DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-11 have been examined.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 12-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by BRUGGESSER (US 20140116371 A1).
Re 1, BRUGGESSER teaches of an injection molding machine system comprising:
an injection molding machine (See abstract, and Fig. 1);
a mold (6, 7) provided in the injection molding machine;
a heater device (26); and
wherein the mold is configured such that one mold half is slidable relative to the other mold half and is configured to clamp at two or more mold clamping positions including a first mold clamping position and a second mold clamping position,
(see molds 6, 7, Figs. 1 and 2, see first and second clamping positions)
wherein the one mold half has at least one one-side recessed portion in which the pressing device is provided, and the other mold half has at least one other-side recessed portion,
(See Figs. 1 and 2, see the products formed in the recessed cavities, see housing parts 20, 21)
wherein when the mold is clamped in the first mold clamping position,
at least one primary molding cavity is formed by the one-side recessed portion, and at least one primary molding cavity is formed by the other-side recessed portion,
(See Fig. 1, first clamping position and the primary molding cavities formed on the recessed cavities on the molds)
wherein when the mold is closed or clamped in the second mold clamping position, a secondary molding cavity is formed by the one-side recessed portion and the other-side recessed portion, wherein the primary molding cavity is configured to mold a primary molded article having a bonding end surface by injection molding, wherein the heater device is configured to melt the bonding end surface of the primary molded article placed in the one-side recessed portion and the bonding end surface of the primary molded article placed in the other-side recessed portion, and wherein the pressing device is configured to press, in the secondary molding cavity, the primary molded article having the molten bonding end surface and placed in the one-side recessed portion to fuse with the primary molded article having the molten bonding end surface and placed in the other-side recessed portion.
(See Fig. 6 of the second clamping position that combine the bonding ends of the articles together, see Fig. 5 of the heater device that melts the bonding end surfaces)
(See Figs 1-9, wherein, the machines are moved into the different positions from clamping positions to heating to pressing for bonding of the elements)
Wherein regarding “a presser device”, the different positions of the molds to be moved is seen as being taught by BRUGESSER, particularly as seen by the mold halves that moves into position, particularly when the molds press the mold articles together as seen in Fig. 6 of BRUGGESSER, see arrows 30 of the movement of the mold bodies 6, 7 towards another, see [0044], and pressed against each other.
Re 2 (upon 1), wherein the heater device includes a heater configured to emit an infrared ray to melt the bonding end surface in a non-contact manner.
(See teaching by BRUGGESSER that teaches of a infrared radiator for infrared radiation for the bonding/welding step, see [0017-0018].)
Re 3 (upon 1), wherein the one mold half is linearly slidable with respect to the other mold half, and the mold is clamped at two or more mold clamping positions including the first mold clamping position and the second mold clamping position, depending on a sliding position.
(See the sliding step positioning between Figs. 2-3)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BRUGGESSER as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of GAUDIN (US 2016/0221070 A1).
Re 4 (upon 1), wherein the one mold half is rotationally slidable with respect to the other mold half, and the mold is clamped at two or more mold clamping positions including the first mold clamping position and the second mold clamping position, depending on a rotation position.
BRUGGESSER does not teach of the mold half being rotationally slidable and clamping positions depending on rotation position.
The GAUDIN reference teaches of known mold halves that clamp into position and includes a rotational sliding of the mold half, see Figs. 1-12, see first and second platens 4, 5 of the injection mold 1 and the first and second mold bodies 2, 3, see [0059-0060]. The first platen being rotated to cause the half pieces 101 to move from the injection station P1 to the welding station P2 and the complementary half-piece 102 also being moved and thereby allowing for half pieces 101, 102 are positioned facing each other, see [0067]. The advantage allowing for several manufacturing cycles to be carried out simultaneously, see [0038-0041] and optimize manufacturing efficiency.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified BRUGGESSER with the rotational slidable mold halves as taught by GAUDIN allows for operating manufacturing cycles simultaneously that allows for optimizing manufacturing efficiency.
Re 8 (upon 1), wherein the injection molding machine includes three or more mold platens to be clamped together, and wherein any two adjacent mold platens are each provided with the mold.
(See teaching by GAUDIN of the plural mold platens that allows for clamping together, see Figs. 6 and 7.)
