Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by “Panasonic” (WO2013/186966. Examiner’s note: the citations refer to the English translation of Panasonic).
Regarding claim 1, Panasonic anticipates 1. A multilayer substrate comprising: a plurality of double-sided substrates including a first metal pattern formed on one surface, a second metal pattern formed on another surface, and a metal via connecting the first and second metal patterns (Figs. 3, 6, 16, page 5, top, page 6, middle – page 7, top, page 13, top; the middle wiring board portion 180 of Fig. 16 comprises a plurality of double-sided substrates including an upper wiring layer 120U formed on one surface, a lower wiring layer 120L formed on another surface, and a paste via 130 connecting the wiring layers 120U and 120L);
and a first conductive paste via formed of conductive paste that connects the first metal pattern and the second metal pattern between the double-sided substrates adjacent to each other in a double-sided substrate block in which the plurality of double-sided substrates are stacked (Figs. 3, 6, 16, page 5, top, page 6, middle – page 7, top, page 13, top; the middle wiring board portion 180 of Fig. 16 comprises another paste via 130 that connects the upper wiring layer 120U and the lower wiring layer 120L between the double-sided substrates adjacent to each other in the block of the middle wiring board portion 180 in which the plurality of substrates are stacked),
a first multilayer substrate having a third metal pattern formed on one surface, a fourth metal pattern formed on another surface, a fifth metal pattern formed on an inner layer, and first non-penetrating metal vias connecting the third metal pattern and the fifth metal pattern and connecting the fifth metal pattern and the fourth metal pattern (Figs. 3, 6, 16, page 5, top, page 6, middle – page 7, top, page 13, top; the top wiring board portion 180 of Fig. 16 comprises the upper wiring layer 160U which is a third metal pattern, the lower wiring layer 120L which is a fourth metal pattern, the upper wiring layer 120U which is a fifth metal pattern, the vias 170 connects the third and fifth metal patterns, and the via 130 connects the fifth and fourth metal patterns);
and a second multilayer substrate having a sixth metal pattern formed on one surface, a seventh metal pattern formed on another surface, an eighth metal pattern formed on an inner layer, and second non-penetrating metal vias connecting the sixth metal pattern and the eighth metal pattern and connecting the eighth metal pattern and the seventh metal pattern (Figs. 3, 6, 16, page 5, top, page 6, middle – page 7, top, page 13, top; the bottom wiring board portion 180 of Fig. 16 comprises the lower wiring layer 160L which is a sixth metal pattern, the upper wiring layer 120U which is a seventh metal pattern, the lower wiring layer 120L which is an eight metal pattern, the via 170 connects the sixth and eight metal patterns, and via 130 connects the eighth and seventh metal patterns),
the plurality of double-sided substrates is disposed between the first multilayer substrate and the second multilayer substrate (Figs. 3, 6, 16, page 5, top, page 6, middle – page 7, top, page 13, top; the middle wiring board portion 180 of Fig. 16 is disposed between the top wiring board portion 180 and the bottom wiring board portion 180),
wherein a conductive path is formed from the first metal pattern in the double-sided substrate on the one side of a pair of the double-sided substrates adjacent to each other to the second metal pattern via the metal via, the second metal pattern, the first conductive paste via, the first metal pattern in a double-sided substrate on another side, and the metal via (Figs. 3, 6, 16, page 5, top, page 6, middle – page 7, top, page 13, top; a conductive path is formed from the upper wiring layer 120U in the middle wiring board portion 180 of Fig. 16 on the one side of a pair of the double-sided substrates adjacent to each other to the lower wiring layer 120L via the metal via, the second metal pattern, the other paste via 130, the upper wiring layer 120U in a double-sided substrate on another side, and the paste via 130),
and the number of layers of the first multilayer substrate and the number of layers of the second multilayer substrate are the same (Figs. 3, 6, 16, page 5, top, page 6, middle – page 7, top, page 13, top; the top and bottom wiring board portions 180 of Fig. 16 have the same number of layers).
