DETAILED ACTION
Background
The amendment dated August 03, 2026 (amendment) amending claims 1, 2, 5 and 7 and canceling claims 4 and 6 has been entered. Claims 1-3, 5 and 7 as filed with the amendment have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP2018085967 A to Kikuma et al. (Kikuma).
Unless otherwise indicated, all references to Kikuma refer to its Clarivate machine translation, a copy of which is included with this Office action.
Regarding instant claims 1-3, Kikuma discloses at Abstract on page 1 a bottled alcoholic beverage (“packaged alcoholic-beverage”) reduced in astringency in which the concentration of sodium is 3.5 to 80 mg/100 mL and the concentration of phosphoric acid (“acidity in terms of citric acid”) is 0.005 to 0.05 w/v%. Specifically, at “(4) Astringent taste reduction effect” on page 3 and the accompanying Table 4 in the Japanese language publication Kikuma discloses in Examples 38-39 a carbonated (claim 3), gin-containing alcoholic-beverage comprising polydextrose as a polysaccharide and 0 (Ex 38) or 0.253 (w/v% or g/100 ml) of a phosphoric acid, wherein the alcoholic beverage has an alcohol content of 9 wt%, based on the total volume of the alcoholic beverage (claim 2).
The Office considers the alcoholic beverage of Examples 38-39 of Kikuma and the packaged alcoholic-beverage claimed to be substantially the same thing. Accordingly, absent a clear showing as to how the pH and sweetness of the packaged alcoholic-beverage of Kikuma differs from that of the packaged alcoholic-beverage as claimed, the Office considers the packaged alcoholic-beverage of Examples 38 and 39 of Kikuma to have the claimed pH of 3.0 or more and less than 5.0 and a degree of sweetness of 2 or less as in claim 1 . See MPEP 2112.01.I.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2018085967 A to Kikuma et al. (Kikuma) as applied to claim 1, above and further in view of US2010/0119667 of Livaich (Livaich).
All references to Kikuma refer to its Clarivate machine translation.
As applied to claim 1, Kikuma at Abstract and Examples 38 and 39 discloses a gin-containing packaged alcoholic-beverage comprising a polysaccharides elected from the group consisting of dextrin, polydextrose, and indigestible glucan and having a degree of sweetness of 2 or less, a pH of 3.0 or more and less than 5.0 and an acidity in terms of citric acid of 0.05 g/100 ml or less.
Kikuma does not disclose an example of an alcoholic beverage comprising a polysaccharide in the amount of 2.5 wt% or less, based on the total weight of the alcoholic beverage as in claim 5 and does not disclose as a polysaccharide a dextrin as in claim 7. However, Kikuma discloses in Background Art on page 2 that its sodium acts to thicken or impart a body feel to an alcoholic beverage and discloses that amount of sodium as 3.5 to 80 mg/100 mL or 0.0035 to 0.08 wt%, based on the total weight of the alcoholic beverage
Livaich at Abstract discloses a ready-to drink alcoholic beverage having an alcohol content of about 5 to about 9 wt%, by volume, including at Example 2 and [0068] a gin and tonic cocktail comprising sodium salts and citric acid. Further, at [0032] Livaich discloses maltodextrin or polydextrose as a hydrocolloid akin to a gum or starch to improve the body and mouthfeel of the alcoholic beverage. Livaich does not give an amount of its thickener.
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, the ordinary skilled artisan would have found it obvious in view of Livaich for Kikuma to include a dextrin or use the polydextrose of Kikuma and to include the polysaccharide in the amount of to thicken or impart body to the alcoholic beverage alcoholic beverage having the recited acidity in terms of citric acid of 0.05 g/100 ml or less in terms of citric acid and an alcohol content 1 to 16 v/v%, based on the total volume of the alcoholic beverage. Livaich discloses that it is desirable for its alcoholic beverages to comprise a dextrin, polydextrose or indigestible glucan in the amount of 2,5 wt% or less, based on the total weight of the alcoholic beverage. Both references disclose packaged alcoholic-beverages comprising sodium and a polysaccharide wherein the alcoholic beverages are gin drinks. The ordinary skilled artisan in Kikuma would have desired to use its polydextrose or the dextrin of Livaich in amounts of less than 2.5 wt%, based on the total weight of the alcoholic beverage to provide a suitable thickener to limit the amount of sodium needed in the alcoholic beverage while giving it a desirable body or improved mouthfeel.
Response to Arguments
In view of the amendment dated August 03, 2026, the following rejections have been withdrawn as moot:
The provisional rejections of claims 1-3 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claims 5-7 of copending Application No. 18/724,793 (reference application) in view of JP2018-126118 A to Kanazawa;
The rejections of claims 2 and 5 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite in regard to the claim 2 recited alcohol content in v/v% as lacking a basis or denominator for the volume %; and, further in regard to the claim 5 recited polysaccharide content in wt% for lacking a basis or denominator for the wt%;
The rejections of claims 1-3 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2018-126118 A to Kanazawa; and,
The rejections of claims 4-7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2018-126118 A to Kanazawa in view of EP2365762 b1 to Debon et al.
The positions taken in the remarks accompanying the amendment dated August 03, 2026 (Reply) have been fully considered but are moot because the rejection does not rely on the Kanazawa or Debon art for any position taken or matter alleged in the Reply.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW E MERRIAM/Examiner, Art Unit 1791