DETAILED ACTION
Background
The amendment dated June 16, 2026 (amendment) amending claims 1 and 3-4 has been entered. Claims 1-4 as filed with the amendment have been examined. In view of the amendment all outstanding objections have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DATA BASE GNPD[Online] MINTEL; "Alcohol Free Rose Wine", XP093332754, 2020, (Rose Wine), of record, in view of US2009/0297681 A1 to Wilkes et al. (Wilkes).
Unless otherwise disclosed, all percents (%) are interpreted as weight %s (wt%); and, a wt% is interpreted as interchangeable with a vol% or v/v% and a mass%; further, unless otherwise disclosed a gram, is interpreted as equivalent to a ml and a kg is interpreted as equivalent to a litre.
Unless otherwise disclosed, all measurements of beverages are interpreted as taking place at room temperature or about 20 °C.
Regarding instant claims 1-4, Rose Wine at page 1 discloses an alcohol free rose (“wine flavor beverage having an alcohol content of 0.00 v/v%”). At page 2, Rose Wine discloses that the wine flavor beverage has a carbohydrate content of 5 g/100 ml, including a sugar content of 3.8 g/100 ml and has a protein content of 0.26 g/100 ml (“Brix value” as in claims 1 and 3-4 of 5.26), and a sodium content of 37 mg in 100 ml or 370 mg/kg (claims 1, 2 and 4). In addition, Rose Wine discloses that its wine flavor beverage comprises dealcoholized wine, grape juice concentrate, preservatives, antioxidant and thickener. Accordingly, Rose Wine discloses a product wine flavor beverage made by mixing ingredients to provide a wine flavor beverage having the claimed sodium content (“method for enhancing wine-like full body of a wine flavor beverage”).
Rose Wine does not disclose a Brix value of 5.0 or less as in claims 1 and 4 and does not disclose a Brix value of from 2.5 to 5.0 as in claim 3.
Wilkes at [0007]-[0008] discloses an alcohol free wine (“wine flavor beverage”) having the taste of red wine without the alcohol and a method of making it and comprises a wine grape extract and (at [0015]) dealcoholized wine and the extract comprises a spray dried red wine powder. Wilkes discloses at [0027] that its wine flavor beverage can be unsweetened and comprise high intensity sweeteners to provide a low Brix wine flavor beverage. At Example 4, Wilkes discloses a wine flavor beverage having a Brix value of 3.5 and comprising about 50wt% of dealcoholized wine, about 45 wt% of water, and includes grape juice concentrates, acidifiers, resveratrol powder and wine flavors or extracts.
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, the ordinary skilled artisan would have found it obvious in view of Wilkes for Rose Wine to include a high intensity sweetener in its wine flavor beverage so as to provide a wine flavor beverage having a Brix value of 5.0 or less and of from 2.5 to 5.0. Both references disclose non alcohol wine flavor beverages comprising water diluted dealcoholized wine and juice concentrates. The ordinary skilled artisan in Rose Wine would have desired to use a high intensity sweetener or make an unsweetened wine flavor beverage as in Wilkes and having the claimed Brix value.
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US2009/0297681 A1 to Wilkes et al. (Wilkes) in view of FR2671355 A1 to Migros Federation Cooperatives (Migros).
Unless otherwise disclosed, all percents (%) are interpreted as weight %s (wt%); and, a wt% is interpreted as interchangeable with a vol% or v/v% and a mass%; further, unless otherwise disclosed a gram, is interpreted as equivalent to a ml and a kg is interpreted as equivalent to a litre.
Unless otherwise disclosed, all measurements of beverages are interpreted as taking place at room temperature or about 20 °C.
Unless otherwise indicated, all references to Migros refer to its Clarivate machine translation, a copy of which is included with a prior Office action.
