Status of the Claims
Claims 1-9, 12-17, and 20-22 are pending and rejected. Claims 18 and 19 are withdrawn. Claims 1, 4, 6, and 17 are amended. Claims 10 and 11 are cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9, 14-17, and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edwards, US 2016/0297224 A1 in view of Fenzi, US 6,676,792 B1 (both references provided on the IDS of 6/21/2024), Adams, US 2020/0262101 A1 (provided on the IDS of 6/21/2024), Horne, US 2004/0072085 A1, and Van Haute, US 5,380,607.
Regarding claims 1 and 20, A method for manufacturing slabs made of stone or stone- like agglomerate material and having decorations and/or chromatic effects (methods for sublimation printing on substrates such as agglomerated stone material, 0007 and 0034, where the process prints an image, 0023, so as to provide a decoration), the method comprising at least the following steps:
applying a dispersed ink containing pigments on said at least one surface (where an ink including a pigment, a dispersant, a surfactant, etc. is applied to the substrate, where the ink includes the dye dispersed in the ink, 0007, 0018, 0035, and 0037, such that the ink will be dispersed);
drying said dispersed ink (where a dryer may be configured to remove water or solvent from a water-based ink formulation or a solvent-based ink formulation prior to curing, for example, a distinct dryer may be located between the printer head 104 and the light source 108, such that the ink is dried, wholly or partially, prior to being exposed to UV radiation, 0022 and Fig. 1);
penetration, by means of diffusion, of the pigments of the dispersed ink into the slab by means of the change in state of the pigments so as to form the decorations and/or the chromatic effects (where a heating element generates heat that causes at least some of the dye in the ink to sublimate and permeate the substrate, 0031, where during the process some of the dye or pigment in the ink sublimes, or is converted into a gas, and permeates/diffuses into the substrate, thereby forming an image, 0037, indicating that the pigment will change states during sublimation to diffuse or permeate into the substrate to provide the decoration/image);
cooling the slab (where the sublimed dye resolidifies within the substrate, 0037, and after heating for sublimation, the slab/substrate is moved to a subsequent station where a solvent is applied to remove residual ink, 0021 and Fig. 1, such that the slab will be cooled at least to some degree during the process of transferring and application of the solvent so as to result in solidified ink);
removing the excess or residual dispersed ink from the at least one surface of the slab (where a solvent is applied to remove residual ink that did not permeate the substrate during the sublimation process, 0021 and Fig. 3, indicating that excess ink will be removed).
As to applying a primer, Edwards teaches that a polyester-based coating/spray may be applied to the surface that allows the sublimed ink to bind to the substrate (0042), such that the polyester-based spray is considered to be a primer applied to the slab.
They do not teach machining the substrate prior to adding the ink.
Fenzi teaches a process for decorating sections made of plastic materials, composite materials, and the like, comprising a step of pre-treatment for the preparation of the surface, a possible step of pre-painting, a possible step of pre-heating, a step of decoration by transfer from a strip-like flexible support, a last step of sublimation and fixing (abstract). They teach that the sections include composite materials, such as resins reinforced with carbon and or glass fibers and the like that are provided with decorations in one or more colors (Col. 1, lines 47-56). They teach that the section are submitted to pre-treatment including mechanical polishing and the like (Col. 1, line 60 through Col. 2, line 4). They teach that the possible pre-painting includes priming the surface followed by applying the decoration and sublimating (Col. 2, lines 5-22). They teach that after sublimation, the decorated section may be submitted to a further protection treatment by means of the application of a transparent, possibly fluid paint, and subsequent air, hot air, UV, or IR radiation oven drying (Col. 2, lines 48-53). They teach that the transparent paint provides a decoration-protecting film (Col. 3, lines 1-6 and Col. 4, lines 1-8).
From the teachings of Fenzi, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of Edwards to have prepared the surface of the stone agglomerate by mechanical polishing and to have applied a protective layer to the sublimated decorated surface because Fenzi teaches that it is known to provide mechanical polishing to a composite surface prior to applying a decorative image and that a transparent paint is desirably applied to a decorative surface to protect the underlying decoration such that it will be expected to provide a smooth surface for the application of the ink and a transparent layer to protect the applied decoration. Therefore, in the process of Edwards in view of Fenzi the surface of the slab will be machined by polishing and a layer of a functional compound (protective film-forming compound) will be applied on the surface of the slab.
Fenzi teaches pre-painting the surface with a primer using fluid or powder paints (Col. 2, lines 5-8).
They do not teach applying a primer to engineered stone.
