DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
1. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/21/2024 and is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. According, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Invention Title Objection
2. The title of the invention is objected because the invention title is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The applicant may change the invention title from “Current sensor” to “Current sensor for sensing large current measurement range” or “Sensing device for sensing large current measurement range”. Claim Objection
3. Claims 1-2 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, lines 20-21, “the output of the magnetic induction module forms the output signal of the current sensor” should be changed to --- an output of the magnetic induction module forms an output signal of the current sensor ---.
Regarding claim 2, line 7, “the magnetic field” should be changed to --- a magnetic field ---. Line 9, “the magnetic field sensitivity direction” should be changed to --- a magnetic field sensitivity direction ---. Line 12, “the vertical projection position” should be changed to --- a vertical projection position ---. Line 13, “the U-shaped enclosed area” should be changed to --- an U-shaped enclosed area ---. Line 17, “the plane” should be changed to --- a plane ---.
Examiner Notes
4. Examiner cites particular paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Latham (U.S. Pat. 9958482; hereinafter “Latham”).
Regarding claim 1, Latham discloses, in Figs. 1-7, a current sensor (a current sensor 400 in Fig. 4) comprising a primary-side current input copper bar (a primary conductor 420), a magnetic induction module (a magnetic sensor module 452), and a circuit board (“the semiconductor substrate and magnetic field sensing circuit may be mounted on a printed circuit board”, Col. 7 lines 58-50); the primary-side current input copper bar (420) comprises a primary-side input terminal (422a, see annotated Fig. 4), a primary-side output terminal (422b, see annotated Fig. 4), a differential copper bar area (a second portion 424 in Fig. 4), and a current shunting copper bar area (a first portion 422 in Fig. 4); the differential copper bar area (424) and the current shunting copper bar area (422) are electrically connected in parallel (see Fig. 4), the differential copper bar area (424) includes a U-shaped current conduction path (conductive path portions 426a, 428 and 426b are formed into a U-shaped current conduction path, see Fig. 4), the number of the current shunting copper bar areas is one or more (see Fig. 4), and any of the current shunting copper bar areas and the differential copper bar area are located in the same horizontal plane or different horizontal planes (see Fig. 4); the number of the primary-side input terminals is one or more (see Fig. 4), the number of the primary-side output terminals is one or more (see Fig. 4), and any of the primary-side input terminals and the primary-side output terminals is electrically connected to the differential copper bar area or to the current shunting copper bar area (see Fig. 4); the primary-side current input copper bar is formed in one of the following two ways: (1) integrally formed (The primary current 420 includes a first portion 422 and a second portion 424 (equivalent to “integrally formed), see Fig. 4); and (2) formed by connecting more than one independent copper bar, wherein the independent copper bar includes part or all of the primary-side input terminal, the primary-side output terminal, the differential copper bar area, and the current shunting copper bar area (see Fig. 4); the magnetic induction module (452) is secured on the circuit board (“the semiconductor substrate and magnetic field sensing circuit may be mounted on a printed circuit board”, Col. 7 lines 58-50) and is located above the U-shaped current conduction path in the differential copper bar area (Figs. 2 and 4-5 show the magnetic sensor is located on the U-shaped current conduction path. Col. 2 lines 15-25: “The current sensor can be configured to perform differential sensing. For example, the magnetic field sensing circuit can be configured to sense a magnetic field corresponding to the second portion of the primary current in at least two directions. For example, by bringing the second portion of the primary current to the conductive layer disposed over the magnetic field sensing circuit, the conductive layer can generate magnetic fields on one or more magnetic field sensing elements in different (e.g., opposite) directions to sense to second portion differentially”.), and the output (Vout 464)of the magnetic induction module forms the output signal (an output signal 460a of the current sensor 400) of the current sensor.
