DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 26 June 2024, 27 May 2025, 30 September 2026, and 10 November 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 12-14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (CN 113794011, hereinafter, Li).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a battery pack (Li Abstract, battery pack) comprising:
a plurality of pouch-type battery cells (Li Description ¶ 24 at least one soft package battery core);
a pack case having an inner space in which the plurality of pouch-type battery cells are accommodated (Li Description ¶ 24, the box main body is formed with a containing cavity, the containing cavity is contained with a plurality of single batteries laminated along the thickness direction of the soft bag electric core); and
Annotated section of Li Fig. 2
a cell cover at least partially surrounding and supporting at least some part of the plurality of pouch-type battery cells, in the inner space of the pack case (Li Abstract, Fig. 2, shell component),
wherein the cell cover comprises:
a first cover portion covering one side surface of at least one of the plurality of battery cells (Li Fig. 2);
a second cover portion covering the other side of surface of the at least one of the plurality of battery cells (Li Fig. 2, opposite the first cover portion); and
a third cover portion connecting the first cover portion to the second cover portion and covering an upper end portion of the at least one of the plurality of battery cells (Li Fig. 2),
wherein a first venting hole through which gas or flame is discharged is formed in at least one portion of the third cover portion (Li Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, Li teaches the battery pack of claim 1, further comprising an end cover covering a side surface of the cell cover (Li Description ¶ 12, Fig. 2, the shell assembly comprises a rectangular shell…a side plate of the through opening of the rectangular shell).
Regarding claim 13, Li teaches the battery pack of claim 12, wherein a second venting hole through which gas or flame is discharged is formed in the end cover (Li Fig. 2, Description ¶ 12, the side plate is provided with a first exhaust hole. ¶ 13, a part of the gas of the single battery can be discharged along each first exhaust hole of the side plate).
Regarding claim 14, the recitation of ‘wherein at least one of the first venting hole of the third cover portion and the second venting hole of the end cover selectively formed’ is considered a product-by-process limitation and is not considered to render a patentable distinction over the prior art absent a showing as to how the claimed process affects the final structure of the claimed venting holes. See MPEP 2113. The teachings of Li are considered to meet the claimed product-by-process.
Regarding claim 16, Li teaches the battery pack of claim 13, wherein the pack case comprises:
a lower frame on which the plurality of battery cells are seated (Li ¶ 81 back cover which is fixed to the bottom of the four frames);
a side frame extending upward from an edge of the lower frame to form the inner space in which the plurality of battery cells are accommodated (LI Description ¶ 81, box body comprises four frames); and
an upper cover coupled to the side frame (Li Description ¶ 91 box cover),
wherein a gas channel through which gas is movable is formed in the side frame,
wherein a communication hole communicating with the second venting hole is formed in the side frame (Li Description ¶ 95, when thermal runaway occurs, the high temperature and high pressure gas is discharged from the exhaust hole 122 to the exhaust groove. ¶ 97, the box body of the frame is provided with the exhaust groove.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 113794011) in view of Jang et al. (US 20190181408, hereinafter, Jang).
Regarding claims 2-4, Li teaches the battery pack of claim 1, but not that the venting hole is configured to be closed when swelling does not occur in the at least one battery cell and to be opened when swelling occurs in the at least one battery cell and an interval between the first cover portion and the second cover portion increases to be equal to or greater than a preset distance, nor wherein the first venting hole is formed as a cut portion having a line shape in the third cover portion, nor that the cut portion is formed in a notch shape and configured to be ruptured when pressure of the cell cover is equal to or higher than a preset pressure. In a related field of endeavor, Jang teaches a battery and battery case with a venting notch formed in the case. The venting notch is formed as a cut portion having a line shape (formed by scoring and has a line shape (Jang ¶ 55, Figs. 1-3)) and is closed under normal operating conditions of the battery (corresponding to no swelling), but when pressure inside of the battery increases to a particular pressure due to an abnormal state of the battery (corresponding to swelling of the battery and an increase in distance between the first and second cover portion), the venting notch opens to allow gas to discharge (Jang ¶ 53). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to substitute the first venting hole of Li with the venting notch of Jang as this would have been a simple substitution of one conventionally known venting element with another, and the result of the substitution would have been predictable.
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 113794011) in view of Yebka et al. (US 20130143077, hereinafter, Yebka).
Regarding claim 5, Li teaches the battery pack of claim 1, but does not teach that the third cover portion comprises a folded portion formed by folding a portion of the third cover portion to close the first venting hole, wherein the folded portion is configured to open the first venting hole when an interval between the first cover portion and the second cover portion increases to be equal to or greater than a preset range. In a related field of endeavor, Yebka teaches a lithium-ion battery package including a flexible foil with a folded orientation of the flexible foil, and an opening through the flexible foil that is normally closed but opens when the pressure in the cell rises past a certain level (Yebka ¶ 44), corresponding with the interval between the first cover portion and the second cover portion increasing to be equal to or greater than a preset range. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to modify the first venting hole of the battery pack of Li with the teachings of the folded opening of Yebka as this would have been applying a conventionally known element to a base device, and the result would have been predictable.
