DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 06/24/2024 have been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 2-9 and 11-16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8 recites a phrase “claims 6” in line 1. Examiner suggests amending the phrase to recite “claim 6” to restore clarity.
Claim(s) 2-9 recite a phrase “Method as claimed in claim” in line 1. Examiner suggests amending the phrase to recite “The method as claimed in claim” to restore antecedent clarity.
Claim(s) 11-16 recite a phrase “System as claimed in claim” in line 1. Examiner suggests amending the phrase to recite “The system as claimed in claim” to restore antecedent clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claim(s) 10-16 claim both a device and the method. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite. Ex parte Lyell, 17 USPQ2d 1548 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1990). Such a claim is directed to neither a “process” nor a “machine,” but rather embraces or overlaps two different statutory classes of invention (MPEP § 2173.05(p)). Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim(s) 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim(s) 10-16 are for a device that depend on a method claim 1. This constitutes an improper dependent claim. “if claim 1 recites a method of making a specified product, a claim to the product set forth in claim 1 would not be a proper dependent claim if the product can be made by a method other than that recited in the base method claim, and thus, does not include the limitations of the base claim” (MPEP 608.01(n)(III)). Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 20150035546; hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses in figure(s) 1-11 a method for detecting a viral agent (para. 4 – measuring viruses) comprising the steps of:
a) placing a first sample comprising an aqueous solution into a waveguide (para. 28 - Cells or particles to be analyzed are passed through a microfluidic channel across waveguides corresponding to reference branch; reference cell in figs. 1), which is axially delimited by a pair of containment elements that are substantially transparent to the microwaves and define respective interfaces of the sample (para. 40 - lower h.sub.3 layer can be constructed from various materials including, without limitation, glass, quartz and/or silicon. The signal line portion of a coplanar waveguide is illustrated with width W while gaps of width G are provided between the signal line and coplanar ground or reference conductors; fig. 6);
b) transmitting a signal (signal @ port 1) with frequency variable in a predetermined microwave band to the first sample (para. 4 - sensors usually operate at transmission, reflection, or resonance modes. RF sensors that cover a broad frequency range have low sensitivities. Those that have high sensitivities use resonators and operate at single frequencies or limited frequency points);
c) acquiring at least one dielectric parameter of the first sample as the frequency varies by means of transmission and reflection measurements (paras. 9,41 - dielectric spectroscopy (DS) methods for analyzing cells and particles in order to obtain information relating to characteristics of such cells and particles … effective permittivity of the h.sub.2 channel can be computed; reference measurement signal @ port 2; figs. 1,4,7, 9-10);
d) placing a second sample into the waveguide (para. 28 - Cells or particles to be analyzed are passed through a microfluidic channel across waveguides corresponding to test branch; test DUT/MUT in figs. 1);
e) transmitting said signal (signal @ port 1) to the second sample (test cell);
f) acquiring the corresponding dielectric parameter of the second sample as the frequency varies by means of transmission and reflection measurements (paras. 9,41 - dielectric spectroscopy (DS) methods for analyzing cells and particles in order to obtain information relating to characteristics of such cells and particles … effective permittivity of the h.sub.2 channel can be computed; test measurement signal @ port 2; figs. 1,4,7, 9-10); and
g) performing a differential spectroscopic analysis on said parameters (dielectric spectrometers) for assessing the presence of a viral agent (para. 4 – measuring viruses; para. 9 - detect the presence of parasitized cells for diagnosis of, for example, malaria or other illnesses in an individual) in at least one of said first sample and second sample (paras. 4,6 - When a material is introduced into a resonant cavity, the cavity field distribution and resonant frequency are changed).
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses in figure(s) 1-11 Method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the band range is 26 GHz to 40 GHz (para. 30 - sensors each operating in different bands may be employed, such as from 20 MHz-1 GHz, 1 GHz-18 GHZ, and 18 GHz to 40 GHz).
Regarding claim 3, Wang discloses in figure(s) 1-11 Method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the c) and f) steps comprise measuring transmission and reflection scattering parameters (para. 35 - VNAs have two test ports permitting measurement of four scattering parameters or S-parameters; figs. 3-4).
Regarding claim 4, Wang discloses in figure(s) 1-11 Method as claimed in claim 3, wherein steps b), c), e) and f) are implemented by means of a vector network analyser (2) comprising at least two ports connected to respective ports of the waveguide (vna with 2 ports in figs. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Wang discloses in figure(s) 1-11 Method as claimed in claim 3, wherein step c) and f) comprise calculating said dielectric parameters based on the measured scattering parameters (para. 48 - best |S.sub.21|.sub.min is at approximately 6 GHz with Q.sub.eff approximately 3.times.10.sup.6, which is much higher than that reported for dielectric resonators. such a Q.sub.eff value is also comparable with that of the optical dielectric resonators, which have been developed for single molecule and single nanoparticle measurements; figs. 3-4, 9-10).
