CTNF 18/725,871 CTNF 84299 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Amendment Receipt is acknowledged of the amendment filed 6/27/2024. Claims 1-23 have been canceled. Claims 24-43 have been added. No claims have been amended. Claims 24-43 are pending and an action is as follows. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 24-26, 28, 30-31, 33-38, 40 and 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI et al. US 2020/0366363 (hereinafter LI), in view of FLORDELIS et al. US 2022/0345200 (hereinafter FLOR) . Regarding claim 24 , LI teaches an apparatus comprising at least one processor, and at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one transceiver is configured to: ([LI, Fig. 3, ¶62-¶63]LI teaches the repeater shown in Fig. 300 as comprises a controller, interpreted as the claimed processor, and at least one communications component and antenna array, interpreted as the claimed at least one transceiver.) receive access link information from an access point over a backhaul link, wherein the access link information comprises received power of one or more reference signals, or an indication of a spatial filter for an access link; and ([LI, Fig 7. ¶92-¶93, ¶97 and ¶102-¶103] The repeater 140 receives a configuration transmitted from the base station (over a backhaul link) as shown in identified transmission step 705 of Fig. 7. The configuration comprising a first and second beam pairs (shown in Fig. 7 as first beam pair 725 between the base station 110 and repeater 140 and second beam pair 730 between the repeater 140 and UE 120 as noted in ¶102, wherein the first and second beam pairs are indicative of a spatial filter pair; while the configuration may also comprise a measured receiver (Rx) power of the repeater configuration for which the repeater measures reference signals and reports those measurements to the base station as indicated in ¶100-¶101 and ¶103.) the at least one processor is configured to: obtain, based at least partly on the access link information, at least one spatial filter pair for the backhaul link and the access link. (The repeater, with the aid of the controller, performs a receiving step to obtain, based on the previously received configuration information indicating configuration for measured RX power of reference signals and first and second beam pairs, which are the wider beam pairs, a narrower first and second beam pairs for the backhaul between the base station 110 and the repeater 140 (first beam pair) and access link between the repeater 140 and the UE 120 (the second beam pair), wherein the narrower first and second beam pairs are indicative of at least one spatial filter pair for the backhaul link and the access link as claimed [LI, Figs. 7, ¶104]) While the beam pairs as taught by LI are interpreted by the Examiner as being indicative of a spatial filter because the configuration of the beam pairs must have a beam configuration which is a spatial configuration in order to perform a beamforming procedure to produce/receive beam pairs which is achieved through spatial filters, LI does not explicitly teach that the beam pairs are indicative. However, FLOR discloses a beam-pair such as a transmitter-side spatial filter (which may be referred to as a transmit beam or transmission beam) and a receiver-side spatial filter (which may be referred to as a receive beam or reception beam) [FLOR, ¶2] . It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of LI, indicating the repeater in a wireless communication system and a method of operating the repeater to receive information over a backhaul link to configure the repeater to determine its spatial configuration of beam pairs of the backhaul link and access link based in part on reference signals, with the teachings of FLOR, indicating that the beam pairs are spatial filters pairs such as a transmitter-side spatial filter and a receiver-side spatial filter and may also be referred to as transmit/transmission beam and a receive/reception beam respectively. The benefiting result of the combination would have been the ability to provide a suitable link between a transmitter and receiver [FLOR, ¶2] . Regarding claim 36 , LI teaches an apparatus comprising at least one processor, and at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: ([LI, Fig. 7, ¶10, ¶48 and ¶52] The base station 110 is the claimed apparatus that comprises at least on processor and transceiver.) obtain access link information of a repeater, wherein the access link information comprises received power of one or more reference signals, or an indication of a spatial filter for an access link; and ([LI, Fig 7. ¶92-¶93, ¶97 and ¶102-¶103] The repeater 140 receives a configuration transmitted from the base station (over a backhaul link) as shown in identified transmission step 705 of Fig. 7 that has obtained the configuration, interpreted as the claimed access link information. The configuration comprising a first and second beam pairs (shown in Fig. 7 as first beam pair 725 between the base station 110 and repeater 140 and second beam pair 730 between the repeater 140 and UE 120 as noted in ¶102, wherein the first and second beam pairs are indicative of a spatial filter pair; while the configuration may also comprise a measured receiver (Rx) power of the repeater configuration for which the repeater measures reference signals and reports those measurements to the base station as indicated in ¶100-¶101 and ¶103.) wherein the at least one transceiver is configured to: transmit, to the repeater, the access link information over a backhaul link. ([LI, Fig 7. ¶92-¶93, ¶97 and ¶102-¶103] The repeater 140 receives a configuration transmitted from the base station (over a backhaul link) as shown in identified transmission step 705 of Fig. 7 that has obtained the configuration, interpreted as the claimed access link information. The configuration comprising a first and second beam pairs (shown in Fig. 7 as first beam pair 725 between the base station 110 and repeater 140 and second beam pair 730 between the repeater 140 and UE 120 as noted in ¶102, wherein