Regarding claim 6, Li in view of Yebka teaches the battery pack of claim 5, wherein the first venting hole is formed as a through-hole passing through the third cover portion (Yebka Fig. 5, the opening is a through-hole covered by the folded portion, which would be formed on the top of the shell assembly corresponding to the third cover portion).
Regarding claim 7, Li in view of Yebka teaches the battery pack of claim 6, wherein a sealing portion is located between the folded portion and the through-hole (Yebka ¶ 45, Fig. 5, the folded portion of Yebka contains opposing conductor patches which optionally include a material that acts to cause adhesion between the conductor patches and maintain contact therebetween, which would correspond to a sealing portion between the folded portion and the through hole).
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 113794011) in view of Yoo et al. (US 20180047954, hereinafter, Yoo).
Regarding claims 8-10, Li teaches the battery pack of claim 1, but does not teach that a blocking portion is configured to prevent removal of the battery cell inserted into the first cover portion and the second cover portion is formed on the cell cover, nor that the blocking portion extends from a lower end of the first cover portion or the second cover portion to support a lower end of the battery cell nor that the blocking portion is formed as a locking structure extending from a lower end of the first cover portion or the second cover portion and bent towards the inside of the cell cover. In a related field of endeavor, Yoo teaches a cell cover for a secondary battery including a first bottom plate and second bottom plate corresponding to blocking portions. The first bottom plate and second bottom plate are connected to the lower end of the first and second side plates and are bent inwards and support the bottom of the battery and prevent removal (Yoo ¶ 49, Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to substitute the bottom of the shell assembly of Li with the first and second bottom plates of Yoo as this would have been a simple substitution of conventionally known elements with the predictable result of holding the cells within the shell assembly/cell cover.
Regarding claim 11, Li in view of Yoo teaches the battery pack of claim 8, wherein an insertion groove (Yoo ¶ 69, cut portions S) is formed between the blocking portions, wherein a jig configured to change an interval between the first cover portion and the second cover portion of the cell cover is inserted into the insertion groove (the cut portion S could accommodate a jig configured for changing the spacing between the first cover portion and the second cover portion).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 113794011) in view of Janarthanam et al. (US 20220158146, hereinafter, Janarthanam).
Regarding claim 15, Li teaches the battery pack of claim 1, wherein the pack case comprises:
a lower frame on which the plurality of battery cells are seated (Li ¶ 81 back cover which is fixed to the bottom of the four frames);
a side frame extending upward from an edge of the lower frame to form the inner space in which the plurality of battery cells are accommodated (LI Description ¶ 81, box body comprises four frames); and
an upper cover coupled to the side frame (Li Description ¶ 91 box cover).
Li does not teach that a gas channel through which gas is movable is formed inside the upper cover, and a communication hole communicating with the first venting hole is formed in the upper cover.
In a related field of endeavor, Janarthanam teaches a battery pack with exhaust channels on the interior surface of the cover (Janarthanam ¶ 50). The vent exhaust channels may be positioned to cover the vent ports of the battery cells (Janarthanam ¶ 51), corresponding to the communication hole communicating with the first venting hole being formed in the upper cover. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to modify the battery pack of Li with the upper cover and vent exhaust channels of Janarthanam because doing so would prevent or significantly reduce thermal propagation and thermal expansion inside the pack interior (Janarthanam ¶ 57).
Claims 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 113794011) in view of Wang et al. (US 20210402884, hereinafter, Wang).
Regarding claim 17, Li teaches the battery pack of claim 16, including beams corresponding to a reinforcing frame, but not that the gas channel is formed inside the reinforcing frame, wherein a communication hole communicating with the second venting hole is formed in the reinforcing frame. In a related field of endeavor, Wang teaches a lower box body with medial vertical beam, exhaust ports on the medial vertical beam, and an exhaust channel inside of the medial vertical beam (Wang Figs. 4 and 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to modify the battery pack of Li with medial vertical beams with exhaust channels to improve the safety of the battery pack by letting the high temperature gas from thermal runaway of the battery cell escape out of the cell through the second venting hole and into the exhaust port and discharge through the exhaust channel out of the battery (Wang ¶ 79-81).
Regarding claim 20, Li in view of Wang teaches a vehicle including the battery pack (Wang ¶ 112).
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 113794011) in view of Boecker et al. (US 11316230, hereinafter, Boecker).
Regarding claims 18 and 19, Li teaches the battery pack of claim 1, but a hole closing member configured to close the first venting hole, wherein the hole closing member is configured to be damaged as internal pressure of the cell cover increases, nor that the hole closing member is made of mica. In a related field of endeavor, Boecker teaches a battery pack including a heat shield proximate or adjacent to the cover of the modules, near the vents, that may comprise mica (Boecker ¶ 18). Ejected gas and/or active material may pass through the heat shield by creating a hole. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to modify the battery pack of Li with the mica heat shield of Boecker because doing so would provide thermal insulation from an adjacent battery module (Boecker ¶ 66).
Conclusion
/M.F./ Examiner, Art Unit 1784
/HUMERA N. SHEIKH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1784