DETAILED ACTION
The following correspondence is a non-final Office Action for application no. 18/723,760, for a VEHICLE SEAT, filed on 6/24/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species D in the reply filed on 5/15/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 2, 3, 5, 7, 9, 12, 13, 15, 17 and 19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/15/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 8, 11, 14 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yazaki Corp (WO 2011/010477A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yazaki Corp teaches a vehicle seat comprising: a pair of lower rails (2, 102) arranged in parallel to each other; a first upper rail (7A) and a second upper rail (7B) arranged on a lower rail which is each of the pair of lower rails to be aligned in a longitudinal direction of the lower rail, the first upper rail and the second upper rail being movable along the lower rail; a first seat (91) coupled to the first upper rail and a second seat (92) coupled to the second upper rail; a first power feeder (4, 3B) that feeds power to an electric component provided for the first seat; and a second power feeder (4, 3A) that feeds power to an electric component provided for the second seat, wherein the first power feeder and the second power feeder are arranged to extend in an orientation in the longitudinal direction of the lower rail.
[AltContent: textbox (2nd power feeder)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (1st power feeder)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Lower rail)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (1st upper rail )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (2nd upper rail )][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 4, Yazaki Corp teaches the seat of claim 1, wherein the first power feeder and the second power feeder are located at positions at which a lower rail which is one of the pair of lower rails is sandwiched between the first power feeder and the second power feeder (see Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 8, Yazaki Corp teaches the seat of claim 1, wherein the first power feeder has a first power feeding rail (206) and a first mover (291) that moves along the first power feeding rail, and the second power feeder has a second power feeding rail (206) and a second mover (291) that moves along the second power feeding rail.
Regarding claim 11, Yazaki Corp teaches an assembling method of a vehicle seat including: a pair of lower rails (2, 102) arranged in parallel to each other; a first upper rail (7A) and a second upper rail (7B) arranged on a lower rail which is each of the pair of lower rails to be aligned in a longitudinal direction of the lower rail, the first upper rail and the second upper rail being movable along the lower rail; a first seat (91) coupled to the first upper rail and a second seat (92) coupled to the second upper rail; a first power feeder (4, 3B) that feeds power to an electric component provided for the first seat; and a second power feeder (4, 3A) that feeds power to an electric component provided for the second seat, the assembling method comprising: arranging the first power feeder and the second power feeder to extend in an orientation in the longitudinal direction of the lower rail (see figure above).
Regarding claim 14, Yazaki Corp teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the first power feeder and the second power feeder are located at positions at which a lower rail which is one of the pair of lower rails is sandwiched between the first power feeder and the second power feeder (see Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 18, Yazaki Corp teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the first power feeder has a first power feeding rail (206) and a first mover (291) that moves along the first power feeding rail, and the second power feeder has a second power feeding rail (206) and a second mover (291) that moves along the second power feeding rail.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 10, 16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yazaki Corp (WO 2011/010477A1).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Yazaki Corp teaches the seat of claim 1 and the method of claim 11, wherein the first power feeder is located at a position closer to a front end of a lower rail among the lower rails, wherein the second power feeder is located at a position closer to a back end of a lower rail among the lower rails, but does not teach that the first power feeder and the second power feeder are at least partially overlapped with each other vertically or laterally. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable degree of success, to construct the first power feeder and the second power feeder are at least partially overlapped with each other vertically or laterally as a matter of design choice in order to conserve space and provide enhanced structural stability, and further, such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of the component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art since the applicant has not shown how the chosen shape is critical.
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Yazaki Corp teaches the seat of claim 1 and the method of claim 11, wherein the vehicle seat includes a seating sensor that detects whether an occupant is located in the seat and whether the occupant has on a seatbelt, but does not teach that the vehicle seat further includes: a first seat detection sensor that detects a position of the first seat on the pair of lower rails; and a second seat detection sensor that detects a position of the second seat on the pair of lower rails. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable degree of success, to construct the vehicle seat further including: a first seat detection sensor that detects a position of the first seat on the pair of lower rails; and a second seat detection sensor that detects a position of the second seat on the pair of lower rails in order to provide metrics to automate the seat location and further a sensor can be programmed for providing various information.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USP 12668154, USPub 2018/0370388, 2021/0001753, 2021/0078510 (vehicle seats)
/NKEISHA SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632 July 28, 2026