Adams teaches a method for manufacturing an engineered stone by providing a mixture comprising at least a stone or stone like material and a binder; compacting the mixture; curing the binder; and then printing a printed pattern on at least a top surface of the engineered stone (abstract). They teach that sublimation inks can be used in forming the printed pattern (0036-0037). They teach providing the surface to be printed with a primer, for example, an ink adhesion promoter or catalyst, before the step of printing (0041). They teach that the primer can be water based, methacrylic, acrylic, polyurethane, styrene, etc. (0041).
Horne teaches a method for rendering durable, matte-finish images on a stone or masonry substrate comprising providing a stone or masonry substrate, applying a polymer to the surface and curing the polymer thereto, and transferring a sublimable ink image to the cured polymer via sublimation (abstract). They teach that after the polymer is applied, it is cured by any suitable conventional method, including drying (0029). They teach that after the polymer is fully cured, the sublimable image is transferred to the surface (0030).
Van Haute teaches a thermal imaging process (abstract). They teach dye-image-receiving layers that are made of resins wherein a dye in molten or sublimated state can diffuse readily or whereto the colored substance can adhere easily (Col. 11, lines 29-32). They teach that examples of resins suitable for producing therewith a dye-image-receiving layer for thermal printing are polyurethane resins, polyester resins, acrylic, or methacrylic resins, etc. (Col. 11, lines 33-52). They teach that the dye-image-receiving resin layers are coated from organic solvents, but layers coated from a latex which is an aqueous dispersion of polymers may be used likewise (Col. 11, lines 33-52). They teach that suitable latex polymers for producing a dye-image-receiving layer for thermal printing include aqueous copolyester dispersions (Col. 11, lines 53-56).
From the teachings of Edwards, Fenzi, Adams, Horne, and Van Haute, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied a primer to the surface of the slab and to have dried the primer layer because Edwards teaches applying a polyester coating/spray to the surface for allowing the sublimed ink to bind to the substrate, Fenzi teaches that primers can be applied as fluids, Adams teaches that such a layer is desirable as an ink adhesion promoter in engineered stone, Horne teaches that it is desirable to dry/cure a polymer or ink receptive layer on a substrate surface prior to transferring an image by sublimation, and Van Haute teaches that dye-image-receiving layers formed from the polymers of Edwards and Adams are coated from solvents or aqueous dispersions such that it will be expected to provide the primer layer for promoting ink adhesion which is then suitable for application of the sublimation ink. Therefore, the step of applying said dispersed ink on said at least one surface is preceded by a step of applying and drying a primer.
Adams further teaches that the primer can be acrylic, methacrylic, polyurethane, water based, solvent based, etc. (0041). They teach applying the primer by spraying, rollers, or any other suitable technique (0041). Edwards also teaches applying the polyester coating by spraying (0042). As noted above, Van Haute teaches that dye-image-receiving layers formed from the polymers of Edwards and Adams are coated from solvents or aqueous dispersions. From this, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied a solution or dispersion of organic compounds such as a polymer compatible with the direct application process (polyester, acrylic, methacrylic, polyurethane, copolyester) in an aqueous dispersion or solution because Edwards teaches applying a polyester spray, Adams teaches that polymer materials and water-based materials are suitable for the primer layer, where the primer is applied by rollers or spraying, suggesting that it is in the form of a liquid and because these are conventional liquid application techniques, and Van Haute teaches that dye-image-receiving layers formed from the polymers of Edwards and Adams are coated from solvents or aqueous dispersions such that it will be expected to provide the polymeric primer in a suitable aqueous dispersion or solution for application. Therefore, the primer will consist of a solution or dispersion of organic compounds compatible with the process involving direct application of the dispersed ink onto the slab, since it is compatible with sublimation inks and acts as an ink adhesion promoter.
It is noted that Horne also teaches polishing a stone or masonry substrate to give rise to a desired finish prior to applying the polymer layer (0026 and Fig. 4). Therefore, Horne further provides the suggestion to polish the surface of the substrate prior to applying the coating so as to provide the desired surface finish.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Edwards in view of Fenzi, Adams, Horne, and Van Haute suggest the process of claim 1. Edwards further teaches that during the sublimation process, the pigment within the ink sublimes, or is converted into gas, and permeates/diffuses into the substrate where it re-solidifies (0037).
Therefore, during the step of penetration by means of diffusion, the pigments of the sublimation ink undergo a change in state from solid to gaseous, where the ink is expected to also diffuse and change state .
Regarding claims 4 and 6, Edwards in view of Fenzi, Adams, Horne, and Van Haute suggest the process of claim 1, where Edwards teaches drying the sublimation ink either wholly or partially so as to remove water or solvent from a water-based ink or a solvent-based ink formulation (0022).
