DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 21, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: This claim recites the limitations: “the sensitivity direction” in lines 2 and 7; multiple recitation of “the direction”; “the plane” in line 4. These limitations are the first appearance of the limitations, appear to be unique and should be amended from “the” to “a”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: This claim recites the limitations: “the sensitivity direction” in lines 6 and 10; multiple recitation of “the direction”; “the plane” in lines 8 and 12. These limitations are the first appearance of the limitations, appear to be unique and should be amended from “the” to “a”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: This claim recites the limitations: “the number” in line 1 and “the vertical projection range” in line 3. These limitations are the first appearance of the limitations and should be amended from “the” to “a”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nobuyuki et al. JP2008216230A (called Nobuyuki hereinafter and the examiner has provided an English machine translation).
Regarding independent claim 1, Nobuyuki teaches a current sensor (Fig. 8; para [0016]; current sensor 1), comprising: an input module (Fig. 8; primary conductor 3), a high current detection module (Figs. 8 and 9; para [0018]; first current detection device section 25 with first sensor substrate 23; measurement of large currents using current detection device section 25), a low current detection module (Figs. 8 and 9; para [0018]; second current detection device 26 with second sensor substrate 24; measurement of small currents using second current detection device 26), and a circuit board (Fig. 8; para [0016]; sensor substrates 23 and 24), wherein
the input module comprises a differential copper bar (Fig. 8; para [0016]; first branch conductor 5) and a current shunting copper bar connected in parallel (Fig. 8; para [0016]; second branch conductor 6), and a current (Fig. 8; current flows along conductor 3 in the x-axis and y-axis) to be measured flows perpendicularly to a cross section of the differential copper bar and the current shunting copper bar (Fig. 8; cross section of conductor 3 along the z-axis), and generates a magnetic field at the positions of the high current detection module and the low current detection module (Fig. 8; para [0017]);
the high current detection module comprises a first magnetic induction module (Fig. 8; para [0017]; first current detection device section 25) and a first signal output module (Fig. 8; para [0017]; first sensor circuit section 27), the first magnetic induction module is secured on the circuit board and placed in an internal gap of the input module (Fig. 8; para [0017]; first current detection device section 25 is placed in slit portion 4), the first magnetic induction module at least comprises a first magnetic sensing unit (Fig. 5; para [0009 and 0017]; magnetoresistive effect element 12 has first half-bridge circuit 17a) and a second magnetic sensing unit (Fig. 5; para [0009 and 0017]; magnetoresistive effect element 12 has second half-bridge circuit 17b) therein, and the first magnetic sensing unit and the second magnetic sensing unit differentially sense the magnetic field of the input module (para [0017]), and form an output signal through the first signal output module (para [0017]); and
the low current detection module comprises a second magnetic induction module (Fig. 8; para [0017]; second current detection device section 26) and a second signal output module (Fig. 8; para [0017]; second sensor circuit section 28), the second magnetic induction module is secured on the circuit board (Fig. 8) and placed outside the input module (Fig. 8; the sensor on the second sensor substrate 24 is outside conductor 3), the second magnetic induction module at least comprises a third magnetic sensing unit (Fig. 5; para [0009 and 0017]; magnetoresistive effect element 12 has first half-bridge circuit 17a placed on the second sensor substrate 24) and a fourth magnetic sensing unit (Fig. 5; para [0009 and 0017]; magnetoresistive effect element 12 has second half-bridge circuit 17b placed on the second sensor substrate 24) therein, and the third magnetic sensing unit and the fourth magnetic sensing unit differentially sense the magnetic field of the input module (para [0017]), and form an output signal through the second signal output module (para [0017]).
