DETAILED ACTION
Claim 1 is amended. Claim 8 is canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or non-obviousness.
Claim(s) 1-4, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over by CN 103552220 hereinafter CN’220 listed in IDS translation attached in view of MUHLEMANN (US 20250100194).
Regarding Claim 1, CN ‘220 discloses for producing a fork which has at least one cavity in the interior and which is made of a thermoplastic for a two-wheeled vehicle by means of a plastic injection molding process and a fluid injection process (Figure 2, front fork-11,12, page-2 translated), comprising the following steps:- closing a configured injection molding tool (page-3, translated, water assisted injection moulding tool); - injecting a plasticized plastic melt into the closed injection molding tool via at least one injection point (Figure 3, injection point-20); - injecting at least one fluid into the closed injection molding tool in order to displace the plastic core out of the interior of the fork or in order to fill at least one molding cavity which is introduced into the injection molding tool via at least one injection point (Figure 2, page 2-, step-2, page -3, translated, water injected via needle-30); - cooling the injection molded component (page step-3, translated ); and - opening the injection molding tool and removing the fork (page 2 step-3, translated ).
Further, CN’220 discloses a fork shank as a tubular insert attached with the front fork (Figure 3, fork shank-10) but fail to teach specifically wherein an additional tubular insert to be over-molded is inserted into a region of the injection molding tool.
In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art of overmoulding an insert, MUHLEMANN discloses additional components/insert to be integrated in the into the injection molding tool individually and are overmolded (Figure 1, insert-2, [0004], [0048]).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the effective filing of the instant application was made to combine the manufacturing of a injection molded body as taught by CN’220 with insert molding into the injection molded part, as taught by MUHLEMANN, for the benefit of good bonding between the fork shank and the molded body, thereby providing better strength and mechanical properties.
Regarding Claim 2 CN ‘220 discloses characterized in that the fork is made of at least one reinforced and/or unreinforced thermoplastic polypropylene (page-3, 2nd last paragraph).
Regarding Claim 3, CN’220 discloses, characterized in that wherein the fork is additionally reinforced by means of organosheets arranged in the injection molding tool (page-3, 2nd last paragraph).
Regarding Claim 4, CN’220 discloses at least one overflow cavity is provided in the injection molding tool for cavity formation, into which at least one fluid volume flow of the injected fluid presses the plastic core (Figure 3, page-3, overflow cavities-31,32).
Regarding Claim 13, CN’220 MUHLEMANN discloses additional components/insert to be integrated in the into the injection molding tool individually and each have at least one positional aids (Figure 1, insert-2, [0004], [0048]; MUHLEMANN , positional aid-20, CN’220).
Regarding Claim 19, CN’220 discloses fork made of thermoplastic for a two-wheeled vehicle, characterized in that wherein the fork is produced using the method of claim 1(as discussed in Claim 1).
Claim(s) 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 103552220 hereinafter CN’220 listed in IDS translation attached in view of Pearson (US 6767487).
Regarding Claim 5 CN’220 discloses producing a fork which has at least one cavity in the interior and which is made of a thermoplastic for a two-wheeled vehicle by means of a plastic injection molding process but didn’t disclose that fluid volume flow of the injected fluid presses the plastic core back into the space in front of the screw of the injection molding machine to form a cavity. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, Pearson discloses the component is manufactured by a mass back pressure process, with the at least one fluid displacing the plastic core back through a channel front of the screw of the injection molding machine (Figure 3A-3E, col 8 line 8-14, 26-31).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teaching of CN’220 teaching with that of Pearson for the purpose of that the expelled plastic can be remolded in succeeding shots (Col 8 line 51-54).