Regarding claim 2, Latham discloses the current sensor according to claim 1, wherein the magnetic induction module adopts one of the following three situations: (1) the magnetic induction module (the magnetic sensor module 780 in Fig 7A) includes at least a first magnetic induction unit (such as a magnetoresistive element 770a is indicated as a unit #1 in Fig. 7A) and a second magnetic induction unit therein (such as a magnetoresistive element 770b is indicated as a unit #2 in Fig. 7A), the first magnetic induction unit (770a) and the second magnetic induction unit (770b) are located respectively above two current conduction paths with a parallel position relationship in the U-shaped current conduction path (two magnetoresistive elements 770a-b are located respectively above two current conduction paths with a parallel position relationship in a U-shape current conduction path 790 in Fig. 7A), the first magnetic induction unit (770a) and the second magnetic induction unit (770b) sense the magnetic field generated by the primary-side current input copper bar in a differential manner and generate a differential voltage signal, and the magnetic field sensitivity direction of the magnetic induction unit used by the current sensor is parallel to the plane where the magnetic induction module is located (a differential sensing arrangement 750 is provided having a magnetic field sensing circuit 780 disposed a predetermined distance from a primary conductor 760 carrying a primary current. Magnetoresistance elements 770a-d can be configured to sense a magnetic field corresponding to the second portion in at least two directions and generate a differential signal representing a difference in the magnetic field in the first direction as compared the magnetic field in the second opposite direction….See Col. 18 lines 20-60); (2) the magnetic induction module includes at least a third magnetic induction unit therein, the vertical projection position of the third magnetic induction unit is located at the internal side of the U-shaped enclosed area of the U-shaped current conduction path, the third magnetic induction unit directly senses the magnetic field generated by the primary-side current input copper bar and generates a voltage signal, and the magnetic field sensitivity direction of the magnetic induction unit used by the current sensor is perpendicular to the plane where the magnetic induction module is located; and (3) the magnetic induction module includes at least the third magnetic induction unit and a fourth magnetic induction unit therein, the vertical projection position of the fourth magnetic induction unit is located at an external side of the U-shaped enclosed area of the U-shaped current conduction path, the third magnetic induction unit and the fourth magnetic induction unit sense the magnetic field generated by the primary-side current input copper bar in a differential manner and generate a differential voltage signal, and the magnetic field sensitivity direction of the magnetic induction unit used by the current sensor is perpendicular to the plane where the magnetic induction module is located.
Regarding claim 3, Latham discloses the current sensor according to claim 2, wherein the first magnetic induction unit and the second magnetic induction unit each include one or more magnetoresistive bridge arms, and each of the magnetoresistive bridge arms is composed of one or more magnetoresistive sensitive elements connected in series and in parallel; in the first magnetic induction unit and the second magnetic induction unit, the bridge structure adopted by any magnetic induction unit is one of a differential half-bridge structure, a differential full-bridge structure (a differential full-bridge structure 652 in Fig. 6), a double push-pull half-bridge differential structure, and a double push-pull full-bridge differential structure: (1) the differential half-bridge structure is a single bridge, and the first magnetic induction unit and the second magnetic induction unit together constitute the same single-bridge differential half-bridge structure and form an output signal of the differential half-bridge structure; (2) the differential full-bridge structure (652a-652d in Fig. 6) is a single bridge, and the first magnetic induction unit and the second magnetic induction unit together constitute the same single-bridge differential full-bridge structure and form an output signal of the differential full-bridge structure (see Fig. 6 and Col. 16 lines 1-65) ; (3) in the double push-pull half-bridge differential structure, the first magnetic induction unit and the second magnetic induction unit both adopt a push-pull half-bridge structure and each form a voltage output signal, and the voltage output signals of the two push-pull half-bridge structures differentially form an output signal of the double push-pull half-bridge differential structure; and (4) in the double push-pull full-bridge differential structure, the first magnetic induction unit and the second magnetic induction unit both adopt a push-pull full-bridge structure and each form a voltage output signal, and the voltage output signals of the two push-pull full-bridge structures differentially form an output signal of the double push-pull full-bridge differential structure.