Regarding claim 5, Nobuyuki teaches the current sensor according to claim 1, and further teaches wherein the first magnetic sensing unit and the second magnetic sensing unit in the first magnetic induction module are connected to form any one of a differential half-bridge structure (Fig. 5; para [0009 and 0017]; differential full-bridge configuration using two half-bridges for bridge circuit 16 of magnetoresistive effect element 12 on first sensor substrate 23), a differential full-bridge structure, a double push-pull half-bridge differential structure, and a double push-pull full-bridge differential structure;
the third magnetic sensing unit and the fourth magnetic sensing unit in the second magnetic induction module are connected to form any one of a differential half-bridge structure (Fig. 5; para [0009 and 0017]; differential full-bridge configuration using two half-bridges for bridge circuit 16 of magnetoresistive effect element 12 on second sensor substrate 24), a differential full-bridge structure, a double push-pull half-bridge differential structure, and a double push-pull full-bridge differential structure;
for the differential half-bridge structure, each magnetic sensing unit comprises a magnetoresistive bridge arm (Fig. 5; half-bridges 17a and 17b for the first and second magnetic sensing unit), and two magnetoresistive bridge arms in the same magnetic induction module are electrically differentiated together to form the differential half-bridge structure (Fig. 5; para [0009 and 0019]);
for the differential full-bridge structure, each magnetic sensing unit comprises two magnetoresistive bridge arms, two magnetoresistive bridge arms in the same magnetic sensing unit are located on two opposite bridge arms, two magnetoresistive bridge arms of different magnetic sensing units are located on two adjacent bridge arms to form the differential full-bridge structure, and the output signal of the magnetic induction module is a differential signal of the differential full-bridge structure;
for the double push-pull half-bridge differential structure, two magnetic sensing units in the same magnetic induction module both comprise two magnetoresistive bridge arms, two magnetoresistive bridge arms in each magnetic sensing unit have opposite sensitivity directions, two magnetoresistive bridge arms in the magnetic sensing unit are upper and lower bridge arms and form a push-pull half-bridge structure, the sensitivity directions of the upper bridge arms in the two magnetic sensing units are the same and the sensitivity directions of the lower bridge arms in the two magnetic sensing units are the same, two magnetic sensing units in the same magnetic induction module form the double push-pull half-bridge differential structure as a whole, and the output signal of the magnetic induction module is a differential signal of the double push-pull half-bridge differential structure;
for the double push-pull full-bridge differential structure, two magnetic sensing units in the same magnetic induction module both comprise four magnetoresistive bridge arms, four magnetoresistive bridge arms of the magnetic sensing unit form a push-pull full-bridge structure, the sensitivity directions of two magnetic sensing units in the same magnetic induction module are the same, two magnetic sensing units in the same magnetic induction module form the double push-pull full-bridge differential structure as a whole, and the output signal of the magnetic induction module is a differential signal of the double push-pull full-bridge differential structure; and
the magnetoresistive bridge arm is formed by connecting one or more magnetoresistive sensitive components in series and parallel (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 9, Nobuyuki teaches the current sensor according to claim 1, and further teaches wherein the number of current shunting copper bars is one or more (Fig. 8; second branch conductor 6), any current shunting copper bar is located above the first magnetic induction module or below the differential copper bar (Fig. 8; second branch conductor 6 is below first branch conductor 5), and the vertical projection range of any current shunting copper bar covers the first magnetic sensing unit and the second magnetic sensing unit in the first magnetic induction module (Figs. 8 and 9; the vertical projection of second branch conductor 6 in the z-axis covers the first current detection device section 25).
Regarding independent claim 10, Nobuyuki teaches a current sensor (Fig. 8; para [0016]; current sensor 1), comprising: an input module (Fig. 8; primary conductor 3), a high current detection module (Figs. 8 and 9; para [0018]; first current detection device section 25 with first sensor substrate 23; measurement of large currents using current detection device section 25), a low current detection module (Figs. 8 and 9; para [0018]; second current detection device 26 with second sensor substrate 24; measurement of small currents using second current detection device 26), and a circuit board (Fig. 8; para [0016]; sensor substrates 23 and 24), wherein
the input module comprises two or more current shunting copper bars connected in parallel (Fig. 8; para [0016]; first branch conductor 5 and second branch conductor 6); a current (Fig. 8; current flows along conductor 3 in the x-axis and y-axis) to be measured flows perpendicularly to a cross section of the current shunting copper bars (Fig. 8; cross section of conductor 3 along the z-axis), and generates a magnetic field at the positions of the high current detection module and the low current detection module;
the high current detection module is located in an internal gap of the input module (Fig. 8; para [0017]; first current detection device section 25 is placed in slit portion 4); the high current detection module comprises a first magnetic induction module (Fig. 8; para [0017]; first current detection device section 25) and a first signal output module (Fig. 8; para [0017]; first sensor circuit section 27) which are secured on the circuit board (para [0017]), and the first magnetic induction module comprises a first magnetic sensing unit (Fig. 8; para [0017]; magnetoresistive effect element 12); the first magnetic sensing unit senses the magnetic field of the input module (para [0017]), and forms an output signal of the current sensor through the first signal output module (para [0017]);
the low current detection module is located outside the input module (Fig. 8; the sensor on the second sensor substrate 24 is outside conductor 3); the low current detection module comprises a second magnetic induction module (Fig. 8; para [0017]; second current detection device section 26) and a second signal output module (Fig. 8; para [0017]; second sensor circuit section 28) which are secured on the circuit board (para [0017]), and the second magnetic induction module comprises a second magnetic sensing unit (Fig. 8; para [0017]; magnetoresistive effect element 12 on each sensor substrate 23 and 24); and the second magnetic sensing unit senses the magnetic field of the input module (para [0017]), and forms an output signal of the current sensor through the second signal output module (para [0017]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nobuyuki in view of Yasunori et al. WO2015133621A1 (called Yasunori hereinafter and the examiner has provided an English machine translation).
