DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsuura et al. JP 2003-037135 A (Applicant supplied translation).
Regarding claim 1, Matsuura discloses:
A semiconductor device (Fig. 6), comprising:
a plating film (301);
a semiconductor element (10) provided on an upper side of the plating film; and
a spacer (13) including a first wire bump (12) and providing a gap between the plating film and the semiconductor element, wherein
a lower surface of the first wire bump does not have contact with the plating film, or a part of the lower surface of the first wire bump located on an outer side of an outer surrounding part of the plating film does not have contact with the plating film.
Regarding claim 5, Matsuura discloses:
further comprising a multilayer plating film (5, 302) provided on the plating film, wherein the lower surface of the first wire bump does not have contact with the plating film, but has contact with the multilayer plating film.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuura, as in claim 1, in view of Hagihara US 2011/0147927 A.
Regarding claim 9, Matsuura does not disclose:
the plating film is a non-electrolytic plating film including nickel and phosphorus, and a concentration of phosphorus is equal to or larger than 5 wt%.
Hagihara discloses a publication from a similar field of endeavor in which:
the plating film (2) is a non-electrolytic plating film including nickel and phosphorus, and a concentration of phosphorus is equal to or larger than 5 wt% (para 0054) (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to employ the material taught by Hagihara for the similar electrode pad of Matsuura since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.In re Lesbin, 125 USPQ 416.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 6-8 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art fails to teach or clearly suggest the limitations of claim 2 stating “further comprising a conductive member provided on a lower side of the plating film, wherein the lower surface of the first wire bump does not have contact with the plating film, but has contact with the conductive member through a through hole provided to the plating film”; of claim 6 stating “further comprising an insulating film provided on the plating film, wherein the lower surface of the first wire bump does not have contact with the plating film, but has contact with the insulating film”; of claim 7 stating “wherein the part of the lower surface of the first wire bump does not have contact with the plating film, and a remaining part of the lower surface of the first wire bump has contact with the plating film”; of claim 8 stating “wherein the spacer further includes a second wire bump connected to the first wire bump via a wire, the lower surface of the first wire bump is located on an outer side of the outer surrounding part of the plating film, and does not have contact with the plating film, and the lower surface of the second wire bump has contact with the plating film”; and of claim 10 stating “wherein the first wire bump is formed after the second wire bump is formed”. In light of these limitations, the prior art fails to anticipate or make obvious the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/ERROL V FERNANDES/Primary Examiner, AU 2893