Regarding claim 4, Latham discloses the current sensor according to claim 1, wherein two ends of the U-shaped opening of the U-shaped current conduction path are electrically connected (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 5, Latham discloses the current sensor according to claim 1, wherein the primary-side current input copper bar (214 in Fig. 2) is electrically isolated from the magnetic induction module and the circuit board, respectively (see Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 7, Latham discloses the current sensor according to claim 1, wherein by further comprising a mechanical support housing, wherein the mechanical support housing plays a role in wrapping, fixing, and supporting various parts in the current sensor (see Fig. 3).
7. Claims 1 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takaki et al. (WO-2015133621; hereinafter “Takaki”).
Regarding claim 1, Takaki discloses, in Figs. 1-18, a current sensor (a current sensor 1 in Fig. 9b) comprising a primary-side current input copper bar (a primary conductor includes a main current path portion 15 and a bypass current path portion 17 in Fig 9b), a magnetic induction module (a pair of magnetic sensors 2-3), and a circuit board (the first and second magnetic sensors 2-3 mounted on a printed circuit board, see page 10); the primary-side current input copper bar comprises a primary-side input terminal (an input current terminal of the main current path 15, see Fig. 9b), a primary-side output terminal (an output current terminal of the main current path 15, see Fig. 9b), a differential copper bar area (the bypass current path 17), and a current shunting copper bar area (the main current path 15); the differential copper bar area (17) and the current shunting copper bar area (15) are electrically connected in parallel (see Fig. 9b), the differential copper bar area (17) includes a U-shaped current conduction path (Fig. 9b shows the bypass current path 17 having a U-shaped current conduction path), the number of the current shunting copper bar areas is one or more (see Fig. 9b), and any of the current shunting copper bar areas and the differential copper bar area are located in the same horizontal plane or different horizontal planes (see Fig. 9b); the number of the primary-side input terminals is one or more (see Fig. 9b), the number of the primary-side output terminals is one or more (see Fig. 9b), and any of the primary-side input terminals and the primary-side output terminals is electrically connected to the differential copper bar area or to the current shunting copper bar area (see Fig. 9b); the primary-side current input copper bar is formed in one of the following two ways: (1) integrally formed (Fig. 9b shows the main current path 15 and the bypass current path 17 are integrally formed); and (2) formed by connecting more than one independent copper bar, wherein the independent copper bar includes part or all of the primary-side input terminal, the primary-side output terminal, the differential copper bar area, and the current shunting copper bar area (see Fig. 9b); the magnetic induction module (2,3) is secured on the circuit board (the first and second magnetic sensors 2-3 mounted on a printed circuit board, see page 10) and is located above the U-shaped current conduction path in the differential copper bar area (Fig. 9b show the magnetic sensors 2-3 are located above the U-shaped current conduction path 17.), and the output of the magnetic induction module forms the output signal of the current sensor (see page 22).
Regarding claim 4, Takaki discloses the current sensor according to claim 1, wherein two ends of the U-shaped opening of the U-shaped current conduction path are electrically connected (see Fig. 9b).
Regarding claim 5, Takaki discloses the current sensor according to claim 1, wherein the primary-side current input copper bar (15) is electrically isolated from the magnetic induction module and the circuit board, respectively (see Fig. 9b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takaki in view of Li et al. (CN-111551766; hereinafter “Li”).