the first and second beam pairs are indicative of a spatial filter pair; while the configuration may also comprise a measured receiver (Rx) power of the repeater configuration for which the repeater measures reference signals and reports those measurements to the base station as indicated in ¶100-¶101 and ¶103.) While the beam pairs as taught by LI are interpreted by the Examiner as being indicative of a spatial filter because the configuration of the beam pairs must have a beam configuration which is a spatial configuration in order to perform a beamforming procedure to produce/receive beam pairs which is achieved through spatial filters, LI does not explicitly teach that the beam pairs are indicative. However, FLOR discloses a beam-pair such as a transmitter-side spatial filter (which may be referred to as a transmit beam or transmission beam) and a receiver-side spatial filter (which may be referred to as a receive beam or reception beam) [FLOR, ¶2] . It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of LI, indicating the repeater in a wireless communication system and a method of operating the base station to transmit information to be received by a repeater information over a backhaul link to configure the repeater to determine its spatial configuration of beam pairs of the backhaul link and access link based in part on reference signals, with the teachings of FLOR, indicating that the beam pairs are spatial filters pairs such as a transmitter-side spatial filter and a receiver-side spatial filter and may also be referred to as transmit/transmission beam and a receive/reception beam respectively. The benefiting result of the combination would have been the ability to provide a suitable link between a transmitter and receiver [FLOR, ¶2] . Regarding claim 43 , LI teaches a method comprising: receiving, by a repeater, access link information from an access point over a backhaul link, wherein the access link information comprises received power of one or more reference signals, or an indication of a spatial filter for an access link; and ([LI, Fig 7. ¶92-¶93, ¶97 and ¶102-¶103] The repeater 140 receives a configuration transmitted from the base station (over a backhaul link) as shown in identified transmission step 705 of Fig. 7. The configuration comprising a first and second beam pairs (shown in Fig. 7 as first beam pair 725 between the base station 110 and repeater 140 and second beam pair 730 between the repeater 140 and UE 120 as noted in ¶102, wherein the first and second beam pairs are indicative of a spatial filter pair; while the configuration may also comprise a measured receiver (Rx) power of the repeater configuration for which the repeater measures reference signals and reports those measurements to the base station as indicated in ¶100-¶101 and ¶103.) obtaining, by the repeater, based at least partly on the access link information, at least one spatial filter pair for the backhaul link and the access link. (The repeater, with the aid of the controller, performs a receiving step to obtain, based on the previously received configuration information indicating configuration for measured RX power of reference signals and first and second beam pairs, which are the wider beam pairs, a narrower first and second beam pairs for the backhaul between the base station 110 and the repeater 140 (first beam pair) and access link between the repeater 140 and the UE 120 (the second beam pair), wherein the narrower first and second beam pairs are indicative of at least one spatial filter pair for the backhaul link and the access link as claimed [LI, Figs. 7, ¶104].) While the beam pairs as taught by LI are interpreted by the Examiner as being indicative of a spatial filter because the configuration of the beam pairs must have a beam configuration which is a spatial configuration in order to perform a beamforming procedure to produce/receive beam pairs which is achieved through spatial filters, LI does not explicitly teach that the beam pairs are indicative. However, FLOR discloses a beam-pair such as a transmitter-side spatial filter (which may be referred to as a transmit beam or transmission beam) and a receiver-side spatial filter (which may be referred to as a receive beam or reception beam) [FLOR, ¶2] . It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of LI, indicating the repeater in a wireless communication system and a method of operating the repeater to receive information over a backhaul link to configure the repeater to determine its spatial configuration of beam pairs of the backhaul link and access link based in part on reference signals, with the teachings of FLOR, indicating that the beam pairs are spatial filters pairs such as a transmitter-side spatial filter and a receiver-side spatial filter and may also be referred to as transmit/transmission beam and a receive/reception beam respectively. The benefiting result of the combination would have been the ability to provide a suitable link between a transmitter and receiver [FLOR, ¶2] . Regarding claim 25 , the combination of LI, in view of FLOR teaches the apparatus according to claim 24, wherein the at least one transceiver is further configured to: receive a first set of reference signals from the access point over the backhaul link with a same spatial filter; and transmit a second set of reference signals to at least one terminal device over the access link with different spatial filters, wherein the second set of reference signals correspond to the first set of reference signals. ([See LI, Fig 7, ¶92-¶97, The repeater 140 receives from the base station 110 reference signals 710 over the backhaul link with a first beam pair, indicative of a same spatial filter. The repeater 140 transmits a second set of reference signals 715 to the UE 120 over the access link with a second beam pair, indicative of different spatial filters, wherein the second set of reference signals correspond to the first set of reference signals as they are part of the configurated resource set configured for beam management.) Regarding claim 26 , the combination of