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BRUGGESSER as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of MIYABE (US 20100155981 A1).
Re 5 (upon 1), wherein the one-side recessed portion is formed in a slide core stored in a core storage hole opened in the one mold half, and wherein the slide core is configured to be driven by the pressing device in a direction perpendicular to a parting line of the mold.
The BRUGGESSER fails to teach of the slide core in one mold half.
MIYABE teaches of a slide core 3 having slide members 72a, 72b that runs parallel to the parting line, see Fig. 4-5, and having tapered surfaces, see 73a, 73b that allow for sliding contact. Such a feature located in a mold is known in the molding arts to accommodate for mold cavity dimensions that one skilled in the art would recognize and incorporate the feature into the mold of the BRUGGESSER to accommodate the mold cavity dimensions during operations.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the mold of BRUGGESSER with the slide core of MIYABE to accommodate the desired mold cavity dimensions during mold operations.
Re 6 (upon 5), wherein the pressing device includes a slide member configured to slide parallel to the parting line of the mold, and wherein a back surface of the slide core and a front surface of the slide member are respectively formed into tapered surfaces, and the tapered surfaces allow for sliding contact with each other.
(See MIYABE teaching above regarding the slide member with the parallel to the parting line, and of the tapered surfaces.)
Re 7 (upon 5), wherein the pressing device is an ejector rod, and wherein the slide core is configured to be driven by the ejector rod.
(See teaching by MIYABE of the screw shaft 71 which acts as the ejector rod.)
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BRUGGESSER as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of OKUNISHI (US 20220161469 A1).
Re 5 (upon 1), wherein the one-side recessed portion is formed in a slide core stored in a core storage hole opened in the one mold half, and wherein the slide core is configured to be driven by the pressing device in a direction perpendicular to a parting line of the mold.
The BRUGGESSER fails to teach of the slide core in one mold half.
OKUNISHI teaches of a slide cores (mold cavity blocks 1101, 1201) with slide members (wedge members 1311a, 1411a) that runs parallel to the parting line, see Fig.1-28, and having tapered surfaces (see engagement between 1411a and 1411b and 1311a and 1311b) that allow for sliding contact. Such a feature located in a mold is known in the molding arts to accommodate for mold cavity dimensions that one skilled in the art would recognize and incorporate the feature into the mold of the BRUGGESSER to accommodate the mold cavity dimensions during operations.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the mold of BRUGGESSER with the slide core of OKUNISHI to accommodate the desired mold cavity dimensions and thickness of the resin to be molded during mold operations.
Re 6 (upon 5), wherein the pressing device includes a slide member configured to slide parallel to the parting line of the mold, and wherein a back surface of the slide core and a front surface of the slide member are respectively formed into tapered surfaces, and the tapered surfaces allow for sliding contact with each other.
(See OKUNISHI teaching above regarding the slide member with the parallel to the parting line, and of the tapered surfaces, see Figures 1-28, see slide members that are parallel to the parting line.)
Re 7 (upon 5), wherein the pressing device is an ejector rod, and wherein the slide core is configured to be driven by the ejector rod.
(See teaching by OKUNISHI of the power transmission member 1312, 1412, as the rods for operating the slide cores.)
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BRUGGESSER as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of GRAM (US 2005/0017413 A1).
Re 9 (upon 1), wherein the mold is a stack mold that is clamped at parting lines on a plurality of surfaces, and wherein the one mold half and the other mold half are provided in each of the parting lines on the plurality of surfaces which are joined when the mold is clamped.
BRUGGESSER does not teach of a stack mold.
GRAM teaches of the molds in a stack mold that are clamped at parting lines along plurality of surfaces, see Figs. 1-4. Further, as seen in GRAM there being different clamping positions depending upon the positions of the molds in the stack mold.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified BRUGGESSER with the use of the stack mold for the mold halves as taught by GRAM
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BRUGGESSER, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of WATANABE (US 2020/0055219 A1).
Re 10 (upon 1), further comprising of a control device, wherein the control device is configured to perform steps that the BRUGGESSE teaches of the claimed steps, see Figs. 1-9, see also in teaching in claim 1 above.
BRUGGESSER does not specifically teach is of the control device itself.
