DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claims 18-20 are withdrawn from consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, claims 1-17, in the reply filed on 09/14/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/14/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dufour et al. (FR 3123924 A1 with US 2024/0279877 A1 as the English Equivalent).
Regarding claim 1,
Dufour teaches a sterilizable fibrous material for the packing of medical devices intended to be sterilized and provides a barrier to bacteria (a sterile barrier system for a medical device packaging) (Dufour: abstract; par. 0011). The system comprising: a fibrous body in the form of a cardboard container (a first layer) and has some degree of breathability/permeability to air (Dufour: abstract; par. 0014 and 0080) comprising a plurality of first fibers wherein each of the first fibers form a fiber body that has a cavity or recess (hollow) (Dufour: Fig. 3; par. 0065 and 0114-0115).
The phrase requiring the hollow fiber bodies to be “severable” is met as any fiber material is capable of being severed under any condition. As the package of Dufour is meant to be opened, it is fully capable of being severed.
A dye and a surfactant is injected into the tray (the hollow cavity) to detect leaks and thus may be considered a first flowable agent contained within the severable hollow fiber body (Dufour: par. 0065).
Regarding claims 4-6,
Dufour teaches the sterile barrier system required by claim 1. Dufour further teaches the first flowable agent is a dye as explained above in the rejection of claim 1. The dye is a different color from a color of the corresponding severable hollow fiber body in which the dye is contained as the dye is shown in an example to be Blue and coats seal points to detect if there is a leak (Dufour: par. 0065). Therefore, the dye is not visually perceptible when contained within the corresponding severable hollow fiber body when no leaks are present, but is a different color than the hollow severable body and is configured to flow from the severable hollow fiber body when said body is severed so as to display when a leak is present.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 8-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dufour in view of Dry (US 5,989,334 A).
Regarding claims 2 and 3,
Dufour teaches the sterile barrier system required by claim 1. Dufour does not explicitly teach wherein the first flowable agent is a self-healing agent that is configured to flow from the corresponding severable hollow fiber body when said body is severed and repair a void in the first layer. However, Dufour does desire detection of any voids via the introduction of dyes to ensure the seal is intact (Dufour: par. 0065).
Dry teaches self-repairing, fiber reinforced matrix materials such cellulose and polymer fibers (fibers utilized in Dufour) for use in formed shaped objects that may be utilized in medical and biomedical applications (Dry: abstract; col. 8, lin. 16-67 – col. 9, lin. 1-64). Hollow fibers (another interpretation of what may be considered hollow fiber body) that contain a first and/or a second flowable agent such as a self-healing (self-repairing) agent and/or a dye may be within said fiber reinforced matrix (a first layer) wherein when the hollow fiber bodies are severed they release the self-healing agents to repair a void in said first layer (Dry: abstract; col. 9, lin. 65-67 – col. 10, lin. 1-13, col. 13, lin. 26-35, and col. 14, lin. 48-67 – col. 15, lin. 1-8).
Dufour and Dry are in the corresponding field of shaped articles in the medical field that comprise overlapping fiber compositions composed of flowable agents such as dyes. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to insert severable hollow fiber bodies into the first layer of Dufour that contain self-healing and/or dye agents to configure the first layer to repair a void when severed to provide improved damage mitigation as taught by Dry.
Regarding claims 8 and 9,
Dufour teaches the sterile barrier system required by claim 1. Dufour does not explicitly teach wherein the first layer further comprises a plurality of second fibers each including a severable hollow fiber body and a second flowable agent contained within the corresponding severable hollow fiber body.
Dry teaches self-repairing, fiber reinforced matrix materials such cellulose and polymer fibers (fibers utilized in Dufour) for use in formed shaped objects that may be utilized in medical and biomedical applications (Dry: abstract; col. 8, lin. 16-67 – col. 9, lin. 1-64). Hollow fibers (another interpretation of what may be considered hollow fiber body) that contain a first and/or a second flowable agent such as a self-healing (self-repairing) agent and/or a dye may be within said fiber reinforced matrix (a first layer) wherein when the hollow fiber bodies are severed they release the self-healing agents to repair a void in said first layer (Dry: abstract; col. 9, lin. 65-67 – col. 10, lin. 1-13, col. 13, lin. 26-35, and col. 14, lin. 48-67 – col. 15, lin. 1-8). Thus, it is known to add hollow severable fiber bodies containing dyes and hollow severable fiber bodies containing self-healing/repairing fluid agents to a shaped fiber structure.
Dufour and Dry are in the corresponding field of shaped articles in the medical field that comprise overlapping fiber compositions composed of flowable agents such as dyes. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to insert severable hollow fiber bodies into the first layer of Dufour that contain self-healing and/or dye agents (first and second flowable agents in a first and second severable hollow fiber body) to configure the first layer to repair a void when severed to provide improved damage mitigation and/or detect leaks as taught by Dry.
