DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 06/01/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to (Rejection of Claims under 35 U.S.C. 4103/A); Applicant argues in bullet A, pages 1-3 of Remarks filed on 06/01/2026. In accordance with broadest reasonable interpretation, the Examiner respectfully disagrees because the Applicant's amendments do not overcome the prior art. Therefore, the rejection of claims 1-2, the objection to claims 3-8, and the allowance of claim 9 are all maintained. However;
When it comes to (New Claim 10/B) of the Applicant’s argument in bullet B, page 4 of Remarks filed on 06/01/2026, the Examiner respectfully agrees because the Applicant's amendments do overcome the prior art. Thus, claim 10 is allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Voutsas (US Publication No. 20150029229) in view of Shin et al (US Publication No. 20170196102).
Regarding claim 1, Voutsas discloses a winding-type display device (i.e., such as 400; for instance, the display 400 comprises a case 402 including a first exit slot 404; see for example fig. 4A, para. [0031]- [0034]), comprising: a light-emitting device that is flexible (i.e., such as 406; for instance, the first flexible electronic screen 406 has an interior edge 408, a width 410, an input on line 412 to accept electronic image signals, and a surface 414 to display images; see for example fig. 4A, para. [0031]- [0034]) and has a light-emitting surface (i.e., such as 414; for instance, the input on line 412 to accept electronic image signals, and a surface 414 to display images; see for example fig. 4A, para. [0031]- [0034]); a first roller (i.e., such as 416; for instance, the first screen extension mechanism 416, shown as a cylinder, is embedded in the case 402 and connected to the first flexible electronic screen interior edge 408; see for example fig. 4A, para. [0031]- [0034]) configured to (i.e., such as the roller 416 is configured to; for instance, the first screen extension mechanism 416 is configured to permit the extension of the first flexible electronic screen 406, through the first exit slot 404, in a plurality of exposed widths; see for example fig. 4A, para. [0031]- [0034]) further wind (i.e., such as the roller 416 is configured to further wind; for instance, the first screen extension mechanism 416 is configured to permit the extension of the first flexible electronic screen 406, through the first exit slot 404, in a plurality of exposed widths; see for example fig. 4A, para. [0031]- [0034]) the light-emitting device (i.e., such as 406; for instance, the first flexible electronic screen 406 has an interior edge 408, a width 410, an input on line 412 to accept electronic image signals, and a surface 414 to display images; see for example fig. 4A, para. [0031]- [0034]); a storage box (i.e., such as 402; for instance, the display 400 comprises a case 402 including a first exit slot 404; see for example fig. 4A, para. [0031]- [0034]) storing the first roller (i.e., such as 416; for instance, the first screen extension mechanism 416, shown as a cylinder, is embedded in the case 402 and connected to the first flexible electronic screen interior edge 408; see for example fig. 4A, para. [0031]- [0034]); a correction data obtaining device (i.e., such as 424; for instance, the image scaler 418 accepts screen width measurements from an optical reader 424, which may detect marks on the roller or on the flexible electronic screen 406; see for example fig. 4A, para. [0031]- [0034]) configured to (i.e., such as the optical reader 424 is configured to; for instance, the optical reader 424 is configured to read the screen width measurement corresponding to an exposed width of the first flexible electronic screen and reports these measurements the image scaler 418, also, the optical reader 424 is configured to detect marks on the roller or on the flexible electronic screen 406; see for example fig. 4A, para. [0031]- [0034]) obtain correction data (i.e., such as the data of screen width measurements; for instance, the data of screen width measurements is to be sent to the image scaler 418; see for example fig. 4A, para. [0031]- [0034]) from the storage box (i.e., such as 402; for instance, the display 400 comprises a case 402 including a first exit slot 404; see for example fig. 4A, para. [0031]- [0034]) when the light-emitting device (i.e., such as 406; for instance, the first flexible electronic screen 406 has an interior edge 408, a width 410, an input on line 412 to accept electronic image signals, and a surface 414 to display images; see for example fig. 4A, para. [0031]- [0034]) is either wound (i.e., such as wound/rolling; for instance, to keep the flexible electronic screen 406 tightly wound around the interior moving roller 506 and to facilitate the operations of rolling and unrolling; see for example fig. 15, para. [0059]) or released (i.e., such as released/unrolling; for instance, the pulling/pushing end of the flexible electronic screen 406 may equipped with a sort of handle (1000, see FIG. 10A) that provides for a robust and comfortable means of conducting these operations; see for