message and a transmitting unit that transmits UL data according to the UL data transmission setting.
/R.K.F/Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413