DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
This action is responsive to the following communications: the Amendment filed March 27, 2026.
Claims 1 and 3-6 are pending. Claim 2 is canceled. Claims 1, 3 and 5 are amended. Claims 1 and 5 are independent.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55 received on July 1, 2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang (U.S. 10,210,921) in view of Liikanen et al. (U.S. 2021/0375364; hereinafter “Liikanen”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Hwang teaches a program operation method (see Abstract) of a three-dimensional flash memory including word lines (Fig. 1: WLs) apart from each other and stacked in a vertical direction (see col. 6, ll. 65-67; col. 7, ll. 1-12 and ll. 32-43) while extending in a horizontal direction on a substrate (see col. 6, ll. 65-67; col. 7, ll. 1-12 and ll. 32-43), and vertical channel structures formed to pass through the word lines and extending in the vertical direction (see col. 6, ll. 65-67; col. 7, ll. 1-12 and ll. 32-43), each of the vertical channel structures including a vertical channel pattern extending in the vertical direction and a ferroelectric-based data storage pattern formed to cover an outer wall of the vertical channel pattern, and the data storage pattern and the vertical channel pattern constituting memory cells corresponding to the word lines (see col. 6, ll. 65-67; col. 7, ll. 1-12 and ll. 32-43), the method comprising:
adjusting a value of a program voltage to be applied to a selected word line corresponding to a target memory cell as a target of the program operation from among the word lines by applying an incremental step pulse programming (ISPP) method (see col. 8, ll. 28-52);
applying the adjusted value of the program voltage to the selected word line (see col. 8, ll. 28-52; see also Fig. 5B: Vpgm);
applying a pass voltage to each of unselected word lines except for the selected word line from among the word lines (Fig. 5B: Vpass); and
performing the program operation on the target memory cell in response to the adjusted value of the program voltage being applied to the selected word line and the pass voltage being applied to the unselected word lines (see col. 15, ll. 7-34).
However, Hwang is silent with respect to adjusting the value of the program voltage includes adjusting the value of the program voltage to be applied to the selected word line corresponding to the target memory cell as the target of the program operation from among the word lines, based on a slope in which a voltage pulse increases in the ISPP method.
Liikanen teaches the step of adjusting the value of the program voltage includes adjusting the value of the program voltage to be applied to the selected word line corresponding to the target memory cell as the target of the program operation from among the word lines, based on a slope in which a voltage pulse increases in the ISPP method (see page 6, par. 0054-0055).
Since Liikanen and Hwang are from the same field of endeavor, the teachings described by Liikanen would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Hwang.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Liikanen with the teachings of Hwang for the purpose of improve program time, see Liikanen’s page 2, par. 0022.
Regarding claim 3, Hwang in combination with Liikanen teaches the limitations with respect to claim 1.
Furthermore, Hwang teaches wherein the adjusting of the value of the program voltage includes multi-leveling the three-dimensional flash memory by adjusting the value of the program voltage to a plurality of values (see col. 7, ll. 17-31 and ll. 44-62).
Regarding claim 6, Hwang discloses wherein the applying of the pass voltage includes adjusting a value of the pass voltage based on stability of a program state that the target memory cell has due to the program operation (see col. 2, ll. 32-34 and col. 15, ll. 45-47).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang and Liikanen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li et al. (U.S. 9,875,784; hereinafter “Li”).
Regarding claim 4, Hwang in combination with Liikanen teaches the limitations with respect to claim 1.
Furthermore, Hwang teaches the applying of the pass voltage includes applying a pass voltage of a positive value (Fig. 9: Vpass).
However, the combination is silent with respect to when a vertical channel pattern of a selected vertical channel structure including the target memory cell is of an N type, the adjusting of the value of the program voltage includes adjusting the value of the program voltage to a positive value.
Similar to Hwang, Li teaches a program operation method of a three-dimensional memory (see cols. 4-5, ll. 65-63 and ll. 1-11).
Furthermore, Li teaches when a vertical channel pattern of a selected vertical channel structure including the target memory cell is of an N type, the adjusting of the value of the program voltage includes adjusting the value of the program voltage to a positive value (see col. 13, ll. 10-16).
Since Li, Liikanen and Hwang are from the same field of endeavor, the teachings described by Li would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Hwang in combination with Liikanen.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Li with the teachings of Hwang in combination with Liikanen for the purpose of improve channel region control and reduce leakage, see Li’s col. 12, ll. 6-7.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
With respect to independent claim 5, there is no teaching or suggestion in the prior art of record to provide the recited steps of when a vertical channel pattern of a selected vertical channel structure including the target memory cell is of a P type, the adjusting of the value of the program voltage includes adjusting the value of the program voltage to a negative value, and the applying of the pass voltage includes applying a pass voltage of a negative value.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-4 and 6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Alfredo Bermudez Lozada/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2825