Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kr 2021/0020580.
Regarding claims 1,2,4,6,8,9,13 Kr ‘580 teaches a method for manufacturing a water jelly, the method comprising(example 6.1, 2):
-mixing a gelling agent(carrageenan, konjac, and locust bean gum), a saccharide(erythritol), apple juice concentrate(concentrate and flavoring), and purified water to prepare a gelled product;
-adding a first acidity(sodium citrate) regulator to the gelled product; adding fermented vinegar to the gelled product to which the first acidity regulator has been added to prepare a fermented vinegar mixed solution; and
-adding a second acidity regulator(citric acid) to the fermented vinegar mixed solution to prepare a jelly preparation solution.
Kr ‘580 does not each adding the second acid regulator to the composition after the fermented vinegar is added. However, specifically regarding the method of manufacturing a water jelly, Kr ‘580 teaches of substantially the same product produced by substantially the same method as instantly claimed by applicant; where the claimed and prior art products are produced by substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of obviousness has been established. To switch the order of performing process steps, i.e. the order of the addition of the ingredients into the final mixture, would be obvious absent any clear and convincing evidence and/or arguments to the contrary (MPEP 2144.04 [R-1]). “Selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results”
Regarding claim 3, Kr ‘580 does not teach the ratio of gelling agents as claimed. However, it would have been obvious to adjust the ratio of gelling agents depending on the texture desired in the final product.
Regarding claim 5, Kr ‘850 teaches heating to a temperature of 75C(example 2).
Regarding claims 7,10-12, Kr ‘580 teaches adding 0.1wt% sodium citrate(first acid regulator(example 2). 0.15 wt% of citric acid(second acid regulator for a total amount of 0.25wt%. The initial apple juice has 0.16% acidity, making the total acidity 0.41%(example 2).
Conclusion
/KATHERINE D LEBLANC/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1791