Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 06/21/2024 have been fully considered and are made of record.
Claims 3, 5-7, 9-11, 14-21 have been amended.
Claims 4, 8, 13 have been cancelled.
Claim Objections
The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not).
Missing number of claim has been renumbered to claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-12, 14-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, 2, 3, 5, 14, 15 recite the limitation "the detection circuitry". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 10, 14-15, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by FISCHER et al. (Pub NO. US 2015/0285862 A1; hereinafter Fischer).
Regarding Claim 1, Fischer teaches voltage and continuity detection circuitry (circuitry in Fig. 1 and Fig. below; See [0040]-[0055]) comprising:
a set of terminals (terminals of 13, Uref1, Uref2 and input terminals of 24 and 20 in Fi. 1 and Fig. below) for electrically coupling the detection circuitry to an independent electrical apparatus (these terminals connect detection circuit to independent electrical apparatus 13 in Fig. 1 and Fig. below),
wherein the set of terminals comprises a sensing-input terminal (two terminals of comparator 24, 20 are sensing input terminals in Fig. 1 and Fig. below;) and further comprises a power-output terminal (capacitor provides power, therefore capacitor 13’s terminal is power output terminal in Fig. 1 and Fig. below) and a reference-voltage terminal (two reference terminals of Uref1 and Uref2 are reference terminal Fig. 1 and Fig. below),
wherein the power-output terminal and the reference-voltage terminal may be two distinct terminals or one combined terminal (two are distinct terminals in Fig. 1 and Fig. below);
a power supply unit for supplying electrical current from the power-output terminal (power supply unit 13 supplies power from it’s terminal in Fig. 1 and Fig. below); and
a voltage sensor (comparator 20, 24 in Fig. 1 and Fig. below) for detecting a potential difference between the sensing-input terminal and a reference voltage (See [0040]-[0055]), wherein:
the voltage and continuity detection circuitry supports a voltage-detection mode of operation (checking the voltage across diodes 23 in voltage-detection mode in Fig. 1 and Fig. below) in which the voltage and continuity detection circuitry is configured to use the voltage sensor to detect a voltage supplied by the independent electrical apparatus (this mode 24 checks voltage supplied by 13 in Fig. 1 and Fig. below) by determining the presence or absence of a potential difference between the sensing-input terminal and the reference-voltage terminal (24 checks sensing input terminals and reference terminals Uref2 in Fig. 1 and Fig. below);
the detection circuitry additionally supports a continuity-detection mode of operation (checking the charge of 13 is continuity-detection mode in Fig. 1 and Fig. below) in which the voltage and continuity detection circuitry is configured to use the voltage sensor to detect continuity in the independent electrical apparatus (voltage sensor 20 detects continuity of 13 in Fig. 1 and Fig. below) by determining the presence or absence of a potential difference between the sensing-input terminal and the power-output terminal (See [0040]-[0055]); and
the voltage sensor comprises a binary digital output and is configured (voltage sensor 20, 24 are comparator, therefore binary digital output in fig. 1 and Fig. below), in each mode of operation, to output a binary signal from the binary digital output indicative of whether the respective potential difference is determined to be present or absent (See [0040]-[0055]).
Regarding Claim 2, Fischer teaches the voltage and continuity detection circuitry of claim 1, wherein the power-output terminal and the reference-voltage terminal are two distinct terminals (terminals of 13 and Uref1 are two distinct terminals in Fig. 1), wherein the power-output terminal is permanently electrically connected to the power supply unit and the reference-voltage terminal is permanently electrically connected to a reference voltage line within the detection circuitry (See Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 10, Fischer teaches the voltage and continuity detection circuitry of claim1, wherein the power supply unit is configured to receive alternating-current (AC) power (winding 9 charges capacitor, therefore AC power in Fig. 1; See [0044]).
Regarding Claim 14, Fischer teaches the voltage and continuity detection circuitry of claim 1, wherein the detection circuitry is configured to prevent current from flowing into the detection circuitry through the power-output terminal (diodes prevent flowing current from terminals of 13 in Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 15, Fischer teaches the voltage and continuity detection circuitry of claim1, wherein the detection circuitry is configured to attenuate current from flowing through the power-output terminal when an attenuation condition is met (diodes attenuates flowing current from terminals of 13 when condition met in Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 18, Fischer teaches the voltage and continuity detection circuitry of claim 1, wherein the voltage sensor is configured for rectifying an input voltage at the sensing-input terminal and for reducing the input voltage to a lower level when the input voltage is above a threshold level (voltage sensor 20 charges/discharges by comparing with threshold, therefore controlling input voltage at sensing-input terminal in Fig. 1; See [0044]-[0049]).
Regarding Claim 20, Fischer teaches an electrical apparatus comprising a housing containing voltage and continuity detection circuitry (See the housing ETU containing circuitry inside in Fig. 1) as claimed in claim 1, and wherein the set of terminals are provided on a face of the housing (all terminals are inside housing ETU in Fig. 1) or in a socket of the apparatus.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Claim(s) 11-12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer in view of Deboy et al. (Pub NO. US 2015/0016159 A1; hereinafter Deboy).
Regarding Claim 11, Fischer teaches the voltage and continuity detection circuitry of claim 1, wherein the power supply unit is arranged to receive power from an electrical power source (13 receives power from power source 14/18 in fig. 1; See [0043]-[0044]) and to output current from the power-output terminal (13 outputs current from it’s output terminal in Fig. 1).
