Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US20150155528A1 (Takahashi).
Claim 1, Takahashi teaches a power storage unit and a secondary battery comprising: a laminated body comprising a positive electrode current collector, a separator, and a negative electrode current collector [0052] surrounded by an exterior body, wherein the secondary battery comprises a bent portion [0144], wherein a positive electrode active material layer is provided over the positive electrode current collector, wherein a negative electrode active material layer is provided over the negative electrode current collector [0093-0094], and wherein the negative electrode active material layer comprises a lithium film [0095-0098]. It is noted, the following “a bent portion capable of being bent” is considered a functional limitation; Regarding product and apparatus claims, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).Since Takahashi teaches the exterior body is made of a resin [0127], which is bendable, the claim limitation is accordingly met fully and is rejected accordingly.
Claim 2, Takahashi teaches wherein the negative electrode active material layer, with regards to is formed by an evaporation method or a sputtering method, this is considered product-by-process claim. The cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus or product. The determination of patentability is based upon the apparatus structure itself. The patentability of a product or apparatus does not depend on its method of production or formation. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. See In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (see MPEP § 2113).
Claim 3, Takahashi teaches wherein the exterior body is an embossed film comprising parallel grooves or intersecting grooves [0145-0147; 0127-0128].
Claim 6, Takahashi teaches wherein the positive electrode active material layer comprises lithium cobalt oxide with a median diameter of less than or equal to 10 µm [0068-0072; 0078].
Claim 7, Takahashi teaches wherein the positive electrode active material layer comprises a positive electrode active material particle comprising nickel, cobalt, and manganese [0069-0072].
Claim 8, Takahashi teaches an electronic device comprising: the secondary battery according to claim 1 [0052].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20150155528A1 (Takahashi) further in view of US20240055702A1 (Ota).
Claim 4, Takahashi does not teach wherein the laminated body comprises a stack of a first negative electrode current collector and a second negative electrode current collector in contact with the first negative electrode current collector. Ota teaches a single pouch battery cells [abs]; and teaches the first/second negative current collectors as claimed [0174-0178]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takahashi in view of Ota to have the first/second negative current collectors to be in contact with one another as this provides numerous benefits for a battery structure [0052]; one of which is it can reduce or eliminate such fire hazard because all welding processes can be performed after each individual battery cell contained in the pouch, thereby preventing welding sparks from reaching the electrolyte and igniting the electrolyte [0052].
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20150155528A1 (Takahashi) further in view of US20210020927A1 (Youn)
Claim 5, Takahashi does not teach wherein the lithium film has a thickness greater than or equal to 100 nm and less than or equal to 10 µm. Youn teaches a lithium electrode [abs]; and the thickness of the lithium layer is from 1 µm to 20 µm; which falls within the claimed range [0054]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takahashi in view of Youn and incorporate the thickness of the lithium layer within the claimed range as this would enhance the battery’s performance [0054].
Conclusion
/S.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729