Regarding claim 2, Takaki discloses the current sensor according to claim 1, except for explicitly specifying that wherein the magnetic induction module adopts one of the following three situations: (1) the magnetic induction module includes at least a first magnetic induction unit and a second magnetic induction unit therein, the first magnetic induction unit and the second magnetic induction unit are located respectively above two current conduction paths with a parallel position relationship in the U-shaped current conduction path, the first magnetic induction unit and the second magnetic induction unit sense the magnetic field generated by the primary-side current input copper bar in a differential manner and generate a differential voltage signal, and the magnetic field sensitivity direction of the magnetic induction unit used by the current sensor is parallel to the plane where the magnetic induction module is located; (2) the magnetic induction module includes at least a third magnetic induction unit therein, the vertical projection position of the third magnetic induction unit is located at the internal side of the U-shaped enclosed area of the U-shaped current conduction path, the third magnetic induction unit directly senses the magnetic field generated by the primary-side current input copper bar and generates a voltage signal, and the magnetic field sensitivity direction of the magnetic induction unit used by the current sensor is perpendicular to the plane where the magnetic induction module is located; and (3) the magnetic induction module includes at least the third magnetic induction unit and a fourth magnetic induction unit therein, the vertical projection position of the fourth magnetic induction unit is located at an external side of the U-shaped enclosed area of the U-shaped current conduction path, the third magnetic induction unit and the fourth magnetic induction unit sense the magnetic field generated by the primary-side current input copper bar in a differential manner and generate a differential voltage signal, and the magnetic field sensitivity direction of the magnetic induction unit used by the current sensor is perpendicular to the plane where the magnetic induction module is located.
Li discloses a current sensor (Fig. 1) comprising a magnetic induction module (a magnetic sensor 103) includes at least a first magnetic induction unit (103a) and a second magnetic induction unit (103b) therein, the first magnetic induction unit and the second magnetic induction unit are located respectively above two current conduction paths (102a and 102b)with a parallel position relationship in the U-shaped current conduction path (a U-shaped conductor 101c), the first magnetic induction unit (103a) and the second magnetic induction unit (103b) sense the magnetic field generated by the primary-side current input copper bar (101) in a differential manner and generate a differential voltage signal, and the magnetic field sensitivity direction of the magnetic induction unit used by the current sensor is parallel to the plane where the magnetic induction module is located (“the magnetic sensor 103 is a magnetic resistance sensor, which comprises a first magnetic resistance sensor unit 103a and the second magnetic resistance sensor unit 103b. the first magnetic resistance sensor unit 103a and the second magnetic resistance sensor unit 103b are located around the U-shaped conductor 101c to form a differential output….”, see at least in page 5 and Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the current sensor of Takaki by having the magnetic induction module includes at least a first magnetic induction unit and a second magnetic induction unit therein, the first magnetic induction unit and the second magnetic induction unit are located respectively above two current conduction paths with a parallel position relationship in the U-shaped current conduction path, the first magnetic induction unit and the second magnetic induction unit sense the magnetic field generated by the primary-side current input copper bar in a differential manner and generate a differential voltage signal, and the magnetic field sensitivity direction of the magnetic induction unit used by the current sensor is parallel to the plane where the magnetic induction module is located, as taught by Li for purpose of providing the current sensor improves magnetic current bandwidth detecting accuracy.
10. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Latham in view of Kotera et al. (U.S. Pub. 2013/0293224; hereinafter “Kotera”).
Regarding claim 6, Latham discloses the current sensor according to claim 1, except for explicitly specifying that wherein the magnetic induction module further comprises a signal conditioning circuit, and the signal conditioning circuit adopts one of an open-loop signal conditioning circuit and a closed-loop signal conditioning circuit.
Kotera discloses a current sensor (11a-b in Fig. 2) comprising a magnetic induction module (111-112) further comprises a signal conditioning circuit (a feedback coil 111), and the signal conditioning circuit adopts one of an open-loop signal conditioning circuit and a closed-loop signal conditioning circuit (see at least in [0041]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the current sensor of Latham by having the magnetic sensor comprises a signal conditioning circuit which adopts a closed-loop signal conditioning circuit, as taught by Kotera for purpose of providing highly accurate error determination can be obtained under the influence of external magnetic field (see the summary).
Prior Art of Record
11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Doogue (U.S Pub. 2013/0015843) discloses a current sensor (see specification for more details). Lassalle-Balie (U.S Pub. 2020/0116800) discloses a magnetic sensor (see specification for more details).
Conclusion
/THANG X LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858
1/19/2026