Regarding claims 10-12 and 14,
Dufour teaches a sterilizable fibrous material for the packing of medical devices intended to be sterilized and provides a barrier to bacteria (a sterile barrier system for a medical device packaging) (Dufour: abstract; par. 0011). The system comprising: a fibrous body in the form of a cardboard container (a first layer) and has some degree of breathability/permeability to air (Dufour: abstract; par. 0014 and 0080) comprising a plurality of first fibers wherein each of the first fibers (Dufour: Fig. 3; par. 0065 and 0114-0115).
Dufour does not explicitly teach the combination of a first layer having a first severable hollow fiber body and a first flowable agent contained within the first severable hollow fiber body and a second layer secured relative to the first layer, the second layer including a second severable hollow fiber body and a second flowable agent contained within the second severable hollow fiber body
Dry teaches self-repairing, fiber reinforced matrix materials such cellulose and polymer fibers (fibers utilized in Dufour) for use in formed shaped objects that may be utilized in medical and biomedical applications (Dry: abstract; col. 8, lin. 16-67 – col. 9, lin. 1-64). The shaped object may be a laminate of multiple layers of fiber reinforced matrices (a first and second layer) and may also include self-repairing impact resistance layers that may be an interlayer (a third layer that may have a third severable hollow fiber body and a third flowable agent contained within said body) (Dry: col. 9, lin. 20-64 and col. 14, linn. 1-34). Hollow fibers (another interpretation of what may be considered hollow fiber body) that contain a first and/or a second flowable agent such as a self-healing (self-repairing) agent and/or a dye may be within said fiber reinforced matrix (a first layer) wherein when the hollow fiber bodies are severed they release the self-healing agents to repair a void in said first, second, or third layers (Dry: abstract; col. 9, lin. 65-67 – col. 10, lin. 1-13, col. 13, lin. 26-35, and col. 14, lin. 48-67 – col. 15, lin. 1-8). Thus, it is known to have a laminate stack of shaped matrix layers (first, second, and third) to provide the desired shape integrity or properties that may be reinforced with hollow severable bodies that have dye and/or self-healing flowable agents to provide a repair function when severed to repair said void and/or a dye to detect the damage location.
Dufour and Dry are in the corresponding field of shaped articles in the medical field that comprise overlapping fiber compositions composed of flowable agents such as dyes. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the shaped article of Dufour to have a first and second layer having first and second severable hollow fiber bodies have flowable agents in the form of self-repairing agents and/or dyes with a third layer between said two layers also having severable hollow fibers having a third flowable agent also containing a self-repairing and/or dye to configure the shaped article and the first, second, or third layers to repair a void when severed to provide improved damage mitigation and/or detect leaks as taught by Dry.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dufour in view of Liu et al. (“Recent Advances in Electrospun Sustainable Composites for Biomedical, Environmental, Energy, and Packaging Applications” International Journal of Molecular Sciences 2020, 21, 4019).
Regarding claim 7,
Dufour teaches the sterile barrier system required by claim 1. Dufour is silent towards the fibers being an electrospun web.
Liu teaches towards the advantages of using electrospun webs for use in biomedical applications due to its ease of operation and wide adaptability for fabrication fibers on a nanoscale (Liu: abstract; and throughout).
Dufour and Liu are in the corresponding field of fibrous bodies for use in the medical field. Therefore, it would be obvious to utilize electrospun webs for forming the shaped article of Dufour due to it’s ease of operation and wide adaptability as taught by Liu.
Claim(s) 13 and 15-17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dufour in view of Dry and in further view Sottos et al. (US 2019/0144705 A1).
Regarding claims 13 and 15-17,
Dufour and Dry teaches the sterile barrier system required by claim 10. Dufour and Dry are silent towards the first flowable agent and the second flowable agent and the third flowable agent being dyes having different colors. However, Dry does teach the third layer may be between the first and second layer and the third flowable agent may be a self-repairing agent or a dye as explained in the rejection above.
Sottos teaches damage indicating coatings that comprise hollow severable bodies (microcapsules) that may have damage indication dyes or indicate other reactions that serve as color indicators to detect when sufficient damage is inflicted to the structure (Sattos: abstract). A plurality of color indicators may be combined and different colors may be utilized for different mechanically or chemically triggered mechanisms and may be combined with other agents such as self-healing agents (Sottos: par. 0004-0017 and 0042-0048).
Dufour, Dry, and Sottos are in the corresponding field of articles having dyes to indicate damage. Dry and Sottos both comprise the use of self-repairing and dye agents. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the first, second, and third flowable agents of Dufour and Dry to be dyes of different colors to indicate the desired damage or chemical reactions for the first, second, and third layers of Dufour and Dry as taught by Sottos.
Conclusion
/TRAVIS M FIGG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783