Regarding claim 7, Nobuyuki teaches the current sensor according to claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the third magnetic sensing unit and the fourth magnetic sensing unit in the second magnetic induction module are placed in any one of the following two ways: (1) the third magnetic sensing unit is located above the input module, the fourth magnetic sensing unit is located below or on a side of the input module, and the sensitivity directions of the third magnetic sensing unit and the fourth magnetic sensing unit are the same; (2) the third magnetic sensing unit and the fourth magnetic sensing unit are located on the same side of the input module; the third magnetic sensing unit is located within the vertical projection coverage of the current shunting copper bar or differential copper bar closest to the third magnetic sensing unit, and the sensitivity direction of the third magnetic sensing unit is the same as or opposite to the direction of the magnetic field generated at the position of the third magnetic sensing unit by the current shunting copper bar or differential copper bar closest to the third magnetic sensing unit, and is along the direction in the plane of the second magnetic induction module and perpendicular to the direction of the current to be measured; and the fourth magnetic sensing unit is located outside the vertical projection coverage of the current shunting copper bar and the differential copper bar, and the sensitivity direction of the fourth magnetic sensing unit is the same as that of the third magnetic sensing unit.
Yasunori teaches wherein the third magnetic sensing unit (Figs. 6-12; using Fig. 6, para [0065]; magnetic sensor 2) and the fourth magnetic sensing unit (Figs. 6-12; using Fig. 6, para [0065]; magnetic sensor 3) in the second magnetic induction module are placed in any one of the following two ways: (1) the third magnetic sensing unit is located above the input module (Fig. 6; magnetic sensor 2 is above current path 5), the fourth magnetic sensing unit is located below or on a side of the input module (Fig. 6; magnetic sensor 3 is on a side of current path 5), and the sensitivity directions of the third magnetic sensing unit and the fourth magnetic sensing unit are the same (para [0065]; magnetic sensors 2 and 3 have sensitivity axes 11 and 12 which are the same); (2) the third magnetic sensing unit and the fourth magnetic sensing unit are located on the same side of the input module; the third magnetic sensing unit is located within the vertical projection coverage of the current shunting copper bar or differential copper bar closest to the third magnetic sensing unit, and the sensitivity direction of the third magnetic sensing unit is the same as or opposite to the direction of the magnetic field generated at the position of the third magnetic sensing unit by the current shunting copper bar or differential copper bar closest to the third magnetic sensing unit, and is along the direction in the plane of the second magnetic induction module and perpendicular to the direction of the current to be measured; and the fourth magnetic sensing unit is located outside the vertical projection coverage of the current shunting copper bar and the differential copper bar, and the sensitivity direction of the fourth magnetic sensing unit is the same as that of the third magnetic sensing unit.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure as described by Nobuyuki with the positioning of magnetic sensors as described by Yasunori for the purpose of providing a current detector with a wide measurement range, a high signal-to-noise ratio and low assembly costs (para [0014]).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nobuyuki in view of Juds et al. US9746500 (called Juds hereinafter).
Regarding claim 11, Nobuyuki teaches the current sensor according to claim 10, but fails to teach wherein the current sensor further comprises a differential detection module; and the differential detection module uses the first magnetic sensing unit in the high current detection module and the second magnetic sensing unit in the low current detection module to differentially sense the magnetic field of the input module, and form an output signal of the current sensor through a third signal output module.