example fig. 10A, para. [0050]), the correction data (i.e., such as the data of screen width measurements; for instance, the data of screen width measurements is to be sent to the image scaler 418; see for example fig. 4A, para. [0031]- [0034]) being used for correcting (i.e., such as correcting the image's resolution; for instance, the high resolution flexible electronic screen may be smaller in size. In this particular aspect, the large flexible electronic screen 406 is optimized for document (e.g. book) reading (hence may be monochrome), whereas the small flexible electronic screen 802 is optimized for color and motion (e.g. video and photo viewer, video-phone, etc.). For example, flexible electronic screen 406 can be electrophoretic, whereas the second flexible electronic screen 802 can be organic light emitting diode (OLED). Such a display permits multitasking, with the two flexible electronic screens functioning in "collaboration" mode, or in "independent" mode; see for example fig. 11, para. [0047]) the light-emitting device (i.e., such as 406; for instance, the first flexible electronic screen 406 has an interior edge 408, a width 410, an input on line 412 to accept electronic image signals, and a surface 414 to display images; see for example fig. 4A, para. [0031]- [0034]); a correction device (i.e., such as 418; for instance, the image scaler 418, which also may be referred to as a display controller, has an input on line 420 to accept a screen width measurement corresponding to an exposed width of the first flexible electronic screen, and an output on line 412 to supply electronic image signals scaled to the screen width measurement, to form an image on an exposed section 422 of the first flexible electronic screen; see for example fig. 4A, para. [0031]- [0034]) configured (i.e., such as the image scaler 418 is configured to enhance the picture resolution in terms of size, luminance, brightness, illumination characteristics, etc., that is displayed via the flexible electronic screen 406; for instance, regardless of whether the front-plane is laminated on top of the backplane or becomes integrated within the backplane structure, the backplane is the system that enables localized control of the light characteristics and, hence, is responsible for the formation of actual shapes and forms on the display surface. To that end, the backplane comprises a plurality of replicating units that form "pixels". The size of the pixel is fundamentally related to the resolution of the display, or its ability to accurately reproduce fine features. The higher the resolution, the more accurately an image can be displayed; see for example Table 1, para. [0056]- [0057]) to correct a light luminance (i.e., such as the image scaler 418 is configured to correct the light luminance and to enhance the picture resolution in terms of size, luminance, brightness, illumination characteristics, etc., that is displayed via the flexible electronic screen 406; for instance, regardless of whether the front-plane is laminated on top of the backplane or becomes integrated within the backplane structure, the backplane is the system that enables localized control of the light characteristics and, hence, is responsible for the formation of actual shapes and forms on the display surface. To that end, the backplane comprises a plurality of replicating units that form "pixels". The size of the pixel is fundamentally related to the resolution of the display, or its ability to accurately reproduce fine features. The higher the resolution, the more accurately an image can be displayed; see for example Table 1, para. [0056]- [0057]) of the light-emitting device (i.e., such as 406; for instance, the first flexible electronic screen 406 has an interior edge 408, a width 410, an input on line 412 to accept electronic image signals, and a surface 414 to display images; see for example fig. 4A, para. [0031]- [0034]), in accordance with the correction data (i.e., such as the data of screen width measurements; for instance, the data of screen width measurements is to be sent to the image scaler 418; see for example fig. 4A, para. [0031]- [0034]) obtained by (i.e., such as the optical reader 424 is configured to; for instance, the optical reader 424 is configured to read the screen width measurement corresponding to an exposed width of the first flexible electronic screen and reports these measurements the image scaler 418, also, the optical reader 424 is configured to detect marks on the roller or on the flexible electronic screen 406; see for example fig. 4A, para. [0031]- [0034]) the correction data obtaining device (i.e., such as 424; for instance, the image scaler 418 accepts screen width measurements from an optical reader 424, which may detect marks on the roller or on the flexible electronic screen 406; see for example fig. 4A, para. [0031]- [0034]).
Voutsas does not explicitly disclose and a second roller disposed in the storage box, and configured to wind the light-emitting device, wound by the first roller, when the correction data obtaining device obtains the correction data for correcting the light-emitting device.