LI, in view of FLOR teaches the apparatus according to claim 25, wherein the access link information comprises received power of the second set of reference signals, or the indication of the spatial filter for the access link; and wherein the at least one spatial filter pair is obtained based at least partly on the access link information and the first set of reference signals. ([LI, Fig 7. ¶92-¶93, ¶97 and ¶102-¶103] The repeater 140 receives a configuration, interpreted as the claimed access link information, transmitted from the base station (over a backhaul link) as shown in identified transmission step 705 of Fig. 7. The configuration comprising a first and second beam pairs (shown in Fig. 7 as first beam pair 725 between the base station 110 and repeater 140 and second beam pair 730 between the repeater 140 and UE 120 as noted in ¶102, wherein the first and second beam pairs are indicative of a spatial filter pair for the access link; wherein the beam pair, indicative of the spatial filter pair, is obtained based at least partly on the configuration received by the repeater as mentioned above, interpreted as the claimed access link information, comprising measured receiver (Rx) power of the repeater configuration for which the repeater measures reference signals and reports those measurements to the base station using the beam pairs as indicated in ¶100-¶101 and ¶103.) Regarding claim 28 , the combination of LI, in view of FLOR teaches the apparatus according to claim 24, wherein the second set of reference signals corresponding to the first set of reference signals comprises: mapping the first set of reference signals to a set of spatial filters used for transmitting the second set of reference signals over the access link, and wherein the at least one spatial filter pair is obtained based at least partly on the mapping. ([LI, ¶82, ¶93 and ¶97] the reference signals 710 are shown as being mapped to the first beam pair and the second beam pair, indicative of a set/pair of spatial filters, that are depicted as being used for transmitting the second set of reference signals 715 over an access link from the repeater 140 to the UE 120 (this correlation between the reference signals and first and second beams is interpreted as the mapping), and wherein the at least one spatial filter pair (shown as the second beam pair 730 on Fig. 7) is obtained based at least partly on the mapping which is disclosed by LI as the identified first and second beam pairs identified according to the beam management procedure which identifies the first and second beam pairs based on reference signals transmitted and received and/or relayed in accordance with the configuration (beam sweeping using the first and second beams pairs in combination as part of the procedure.)) Regarding claim 30 , the combination of LI, in view of FLOR teaches the apparatus according to claim 25, wherein the at least one transceiver is further configured to: transmit a report to the access point over the backhaul link, wherein the report indicates received power of the first set of reference signals. [LI, ¶50-¶51, ¶82, ¶99-¶102 and ¶103 (processor a processor may determine the reference signal received power (RSRP) to be transmitted in reports generated for transmission by the repeater 140 to the base station, interpreted as being over the claimed backhaul link)]. Regarding claim 31 , the combination of LI, in view of FLOR teaches the apparatus according to claim 25, wherein the at least one transceiver is further configured to: receive, over the backhaul link, a backhaul resource configuration, wherein the backhaul resource configuration indicates one or more time-frequency resources used for the first set of reference signals. ([LI, ¶98-¶100] The configured resources between the base station 110 and the repeater 140 are time and frequency resources) Regarding claim 33 , the combination of LI, in view of FLOR teaches the apparatus according to claim 24, wherein the at least one transceiver is further configured to: communicate with the at least one terminal device via the obtained at least one spatial filter pair. ([LI, Fig. 7, Second beam pair 730] The repeater communicates with the UE using an obtained second beam pair as shown in Fig. 7, indicative of a spatial filter) Regarding claim 34 , the combination of LI, in view of FLOR teaches the apparatus according to claim 24, wherein the indication of the spatial filter for the access link comprises one or more spatial filters used over the access link, or a pair of spatial filters between the backhaul link and the access link. ([LI, Fig 7. ¶92-¶93, ¶97 and ¶102-¶103] The configuration received by the repeater 140 is the first beam pair base station 110 and the repeater 140 and second beam pair between the repeater 140 and the UE 120, indicative of a spatial filter pair between the backhaul and the access link respectively.) Regarding claim 35 , the combination of LI, in view of FLOR teaches the apparatus according to claim 24, wherein the one or more reference signals comprise at least one of: channel state information reference signal, CSI-RS, primary synchronization signal, secondary synchronization signal, or tracking reference signal, TRS. [LI, ¶94] Regarding claim 37 , the combination of LI, in view of FLOR teaches the apparatus according to claim 36, wherein the at least one transceiver is further configured to: transmit a first set of reference signals to the repeater over the backhaul link, wherein the first set of reference signals are transmitted with a same spatial filter; [LI, Fig. 7, Steps 705 & 710 (transmitted reference signals to the repeater 140 over the backhaul) and 725 (the first beam pair is used for the transmission of the reference signals which is indicative of the same spatial filter usage)] receive a first set of measurement results indicating received power of the first set of reference signals transmitted over the backhaul link; and ([LI, Fig. 7¶101-¶103] The base station receives a measurement report of the first set of reference signals 710 received at the repeater 140 transmitted