Juds teaches wherein the current sensor further comprises a differential detection module (Fig. 6; differential amplifier 90); and the differential detection module uses the first magnetic sensing unit (Fig. 6; magnetic sensor 44) in the high current detection module and the second magnetic sensing unit (Fig. 6; magnetic sensor 46) in the low current detection module to differentially sense the magnetic field of the input module (Fig. 6; Column 5 lines 44-62), and form an output signal (Fig. 6; output 94) of the current sensor through a third signal output module (Fig. 6; output circuit 84).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure as described by Nobuyuki with the differential amplifier using multiple magnetic sensors as described by Juds for the purpose of improving the sensing range with enhanced resolution and improved immunity to external magnetic fields (Column 1 lines 65-67).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 6 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, the prior arts of record taken alone or in combination fail to teach or suggest:
“further comprising: a switching module, wherein the switching module selects to switch to the high current detection module or the low current detection module according to the range of the current to be measured; and the input module, the high current detection module, the low current detection module, and the switching module are electrically isolated from each other.”
Claim 3 is indicated as allowable subject matter for depending on claim 2.
Regarding claim 4, the prior arts of record taken alone or in combination fail to teach or suggest:
“wherein the differential copper bar is in a step shape near the first magnetic induction module, and at least comprises a first step and a second step; the first magnetic sensing unit is located above the first step, and the second magnetic sensing unit is located above the second step; the sensitivity direction of the first magnetic sensing unit is the same as or opposite to the direction of the magnetic field generated by the differential copper bar at the first magnetic sensing unit, and is along the direction in the plane of the first magnetic induction module and perpendicular to the direction of the current to be measured; and the sensitivity direction of the second magnetic sensing unit is the same as or opposite to the direction of the magnetic field generated by the differential copper bar at the second magnetic sensing unit, and is along the direction in the plane of the second magnetic induction module and perpendicular to the direction of the current to be measured.”
Regarding claim 6, the prior arts of record taken alone or in combination fail to teach or suggest:
“wherein the first signal output module and the second signal output module respectively comprise an open-loop signal conditioning circuit using an open-loop circuit or a closed-loop signal conditioning circuit using a closed-loop circuit and a feedback coil; for the open-loop circuit, the first signal output module or the second signal output module uses the open-loop signal conditioning circuit to perform conditioning amplification, temperature compensation, and linearity correction on the differential signal of two magnetic sensing units in the module; the open-loop signal conditioning circuit is one of a printed circuit board (PCB)-level discrete component circuit or an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC); for the closed-loop circuit, the first signal output module or the second signal output module uses the closed-loop signal conditioning circuit and the feedback coil to perform conditioning amplification, temperature compensation, and linearity correction on the differential signal of two magnetic sensing units in the module; the closed-loop signal conditioning circuit, the feedback coil, and the magnetic sensing unit in the high current detection module or the low current detection module form a closed-loop magnetic field feedback, the differential signal of two magnetic sensing units in the module is amplified, and then a feedback magnetic field is generated through the feedback coil to reversely offset the differential mode magnetic field; when the dynamic balance of the magnetic field is reached, two magnetic sensing units in the module operate at equal common mode magnetic field operating points, and the feedback current of the feedback coil is sampled through a sampling resistor to form an output signal of the magnetic induction module; the closed-loop signal conditioning circuit is one of a PCB-level discrete component circuit or an ASIC; and the feedback coil is integrated in the closed-loop signal conditioning circuit, the circuit board, the magnetic sensing unit, the ASIC, or the magnetic induction module.”
Regarding claim 8, the prior arts of record taken alone or in combination fail to teach or suggest:
“wherein the current sensor further comprises: a third current detection module, the third current detection module comprising a third magnetic induction module and a third signal output module; and the third magnetic induction module is composed of the first magnetic sensing unit or the second magnetic sensing unit in the first magnetic induction module and the third magnetic sensing unit or the fourth magnetic sensing unit in the second magnetic induction module, and two magnetic sensing units in the third magnetic induction module differentially sense the magnetic field of the input module, and form an output signal of the current sensor through the third signal output module.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sugimoto discloses “current sensors that are each capable of accurately measuring the value of a measurement target current by using magnetic sensing elements that are less affected by a magnetic field component in a direction perpendicular or substantially perpendicular to a magnetic field detection direction of the magnetic sensing elements” (see US2021/0231711)
Hebiguchi discloses “a current sensor that measures a current by using a magneto-electric resistance effect element, such as a giant magnetoresistance (GMR) element or an anisotropic magnetoresistance (AMR) element” (see US2019/0339307)
Tamura discloses “a current sensor which measures a magnitude of electric currents, and particularly, to a current sensor which detects currents flowing through a conductor through a electromagnetic conversion element” (see US2011/0221429)
/DAVID B FREDERIKSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/HUY Q PHAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858