Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
In Claim 5, lines 2-3, “the at least one flat suction cup section is connected to at least one flow sensor, at least one pressure sensor and/or at least one valve”.
In Claim 13, lines 2-3, “at least one air pressuring means connected to the air-permeable cavities”.
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 8-9, and 12-13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 2 of Claims 2, 8, and 9, “the lifting device” should read ---the vacuum lifting device--- for consistency.
In line 2 of Claim 12 and lines 3-4 of Claim 13, “air-permeable cavities” should read ---one or more air-permeable cavities”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“at least one air pressuring means” in line 2 of Claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5, recites the limitation "the at least one flat suction cup section" in line 2. How does the “at least one flat suction cup section” in line 2 of claim 5 relate to the “at least one three-dimensional suction cup section” in lines 1-2 of claim 1? Are there two different suction cup sections being claimed? Suggestion to change “the at least one flat suction cup section” to read --- the at least one three-dimensional suction cup section---. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9, recites the limitation "the surface cover" in line 4. How does the “surface cover” in line 4 of claim 9 relate to the “at least one flat surface cover” in line 3 of claim 1? Are there two different surface covers being claimed? Suggestion to change “the surface cover” to read --- the at least one flat surface cover---. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10, line 1 recites “a vacuum lifting device” – however line 1 of Claim 1 already set forth “a vacuum lifting device” – therefore it is unclear if the second recitation is meant to refer to the first recitation or introduce an additional vacuum lifting device. For purposes of examination, the second recitation is being interpreted as “the vacuum lifting device”.
Claim 10, line 3 recites “an object” – however line 4 of Claim 1 already set forth an “object” – therefore it is unclear if the second recitation is meant to refer to the first recitation or introduce an additional object. For purposes of examination, the second recitation is being interpreted as “the object”.
Claim 14, line 1 recites “A support element” – however line 2 of Claim 11 already set forth “a support element” – therefore it is unclear if the second recitation is meant to refer to the first recitation or introduce an additional support element. For purposes of examination, the second recitation is being interpreted as “The support element”.
Claim 14, line 1 recites “a vacuum lifting arrangement” – however line 1 of Claim 10 already set forth “a vacuum lifting arrangement” – therefore it is unclear if the second recitation is meant to refer to the first recitation or introduce an additional vacuum lifting arrangement. For purposes of examination, the second recitation is being interpreted as “the vacuum lifting arrangement”.
Claim 15, line 2 recites “a vacuum lifting device” – however line 1 of Claim 1 already set forth “a vacuum lifting device” – therefore it is unclear if the second recitation is meant to refer to the first recitation or introduce an additional vacuum lifting device. For purposes of examination, the second recitation is being interpreted as “the vacuum lifting device”.
Regarding Claim 13, claim limitation “at least one air pressuring means” in line 2 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
No association between the structure and the function can be found in the specification.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 11-14 are rejected because they are dependents of Claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Anderson (WO2021163003A1).
Regarding claim 1, Anderson discloses a vacuum lifting device (100; Figures 1-6D) comprising at least one three-dimensional suction cup section (130) defining an inner suction volume (126) and at least one flat surface cover (140), wherein the at least one flat surface cover (140) is configured to cover a portion of a surface of a lifted object (160) in a cover area surrounding the at least one three-dimensional suction cup section (130), wherein the at least one flat surface cover (140) extends from an edge of the at least one three-dimensional suction cup section (130) around the at least one three-dimensional suction cup section (130; Figures 1, 6D, and 7)
Regarding claim 2, Anderson discloses wherein the lifting device (100) comprises a plurality of suction cup sections (suction cups 130; Figures 1-2), wherein the plurality of suction cup sections is formed by at least one mat-shaped cover element (flexible membrane 140)
Regarding claim 3, Anderson discloses wherein the at least one flat surface cover (140) is at least partly flexible (¶0037).
Regarding claim 4, Anderson discloses wherein the at least one flat surface cover (140) comprises a flat or a structured surface for covering the surface of the lifted object (160) to be lifted (Figures 6B-6C).