from the base station over the backhaul link.) receive a second set of measurement results indicating received power of a second set of reference signals relayed by the repeater over the access link, wherein the second set of reference signals correspond to the first set of reference signals. ([LI, Fig. 7, 715 (second set of reference signals) ¶99-¶101] The UE 120 transmits measurement reports according to the power configuration/instructions regarding the references signals and comprising RSRP. Which are relayed to the base station 110 via the repeater 140. [See LI, Fig 7, ¶92-¶97, The repeater 140 receives from the base station 110 reference signals 710 over the backhaul link with a first beam pair, indicative of a same spatial filter. The repeater 140 transmits a second set of reference signals 715 to the UE 120 over the access link with a second beam pair, indicative of different spatial filters, wherein the second set of reference signals correspond to the first set of reference signals as they are part of the configurated resource set configured for beam management.) Regarding claim 38 , the combination of LI, in view of FLOR teaches the apparatus according to claim 37, wherein the access link information is obtained based at least partly on the first set of measurement results and the second set of measurement results. ([LI, ¶100-¶104] The narrower beam pairs are determined for beam refinement, for configuring the repeater 140 to communicate with the UE 120, during beam management, wherein the beam pairs are indicative of the spatial filter which is access link information, and is based on the measurement results from the repeater 140 and UE 120 first measurement results and the second set of measurement results.) Regarding claim 40 , the combination of LI, in view of FLOR teaches the apparatus according to claim 36, wherein the at least one transceiver is further configured to: transmit, to the repeater, over the backhaul link, a backhaul resource configuration, wherein the backhaul resource configuration indicates one or more time-frequency resources used for the first set of reference signals. ([LI, ¶98-¶100] The base station configures resources by transmitting the configuration to the repeater over the backhaul link between the base station 110 and the repeater 140, wherein the configured resources between the base station 110 and the repeater 140 are time and frequency resources.) Regarding claim 42 , the combination LI, in view of FLOR teaches the apparatus according to claim 36, wherein the one or more reference signals comprise at least one of: channel state information reference signal, CSI-RS, primary synchronization signal, secondary synchronization signal, or tracking reference signal, TRS. [LI, ¶94] Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 27, 29, 32, 39 and 41 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The Examiner has conducted an update search of the available Patent and Non-Patent Literature and was unable to find any prior art which teaches either solely or in combination with another reference the claim limitations of “the apparatus according to claim 24, wherein the at least one transceiver is further configured to: amplify the second set of reference signals with an equal amoun t upon transmitting the second set of reference signals over the access link”, “the apparatus according to claim 24, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: obtain a first set of measurement results indicating received power of the first set of reference signals; obtain, from the access link information, a second set of measurement results indicating received power of the second set of reference signals; and compensate the second set of measurement results based on the first set of measurement results, wherein the at least one spatial filter pair is obtained based at least partly on the compensated second set of measurement results ”, “the apparatus according to claim 24, wherein the at least one transceiver is further configured to: transmit, to the access point, over the backhaul link, capability information, wherein the capability information comprises a capability indication of joint backhaul and access spatial filter refinement”, “the apparatus according to claim 37, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: compensate the second set of measurement results based on the first set of measurement results” and “the apparatus according to claim 36, wherein the at least one transceiver is further configured to: receive, from the repeater, over the backhaul link, capability information, wherein the capability information comprises a capability indication of joint backhaul and access spatial filter refinement”, in combination with all the other claim limitations . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LONNIE V SWEET whose telephone number is (571)270-3622. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Hassan Phillips can be reached at 571-272-3940. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /LONNIE V SWEET/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/725,871 Page 2 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/725,871 Page 3 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/725,871 Page 4 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/725,871 Page 5 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/725,871 Page 6 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/725,871 Page 7 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/725,871 Page 8 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/725,871 Page 9 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/725,871 Page 10 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/725,871 Page 11 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/725,871 Page 12 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/725,871 Page 13 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/725,871 Page 14 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/725,871 Page 15 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/725,871 Page 16 Art Unit: 2467