DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicants’ remarks, filed July 9, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 19 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly cited prior art Wang et al. (US 2022/0407664).
Wang teaches wherein the radio node, in response to receiving the message, operates with reduced energy consumption by not being prepared to operate according to radio related settings outside the identified first one or more subsets (Section 0099, cell activation/deactivation is sent to the node (O-RU), said node can be deactivated thus preventing said node from operating according to radio related settings thus also reducing energy consumption).
Claim Objections
Claims 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 3 is as follows-“multiple subsets information” is not grammatically correct. An example of proper grammatic form would be as follows-“multiple subsets of information”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: Lines 1 – 2 are as follows-“multiple subsets information is obtained” is not grammatically correct. An example of proper grammatic form would be as follows-“multiple subsets of information are obtained”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 6, 17,19 – 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmed et al. (US 2022/0345896) in view of Wang et al. (US 2022/0407664)
Regarding Claim 1, Ahmed teaches a method, performed by a controller node (250; 700), for controlling a radio node (150; 900) to support energy saving by the radio node (150; 900) (Figure 2a, Section 0024, controller (1003), radio nodes (2001), power measurement enables the determination of network usage thus enabling energy efficiency to occur (Section 0095, 0096)) the radio node (150; 900) having ability and being controllable by the controller node (250; 700) to operate using radio related settings according to a supported operative set of radio related settings (measurement bandwidth per channel, measurement duration per channel are radio related settings (Sections 0095, 0096)), wherein the method comprises: sending (305; 604), to the radio node (150; 900), a message identifying first one or more subsets of said supported operative set of radio related settings, which first one or more subsets are the only of said supported operative set that the radio node (150; 900) temporarily needs to be prepared to operate according to (a subset can be measurement bandwidth per channel, measurement duration per channel are radio related settings (Section 0096)).
Ahmed does not teach wherein the radio node, in response to receiving the message, operates with reduced energy consumption by not being prepared to operate according to radio related settings outside the identified first one or more subsets.
Wang, which also teaches the use of O-RUs, teaches wherein the radio node, in response to receiving the message, operates with reduced energy consumption by not being prepared to operate according to radio related settings outside the identified first one or more subsets (Section 0099, cell activation/deactivation is sent to the node (O-RU), said node can be deactivated thus preventing said node from operating according to radio related settings thus also reducing energy consumption).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ahmed with the above features of Wang for the purpose of enabling energy saving in the radio network for O-RAN as taught by Wang.
Regarding Claim 19, Ahmed teaches a controller node (250; 700) for controlling a radio node (150; 900) to support energy saving by the radio node (150; 900) (Figure 2a, Section 0024, controller (1003), radio nodes (2001), power measurement enables the determination of network usage thus enabling energy efficiency to occur (Section 0095, 0096)), the radio node (150; 900) having ability and being controllable by the controller node (250; 700) to operate using radio related settings according to a supported operative set of radio related settings (measurement bandwidth per channel, measurement duration per channel are radio related settings (Sections 0095, 0096)), wherein the controller node (250; 700) is configured to send (305; 604), to the radio node (150; 900), a message identifying first one or more subsets of said supported operative set of radio related settings, which first one or more subsets are the only of said supported operative set that the radio node (150; 900) temporarily needs to be prepared to operate according to (a subset can be measurement bandwidth per channel, measurement duration per channel are radio related settings (Section 0096)).
Ahmed does not teach wherein the radio node, in response to receiving the message, operates with reduced energy consumption by not being prepared to operate according to radio related settings outside the identified first one or more subsets.
Wang, which also teaches the use of O-RUs, teaches wherein the radio node, in response to receiving the message, operates with reduced energy consumption by not being prepared to operate according to radio related settings outside the identified first one or more subsets (Section 0099, cell activation/deactivation is sent to the node (O-RU), said node can be deactivated thus preventing said node from operating according to radio related settings thus also reducing energy consumption).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ahmed with the above features of Wang for the purpose of enabling energy saving in the radio network for O-RAN as taught by Wang.
Regarding Claims 2, 20, Ahmed in view of Wang teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 1, 19. Ahmed further teaches obtaining (302; 601) capability information identifying said supported operative set (Section 0095, receipt of indication that the O-RU supports CBRS power measurements).
Regarding Claims 3, 21, Ahmed in view of Wang teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 2, 20. Ahmed further teaches wherein the capability information is obtained by being received from the radio node (150; 900) (Section 0095, receipt of indication that the O-RU supports CBRS power measurements).
Regarding Claims 4, 22, Ahmed in view of Wang teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 1, 19. Ahmed further teaches determining (304; 603) said first one or more subsets from said supported operative set based on what radio related settings are temporarily sufficient for operation by the radio node (150; 900) (Section 0095, indication that O-RU supports CBRS power measurements are also indications of radio settings for operation by O-RU).
Regarding Claims 5, 23, Ahmed in view of Wang teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 1, 19. Ahmed further teaches determining (304; 603) said first one or more subsets from said supported operative - obtaining (303; 602) multiple subsets information identifying multiple subsets of said supported operative set, and wherein said first one or more subsets identified by the message are identified based on said multiple subsets (Section 0096, one subset can be measurement bandwidth per channel, measurement duration per channel are radio related settings).
Regarding Claims 6, 24, Ahmed in view of Wang teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 5, 23. Ahmed further teaches wherein said multiple subsets information is obtained by being received from the radio node (150; 900) (Sections 0095, 0096, contents of the trigger based on-demand power measurement request message are determined or obtained based receipt of indication of support of CBRS from radio node).
Regarding Claim 17, Ahmed in view of Wang teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Ahmed further teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a computer program (703) comprising instructions that when executed by one or more processors (704) causes a controller node (250; 110; 200; 201; 700) to perform the method according to claim 1 (Figure 2a, controllers such as SMO/O-RU (1003), typical controllers such as the SMO/O-RU comprises processors with memory that stores code run by processors).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAYMOND S DEAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645 Raymond S. Dean
September 14, 2026