In this regards of the use of control device for an injection molding system, this is known in the molding arts for operating the system based upon the processes. Here, an example is in WATANABE of a injection molding apparatus which includes use of a rotary plate and further operated under a control of the controller 90, see [0026-0027], the controller having processors and performs various functions and control instructions, see [0035], and further control of the heating [0051], and of the mold clamping step, see [0071]. Whereby, it is known in the molding arts to use a control device to operate various processing steps.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modify the molding system of BRUGGESSE with a control device as taught by WATANABE for operating the molding process.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BRUGESSER in view of WATANABE as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of GAUDIN (US 2016/0221070 A1).
Re 11 (upon 10), wherein the control device is configured to perform the press-fusion step and the injection molding step in parallel and substantially simultaneously, and in the case of obtaining the molded article from the pair of primary molded articles by performing the press-fusion step, mold another pair of primary molded articles by performing the injection molding step.
BRUGESSER fails to teach of the additional simultaneous steps.
The GAUDIN reference teaches of known mold halves that clamp into position and includes a rotational sliding of the mold half, see Figs. 1-12, see first and second platens 4, 5 of the injection mold 1 and the first and second mold bodies 2, 3, see [0059-0060]. The first platen being rotated to cause the half pieces 101 to move from the injection station P1 to the welding station P2 and the complementary half-piece 102 also being moved and thereby allowing for half pieces 101, 102 are positioned facing each other, see [0067]. The advantage allowing for several manufacturing cycles to be carried out simultaneously, see [0038-0041] and optimize manufacturing efficiency.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified BRUGGESSER in view of WATANABE with the rotational slidable mold halves as taught by GAUDIN allows for operating manufacturing cycles simultaneously that allows for optimizing manufacturing efficiency.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, and 5-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3-10 of copending Application No. 18/726,784 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed features of the applications in the respective claims encompasses the features of the respective claims in the copending application.
Instant application claim 1 corresponds to claim 1 of copending application.
Instant application claim 2 corresponds to claim 3 of copending application.
Instant application claim 5 corresponds to claim 4 of copending application.
Instant application claim 6 corresponds to claim 5 of copending application.
Instant application claim 7 corresponds to claim 6 of copending application.
Instant application claim 8 corresponds to claim 7 of copending application.
Instant application claim 9 corresponds to claim 8 of copending application.
Instant application claim 10 corresponds to claim 9 of copending application.
Instant application claim 11 corresponds to claim 10 of copending application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 3 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 18/726,784 in view of BRUGGESSER (US 20140116371 A1).
Re 3 (upon 1), wherein the one mold half is linearly slidable with respect to the other mold half, and the mold is clamped at two or more mold clamping positions including the first mold clamping position and the second mold clamping position, depending on a sliding position.
The copending application does not teach of the linearly slidable to the other mold half for the mold clamping positions.
BRUGGESSER teaches of an injection molding machine system and includes of the sliding step positioning between Figs. 2-3.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified copending application with the sliding step of the mold halves as taught by BRUGGESSER as it allows for providing plural clamping positions provided with the mold halves.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim 4 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 18/726,784 in view of GAUDIN (US 2016/0221070 A1).
Re 4 (upon 1), wherein the one mold half is rotationally slidable with respect to the other mold half, and the mold is clamped at two or more mold clamping positions including the first mold clamping position and the second mold clamping position, depending on a rotation position.
The copending application does not teach of the mold half being rotationally slidable and clamping positions depending on rotation position.
The GAUDIN reference teaches of known mold halves that clamp into position and includes a rotational sliding of the mold half, see Figs. 1-12, see first and second platens 4, 5 of the injection mold 1 and the first and second mold bodies 2, 3, see [0059-0060]. The first platen being rotated to cause the half pieces 101 to move from the injection station P1 to the welding station P2 and the complementary half-piece 102 also being moved and thereby allowing for half pieces 101, 102 are positioned facing each other, see [0067]. The advantage allowing for several manufacturing cycles to be carried out simultaneously, see [0038-0041] and optimize manufacturing efficiency.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified copending application with the rotational slidable mold halves as taught by GAUDIN allows for operating manufacturing cycles simultaneously that allows for optimizing manufacturing efficiency.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892 form, most teaching injection mold clamping features.
/EMMANUEL S LUK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744