DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of claims 1-3 and 15 in the reply filed on 7/7/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 and 16 of copending Application 18723116. Although the claims at issue are not identical, due to the properties including dairy products they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-3 and 16 fully encompass the limitations of claims 1-3 and 15 of the instant application since the product of imitated properties is claimed as a Markush group of at least one. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, and due to being dependent therefrom claims 2-3 and 15, are rejected due to the phrase “so as to obtain said product that imitates properties of meat, poultry, fish, dairy products, and seafood, and products derived therefrom” since in a first instance it appears the phrase contradicts the pre-amble which provides for imitating properties of at least one of i.e., “or”. The phrase is further rejected as it is unclear what properties each of meat, poultry, fish, dairy products, and seafood, and products derived therefrom share to be imitated. The claimed phrase is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear as to what is encompassed by the phrase “so as to obtain said product that imitates properties of meat, poultry, fish, dairy products, and seafood, and products derived therefrom”; it is unclear as to what degree of difference is encompassed by this phrase, if not properties which imitate all of the group but some.
Claim 2 is rejected due to the phrase “or solidifying said first deposit” since the phrase appears to contradict the previously claimed phrase of claim 2 “before step b” and thus it is unclear if the second deposit step is “before step b” or after “solidifying said first deposit”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by de Haan et al. (7045160; ids 10/4/24).
de Haan teaches with respect to Independent claim 1, a method for the manufacture of a product that imitates (col. 11 lines 5-8) properties of meat, poultry, fish, seafood, dairy products or products derived therefrom (col. 5 lines 38-40), comprising the steps:
a) dosing (col. 11 lines 20-22; placing mixture) and depositing a first material onto a surface of a product carrier (col. 11 lines 20-22 mould or other container of desired shape), so as to obtain a first deposit in a desired shape (col. 11 lines 20-22 mould or other container of desired shape)
b) solidifying said first deposit so that the first deposit has a self- containing structure (col. 11 lines 22-23 cooling, freezing)
c) releasing said product from said product carrier (col. 11 lines 26-27), so as to obtain said product (col. 11 lines 26-27) that imitates properties of meat, poultry, fish, dairy products, and seafood, and products derived therefrom (col. 11 lines 26-27 solid as opposed to liquid or air; col. 4 lines 27-33 containing protein)
wherein said first material comprises a protein (col. 4 lines 27-33), or a mixture of different proteins, wherein the protein content in the dry raw materials is 35 to 90% (col. 4 lines 27-33)
Claim 2, wherein the method comprises, before step b), the steps of dosing and depositing a second material onto or into a product support of said product carrier (col. 22 lines 14-15; moulds plural), so as to obtain a second deposit in a desired shape (col. 22 lines 14-15; moulds plural), wherein said step of dosing and depositing said second material is performed simultaneously with the step of dosing and depositing said first material (col. 22 lines 14-15; moulds plural), or after the step of depositing (col. 22 lines 14-15; moulds plural) or solidifying said first deposit .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over de Haan et al. (7045160; ids 10/4/24) in view of Klimke (20170042175).
de Haan is taken as above.
With respect to claims 3 and 15, de Haan teaches depositing first and second materials into moulds or containers, though silent to a device or method of such depositing and thus one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to look to the art of depositing apparatus as taught by Klimke.
More specifically Klimke teaches
dosing and deposition of at least one of the first and second material is carried out with a depositing machine having:
- at least one tank which contains said at least one of the first and second material for deposition (par. 0110) and which is equipped with a stirring device for stirring said material in said tank (par. 0111)
- a depositing assembly which is located below the tank (par. 0110) and comprises at least one row of pistons which perform an intake cycle (par. 0115), so as to draw said material out of said tank (par. 0115), and an exhaust cycle, so as to expel the drawn material (par. 0115) and at least one dispensing device (par. 0115) which rotates between a first position, so as to receive the material that has been drawn by the pistons, and a second position which enables an outflow of the material that is expelled by the pistons (par. 0115)
- a motor for rotating the dispensing device (par. 0116)
- actuation means for moving the pistons (par. 0116) in a reciprocal manner, wherein the actuation means are releasably connected to the pistons (par. 0116) and
- a machine frame (par. 0014) which carries the motor and comprises two arms (par. 0014) which project along respective parallel horizontal axes and are equipped with the actuation means (par. 0014)
wherein the tank and the depositing assembly form part of a module (par. 0074, 0121) which is removable in one piece from the machine frame (par. 0121), and the module is releasably connected to the motor and is equipped with a further frame (par. 0115), and the further frame in the machine frame is fastened by way of a plug-in connection (par. 0074) which is disposed in a substantially horizontal manner.
Thus since de Haan teaches depositing first and second materials into moulds or containers, though silent to a device or method of such depositing and since Klimke teaches an art known device for a same purpose as desired by de Haan. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known device of Klimke as a depositing device relative multiple moulds for its art recognized purpose and advantage of providing a deposition device which solves a need as taught by Klimke and providing a depositing machine and a method for converting a depositing machine, by way of which the disadvantages of the prior art are overcome, by way of which simple operability, readily manageable fixing, and moreover a precise and solid connection between the components of the depositing machine and the depositing-machine frame are enabled as further taught by Klimke (par. 0011).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. 8201716, 7618251, 20060051458 directed to depositing devices.
/STEVEN N LEFF/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1792