Fenzi teaches that sublimation and fixing can be done in an air circulation-, IR- or UV oven or the like (Col. 4, lines 8-25). They teach that providing a further protection treatment by applying a fluid paint and subsequent air, hot air, UV or IR irradiation oven drying after sublimation and fixing (Col. 2, lines 48-53). They teach that the cycle can be completed by the stay of the decorated section in a ventilated air-, UV- or IR radiation oven (Col. 3, lines 34-44). They teach that sections remain in the oven for a time comprised between 1 and 30 minutes a temperatures between 100 and 300°C to perform the complete sublimation of the inks and their complete fixing (Col. 3, lines 34-44).
From the teachings of Edwards and Fenzi, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized the drying time and temperature to be within the claimed ranges by drying in an oven because Edwards teaches that the drying can be partial or complete, where the ink may be solvent or water-based, and Fenzi teaches drying/heating in ovens that can be heated or ventilated, such that the drying time and temperature can be optimized dependent on the water/solvent used in the ink and the desired degree of drying (partial/complete). According to MPEP 2144.05 II A, “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized the drying temperature and time to be within the claimed ranges by routine experimentation in the absence of evidence indicating criticality of the ranges.
Regarding claims 5 and 7, Edwards in view of Fenzi, Adams, Horne, and Van Haute suggest the process of claims 1 and 6. Edwards teaches subliming the ink by raising the temperature, e.g., 200°C (0030). Fenzi teaches performing sublimation and fixing at a temperature of between 100 and 300°C for 1 to 30 minutes to obtain transfer of the decoration and/or the pattern and the polymerization of colors (Col. 2, lines 20-23). They teach performing the sublimation process in an oven (Col. 3, lines 34-44). From the teachings of Edwards and Fenzi, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have performed the sublimation or penetration step at a temperature of between 100 and 300°C for 1 to 30 minutes because Fenzi teaches that such conditions are used in sublimation processes with composite substrates and Edwards teaches performing sublimation at a temperature within the range of Fenzi, where the slab is a composite material, i.e. it includes polyester and agglomerate stone material (0034) such that it will be expected to provide a suitable temperature and time range for sublimating the pigment into the surface. Therefore, the time and temperature overlaps the claimed ranges. Therefore, the drying time and temperature overlaps the claimed ranges. According to MPEP 2144.05, “in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists.”
Regarding claim 9, Edwards in view of Fenzi, Adams, Horne, and Van Haute suggest the process of claim 1. As noted above, Fenzi suggests performing mechanical polishing (Col. 2, lines 1-4) and Horne further provides the suggestion to polish the surface (0026 and Fig. 4), such that the step of polishing is expected to be done using polishing tools.
Regarding claim 14, Edwards in view of Fenzi, Adams, Horne, and Van Haute suggest the process of claim 1. Edwards teaches that the substrate is polyester or a polyester-coated material, such as an agglomerated stone material that includes marble, quartz, etc., where agglomerated stone is also referred to as engineered stone (0034).
Adams teaches a method for manufacturing an engineered stone by providing a mixture comprising at least a stone or stone like material and a binder; compacting the mixture; curing the binder; and then printing a printed pattern on at least a top surface of the engineered stone (abstract). They teach that the engineered stone can be manufactured as a slab (0013). They teach that the stone or stone like material can include any kind of stone, sand, siliceous mineral material, for example quartz, silica sand, clay, etc. (0014). They teach that the stone or stone like material is in the form of aggregates, grains, and/or granules (0014). They teach that the mixture is loaded in a mold or frame and compacting is done under vacuum while vibration is applied to the mold or frame during the pressing step (0026). They teach curing the binder after compacting and then performing printing (0029 and 0033).
From the teachings of Adams, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the engineered stone slab using the process of Adams because Edwards teaches using engineered stone substrates and Adams provides a process of making such substrates. Therefore, before the step of machining the surface of the slab, a step of manufacturing the slab will be performed which involves vacuum vibro-compression (pressing under vacuum and vibration) and hardening (curing) of a mix comprising a binding resin (binder) and aggregates, where since the materials are mixed at least some of the granules are expected to form aggregates during the compression.
Regarding claims 15, 16, and 21, Edwards in view of Fenzi, Adams, Horne, and Van Haute suggest the process of claim 14. Adams further teaches that the stone or stone-like material includes granules or powders of quartz (0014). They teach that the aggregates, grains, and/or granules have a particle size distribution between 0.1 and 0.7 mm (0014). Therefore, when forming the slab using the process of Adams, the granules will be formed of quartz and have a size overlapping the claimed ranges.