Regarding claim 6, Wang discloses in figure(s) 1-11 Method as claimed in claim 5, wherein calculating the dielectric parameters of the first sample and the second sample comprises the step of determining the actual reflection (Sii and Sjj) and transmission (Sij and Sji) scattering parameters at the interfaces of the samples starting from the measured reflection (sii and sjj) and transmission (sij and sji) scattering parameters measured based on a model wherein the containment elements are represented by empty portions of the waveguide (para. 35 - VNAs have two test ports permitting measurement of four scattering parameters or S-parameters (S.sub.11, S.sub.21, S.sub.12, S.sub.22); fig. 2; para. 46 - no cell present (P.sub.A); figs. 3,7).
Regarding claim 7, Wang discloses in figure(s) 1-11 Method as claimed in claim 6, wherein calculating the dielectric parameters comprises the steps of:
determining a reflection coefficient F at the sample interfaces and a propagation factor P of the sample (para. 4 - sensors usually operate at transmission, reflection, or resonance modes; abs. - interferometers can be configured to measure a plurality of scattering parameters; para. 44 - propagation constant .gamma. can be determined);
determining an attenuation constant and a propagation constant of the sample (para. 47 - interferometers may be configured to operate in different frequency ranges and may be "tuned" by respective attenuators and phase shifters in order to obtain significantly more cell information based on harmonic frequencies produced by the multi-frequency EPR sensors; para. 5 - dielectric resonators that operate with whispering-galley-modes have reported high quality factors);
deriving a relative dielectric permittivity (sr) and a loss tangent (tana) of the sample (para. 45 - propagation constant can be used to determine the real and imaginary components of the permittivity of the particle .epsilon..sub.eff=.epsilon.'.sub.eff-j.epsilon.''.sub.eff as well as the real and imaginary components of the permeability of the particle .mu..sub.eff=.mu.'.sub.eff-j.mu.''.sub.eff.; para. 5 - quality factor can be significantly reduced when lossy material-under-test (MUT), such as biochemical liquids, are introduced).
Regarding claim 10, Wang discloses in figure(s) 1-11 a system for the detection of a viral agent according to the method claimed in claim 1, comprising
a vector network analyser (VNA) (2) equipped with at least two ports (P1, P2), a sample holder (3) and two transmission lines (5) connecting the ports (P1, P2) of the VNa (2) to the sample holder (3) (vna with reference and test branch transmission lines in fig. 1b),
wherein the sample holder (3) is provided with a through cavity (8) configured to contain a sample (4) to be tested and defining a waveguide (9), and comprises a pair of containment elements (12) that are substantially transparent and delimit the cavity (8) axially (abs., para. 40 - tunable interferometers, wherein cells or particles to be analyzed are passed through a channel, such as a microfluidic channel, across waveguides corresponding to reference and test branches of the interferometers… measurement channel constructed from various materials including, without limitation, glass, quartz and/or silicon; figs. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Wang discloses in figure(s) 1-11 System as claimed in claim 10, wherein the waveguide (9) has a rectangular cross section. (figs. 1a,6).
Regarding claim 12, Wang discloses in figure(s) 1-11 System as claimed in claim 10, wherein the waveguide (9) is a WR28 type operating in a frequency band ranging from 26 GHz to 40 GHz (para. 30 - sensors each operating in different bands may be employed, such as from 20 MHz-1 GHz, 1 GHz-18 GHZ, and 18 GHz to 40 GHz).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Facer et al. (US 20030072549).
Regarding claim 8, Wang teaches in figure(s) 1-11 Method as claimed in claims 6,
Wang does not teach explicitly wherein calculating the dielectric parameters comprises the step of calculating a sample impedance assuming a reflection coefficient F at the sample interferences equivalent to the actual reflection scattering parameters.
