DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-13 are pending in the current application.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5 ,7, 10-11, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Meyer (US 4849087).
As to claim 1, Meyer discloses a surface treatment apparatus comprising:
A workpiece in a chamber (figure 1: workpiece 12 in deposition apparatus 10);
A flat electrode facing the workpiece that releases target particles to the workpiece (figure 1: target cathode plate 22);
A gas supply pipe installed along an outer periphery of the electrode and has longitudinally arranged gas ejection ports along a longitudinal direction of the pipe (figure 1: gas distribution tubes 47/48 along periphery of cathode 22);
The ports supplying inert or reactive gas for sputtering to the electrode (figure 1: outlets 44; figure 3: supplying argon [inert] and/or oxygen [reactive] gases to supply tubes and outlet ports);
The supply tubes and ports arranged for uniform gas distribution (abstract; col 4 lines 20-31: uniform gas distribution).
As to claim 5 and 10, Meyer discloses a horizontally mounted target [electrode] and gas supply pipe (figure 2: target 22 and supply pipes 47/48).
As to claim 7 and 11, Meyer discloses a sputtering apparatus (abstract).
As to claim 13, Meyer discloses the gas distribution comprises two branches along the periphery of the electrode (figure 1, 3: showing ‘branches’ 44 and 46 from common supply 36 on opposing sides of cathode target 22).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sato (US 20100015811).
As to claims 2-3 and 8 Meyer discloses a uniform gas distribution system, but is silent as to increased diameters of gas ports or changes in port intervals to increase uniformity.
Sato discloses a substrate plasma processing apparatus (abstract) and knowledge in the art that gas flow uniformity through a supply with a plurality of nozzles can be solved by either increasing pitch or hole diameter from upstream to downstream side (paragraph 59).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use increased diameters and/or changes in nozzle pitch, as disclosed by Sato, in the system of Meyer, because this allows for increased gas flow uniformity.
Claim(s) 4 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer in view of Sato, as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Lin (US 20100156300).
As to claims 4 and 9, Meyer and Sato disclose gas introduction systems for processing systems, but are silent as to adjustable nozzles.
Lin discloses a plasma processing system in which gas uniformity is precisely controlled by provided individually adjustable gas supply nozzles (abstract; paragraph 63).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide controllable nozzles, as disclosed by Lin, in the system of Meyer in view of Sato, because this allows for increased control and uniformity.
Claim(s) 6 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Davis (US 20050115823).
As to claim 6, Meyer discloses a sputter deposition system with a substrate, but is silent as to mounting or rotation mechanisms.
Davis discloses a sputter deposition system in which multiple targets and gas supply systems are provided (abstract; figure 1-2) and the substrate is rotatable in a first and second direction to allow deposition uniformity (paragraph 37) and deposition from different sources in sequence (figure 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to allow rotation in multiple directions, including directions parallel to the gas distribution of at least one source, as disclosed by Davis, in the system of Meyer, because this allows for increased uniformity and deposition from multiple sources in a single chamber with a disc or plate substrate.
As to claim 12, Meyer discloses a sputtering apparatus (abstract).
Conclusion
/JASON BERMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794