DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
This action is responsive to the following communications: the Amendment filed August 14, 2026.
Claims 1 and 3-15 are pending. Claim 1 is amended. Claims 7-15 are new. Claims 1 and 5 are independent.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114 After Final Rejection
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55 received on July 1, 2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang (U.S. 10,210,921) in view of Park et al. (U.S. 2010/0124120; hereinafter “Park”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Hwang teaches a program operation method (see Abstract) of a three-dimensional flash memory including word lines (Fig. 1: WLs) apart from each other and stacked in a vertical direction (see col. 6, ll. 65-67; col. 7, ll. 1-12 and ll. 32-43) while extending in a horizontal direction on a substrate (see col. 6, ll. 65-67; col. 7, ll. 1-12 and ll. 32-43), and vertical channel structures formed to pass through the word lines and extending in the vertical direction (see col. 6, ll. 65-67; col. 7, ll. 1-12 and ll. 32-43), each of the vertical channel structures including a vertical channel pattern extending in the vertical direction and a ferroelectric-based data storage pattern formed to cover an outer wall of the vertical channel pattern, and the data storage pattern and the vertical channel pattern constituting memory cells corresponding to the word lines (see col. 6, ll. 65-67; col. 7, ll. 1-12 and ll. 32-43), the method comprising:
adjusting a value of a program voltage to be applied to a selected word line corresponding to a target memory cell as a target of the program operation from among the word lines by applying an incremental step pulse programming (ISPP) method (see col. 8, ll. 28-52);
applying the adjusted value of the program voltage to the selected word line (see col. 8, ll. 28-52; see also Fig. 5B: Vpgm);
applying a pass voltage to each of unselected word lines except for the selected word line from among the word lines (Fig. 5B: Vpass); and
performing the program operation on the target memory cell in response to the adjusted value of the program voltage being applied to the selected word line and the pass voltage being applied to the unselected word lines (see col. 15, ll. 7-34).
However, Hwang is silent with respect to adjusting the value of the program voltage includes adjusting the value of the program voltage to be applied to the selected word line corresponding to the target memory cell as the target of the program operation from among the word lines, based on a slope in which a voltage pulse increases in the ISPP method.
Park teaches the step of adjusting the value of the program voltage includes adjusting the value of the program voltage to be applied to the selected word line corresponding to the target memory cell as the target of the program operation from among the word lines, based on an amount of change by which a voltage pulse increases or a threshold voltage window in a slope in which a voltage pulse increases in the ISPP method (see page 3, par. 0050).
Since Park and Hwang are from the same field of endeavor, the teachings described by Park would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Hwang.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Park with the teachings of Hwang for the purpose of prevent over-programming, see Park’s page 6, par. 0117.
Regarding claim 3, Hwang in combination with Park teaches the limitations with respect to claim 1.
Furthermore, Hwang teaches wherein the adjusting of the value of the program voltage includes multi-leveling the three-dimensional flash memory by adjusting the value of the program voltage to a plurality of values (see col. 7, ll. 17-31 and ll. 44-62).
Regarding claim 6, Hwang, in combination with Park, teaches the limitations with respect to claim 1.
Furthermore, Hwang teaches wherein the applying of the pass voltage includes adjusting a value of the pass voltage based on stability of a program state that the target memory cell has due to the program operation (see col. 2, ll. 32-34 and col. 15, ll. 45-47).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang and Park as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li et al. (U.S. 9,875,784; hereinafter “Li”).
Regarding claim 4, Hwang, in combination with Park, teaches the limitations with respect to claim 1.
Furthermore, Hwang teaches the applying of the pass voltage includes applying a pass voltage of a positive value (Fig. 9: Vpass).
However, the combination is silent with respect to when a vertical channel pattern of a selected vertical channel structure including the target memory cell is of an N type, the adjusting of the value of the program voltage includes adjusting the value of the program voltage to a positive value.
Similar to Hwang, Li teaches a program operation method of a three-dimensional memory (see cols. 4-5, ll. 65-63 and ll. 1-11).
Furthermore, Li teaches when a vertical channel pattern of a selected vertical channel structure including the target memory cell is of an N type, the adjusting of the value of the program voltage includes adjusting the value of the program voltage to a positive value (see col. 13, ll. 10-16).
Since Li, Park and Hwang are from the same field of endeavor, the teachings described by Li would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Hwang in combination with Park.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Li with the teachings of Hwang in combination with Park for the purpose of improve channel region control and reduce leakage, see Li’s col. 12, ll. 6-7.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 7, there is no teaching or suggestion in the prior art of record to provide the recited step of wherein adjusting the value of the program voltage includes adjusting the value of the program voltage in a region having a large threshold voltage window in the ISPP slope.
With respect to claim 8, there is no teaching or suggestion in the prior art of record to provide the recited step of wherein adjusting the value of the program voltage in a region in which the amount of change, by which a voltage pulse increase, is gradual in the ISPP slope.
Claims 5 and 9-15 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
With respect to independent claim 5, there is no teaching or suggestion in the prior art of record to provide the recited steps of when a vertical channel pattern of a selected vertical channel structure including the target memory cell is of a P type, the adjusting of the value of the program voltage includes adjusting the value of the program voltage to a negative value, and the applying of the pass voltage includes applying a pass voltage of a negative value.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-4 and 6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/Alfredo Bermudez Lozada/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2825