Regarding Claim 6 CN’220 discloses producing a fork which has at least one cavity in the interior and which is made of a thermoplastic for a two-wheeled vehicle by means of a plastic injection molding process but didn’t disclose that the cavity arranged in the injection molding tool is partially filled with the plastic melt and the plastic core for cavity formation is displaced by the at least one fluid volume flow of the injected fluid. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, Pearson discloses, the cavity arranged in the injection molding tool is partially filled with the plastic melt and the plastic core for cavity formation is displaced by the at least one fluid volume flow of the injected fluid wherein for displacement, the plastic melt is inflated in such a way that it adheres to the wall of the injection molding tool, and wherein the injected fluid ensures the residual filling of the cavity arranged in the injection molding tool (Col 1 line 33-41).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teaching of CN’220 teaching with that of Pearson for the purpose of controlling the volume of the plastic material required during the molding cycle.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over CN 103552220 hereinafter CN’220 listed in IDS translation attached in view of MUHLEMANN (US 20250100194) and Sakamoto (US 20110210482)
Regarding Claim 7, CN’220 disclose fluid injected to push the plastic in the overflow cavity but didn’t disclose that the fluid injected into the fork pushes a projectile arranged on an injector in front of it. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, Sakamoto teaches wherein a projectile (see Figs. 3-4, floating core 5) is additionally inserted that has a cross-section corresponding to the hollow space of the plastic frame (see Figs. 3-4 and showing the floating core creating the cross-section of the hollow frame) and the projectile is driven from the first end of the closed injection molding tool toward the second end (see Figs. 3-4), through the previously injected thermoplastic plastic melt by the injected fluid (see [0030] teaching a fluid moving the floating core) to form a constant inner diameter ([0022] teaches a circular cross section of the hollow space with only a small variation).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine CN’220 teaching with that of Sakamoto’s teaching for the purpose of flowing the fluid smoothly inside the cavity.
Claim(s) 9-12, 14, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over CN 103552220 hereinafter CN’220 listed in IDS translation attached in view of MUHLEMANN (US 20250100194) and Wolfsberger (US 20180186049)
Regarding Claim 9 CN’220/ MUHLEMANN disclose producing a fork which has at least one cavity in the interior and which is made of a thermoplastic for a two-wheeled vehicle by means of a plastic injection molding process and a fluid injection process with additional tubular insert to be overmolded is inserted into a region of the injection molding tool forming a fork shank. However, the prior arts didn’t disclose that unidirectional tapes and/or organosheets are arranged partially or over a large area on the insert to reinforce the fork shank before the plastic melt is injected.
Wolfsbereger discloses unidirectional tapes and/or organosheets are arranged before the placing into the insert ([0054]), therefore, combining the above references the limitation that partially or over a large area on the insert to reinforce the fork shank before the plastic melt is injected.
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine CN’220/ MUHLEMANN teaching with that of Wolfsbereger for the purpose of producing more stiffness in the insert.
Regarding Claim 10, CN’220/ MUHLEMANN disclose producing a fork which has at least one cavity in the interior and which is made of a thermoplastic for a two-wheeled vehicle by means of a plastic injection molding process and a fluid injection process with additional tubular insert to be overmolded is inserted into a region of the injection molding tool forming a fork shank. However, the prior arts didn’t disclose that the insert is made from the same thermoplastic as the rest of the fork . Wolfsberger discloses that characterized in that wherein the insert is made from the same thermoplastic as the rest of the fork (Claim 12 discloses the insert can be made of polypropylene, Wolfsberger: fork could be made of polypropylene , page 3, translated).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine CN’220/ MUHLEMANN teaching with that of Wolfsbereger for the purpose of similar thermal expansion rates which prevents joint stress failures during temperature changes.
Regarding Claim 11, CN’220/ MUHLEMANN disclose producing a fork which has at least one cavity in the interior and which is made of a thermoplastic for a two-wheeled vehicle by means of a plastic injection molding process and a fluid injection process with additional tubular insert to be overmolded is inserted into a region of the injection molding tool forming a fork shank. The prior arts didn’t teach that specific contours are formed on the inner wall of the insert , as a result of which a material-locking connection with increased strength is produced between the insert and the plastic melt Wolfsberger discloses specific contours are formed on the inner wall of the insert , as a result of which a material-locking connection with increased strength is produced between the insert and the plastic melt when the plastic melt is injected (Figure annotated, [0065]).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine CN’220/ MUHLEMANN teaching with that of Wolfsbereger for the purpose of strong grip creating a strong joint that resists any twisting.