Shin discloses an electronic device (i.e., see for example fig. 6, para. [0042]- [0044]); wherein a second roller (i.e., such as the guide roller 87 may include first to fourth guide rollers 87a to 87d; see for example fig. 6, para. [0040]) disposed in the storage box (i.e., such as the housing 30; see for example fig. 6, para. [0040]), and configured to wind (i.e. such as configured to wind 20; for instance, the guide roller 87 may include first to fourth guide rollers 87a to 87d. The first guide roller 87a may be positioned opposite an entrance of the housing 30, to which the display panel 20 is exposed. The first guide roller 87a of the guide rollers 87a to 87d may be closest to a location, at which the display panel 20 is unrolled from the panel roller 156. The second to fourth guide rollers 87b to 87d may be positioned in the order named in a clockwise direction based on the first guide roller 87a; see for example fig. 6, para. [0040]) the light-emitting device (i.e., such as the display panel 20; see for example fig. 6, para. [0040]), wound by the first roller (i.e., such as the panel roller 156; see for example fig. 6, para. [0040]), when the correction data obtaining device (i.e., such as the Hall sensor 271; see for example fig. 9, para. [0054]) obtains the correction data (i.e., such as the location correction data; for instance, the hall sensor may determine a portion (or a location) of the display panel 20, that will be activated, through distances between lines passing through the hall sensor. Namely, a portion of the display panel 20 to be activated may be determined through time intervals of magnetic fields sensed by the hall sensor; see for example fig. 9, para. [0061]) for correcting (i.e., such as correcting via the location correction data; for instance, the hall sensor may determine a portion (or a location) of the display panel 20, that will be activated, through distances between lines passing through the hall sensor. Namely, a portion of the display panel 20 to be activated may be determined through time intervals of magnetic fields sensed by the hall sensor; see for example fig. 9, para. [0061]) the light-emitting device (i.e., such as the display panel 20; see for example fig. 6, para. [0040]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the second roller in Voutsas, as taught by Shin, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards improving the rolling mechanism of the LED screen.
Regarding claim 2, Voutsas in view of Shin and the teachings of Voutsas as modified by Shin have been discussed above.
Shin further discloses the electronic device (i.e., see for example fig. 6, para. [0042]- [0044]); further comprising a forwarding mechanism (i.e., such as the forwarding mechanism executed by the inner frame 154; for instance, the display panel 20 may be rolled on the panel roller 156. Hence, the panel roller 156 may rotate. In the electronic device 100 according to the embodiment of the disclosure, the outer frame 152 of the panel roller 156 may rotate, and the inner frame 154 of the panel roller 156 may be fixed. Namely, the outer frame 152 may not be coupled with the inner frame 154. The outer frame 152 may rotate on the inner frame 154. Because the inner frame 154 does not rotate when the display panel 20 is rolled on the panel roller 156, the electronic parts inside the inner frame 154 may stably operate. Further, the inner frame 154 may be fixed and may be a rotation shaft of the outer frame 152; see for example fig. 6, para. [0084]) configured to move (i.e., such as configured to move panel 20; for instance; for instance, the inner frame 154 does not rotate when the display panel 20 is rolled on the panel roller 156, the electronic parts inside the inner frame 154 may stably operate; see for example fig. 6, para. [0084]), in the storage box (i.e., such as the housing 30; see for example fig. 6, para. [0040]), the light-emitting device (i.e., such as the display panel 20; see for example fig. 6, para. [0040]) between the first roller (i.e., such as the panel roller 156; see for example fig. 6, para. [0040]) and the second roller (i.e., such as the guide roller 87 may include first to fourth guide rollers 87a to 87d; see for example fig. 6, para. [0040]), wherein the forwarding mechanism (i.e., such as the forwarding mechanism executed by the inner frame 154; for instance, the display panel 20 may be rolled on the panel roller 156. Hence, the panel roller 156 may rotate. In the electronic device 100 according to the embodiment of the disclosure, the outer frame 152 of the panel roller 156 may rotate, and the inner frame 154 of the panel roller 156 may be fixed. Namely, the outer frame 152 may not be coupled with the inner frame 154. The outer frame 152 may rotate on the inner frame 154. Because the inner frame 154 does not rotate when the display panel 20 is rolled on the panel roller 156, the electronic parts inside the inner frame 154 may stably operate. Further, the inner frame 154 may be fixed and may be a rotation shaft of the outer frame 152; see for example fig. 6, para. [0084]) forwards the light-emitting device (i.e., such as the display panel 20; see for example fig. 6, para. [0040]): from the first roller (i.e., such as the panel roller 156; see for example fig. 6, para. [0040]) to the second roller (i.e., such as the guide roller 87 may include first to fourth guide rollers 87a to 87d; see for example fig. 6, para. [0040]) when the correction data obtaining device (i.e., such as the Hall sensor 271; see for example fig. 9, para. [0054]) starts to obtain (i.e., such as the Hall sensor 271 starts sensing portions of the screen 20; see for example fig. 9, para. [0054]) the correction data (i.e., such as the location correction data; for instance, the hall sensor may determine a portion (or a location) of the display panel 20, that will be activated, through distances between lines passing through the hall sensor. Namely, a portion of the display panel 20 to be activated may be determined through time intervals of magnetic fields sensed by the hall sensor; see for example fig. 9, para. [0061]) for correcting (i.e., such as correcting via the location correction data; for instance, the hall sensor may determine a portion (or a location) of the display panel 20, that will be activated, through distances between lines