DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites in line 8, “formulaCH2=C(R1)(R2)…” There appears to be a typographical error of missing space.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites in lines 2-12, “comprising a reaction product of i) a polydiene and ii) a silylating grafting agent having formula:
…, or b)
…;” There appears to be some formatting and typographical errors such as “b),” that causes the claim to be indefinite. It is unclear whether the silylated polydiene polymer is a “reaction product” or “formula b),” or if the “silylating grafting agent” has the formula
or formula b).
From the specification, it appears that the claim is missing a label such as “a)” and the claim should read the “silylating grafting agent having the formula of a) or b): a)
…b)
…”
Claims 13 and 14, recite “wherein the polymer has a weight average molecular weight of…” or “wherein the polymer has a number average molecular weight of…” However, claim 1 recites two types of polymers, a “silylated polydiene polymer” and a “non-silylated polydiene polymer.” It is unclear which of these polymers the term “polymer” is referring to.
Claims 2-12 and 15-18, are dependent claims which fails to alleviate the issues above.
Claims 2-4, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 2 recites, “where the silylated polydiene polymer comprises one or more of a) a copolymer of butadiene and a comonomer…and b) poly(1,3-butadiene).” The claim appears to be broadening the silylated polydiene polymer of claim 1 to non-silylated polydiene polymers and thus, fails to further limit claim 1.
It appears that claim 2 should be amended to “wherein the polydiene of the reaction product comprises…”
Claim 3 is a dependent claim which fails to alleviate the issues above.
Claim 4 recites “wherein the copolymer is…a poly(butadiene) homopolymer…” However, claim 2 recites that the “copolymer” is of a butadiene and comonomer.” It appears that claim 4 is broadening to term “copolymer” to be a “homopolymer,” and thus, fails to further limit.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 12-18, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0135425 A1 to Kondo et al. (hereinafter Kondo) and in further view of US 2016/0319061 A1 to Matmour (hereinafter Matmour).
Regarding claims 1-10, 12-18, Kondo teaches a rubber composition comprising 60 mass% or more of a styrene-butadiene rubber (SBR), 10 parts or more of carbon black, 50 parts or more of silica and 0.1-3.5 parts of polyethylene glycol per 100 parts of the rubber component, (para 7), wherein the SBR contains a modified and a non-modified SBR at a ratio of 30/70 to 90/10, (para 25), and further includes a butadiene rubber or natural rubber in an amount of 10-40 mass% of 100 mass% of rubber component (para 8, 25-26, 29, and See examples). The rubber composition is curable and cured with a vulcanization agent (para 46-47 and See Examples) and used to form tires, treads or other tire components. (para 54-56).
Kondo does not explicitly teach the silylated polydiene polymer.
However, Matmour teaches a modified polymer obtained by grafting a styrene-butadiene rubber (SBR1, Mn=118,300, PI=1.07, Mw=126,581) along the chain with a compound having the formula
(para 128-135, Example 1), forming a functionalized SBR with 11.9 mol% grafted function (para 133-134), which meets the claimed reaction product of an SBR polydiene and the grafting agent formula wherein n=0, R is -CH3 with one hydrogen, and Fg. The modified polymer may be used in crosslinkable rubber compositions (para 92), in a mixture of one or more compounds (para 93), and the modified polymer having the grafted epoxide groups along the chain improves the interactions between the elastomer and the reinforcing fillers within a reinforced rubber composition (para 92-94),such as in the field of tires and (para 96), which is in the same field of use of tire rubber compositions of the Applicant’s invention.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to further include or use the epoxy grafted modified SBR of Matmour for the modified SBR in the rubber composition of Kondo because Matmour teaches the same field of use of tire rubber compositions of the Applicant’s invention, and Matmour teaches the modified polymer having the grafted epoxide groups along the chain improves the interactions between the elastomer and the reinforcing fillers within a reinforced rubber composition (para 92-94).
Claim(s) 1-10, 12-18, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0135425 A1 to Kondo et al. (hereinafter Kondo) and in further view of US 2003/0100652 A1 to Kim et al. (hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claims 1-10, 12-18, Kondo teaches a rubber composition comprising 60 mass% or more of a styrene-butadiene rubber (SBR), 10 parts or more of carbon black, 50 parts or more of silica and 0.1-3.5 parts of polyethylene glycol per 100 parts of the rubber component, (para 7), wherein the SBR contains a modified and a non-modified SBR at a ratio of 30/70 to 90/10, (para 25), and further includes a butadiene rubber or natural rubber in an amount of 10-40 mass% of 100 mass% of rubber component (para 8, 25-26, 29, and See examples). The rubber composition is curable and cured with a vulcanization agent (para 46-47 and See Examples) and used to form tires, treads or other tire components. (para 54-56).
Kondo does not explicitly teach the silylated polydiene polymer.
However, Kim teaches a modified diene copolymer having a Mn of 400-100,00, modified by a modifying agent having the formula
, where R1, R2, R3, R5 and R6 are methyl groups, R4 is
, wherein R9 is -COCH3 (para 10-11), which is in the same field of use of modified diene polymers of the Applicant’s invention. Specifically, a modified diene copolymer is obtained by reacting a styrene-butadiene-styrene block copolymer with a PEGMAE-polydimethylsiloxane(PSI300) by hydrosilylation (para 18-19, Example 1, para 47). Kim further teaches the modified diene copolymer may be mixed with inorganic fillers (para 6), and improves compatibilities of the interaction with an inorganic filler such as silica or carbon black(para 23), improving strength, elasticity, and weatherability (para 4, 25 and 57).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to further include or use the modified SBR of Kim for the modified SBR in the rubber composition of Kondo because Kim the same field of use of modified diene polymers of the Applicant’s invention, and Kim further teaches the modified diene copolymer may be mixed with inorganic fillers (para 6), and improves compatibilities of the interaction with an inorganic filler such as silica or carbon black (para 23), improving strength, elasticity, and weatherability (para 4, 25 and 57).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The closest prior art is cited above. None the prior art teaches wherein the silylated polydiene polymer has a main grafted nitrogen-containing functional group.
Conclusion
/HA S NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766