However, Facer teaches in figure(s) 1-8 wherein calculating the dielectric parameters comprises the step of calculating a sample impedance assuming a reflection coefficient F at the sample interferences equivalent to the actual reflection scattering parameters (para. 14 - network analyzer that determines the sample impedance from transmission and reflectance parameters across the gap in the inner conductor in the frequency range of e.g., 45 MHz to 40 GHz).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wang by having wherein calculating the dielectric parameters comprises the step of calculating a sample impedance assuming a reflection coefficient F at the sample interferences equivalent to the actual reflection scattering parameters as taught by Facer in order to provide derived measurements based on Scattering and dielectric parameters as evidenced by "A coplanar waveguide for use in dielectric spectroscopy of biological solution…the waveguide is coupled to a network or impedance analyzer by means of appropriate connectors and the response of the biological solution to the input signals is recorded…Microwave data at frequencies above 45 MHz are phase sensitive transmission and reflectance coefficients, also known as "S-parameters," that may be obtained using a Hewlett-Packard 8510C vector network analyzer, for example. The S-parameters can then be used to derive impedance data." (abstract, para. 43).
Claim(s) 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Link et al. (US 20080014589).
Regarding claim 9, Wang teaches in figure(s) 1-11 Method as claimed in claim 1,
Wang does not teach explicitly wherein the first sample is an isotonic buffer solution, preferably a phosphate-buffered saline.
However, Link teaches in figure(s) 1-37 wherein the first sample is an isotonic buffer solution, preferably a phosphate-buffered saline (para. 118 - droplet forming liquid is typically an aqueous buffer solution, such as phosphate buffer saline PBS).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wang by having wherein the first sample is an isotonic buffer solution, preferably a phosphate-buffered saline as taught by Link in order to provide "Any liquid or buffer that is physiologically compatible, with the population of molecules, cells or particles to be analyzed and/or sorted can be used" (para. 118).
Regarding claim 13, Wang teaches in figure(s) 1-11 System as claimed in claim 10,
Wang does not teach explicitly wherein the containment elements (12) comprise adhesive films.
However, Link teaches in figure(s) 1-37 wherein the containment elements (12) comprise adhesive films (para. 183 - tubes and interconnects can be placed in position by applying a UV-cured adhesive).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wang by having wherein the containment elements (12) comprise adhesive films as taught by Link in order to provide "allow for holding the tubes in place on the silicone wafer" (para. 183).
Claim(s) 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Ghasr et al. (US 20150077138).
Regarding claim 14, Wang teaches in figure(s) 1-11 System as claimed in claim 10,
Wang does not teach explicitly wherein the sample holder (3) comprises a perimeter flange (10) for connection to the transmission lines (5).
However, Ghasr teaches in figure(s) 1-9 wherein the sample holder (3) comprises a perimeter flange (10) (106; fig. 1) for connection to the transmission lines (5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wang by having wherein the sample holder (3) comprises a perimeter flange (10) for connection to the transmission lines (5) as taught by Ghasr in order to provide " an edge of flange 106, is more prominent for a conductor-backed dielectric sheet or layered composites because the combination of the flange and the conductor backing of the sample creates a parallel plate transmission line guiding the electromagnetic wave to the edges of the flange" (para. 42).
Claim(s) 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Obeng et al. (US 20220136967).
Regarding claim 15, Wang teaches in figure(s) 1-11 System as claimed in claim 14,
Wang does not teach explicitly wherein the transmission lines (5) comprise respective coaxial cables and respective coaxial cable/waveguide adapters (13).
However, Obeng teaches in figure(s) 1-7 wherein the transmission lines (5) comprise respective coaxial cables and respective coaxial cable/waveguide adapters (13) (para. 54 - Probe antennas 504a-b are further coupled via a connector, such as a coaxial cable, to a signal source connected to a first port and signal detector connected to a second port of a microwave frequency response analyzer 508; fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wang by having wherein the transmission lines (5) comprise respective coaxial cables and respective coaxial cable/waveguide adapters (13) as taught by Obeng in order to provide a matter of design choice as evidenced by "coplanar waveguide is coupled to the signal generator and signal analyzer by means of SMA connectors." (para. 14).
Claim(s) 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Seyama et al. (US 20230011235).
Regarding claim 16, Wang teaches in figure(s) 1-11 System as claimed in claim 10,
Wang does not teach explicitly wherein the cavity (8) has an axial length ranging from 2 to 5 mm.
However, Seyama teaches in figure(s) 1-7 wherein the cavity (8) has an axial length ranging from 2 to 5 mm (para. 34 - h=2 mm and w=3 mm; figs. 1,4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wang by having wherein the cavity (8) has an axial length ranging from 2 to 5 mm as taught by Seyama in order to provide a matter of design choice as evidenced by "A dielectric spectrometer includes an apparatus main body including a dielectric and in which a flow channel is formed and a probe including a high frequency line." (abstract).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
See the List of References cited in the US PT0-892.
Conclusion
/AKM ZAKARIA/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858