CTNF 18/725,375 CTNF 79123 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 75-78, 89, and 90 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Damnjanovic et al (US 2022/0264346 A1) . Regarding claim 75, Damnjanovic discloses an apparatus (Fig. 14) comprising: at least one processor (Fig. 14, processor 1440); and at least one memory including computer program code (Fig. 14, memory 1430 having computer code 1435), the at least one memory and computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus (Fig. 14) to perform: generating an information set for a user equipment (Fig. 6, blocks 605 and 610 and Fig. 18, blocks 1805 and 1806, transmit to a UE, an indication of a cell set configured for mobility procedure for the UE and a reporting configuration for reporting measurements for the mobility procedure by the UE, the reporting configuration indicating a subset of cells supported by the DU for reporting); wherein the information set includes at least a first channel state information (CSI) measurement (97 th paragraph, base station may transmit CSI-RS) configuration for configuring the user equipment to perform measurements for a mobility decision (Fig. 6, blocks 615-630 and Fig. 18, blocks 1805 and 1806) at a first distributed unit operating a first, serving cell of a radio access network (Fig. 5, DU 510-a); wherein the measurements comprise at least: a CSI measurement for the first, serving cell, and a CSI measurement for a second cell (Fig. 18, block 1815, receive, from the UE, DU specific measurement report for the Du consists of channel measurement results for the subset of cells based in part on the reporting configuration. Herein, the subset of cells including serving cell and target cell, as illustrated in Fig. 5) operated by a second distributed unit of the radio access network (Fig. 5, DU 510-b), the second cell being a candidate target cell for the mobility decision (Fig. 5, DU 510-b); and transmitting the information set toward the user equipment (Fig. 18, blocks 1805 and 1806). Regarding claim 76, Damnjanovic discloses that wherein the information set further comprises a first CSI reporting configuration for configuring the user equipment to report results of the measurements (Fig. 18, block 1810, reporting configuration for reporting measurements for the mobility procedure) via the first, serving cell, for making the mobility decision at the first distributed unit (Fig. 5, DU 510-a). Regarding claim 77, Damnjanovic discloses that wherein the information set further comprises information for configuring the user equipment for operation in the second cell in the event of a decision at the first distributed unit to command the user equipment to perform serving cell change to the second cell (114 th paragraph and Fig. 4, base station may handover the UE to a target cell. As illustrated in Fig. 18, block 1805, the cell set comprising a set of activated cells for the UE which may include the target cell for handover). Regarding claim 78, Damnjanovic discloses that wherein generating the information set is based at least partly on information received via signalling associated with the user equipment (125 th paragraph, the DU may account for the capability of the UE in determining the number of activated cells). Regarding claim 89, Damnjanovic discloses a user equipment (Fig. 10) comprising: at least one processor (Fig. 10, processor 1040); and at least one memory including computer program code (Fig. 10, memory 1030 having computer code 1035), the at least one memory and computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus (Fig. 10) to perform: receiving an information set (Fig. 6, blocks 605 and 610 UE receives configured cell set and reporting configuration) via a first, serving cell operated by a first distributed unit of a radio access network (Fig. 5, DU 510-a and/or Fig. 6, gNB-DU 105-a); wherein the information set includes at least a first channel state information (CSI) measurement (97 th paragraph, base station may transmit CSI-RS) configuration for configuring the user equipment to perform measurements for a mobility decision (Fig. 6, blocks 615-630) at a first distributed unit (Fig. 5, DU 510-a); wherein the measurements comprise at least: a CSI measurement for the first, serving cell, and a CSI measurement for a second cell (Fig. 18, block 1815, receive, from the UE, DU specific measurement report for the Du consists of channel measurement results for the subset of cells based in part on the reporting configuration. Herein, the subset of cells including serving cell and target cell, as illustrated in Fig. 5) operated by a second distributed unit of the radio access network (Fig. 5, DU 510-b), the second cell being a candidate target cell for the mobility decision (Fig. 5, DU 510-b); and performing measurements for at least the first and second cells according to the information set (Fig. 6, block 615, perform channel measurements for the cell set. As illustrated in Fig. 5, the cell set includes serving cell and target cell); and reporting results of the measurements to the first distributed unit via the serving cell, for the mobility decision at the first distributed unit (Fig. 6, blocks 625-630). Regarding claim 90, Damnjanovic discloses that wherein the information set further comprises a first CSI reporting configuration for configuring the user equipment to report results of the measurements via the first, serving cell, for making the mobility decision at the first distributed unit (Fig. 6, blocks 610-625); wherein reporting the results of the measurements comprises transmitting the results of the measurements using a resource indicated by the first CSI reporting configuration (Fig. 6, block 625, measurement report transmits on a configured uplink resource for feedback) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 79-88, 91, and 92 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Damnjanovic et al (US 2023/0156541 A1), generally related, discloses L1/L2 measurement for cell mobility (Figs. 13-16). Bai et al (US 2022/0256381 A1), generally related, discloses L1/L2 non-serving cell RS measurement (Fig. 4-8). Wang (US 2022/0295323 A1), generally related, discloses measurement and reporting configuration for L1/L2 (Fig. 1). Gundogan et al (US 2025/0203467 A1), same assignee, discloses Layer 1 measurement (Figs. 5-9). Chandrashekar et al (US 2025/0240682 A1), same assignee, discloses CSI-RS measurement for mobility group indicator (Figs. 6-7). Chandrashekar et al (US 2025/0008363 A1), same assignee, discloses measurement and reporting configuration (Figs. 7-10). Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANH VU H LY whose telephone number is (571)272-3175. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8am-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Nick Jensen can be reached at 571-270-5443. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. ANH VU H. LY Primary Examiner Art Unit 2472 /ANH VU H LY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/725,375 Page 2 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/725,375 Page 3 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/725,375 Page 4 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/725,375 Page 5 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/725,375 Page 6 Art Unit: 2472