Regarding claim 2, Panasonic anticipates 2. The multilayer substrate according to claim 1, wherein in the double-sided substrate block, three or more of the double-sided substrates are stacked (Figs. 3, 6, 16, page 5, top, page 6, middle – page 7, top, page 13, top; tin the middle wiring board portion 180 of Fig. 16, three or more of the double-sided insulating layers are stacked),
and a conductive path is formed from the first metal pattern furthest on the one side in the double-sided substrate block to the second metal pattern furthest on the another side in the double-sided substrate block via each of the double-sided substrates and a plurality of first conductive paste vias connecting the double-sided substrates (Figs. 3, 6, 16, page 5, top, page 6, middle – page 7, top, page 13, top; a conductive path is formed from the upper wiring layer 120U to the lower wiring layer 120L and a plurality of first conductive paste vias 130 connecting the double-sided insulating layers).
Regarding claim 6, Panasonic anticipates 6. A multilayer substrate comprising: three or more double-sided substrates including a first metal pattern formed on one surface, a second metal pattern formed on another surface, and a metal via connecting the first and second metal patterns (Figs. 3, 6, 16, page 5, top, page 6, middle – page 7, top, page 13, top; the middle wiring board portion 180 of Fig. 16 comprises three or more double-sided substrates including an upper wiring layer 120U formed on one surface, a lower wiring layer 120L formed on another surface, and a paste via 130 connecting the wiring layers 120U and 120L);
in a double-sided substrate block in which the three or more double-sided substrates are stacked, a first conductive paste via formed of conductive paste that connects the first metal pattern and the second metal pattern between a pair of the double-sided substrates adjacent to each other (Figs. 3, 6, 16, page 5, top, page 6, middle – page 7, top, page 13, top; the middle wiring board portion 180 of Fig. 16 comprises three or more of stacked substrates, another paste via 130 that connects the upper wiring layer 120U and the lower wiring layer 120L between the double-sided substrates adjacent to each other);
a fourth conductive paste via formed of conductive paste that connects the second metal pattern of a double-sided substrate on the another side of the pair of double-sided substrates and a first metal pattern of a double-sided substrate adjacent to the another side of a double-sided substrate including the second metal pattern (Figs. 3, 6, 16, page 5, top, page 6, middle – page 7, top, page 13, top; an additional paste via 130 connects the lower wiring layer 120L on another side of the middle wiring board portion 180 and the upper wiring layer 120U to another side of the middle wiring board portion 180);
a first multilayer substrate having a third metal pattern formed on one surface, a fourth metal pattern formed on another surface, a fifth metal pattern formed on an inner layer, and first non-penetrating metal vias connecting the third metal pattern and the fifth metal pattern and connecting the fifth metal pattern and the fourth metal pattern (Figs. 3, 6, 16, page 5, top, page 6, middle – page 7, top, page 13, top; the top wiring board portion 180 of Fig. 16 comprises the upper wiring layer 160U which is a third metal pattern, the lower wiring layer 120L which is a fourth metal pattern, the upper wiring layer 120U which is a fifth metal pattern, the via 170 connects the third and fifth metal patterns, and via 130 connects the fifth and fourth metal patterns);
and a second multilayer substrate having a sixth metal pattern formed on one surface, a seventh metal pattern formed on another surface, an eighth metal pattern formed on an inner layer, and second non-penetrating metal vias connecting the sixth metal pattern and the eighth metal pattern and connecting the eighth metal pattern and the seventh metal pattern (Figs. 3, 6, 16, page 5, top, page 6, middle – page 7, top, page 13, top; the bottom wiring board portion 180 of Fig. 16 comprises the lower wiring layer 160L which is a sixth metal pattern, the upper wiring layer 120U which is a seventh metal pattern, the lower wiring layer 120L which is an eight metal pattern, the via 170 connects the sixth and eight metal patterns, and via 130 connects the eighth and seventh metal patterns),
the double-sided substrates are disposed between the first multilayer substrate and the second multilayer substrate (Figs. 3, 6, 16, page 5, top, page 6, middle – page 7, top, page 13, top; the middle wiring board portion 180 of Fig. 16 is disposed between the top wiring board portion 180 and the bottom wiring board portion 180),
and the number of layers of the first multilayer substrate and the number of layers of the second multilayer substrate are the same (Figs. 3, 6, 16, page 5, top, page 6, middle – page 7, top, page 13, top; the top and bottom wiring board portions 180 of Fig. 16 have the same number of layers).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Panasonic in view of “Sato” (US 2018/0019198).
