DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McMillin et al. (US 2002/0042205, hereafter “McMillin”).
Regarding claim 1, McMillin discloses a composition mixture control system (Fig. 1) for an equipment front end module, the composition mixture control system comprising: a manifold (28); a plurality of flow controllers (22, 24, 26) configured to control flow of respective gases to the manifold, wherein the manifold is configured to mix the gases received from the plurality of flow controllers and direct a resultant gas mixture to an enclosure in the equipment front end module (para. [0026]; see how the gases are supplied to 10); and a composition controller (40) configured to control operation of the plurality of flow controllers to adjust a composition in the enclosure to a set target composition comprising the gases (para. [0025] – [0026] and [0030]).
Regarding claim 2, McMillin further discloses the composition mixture control system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of flow controllers comprise a plurality of gas mass flow controllers configured to receive respective gases from a plurality of gas sources. (Fig. 1; para. [0026])
Regarding claim 3, McMillin further discloses the composition mixture control system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of flow controllers comprise an air flow controller configured to control flow of ambient air to the manifold. (note that MPEP 2115 states: "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935). This limitation directed to the type of fluid does not distinguish over McMillin)
Regarding claim 11, McMillin further discloses the composition mixture control system of claim 1, wherein: the gases comprise a first gas and a second gas; the first gas comprises at least one of nitrogen, carbon dioxide and argon; and the second gas comprises at least one of extreme clean dry air and dehumidified air. (MPEP 2115)
Regarding claim 12, McMillin further discloses the composition mixture control system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of flow controllers comprise: a first gas mass flow controller configured to control flow of a first gas to the manifold; a second gas mass flow controller configured to control flow of a second gas to the manifold; and the second gas is different than the first gas. (MPEP 2115)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McMillin in view of Barros et al. (US 2021/0366735, hereafter “Barros”).
Regarding claim 6, McMillin further discloses the composition mixture control system of claim 1, but fails to disclose an exhaust valve controlling flow of gases out of the enclosure, wherein the composition controller is configured to selectively set an opening state of the exhaust valve to adjust at least one of a pressure within the enclosure and a composition in the enclosure to the set target composition.
Barros teaches an exhaust valve (the valve in 216; Fig. 2) controlling flow of gases out of the enclosure, wherein the composition controller is configured to selectively set an opening state of the exhaust valve to adjust at least one of a pressure within the enclosure and a composition in the enclosure to the set target composition. (para. [0025])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the system of McMillin to include an exhaust valve as taught by Barros in order to provide a means to ensure the pressure within the chamber is able to be maintained at the desired pressure. (para. [0025])
Claim(s) 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McMillin in view of Bergman (US 2004/0259370).
Regarding claim 7, McMillin further discloses the composition mixture control system of claim 1, but fails to disclose a vaporizer configured to vaporize a liquid and supply a resulting vapor to the manifold; and a liquid flow controller configured to control flow of the liquid from a liquid source to the vaporizer.
Bergman teaches a vaporizer (61) configured to vaporize a liquid and supply a resulting vapor to the manifold; and a liquid flow controller (84) configured to control flow of the liquid from a liquid source to the vaporizer. (Fig. 4; para. [0032] – [0034])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the system of McMillin to include the vaporize and liquid flow controller of Bergman in order to provide a means to convert some portion of the liquid to a vaper before being delivered to the manifold. (para. [0032])
Regarding claim 8, McMillin in view of Bergman further discloses the composition mixture control system of claim 7, wherein the plurality of flow controllers comprise a gas mass flow controller configured to supply a gas to the vaporizer. (Fig. 4; para. [0032] – [0034])
Regarding claim 9, McMillin in view of Bergman further discloses the composition mixture control system of claim 7, wherein the liquid comprises water. (MPEP 2115)
Regarding claim 10, McMillin in view of Bergman further discloses the composition mixture control system of claim 7, but fails to disclose the combination of wherein the plurality of flow controllers comprise: a first gas mass flow controller configured to control flow of a first gas to the manifold; a second gas mass flow controller configured to control flow of a second gas to the manifold; and the second gas is different than the first gas.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the plurality of flow controllers to comprise a first gas mass flow controller configured to control flow of a first gas to the manifold; a second gas mass flow controller configured to control flow of a second gas to the manifold; and the second gas is different than the first gas since a mere duplication of essential working part of device involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to provide an additional flow controller in case one of the flow controllers fail.
Claim(s) 13-16 and 18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McMillin in view of Senn et al. (US 2018/0358239, hereafter “Senn”).
Regarding claim 13, McMillin further discloses the composition mixture control system of claim 1, but fails to disclose a plurality of sensors configured to monitor parameters related to the composition in at least one of the enclosure and a recirculation duct, wherein the composition controller is configured to control operation of the plurality of flow controllers based on the monitored parameters to adjust flow of the gases to the manifold.