Regarding Claim 12, CN’220/ MUHLEMANN disclose producing a fork which has at least one cavity in the interior and which is made of a thermoplastic for a two-wheeled vehicle by means of a plastic injection molding process and a fluid injection process with additional tubular insert to be overmolded is inserted into a region of the injection molding tool forming a fork shank. However, the prior arts didn’t disclose that flow channel is provided on the underside of the insert. Wolfsberger discloses through-flow channel is provided on the underside/underneath of the insert , through which the plastic melt flows into the interior of the insert, wherein the at least one through-flow channel is formed on the longitudinal side of the insert (Figure 3, [0065], as disclosed the suspension-26 is filled with another material therefore it would be obvious to interpret that there is a designed pathway for the molten plastic to flow into the insert's interior or into undercuts, enhancing the mechanical locking of the insert for improved mechanical bonding).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine CN’220/ MUHLEMANN teaching with that of Wolfsbereger for the purpose of plastic melt directly into the insert's interior which improves better melt flow .
Regarding Claim 14, CN’220 discloses producing a fork which has at least one cavity in the interior and which is made of a thermoplastic for a two-wheeled vehicle but did not disclose that wherein at least one metallic component to be integrated and/or one non- metallic component, is inserted individually or in groups into the cavity of the injection molding tool and back-molded and/or overmolded with the plastic melt. Wolfsberger discloses a similar method of injection molding hollow components (title/abstract) which includes additional metallic components to be integrated in the component such as components of aluminum and/or steel and/or non-metallic components and are back-molded and/or overmolded with the plastic melt ([0018]], [[0019], [0053], [0054], claim 8-9).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the process of CN’220 to include the additional components of Wolfsberger, in order to form specific reinforcement and/or overmolded elements to be integrated into the component as desired (Wolfsberger [0017]-[0018]).
Regarding Claim 15, Wolfsberger discloses , a brake mount, integrated in the component ([0018], claim 19).
Regarding Claim 20, CN’220 discloses that , fork made of thermoplastic for a two-wheeled vehicle, but didn’t disclose that one interface for electronic signal transmission corresponding to a bicycle frame is provided on the fork. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, Wolfsberger discloses one interface is an electronic interface for signal transmission ([0018]-[0019]).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine CN’220 with that of the teaching of Wolfsberger teaching of the electronic signal for the purpose of switching electronic signals like light on and off ([0019], Wolfsberger).
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over CN 103552220 hereinafter CN’220 listed in IDS translation attached and MUHLEMANN (US 20250100194). in view of CN 203581271 hereinafter CN’271 translation attached listed in IDS
Regarding Claim 16 CN’220 discloses fork made of thermoplastic for a two-wheeled vehicle, but did not disclose that
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine CN’220 teaching with that of the CN’271 teaching as this vehicle frame is to improve the safety of toddler riding (abstract, CN’271)
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over CN 103552220 hereinafter CN’220 listed in IDS translation attached MUHLEMANN (US 20250100194) in view of Darland (US 20020020249)
Regarding claim 17, CN’220 discloses for producing a fork which is which is made of a thermoplastic for bicycle but did not disclose that suggests elevated and/or depressed pockets are integrated in the component to hold elements such as light guides. In the related filed of endeavor pertaining to the art, Darland suggests elevated and/or depressed pockets are integrated in the component to hold elements such as light guides, headlamps, indicators, and/or comparable elements ([0099], [0141], [0152]).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine CN’220 teaching with that of the light guides as integrated component taught by Darland’s for the purpose of the functional illumination in the bicycle.
Regarding claim 18, CN’220 discloses for producing a fork which is which is made of a thermoplastic for bicyle but did not disclose that the forkstem, wherein the interface is suitable for receiving various handlebar stems (Figures 4-6, stem-12, [0071]-[0072]).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine CN’220 teaching with that of Darland’s teaching of the attachment of the handlebar stem for the purpose of with a greater hand grip adjustment in the range of motion.
Conclusion
/DEBJANI ROY/Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/NAHIDA SULTANA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743