Fischer is silent about wherein the power supply unit comprises an isolator for providing an isolated power supply for the power-output terminal that is galvanically isolated from the electrical power source.
Deboy teaches wherein the power supply unit comprises an isolator for providing an isolated power supply for the power-output terminal that is galvanically isolated from the electrical power source (See [0304]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Fischer by using the power supply unit comprises an isolator for providing an isolated power supply for the power-output terminal that is galvanically isolated from the electrical power source, as taught by Deboy in order to generate desired output signal (Deboy; abstract).
Regarding Claim 12, Fischer in view of Deboy teaches the voltage and continuity detection circuitry of claim 11. Fischer further teaches arranged to power at least part of the voltage sensor from the power supply.
Fischer is silent about isolated power supply.
Deboy teaches isolated power supply (See [0304]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Fischer by using isolated power supply, as taught by Deboy in order to generate desired output signal (Deboy; abstract).
Regarding Claim 17, Fischer teaches the voltage and continuity detection circuitry of claim 1. Fischer further teaches
wherein the voltage sensor (See [0040]-[0055]) comprises the binary digital output from the sensing-input terminal (voltage sensor 20, 24 are comparator, therefore binary digital output in fig. 1 and Fig. below).
Fischer is silent about a digital isolator for galvanically isolating.
Deboy teaches a digital isolator for galvanically isolating (See [0304]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Fischer by using a digital isolator for galvanically isolating, as taught by Deboy in order to generate desired output signal (Deboy; abstract).
13. Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer in view of RAPEAUX et al. (Pub NO. US 2018/0366289 A1; hereinafter Rapeaux).
Regarding Claim 16, Fischer teaches the voltage and continuity detection circuitry of claim 1, comprising arranged to varyingly attenuate current from flowing through the power-output terminal (diodes control/attenuate current in fig. 1).
Fischer is silent about a positive temperature coefficient (PTC) device arranged to varyingly attenuate current.
Rapeaux a positive temperature coefficient (PTC) device arranged to varyingly attenuate current (See [0001]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Fischer by using a positive temperature coefficient (PTC) device arranged to varyingly attenuate current, as taught by Rapeaux in order to control current (Rapeaux; abstract).
14. Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer in view of Waugaman et al. (Pub NO. US 2012/0299604 A1; hereinafter Waugaman).
Regarding Claim 19, Fischer teaches the voltage and continuity detection circuitry of claim 1, wherein the voltage sensor (comparator 20, 24 is voltage sensor in Fig. 1).
Waugaman teaches voltage sensor detects AC voltage and DC voltage (See [0054]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Fischer by using voltage sensor detects AC voltage and DC voltage, as taught by Waugaman in order to generate desired indication (Waugaman; [0054]).
Fischer in view of Waugaman is silent about is configured to detect DC voltages of at least up to 350V and to detect AC voltages of at least up to 230V.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to detect DC voltages of at least up to 350V and to detect AC voltages of at least up to 230V, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233, in order to generate desired indication (Waugaman; [0054]).
15. Claim(s) 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer in view of YAMADA et al. (Pub NO. US 2010/0131741 A1; hereinafter Yamada).
Regarding Claim 21, Fischer teaches an electrical apparatus comprising voltage and continuity detection circuitry as claimed in claim 1. Fischer further teaches the binary digital output (comparator output is binary digital output in fig. 1).
Fischer is silent about further comprising an appliance, wherein the output is arranged to control an operation of the appliance.
Yamada teaches further comprising an appliance, wherein the output is arranged to control an operation of the appliance (comparator output controls appliance; See [0088]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Fischer by using an appliance, wherein the output is arranged to control an operation of the appliance, as taught by Yamada in order to achieve improved control (Yamada; [0088]).
Regarding Claim 22, Fischer teaches the electrical apparatus of claim 21, the binary digital output (comparator output is binary digital output in fig. 1).
Fischer is silent about wherein the appliance comprises electric vehicle supply equipment that is arranged to control charging of an electric vehicle in dependence on the output.
Yamada teaches the appliance comprises electric vehicle supply equipment that is arranged to control charging of an electric vehicle in dependence on the output (comparator output controls appliance; See [0088]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Fischer by using the appliance comprises electric vehicle supply equipment that is arranged to control charging of an electric vehicle in dependence on the output, as taught by Yamada in order to achieve improved control (Yamada; [0088]).
Regarding Claim 23, Fischer teaches the electrical apparatus of claim 21, the binary digital output (comparator output is binary digital output in fig. 1).
Fischer is silent about wherein the appliance comprises a home energy storage system, and wherein the electrical apparatus is configured to use the output to adjust a supply of electrical power to the home energy storage system in dependence on the binary digital output.
Yamada teaches wherein the appliance comprises a home energy storage system, and wherein the electrical apparatus is configured to use the output to adjust a supply of electrical power to the home energy storage system in dependence on the binary digital output (comparator output controls appliance; See [0088]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Fischer by using wherein the appliance comprises a home energy storage system, and wherein the electrical apparatus is configured to use the output to adjust a supply of electrical power to the home energy storage system in dependence on the binary digital output, as taught by Yamada in order to achieve improved control (Yamada; [0088]).
Allowable Subject Matter
16. Claims 3, 5-7 and 9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
18. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
a. Yamashita et al. (Pub NO. US 2016/0103172 A1) discloses Circuit Board Testing Apparatus.
b. Mechanic et al. (Patent NO. US 9,178,486 B2) discloses System and Method for Activating Switches.
/ZANNATUL FERDOUS/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858