Regarding claim 17, Edwards in view of Fenzi, Adams, Horne, and Van Haute suggest the process of claim 14. Adams further teaches that a coloring agent can be added to the mixture to provide a basic color of the engineered stone to provide a background for the printed pattern like a white, grey, beige, or brown background (0023). They teach that the coloring agent can also be either an inorganic or organic substance in powder form (0023). They teach that pigment particles are used as a coloring agent in mixture (0006). From this, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a white or beige pigment to the mixture so as to provide a white or slightly colored shade pigment to the aggregates because Adams teaches that it is desirable to add a coloring agent such as white or beige to the mixture for providing a background color, where pigments are known to be included for coloring mixtures such that it will be expected to provide a desirably colored background color for the slab material.
Regarding claim 22, Edwards in view of Fenzi, Adams, Horne, and Van Haute suggest the process of claim 1. As noted above, Fenzi provides the suggestion of polishing the slab prior to applying the decorative ink. Fenzi teaches polishing the surface prior to possible pre-painting or priming of the surface (Col. 2, lines 1-22).
Horne also teaches a step of preparing the stone or masonry substrate prior to applying the polymer to the image receiving surface (0026-0027 and Fig. 4). They teach that preparing the surface includes polishing the surface to give rise to a desired finish (0026).
From the teachings of Fenzi and Horne, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have polished the surface of the slab prior to applying the primer because Fenzi and Horne teach polishing the surface prior to applying a polymer or primer such that it will be expected to provide the desired surface for priming.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edwards in view of Fenzi, Adams, Horne, and Van Haute as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Alvarez, US 2020/0002214 A1.
Regarding claim 8, Edwards in view of Fenzi, Adams, Horne, and Van Haute suggest the process of clam 1.
Adams teaches that the method may also include the step of polishing at least partially the surface of the slab including the printed pattern (0043). They teach that the polishing step is conducted in order to remove an amount of material from the surface so that the printed pattern is still visible on the polished surface, for example, to remove less than 2 mm of the thickness of the slab (0043). They teach that the polishing step is performed in such a way to reduce the thickness of the slab in an amount smaller than the penetration depth (0043).
They do not teach the cooling time.
Alvarez teaches a glass/quartz composite structure that comprises quartz grit, quartz powder and glass grit that is formed into a slab for countertops (abstract). They teach that natural mineral components may be added to provide aesthetics of specific natural stones (abstract). They teach providing the mixture into a mold and compacting under vibration and vacuum (0015 and 0033). They teach heating the compacted mixture in an oven to drive the reaction of the resin to bind the aggregate and form a slab which will be polished into a finished product (0016). They teach that the slabs are kept in the oven for two hours to release internal stresses from the polymer reaction so as to minimize bending during cooling and storage and before polishing (0016). They teach that the slabs are stored flat on a metal rack for 24 hours after removal from the oven to keep the slabs flat during cooling before polishing (0016).
From the teachings of Adams and Alvarez, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have cooled the slab and then to have polished the surface of the printed pattern to remove a portion of the surface because Adams teaches that such a polishing step is conventionally performed after applying a print to an engineered stone slab and Alvarez teaches that it is desirable to cool a slab prior to polishing such that it will be expected to desirably polish the surface of the slab. Therefore, a step of removing excess or residual dispersed ink from the at least one surface of the slab will be performed by means of polishing since it will remove material from the surface, which is expected to include excess dispersed ink. As to the time for cooling, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have cooled the slabs for 24 hours because Alvarez teaches that such a cooling time is desirable prior to polishing such that it will be expected to provide a suitable time to completely cool the slab. Alternatively, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized the cooling time to be within the claimed range so as to provide a cooled slab because the time needed to cool the slab will be dependent on the temperature to which it was heated during sublimation, the temperature during the cooling process, where extending the cooling time would provide the benefit of ensuring a fully cooled surface prior to polishing. Therefore, the cooling time will be within the claimed range (24 hours) or optimized to be within the claimed range. According to MPEP 2131.03, “[W]hen, as by a recitation of ranges or otherwise, a claim covers several compositions, the claim is ‘anticipated’ if one of them is in the prior art.” According to MPEP 2144.05 II A, “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.”
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edwards in view of Fenzi, Adams, Horne, and Van Haute as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Schoneveld, US 2017/0066690 A1.
Regarding claim 12, Edwards in view of Fenzi, Adams, Horne, and Van Haute suggest the process of claim 1.