Senn teaches a plurality of sensors (150, 152, 154) configured to monitor parameters related to the composition in at least one of the enclosure (para. [0068]) and a recirculation duct (118), wherein the composition controller is configured to control operation of the plurality of flow controllers based on the monitored parameters to adjust flow of the gases to the manifold. (para. [0068], [0072], [0083])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the system of Senn to include a plurality of sensors and a recirculation duct as taught by Senn in order to provide a means to monitor the conditions of the system to ensure proper conditions are maintained throughout operation. (para. [0068], [0072], [0083])
Regarding claim 14, McMillin in view of Senn further discloses the composition mixture control system of claim 13, wherein the monitored parameters comprise constituent levels of the gases. (para. [0068], [0072], [0083] – as taught by Senn)
Regarding claim 15, McMillin in view of Senn further discloses the composition mixture control system of claim 13, wherein the monitored parameters comprise an oxygen level and a relative humidity level in at least one of the enclosure and a recirculation duct recirculating gases from an output of the equipment front end module to an input of the equipment front end module. (para. [0056] and [0068] - [0074] as taught by Senn)
Regarding claim 16, McMillin in view of Senn further discloses the composition mixture control system of claim 13, wherein the composition controller is configured to at least one of: control operation of the plurality of flow controllers independent of the monitored parameters; and at least one of permit transfer of a substrate through the enclosure and perform a countermeasure based on the monitored parameters. (the system of McMillin is capable of controlling operation of the plurality of flow controllers independent of the monitored parameters)
Regarding claim 18, McMillin further discloses the composition mixture control system of claim 1, further comprising: the enclosure, but fails to disclose a fan filter module connected to the enclosure; and a recirculation duct configured to recirculate gases output from the equipment front end module to the fan filter module, wherein the fan filter module is configured to filter gases received from the manifold prior to the gases being received in the enclosure.
Senn teaches a fan filter module (108) connected to the enclosure; and a recirculation duct (118) configured to recirculate gases output from the equipment front end module to the fan filter module, wherein the fan filter module is configured to filter gases received from the manifold prior to the gases being received in the enclosure. (Fig. 4; para. [0040])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the system of McMillin to include the fan filter module and recirculation duct as taught by Senn in order to provide a means to filter and recirculate the gas flowing into the chamber. (para. [0040] – [0044])
Regarding claim 19, McMillin in view of Senn further discloses the composition mixture control system of claim 18, but fails to disclose a plurality of sensors attached to at least one of the enclosure and the recirculation duct, the composition controller configured to control operation of the flow controllers based on outputs of the plurality of sensors.
Senn also teaches a plurality of sensors (150, 152, 154) attached to at least one of the enclosure and the recirculation duct, the composition controller configured to control operation of the flow controllers based on outputs of the plurality of sensors. (para. [0068], [0072], [0083])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the system of Senn to include a plurality of sensors as taught by Senn in order to provide a means to monitor the conditions of the system to ensure proper conditions are maintained throughout operation. (para. [0068], [0072], [0083])
Regarding claim 20, McMillin further discloses the composition mixture control system of claim 1, further comprising: the enclosure, but fails to disclose a fan filter module connected to the enclosure and configured to filter gases received from the manifold prior to the gases being received in the enclosure, wherein the manifold is connected to the fan filter module and configured to receive gases from the plurality of flow controllers, mix the gases and supplied a mixture of the gases to the fan filter module.
Senn teaches a fan filter module (108) connected to the enclosure and configured to filter gases received from the manifold prior to the gases being received in the enclosure, wherein the manifold is connected to the fan filter module and configured to receive gases from the plurality of flow controllers, mix the gases and supplied a mixture of the gases to the fan filter module. (Fig. 4; para. [0040])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the system of McMillin to include the fan filter module as taught by Senn in order to provide a means to filter the gas flowing into the chamber. (para. [0040])
Regarding claim 21, McMillin in view of Senn further discloses the composition mixture control system of claim 20, but fails to disclose a recirculation duct configured to recirculate gases output from the equipment front end module to the manifold.
Senn also teaches a recirculation duct (118) configured to recirculate gases output from the equipment front end module to the manifold. (Fig. 4; para. [0044])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the system of McMillin to include the recirculation duct as taught by Senn in order to provide a means to recirculate the gas flowing into the chamber. (para. [0044])
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McMillin in view of Matsuura et al. (US 2019/0310002, hereafter “Matsuura”).
Regarding claim 22, McMillin further discloses the composition mixture control system of claim 1, but fails to disclose a temperature sensor configured to detect a temperature within the enclosure or in a recirculation duct, wherein the composition controller is configured to control the plurality of flow controllers to limit a moisture level of the composition in the enclosure to prevent condensation in the enclosure.
Matsuura teaches a temperature sensor (24a) configured to detect a temperature within the enclosure or in a recirculation duct, wherein the composition controller is configured to control the plurality of flow controllers to limit a moisture level of the composition in the enclosure to prevent condensation in the enclosure. (para. [0057])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the system of McMillin to include a temperature sensor and configure the composition controller to control the plurality of flow controllers to limit a moisture level as taught by Matsuura in order to provide a means to ensure the desired conditions are maintained throughout operation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5 and 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/PAUL J GRAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753