DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 11, the phrase "preferably" and the parenthetical “(is applicable)” render the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) at issue are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Furthermore, the recitation of “the third counterpropagating beam pair” lacks antecedent basis, and as such is indefinite. The claim will be examined as best understood in light of the specification, and as though it depended from claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 9,952,154 B2 [Sinclair].
Regarding Claim 1:
Sinclair discloses a mirror arrangement (See Fig. 7a) for a magneto-optical trap (the intended use of the mirror arrangement is a not a positive limitation, and as such is not given patentable weight), the mirror arrangement comprising:
a first deflector mirror (inset B);
a second deflector mirror (inset C);
a first combiner mirror (inset A); and
a second combiner mirror (inset D),
the first deflector mirror being arranged to deflect part of a source beam, from a direction along an optical axis of the mirror arrangement to a first deflected direction, in a first plane, towards the first combiner mirror, as a first deflected beam,
the first combiner mirror being arranged to deflect the first deflected beam, in a first orthogonal direction in the first plane which is orthogonal to the direction of the source beam, as a first orthogonal beam,
the second deflector mirror being arranged to deflect part of the source beam, from the direction along the optical axis of the mirror arrangement, to a second deflected direction, in the first plane, towards the second combiner mirror, as a second deflected beam,
the second combiner mirror being arranged to deflect the second deflected beam, in a second orthogonal direction in the first plane which is orthogonal to the direction of the source beam, as a second orthogonal beam,
wherein the second combiner mirror is arranged to deflect the first orthogonal beam as a first re-deflected beam in a direction towards the second deflector mirror, the second deflector mirror is arranged to deflect the first re- deflected beam as part of an outgoing beam in a direction opposing the direction of the source beam, the first combiner mirror is arranged to deflect the second orthogonal beam as a second re-deflected beam in a direction towards the first deflector mirror, and the first deflector mirror is arranged to deflect the second re- deflected beam as part of the outgoing beam, such that the source beam and the outgoing beam form a first counter propagating beam pair in a trap location and the first orthogonal beam and the second orthogonal beam form a second counter propagating beam pair in the trap location which is orthogonal to the first counter propagating beam pair.
Fig. 7a of Sinclar, annotated and inset above, demonstrates the claimed mirror arrangement. The italicized portion of the claim above functionally describes the interaction of the mirror arrangement. Sinclair’s mirror arrangement anticipates the claimed arrangement because its mirrors are arranged in an identical fashion, and as such there is a presumption that they would inherently have the same functional configuration.
Regarding Claim 2:
Sinclair discloses the mirror arrangement according to claim 1, wherein the first deflector mirror and the second deflector mirror are adjacent to one another (inset B and C).
Regarding Claim 3:
Sinclair discloses the mirror arrangement according to claim 2, wherein a cut out section is provided between the first deflector mirror and the second deflector mirror (between inset B and C).
Regarding Claim 4:
Sinclair discloses the mirror arrangement according to claim 3, wherein the cut out section is in the form of hole or a slit (between inset B and C). .
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-10 and 12-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 11 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 10,531,554 B2 discloses a similar MOT.
WYATT STOFFA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2881
/WYATT A STOFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881