Regarding claim 5, Anderson discloses wherein the at least one flat suction cup section (130) is connected to at least one valve (128; Figure 2).
Regarding claim 6, Anderson discloses wherein the at least one flat surface cover (140) comprises one channel (Figure 1) communicating with the inner suction volume (126), wherein the one channel extends through a portion of the cover area (channel opening for each suction cup 130 extends through the flexible membrane 140).
Regarding claim 8, Anderson discloses wherein the lifting device (100) comprises at least one elongated air-guiding structure (air guiding port and valve 128; Figure 2) communicating with the inner suction volume (126)
Regarding claim 9, Anderson discloses wherein the lifting device (100) comprises a plurality of air-guiding structures (air guiding ports and valves 128; Figure 2), wherein the plurality of air guiding structures are arranged in parallel to each other, or wherein the air guiding structures form at least a part of a frame structure (110) at least sectionally extending vertically to the at least one flat surface cover (140).
Regarding claim 10, Anderson discloses a vacuum lifting arrangement comprising the vacuum lifting device (100) and a support element (162; Figure 6A) comprising a support surface for supporting an object (160) to be lifted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson in view of Wennberg (US20060034968A1).
Regarding claim 7, Anderson discloses the above vacuum lifting device, but fails to teach wherein the inner suction volume is at least partly filled with an air permeable material.
Wennberg teaches a similar vacuum lifting device and further teaches wherein the inner suction volume (inner volume of body 5; Figure 1) is at least partly filled with an air permeable material (17). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vacuum lifting device of Anderson to include the air permeable material as taught by Wennberg in order to counteract the lifted object to prevent unwanted deformation of the surface of the object.
Claim(s) 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson in view of Duclos (US20170050393A1).
Regarding claims 11-13, Anderson discloses the above vacuum lifting device, but fails to teach
wherein the support element comprises one or more air-permeable cavities allowing for a passage of air through the support element into the object arranged on the support surface;
wherein the air-permeable cavities are formed by at least one layer of an at least partly air-permeable and/or porous material of the support surface, by one or more grooves in the support surface and/or by one or more through-holes in the support surface of the support element;
at least one air pressuring means connected to the air-permeable cavities and configured for providing pressurized air to the air-permeable cavities.
Duclos teaches a similar vacuum lifting device and further teaches
wherein the support element (50; Figures 12-13) comprises one or more air-permeable cavities (¶0044; vacuum/air blow off outlets; air flow indicated by arrows in Figures 12-13) allowing for a passage of air through the support element (50) into the object (42, 545) arranged on the support surface (top surface of 50);
wherein the air-permeable cavities (¶0044) are formed by at least one layer of an at least partly air-permeable and/or porous material of the support surface (top surface of 50), by one or more through-holes in the support surface of the support element (50);
at least one air pressuring means (¶0044,0068; air pressure source) connected to the air-permeable cavities and configured for providing pressurized air to the air-permeable cavities. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vacuum lifting device of Anderson to include the support element and air pressuring means as taught by Duclos in order to reduce sticking and help release the object from the support element onto the vacuum lifting device.
Regarding claim 14, Anderson discloses the above vacuum lifting device and further teaches a support element (162) for a vacuum lifting arrangement.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson in view of Mukherjee (WO2021239954A1).
Regarding claim 15, Anderson discloses a method for lifting a preform element (object 160) using the vacuum lifting device (100) or vacuum lifting arrangement, but fails to teach lifting a preform element forming at least a section of a wind turbine blade.
Mukherjee teaches a similar vacuum lifting device and further teaches lifting a preform element (75; Figures 2-8) forming at least a section of a wind turbine blade (2; Abstract; page 10, lines 4-10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vacuum lifting device of Anderson to include lifting a preform element forming a wind turbine blade as taught by Mukherjee in order to arrange preforms with quick and easy handling during manufacturing of the wind turbine blade.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional references listed on form PTO-892 are cited for their relevance to the disclosed invention and demonstration of the state of the art.
/HENRIX SOTO/Examiner, Art Unit 3654