Regarding claim 5, Panasonic discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Panasonic does not disclose the limitations of claim 5.
Sato discloses 5. The multilayer substrate according to claim 1, the multilayer substrate being a pitch conversion module that includes a plurality of the conductive paths insulated from each other (Fig. 1, [0032], [0037]; the interposer 100 being a pitch conversion module that includes a plurality of the conductive paths insulated from each other),
wherein an interval between the second metal patterns furthest on the another side in each of the conductive paths is wider than an interval between the first metal patterns furthest on the one side in each of the conductive paths (Fig. 1, [0032], [0037]; the wiring L1 and connection terminals C2 on the top side of the interposer has a smaller interval than the interval between the metal patterns on the opposite or bottom side of the interposer).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Panasonic’s multilayer substrate with Sato’s pitch conversion module in order to be capable of corresponding to a variety of pitch conversions and being inexpensive as compared to the one in the related art, as suggested by Sato at Abstract.
Regarding claim 10, Panasonic discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 2, above.
Panasonic does not disclose the limitations of claim 10.
Sato discloses 10. The multilayer substrate according to claim 2, the multilayer substrate being a pitch conversion module that includes a plurality of the conductive paths insulated from each other (Fig. 1, [0032], [0037]; the interposer 100 being a pitch conversion module that includes a plurality of the conductive paths insulated from each other),
wherein an interval between the second metal patterns furthest on the another side in each of the conductive paths is wider than an interval between the first metal patterns furthest on the one side in each of the conductive paths (Fig. 1, [0032], [0037]; the wiring L1 and connection terminals C2 on the top side of the interposer has a smaller interval than the interval between the metal patterns on the opposite or bottom side of the interposer).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Panasonic’s multilayer substrate with Sato’s pitch conversion module in order to be capable of corresponding to a variety of pitch conversions and being inexpensive as compared to the one in the related art, as suggested by Sato at Abstract.
Claims 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Panasonic in view of “Nagata” (US 10,712,383).
Regarding claim 7, Panasonic discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Panasonic discloses the multilayer substrate according to claim 1 (Fig. 19, page 2, bottom, page 6, bottom; the insulating layers 11).
Panasonic does not disclose A jig comprising: a contact configured to contact with an inspection object to perform electrical inspection, wherein the contact and the multilayer substrate are electrically connected.
Nagata discloses 7. A jig comprising: a contact configured to contact with an inspection object to perform electrical inspection, wherein the contact and the multilayer substrate are electrically connected (Fig. 1, col. 2, line 35, col. 3, line 45; the inspection jig 1 comprises probes 42 and the contactor 40 which is a multilayer substrate that are electrically connected).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Panasonic’s multilayer substrate with Nagata’s inspection jig in order to provide an inspection jig capable of suppressing breakdown of contact portions of a flexible substrate, as suggested by Nagata at col. 1, lines 32-35.
Regarding claim 13, Panasonic discloses the multilayer substrate according to claim 6.
Panasonic does not disclose 13. A jig comprising: a contact configured to contact an inspection object to perform electrical inspection, wherein the contact and the multilayer substrate are electrically connected.
Nagata discloses 13. A jig comprising: a contact configured to contact an inspection object to perform electrical inspection, wherein the contact and the multilayer substrate are electrically connected (Fig. 1, col. 2, line 35, col. 3, line 45; the inspection jig 1 comprises probes 42 and the contactor 40 which is a multilayer substrate that are electrically connected).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Panasonic’s multilayer substrate with Nagata’s inspection jig in order to provide an inspection jig capable of suppressing breakdown of contact portions of a flexible substrate, as suggested by Nagata at col. 1, lines 32-35.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STANLEY TSO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847