Adams teaches that the method may also include the step of polishing at least partially the surface of the slab including the printed pattern (0043). They teach that the polishing step is conducted in order to remove an amount of material from the surface so that the printed pattern is still visible on the polished surface, for example, to remove less than 2 mm of the thickness of the slab (0043). They teach that the polishing step is performed in such a way to reduce the thickness of the slab in an amount smaller than the penetration depth (0043).
From the teachings of Adams, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have polished the surface of the printed pattern to remove a portion of the surface because Adams teaches that such a polishing step is conventionally performed after applying a print to an engineered stone slab.
They do not teach removing the excess or residual dispersed ink from the surface by means of brushing using abrasive tools.
Schoneveld teaches depositing a coating mixture on a substrate, vibrating the assembly, curing, and performing mechanical finishing of the surface (abstract). They teach applying the coating to agglomerated stone specimen (0098). They teach that the visible surface of the coating is finished by a mechanical treatment selected from polishing with abrasives, polishing with brushes, or sand blasting and/or by a chemical treatment of acid etching such that a visible surface in which the first layer has been removed from the area with less gravel concentration and with more resin concentration is obtained for obtaining a final product with a very high gravel and very low resin concentration (0047).
From the teachings of Schoneveld, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have polished the surface of the printed pattern using brushes to remove a portion of the surface because Adams teaches that such a polishing step is conventionally performed after applying a print to an engineered stone slab and Schoneveld teaches that polishing using brushes can be done to remove a portion of a surface of an engineered stone slab such that it will be expected to desirably polish the surface of the slab. Therefore, a step of removing excess ore residual dispersed ink from the at least one surface of the slab will be performed by means of brushing suing abrasive tools since it will remove material from the surface, which is expected to include excess dispersed ink.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edwards in view of Fenzi, Adams, Horne, and Van Haute as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bieniek, US 2021/0387581 A1.
Regarding claim 13, Edwards in view of Fenzi, Adams, Horne, and Van Haute suggest the process of claim 1, wherein the functional compound is suggested to be a protective film-forming compound.
They do not teach that the functional compound is transparent and consists of a silazane solution.
Bieniek teaches a method for producing a decorative part which comprises a visible side with a decorative layer, where a polysilazane-containing composition is applied to the visible side of the decorative layer to form a cover layer which is subsequently cured (abstract). They teach that due to the use of a polysilazane-containing cover layer, excellent scratch and abrasion resistance is achieved and it protects sensitive decorative layers against external influences without impairing the appearance of the decorative layer (0009). They teach that the cover layer has dirt-repellent properties and is easy to clean (0009). They teach that the cover layer has excellent transparency (0048). They teach that the polysilazane-containing composition comprises a solvent (0022), such that it will be a silazane solution.
From the teachings of Bieniek, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the polysilazane composition to form the protective layer because Bieniek teaches that such a composition provides the benefits of excellent scratch and abrasion resistance, protection of sensitive decorative layers against external influences without impairing the appearance of the decorative layer, dirt-repellent properties, is easy to clean, and excellent transparency such that it will be expected to provide a desirable protection layer for the engineered stone slab. Therefore, the functional compound will be transparent and consist of a silazanes solution.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments dated 5/8/2026 have been fully considered.
In light of the amendments to the claims, the previous 112(b) rejections are withdrawn.
Regarding Applicant’s argument over the method of applying the ink of Fenzi, since they teach using sublimation to fix the dyes, where Edwards also indicates that applying a polyester coating to bind the dye, the process of priming the surface in the printing process of Edwards is also expected to be compatible.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that Edwards discloses that the ink is deposited directly onto a substrate and without any further component interposed, i.e., without any primer, it is noted that Edwards teaches that the surface may be coated with a polyester material so as to allow the sublimed ink to bind to the substrate (0034 and 0042), which can be considered a primer and is alignment with the suggestion of Adams and Horne of applying the primer as an ink adhesion or receptive layer. Regarding Applicant’s argument that the primer of Edwards does not function to prevent uncontrolled diffusion of a dispersed ink, this is not required by the claims.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that Adams' step of polishing is performed after the step of printing by application of the ink, the process of Edwards was modified by Fenzi to suggest polishing prior to applying the ink, which is in agreement with the process of Horne which also polishes the surface to prepare the stone or masonry substrate (0026 and Fig. 4).
Regarding Applicant’s argument that Adams does not teaches using the polymers in combination with water-based or solvent-based primers, the new reference of Van Haute has been included which indicates that such polymers are provided as aqueous dispersions or in organic solvents.
Conclusion
/CHRISTINA D MCCLURE/Examiner, Art Unit 1718