Regarding instant claims 1-4, Wilkes at [0007]-[0008] discloses an alcohol free wine (“wine flavor beverage”) having the taste of red wine without the alcohol and a method of making it and comprises a wine grape extract and (at [0015]) dealcoholized wine having an alcohol content of not more than 0.5 wt%, within which the claimed alcohol content of 0.00 v/v% lies within. Further, at Example 4, Wilkes discloses a wine flavor beverage having a Brix value of 3.5 (claims 1, 3 and 4) and comprising about 50 wt% of dealcoholized wine, about 45 wt% of water, and includes grape juice concentrates, acidifiers, resveratrol powder and wine flavors or extracts. Further, Wilkes discloses at [0017] a wine flavor beverage comprising its dealcoholized wine base in the amount of 25 to 75 wt% of its wine flavor beverage. Accordingly, Wilkes discloses a product wine flavor beverage made by mixing ingredients to provide a wine flavor beverage having the claimed sodium content (“method for enhancing wine-like full body of a wine flavor beverage”).
Wilkes discloses wine flavor beverages without alcohol, including in Example 4 but does not give an example of a wine flavor beverage that has the claimed alcohol content of 0.00 v/v%; and Wilkes does not disclose the sodium content of its beverages does not disclose a sodium content in its wine flavor beverages of from 70 to 950 mg/kg of the wine flavor beverage as in claims 1 and 4, or disclose the sodium content of from 120 to 800 mg/kg as in claim 2. However, Wilkes at [0024] discloses a preservative comprising 500 ppm (500 mg/kg) of sodium benzoate, or about 160 mg/kg of sodium to provide a stable wine flavor beverage and would have found it obvious to make or provide a wine flavor beverage having the claimed sodium content to stabilize the beverage.
However, the Example 4 wine flavor beverage of Wilkes comprises an alcohol content of not more than 0.25 wt%, within which range the claimed 0.00 v/v% lies. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art", the Office considers that a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.I. The ordinary skilled artisan would have found it obvious in Wilkes to make a wine flavor beverage having an alcohol content of 0.00 v/v% because Wilkes discloses that it is desirable to make a wine flavor beverage that contains no alcohol.
Migros at Abstract on page 1 discloses a dealcoholized wine beverage and a method of making it at page 7, 2nd full paragraph (starting with “p/ Modification”) and 3rd full paragraph discloses the dealcoholized wine having an alcohol content 0.02% by weight or v/v%. Migros at the Abstract discloses a method wherein a wine is preconcentrated and subjected to reconstitution to yield a wine flavor beverage. At the paragraph bridging pages 8 and 9, Migros discloses adding grape juice concentrate and water to its dealcoholized wine.
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, the ordinary skilled artisan would have found it obvious in view of Migros for Wilkes to use 25 to 75 wt% of the dealcoholized wine base of Migros having 0.02 v/v% alcohol content in its wine flavor beverage disclosed at [0017] or in its Example 4 to make a wine flavor beverage having an alcohol content of 0.00 v/v%. Both references disclose dealcoholizing wine and diluting it with water and flavorings to make a wine flavor beverage having no alcohol. The ordinary skilled artisan in Wilkes would have desired to use the dealcoholized wine of Migros to make its wine flavor beverage having no alcohol or an alcohol content of 0.00 v/v% because a wine flavor beverage having 25 wt% or less than 50 wt% of the dealcoholize wine of Migros (0.02 v/v% alcohol) would have an alcohol content 0.00 v/v%, or within the measurement error (+ 0.01 v/v%) of 0.00 v/v% alcohol content.
Response to Arguments
In view of the timely filed terminal disclaimer, the provisional rejections of claims 1-3 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of copending Application No. 18/720,113 has been withdrawn.
In view of the amendment dated June 16, 2026, the following rejections are withdrawn as moot:
The rejections of claims 1-4 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DATA BASE GNPD[Online] MINTEL; "Alcohol Free Rose Wine", XP093332754, 2020; and,
The rejections of claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FR2671355 A1 to Migros Federation Cooperatives.
The positions taken with respect to claims 1-4 and the references DATA BASE GNPD[Online] MINTEL; "Alcohol Free Rose Wine", XP093332754, 2020 (Rose wine) and FR2671355 A1 to Migros Federation Cooperatives (Migros) have been considered but are found moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any argument as applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW E MERRIAM/Examiner, Art Unit 1791