passing through the hall sensor. Namely, a portion of the display panel 20 to be activated may be determined through time intervals of magnetic fields sensed by the hall sensor; see for example fig. 9, para. [0061]) the light-emitting device (i.e., such as the display panel 20; see for example fig. 6, para. [0040]); and from the second roller (i.e., such as the guide roller 87 may include first to fourth guide rollers 87a to 87d; see for example fig. 6, para. [0040]) to the first roller (i.e., such as the panel roller 156; see for example fig. 6, para. [0040]) after the correction data obtaining device (i.e., such as the Hall sensor 271; see for example fig. 9, para. [0054]) finishes obtaining (i.e., such as the Hall sensor 271 finishes sensing portions of the screen 20; see for example fig. 9, para. [0054]) the correction data (i.e., such as the location correction data; for instance, the hall sensor may determine a portion (or a location) of the display panel 20, that will be activated, through distances between lines passing through the hall sensor. Namely, a portion of the display panel 20 to be activated may be determined through time intervals of magnetic fields sensed by the hall sensor; see for example fig. 9, para. [0061]) for correcting (i.e., such as correcting via the location correction data; for instance, the hall sensor may determine a portion (or a location) of the display panel 20, that will be activated, through distances between lines passing through the hall sensor. Namely, a portion of the display panel 20 to be activated may be determined through time intervals of magnetic fields sensed by the hall sensor; see for example fig. 9, para. [0061]) the light-emitting device (i.e., such as the display panel 20; see for example fig. 6, para. [0040]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, Voutsas in view of Shin teaches the invention set forth above. However, Neither Voutsas nor Shin particularly teaches wherein the forwarding mechanism includes: a fastening unit including a magnetic material provided on a distal end portion of the light-emitting device; and an electromagnet attached to the second roller, and configured to fasten the fastening unit to a surface of the second roller when a current is applied to the electromagnet.
Hence claim 3 will be deemed allowable if rewritten in an independent form.
Regarding claim 4, Voutsas in view of Shin teaches the invention set forth above. However, Neither Voutsas nor Shin particularly teaches wherein the correction data obtaining device is a light-emission-information reading device configured to read, in the storage box, light-emission information from the light-emitting device as the correction data, and the correction device corrects the light luminance of the light-emitting device in accordance with the light-emission information, from the light-emitting device, read by the light-emission-information reading device.
Hence claim 4 will be deemed allowable if rewritten in an independent form.
Claims 5-6 depend on objected claim 4, consequently claims 5-6 will also be deemed allowable.
Regarding claim 7, Voutsas in view of Shin teaches the invention set forth above. However, Neither Voutsas nor Shin particularly teaches wherein the storage box has a light-shielding function and a sound-insulating function so that light and sound do not leak outside.
Hence claim 7 will be deemed allowable if rewritten in an independent form.
Claim 8 depends on objected claim 7, consequently claim 8 will also be deemed allowable.
Claims 9-10 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 9, Voutsas (US Publication No. 20150029229) in view of Shin et al (US Publication No. 20170196102) substantially teaches the claim limitations as indicated in claim 1. However, neither Voutsas nor Shin teaches or suggests a method for correction performed by a winding-type display device, the method comprising: winding a light-emitting device, that is flexible and has a light-emitting surface, around a first roller in a storage box, with the light-emitting surface facing outward; forwarding an end portion of the light-emitting device, wound by the first roller, to a second roller provided in the storage box; winding the light-emitting device by the second roller to which the end portion of the light-emitting device is forwarded; detecting, during the winding by the second roller, light-emission information by a light-emission-information reading device from the light-emitting surface of the light-emitting device; and correcting light luminance of the light-emitting device in accordance with the light-emission information read by the light-emission-information reading device.
Regarding claim 10, Voutsas (US Publication No. 20150029229) in view of Shin et al (US Publication No. 20170196102) substantially teaches the claim limitations as indicated in claim 1. However, neither Voutsas nor Shin teaches or suggests a winding-type display device, comprising: a light-emitting device that is flexible and has a light-emitting surface; a first roller configured to wind the light-emitting device; a storage box storing the first roller; a correction data obtaining device configured to obtain correction data from the storage box when the light-emitting device is either wound or released, the correction data being used for correcting the light-emitting device; a correction device configured to correct a light luminance of the light-emitting device, in accordance with the correction data obtained by the correction data obtaining device; and a second roller disposed in the storage box and configured to further wind the light-emitting device wound by the first roller when the correction data obtaining device obtains the correction data for correcting the light-emitting device, wherein: the correction data obtaining device is a light-emission-information reading device configured to read, in the storage box, light-emission information from the light-emitting device as the correction data, and the correction device corrects the light luminance of the light-emitting device in accordance with the Light-emission information from the light-emitting device read by the light-emission-information reading device.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUAAMAR QAHTAN AL-TAWEEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838