DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-7 in the reply filed on 17 July 2026 is acknowledged.
Applicants traverse the basis for a posteriori lack of unity by stating that Odnoblyudov (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0198311) does not suggest a seed layer having a thickness of more than 0.04 µm to less than 0.1 µm. However, Odnoblyudov discloses the single crystal silicon layer (corresponding to the claimed seed layer) has a thickness of 0.1 µm or less (paragraph [0076]). Such a thickness is sufficient evidence that the common technical feature does not make a contribution over the prior art.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Odnoblyudov et al. (U.S. 2019/0198311 A1)(Odnoblyudov).
Odnoblyudov teaches a substrate for use in epitaxial growth of a layer 130. See Figure 1, and paragraph [0037]. The layered structure taught by Odnoblyudov corresponds to the claimed structure in the following table (the reference numerals in Odnoblyudov are in Figure 1):
Instant application claim 1 limitation
Instant application claim 1 thickness
Odnoblyudov layer
Odnoblyudov thickness
Instant application dependent claim limitation relating to the claim 1 limitation
Odnoblyudov teaching
Nitride ceramic core
Polycrystalline ceramic core 110 such as aluminum nitride [0021]
Aluminum nitride (claim 3)
Aluminum nitride [0021]
Encapsulating layer
0.05-1.5 µm
Barrier layer 118 [0028]
2000-5000 Å (0.2000-0.5000 µm) [0028]
Contains silicon nitride (claim 4)
Silicon nitride [0028]
Planarizing layer
0.05-3.0 µm
Bonding layer 120 [0036]
App. 1.5 µm [0036]
Contains any one of silicon oxide, silicon oxynitride, and aluminum arsenide (claim 5)
Silicon oxide [0036]
Seed crystal layer
More than 0.04 and less than 0.1 µm
Single crystal layer 122 [0037]
0.1 µm or less [0076]
Si<111>, SiC, sapphire, aluminum nitride, aluminum gallium nitride, or gallium nitride (claim 6)
Silicon(111), SiC, sapphire, GaN, AlN [0037] [0056] [0058]
The barrier layer 118 of Odnoblyudov encapsulates the core substrate 110 as shown in Figure 1 and paragraph [0028] of Odnoblyudov.
The bonding layer 120 of Odnoblyudov is polished (i.e., planarized). See paragraph [0057].
The single crystal layer 122 of Odnoblyudov has layer 130 grown on it, and is therefore considered a “seed layer.” See paragraph [0037].
Odnoblyudov differs from claims 1, 3-6 by teaching overlapping ranges of thickness rather than anticipatory ranges or examples. However, overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have selected from the overlapping portion of the ranges taught by the reference, because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
Claims 2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Odnoblyudov et al. (U.S. 2019/0198311 A1)(Odnoblyudov) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kubota et al. (WO 2021/250991 A1)(Kubota).
The rejection is over Kuboto, WO 2021/250991 A1, because the reference has an earlier publication date, however, the English language equivalent, US 2023/0340694 A1, will be cited below.
Odnoblyudov renders obvious claim 1 for the reasons recited above. Odnoblyudov fails to disclose a stress adjusting layer (claim 2), or that the stress adjusting layer contains silicon (claim 7).
Kuboto discloses a stress adjusting layer 5 applied to the back of a substrate. See the title and paragraph [0048]. The stress adjusting layer reduces warpage. Id. The stress adjusting layer 5 may be silicon. See paragraph [0017].
Therefore, it would have bene obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have applied a silicon stress adjusting layer to the back surface of the substrate of Odnoblyudov because the resultant article would have a reduce warp.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 18/845,148 (‘148). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claims 1-14 completely encompass all of the limitations of instant claims 1-7 including overlapping ranges of thickness. Overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 7 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 18/845,148 (‘148) as applied to claims 1 and 2 above and further in view of Kubota et al. (WO 2021/250991 A1)(Kubota).
The rejection is over Kuboto, WO 2021/250991 A1, because the reference has an earlier publication date, however, the English language equivalent, US 2023/0340694 A1, will be cited below.
Claims 1-14 of the ‘148 application render obvious claims 1 and 2 for the reasons recited above. Claim 4 of the ‘148 application discloses a stress adjusting layer applied to the bottom of the substrate, but the ‘148 claims fail to disclose the stress adjusting layer includes silicon.
Kuboto discloses a stress adjusting layer 5 applied to the back of a substrate. See the title and paragraph [0048]. The stress adjusting layer reduces warpage. Id. The stress adjusting layer 5 may be silicon. See paragraph [0017].
Therefore, it would have bene obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have applied a silicon stress adjusting layer to the back surface of the substrate of the ‘148 claims because the resultant article would have a reduce warp.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/David Sample/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784