CTNF 18/725,268 CTNF 80447 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Akiyama US 2016/0337575 . Regarding claim 1-2 and 6-7, Akiyama teaches a light detecting device, comprising: a substrate (fig. 2 semiconductor substrate 21) on which a plurality of photoelectric conversion (photoelectric conversion units 22) units are formed; a plurality of optical elements (polarizing structure 25) that are disposed on a light receiving surface side of the substrate; and a microlens array (on chip lens 26) that is disposed on a light receiving surface side of the plurality of optical elements, and includes a plurality of microlenses that guide incident light to the photoelectric conversion units, wherein the optical element contains a metal material [0036], and a surface on an optical element side of the microlens array is formed in contact with light receiving surfaces of the optical elements to cover the light receiving surfaces and also serve as a protection film that suppresses corrosion of the metal material (see fig. 2). Regarding claim 2, Akiyama teaches the light detecting device according to claim 1, wherein the optical element is a wire grid polarizer [0038]. Regarding claim 3, Akiyama teaches te light detecting device according to claim 2, wherein the optical element includes a plurality of belt-shaped conductors that are disposed at a predetermined pitch, and includes a gap between the neighboring belt-shaped conductors (polarizing structure 25). Regarding claim 6, Akiyama teaches the light detecting device according to claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of microlenses (on chip lens 26) has a structure that a bottom portion shared by the plurality of microlenses (see fig. 2) and a lens-shaped portion individually formed per microlens are laminated in this order on an optical element array including the plurality of optical elements (see fig. 2). Regarding claim 7, Akiyama teaches the light detecting device according to claim 6, wherein a shape of the lens-shaped portion (part of on chip lens 26) is a planar protrusion type (see fig. 2). Regarding claim 15, Akiyama teaches an electronic device (see abstract electronic apparatus) comprising a light detecting device (solid state imaging device see abstract), comprising: a substrate (fig. 2 semiconductor substrate 21) on which a plurality of photoelectric conversion (photoelectric conversion units 22) units are formed; a plurality of optical elements (polarizing structure 25) that are disposed on a light receiving surface side of the substrate; and a microlens array (on chip lens 26) that is disposed on a light receiving surface side of the plurality of optical elements, and includes a plurality of microlenses that guide incident light to the photoelectric conversion units, wherein the optical element contains a metal material [0036], and a surface on an optical element side of the microlens array is formed in contact with light receiving surfaces of the optical elements to cover the light receiving surfaces and also serve as a protection film that suppresses corrosion of the metal material (see fig. 2) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiyama US 2016/0337575 in view of Yamazaki US 20210057474 . Regarding claim 4, Akiyama teaches the limitations of claim 1 but does not teach the optical element is a plasmon filter or a guided mode resonance. Yamazaki teaches a plasmon filter can be substituted while performing the same function as a wire grid polarizer [0075]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Akiyama in view of Yamazaki to implement a similar device with optical element is a plasmon filter as they can perform similarly . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiyama US 2016/0337575 in view of Yamazaki US 20210057474 and further in view of Sugizaki WO 2018/110571 . Regarding claim 5, Akiyama teaches the light detecting device according to claim 1, but does not teach wherein the optical element is a Guided Mode Resonance (GMR) filter. Yamazaki teaches a plasmon filter can be substituted while performing the same function as a wire grid polarizer [0075]. Sugizaki teaches a plasmon filters with guided mode resonance filtering to perform narrow band filtering(see ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Akiyama in view of Yamazaki and Sugizaki to perform additional narrow band filtering 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiyama US 2016/0337575 in view of Yamaguchi US 2006/0103941 . Regarding claim 8, Akiyama teaches the limitations of claim 6 but does not teach a shape of the lens-shaped portion is a columnar type. Yamaguchi teaches a shape of the lens-shaped portion is a columnar type (fig. 1C) having wide light receiving surfaces [0007]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Akiyama in view of Yamaguchi to form lenses with a wide light receiving surfaces . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiyama US 2016/0337575 in view of Ushiro US 2007/0091453 . Regarding claim 9, Akiyama teaches the limitations of claim 6 but does not teach a shape of the lens-shaped portion is a shape formed by periodically disposing a plurality of microstructures. Ushiro teaches a shape of the lens-shaped portion is a shape formed by periodically disposing a plurality of microstructures (see fig. 3A microlens 40) for forming simple and low-cost flat microlens that is mechanically and thermally stable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Akiyama in view of Ushiro to form lenses simple and low-cost flat microlens that is mechanically and thermally stable 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 10-11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiyama US 2016/0337575 in view of Martin US 2012/0092747 . Regarding claim 10-11 and 13, Akiyama teaches the light detecting device according to claim 1. Regarding claim 10, Akiyama does not teach the microlens array is a material having a water vapor barrier property. Regarding claims 11, Akiyama does not teach the material having the water vapor barrier property is silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, or silicon carbonitride. Regarding claim 13, Akiyama does not teach the material having the water vapor barrier property is amorphous silicon. However Akiyama teaches a microlens formed of is a material having a water vapor barrier property [0075], the water vapor barrier property is silicone nitride/ oxynitride [0075] and water vapor barrier property is amorphous silicon [0075] that can easily shaped in a variety of shapes [0075]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Akiyama in view of Martin to form lenses that can be easily shaped in a variety of shapes . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiyama US 2016/0337575 in view of Ootsuka US 2016/0231468 . Regarding claim 10 and 12, Akiyama teaches the light detecting device according to claim 1. Regarding claim 10, Akiyama does not teach the microlens array is a material having a water vapor barrier property. Regarding claim 12, Akiyama does not teach the material having the water vapor barrier property is a high refractive index resin having a refractive index equal to or more than 1.6. Ootsuka teaches a microlens formed of material having a water vapor barrier property is a high refractive index resin having a refractive index equal to or more than 1.6 [0096]-[0097][0183] having a high light collection efficiency [0096]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Akiyama in view of Ootsuka to improve light collection efficiency . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiyama US 2016/0337575 in view of Matsunuma US 2021/0118931 . Regarding claim 14, Akiyama teaches the the light detecting device according to claim 1, but does not teach further comprising a pixel separating portion that is disposed between the neighboring photoelectric conversion units of the substrate, and includes a trench portion, and wherein the pixel separating portion includes a metal light shielding film disposed in the trench portion. Matsunuma teaches pixel separating portion (fig. 2 light blocking part 30) that is disposed between the neighboring photoelectric conversion units of the substrate, and includes a trench portion (fig. 2 separation part 22), and wherein the pixel separating portion includes a metal light shielding film disposed in the trench portion to reduce light entering at oblique angles reducing image quality. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Akiyama in view of Matsunuma to improve image quality. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PHU VU whose telephone number is (571)272-1562. The examiner can normally be reached 11:00 - 7:00 M-F. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jennifer Carruth can be reached at 571-272-9791. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /PHU VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871 Application/Control Number: 18/725,268 Page 2 Art Unit: 2871 Application/Control Number: 18/725,268 Page 3 Art Unit: 2871 Application/Control Number: 18/725,268 Page 4 Art Unit: 2871 Application/Control Number: 18/725,268 Page 5 Art Unit: 2871 Application/Control Number: 18/725,268 Page 6 Art Unit: 2871 Application/Control Number: 18/725,268 Page 7 Art Unit: 2871