DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chunxiong et al. (Chunxiong) “Bidirectional optical signal transmission between two identical devices perovskite diodes”.
In regards to claim 1, Chunxiong (Figs. 1a, 1b, 2b and associated text) discloses a multifunctional optoelectronic device (OLED, dual-function perovskite diode) comprising: at least one photo-responsive perovskite light-emitting diode (Fig. 1a) arranged to alternatingly operate in emission mode and sensing mode, wherein said at least one perovskite LED (Fig. 1a) comprises a cathode (glass/ITO), an electron transport layer (ZNO/PEIE) having a lowest unoccupied molecular orbital (LUMO) level and a highest occupied molecular orbital (HOMO) level, a perovskite layer (perovskite) having a conduction band (CB) and a valence band (VB), a hole transport layer (TFB/MoOx) having a LUMO level and a HOMO level, and an anode (Au), wherein said LUMO level of said ETL (3) is lower than said CB bottom of said perovskite layer, and said HOMO level of said HTL (ZNO/PEIE) is higher than said VB top of said perovskite layer (perovskite); said multifunctional device (OLED, dual-function perovskite diode) further comprising a sensing circuit (not shown) comprising a sensor arranged to determine the electric current through said at least one perovskite LED (Fig. 1a) and a switch arranged to select between said emission mode and said sensing mode of said perovskite LED (Fig. 1a) as a function of said electric current through said at least one perovskite LED (Fig. 1a). Chunxiong discloses “As we show in Fig. 1b, when the diode works under a positive bias larger than the turn-on voltage, the electrons and holes are injected into the perovskite emitters and generate light emission via efficient radiative recombination. Similarly, when the diode works under a zero or reverse bias, upon excitations by photons with energy equal to or higher than the bandgap of the perovskite, the photo-generated carriers are separated and collected as an electrical signal”. In Fig. 2b, the transient EL intensity as well as the current intensity are shown when each cell switches between both side. Therefore, there is implicitly a sensing circuit as claimed by the Applicant.
In regards to claim 2, Chunxiong (Figs. 1a, 1b, 2b and associated text) discloses wherein said perovskite layer (perovskite) comprises a metal halide perovskite (page 156, left column, page 157, left column).
In regards to claim 3, Chunxiong (Methods section, Figs. 1a, 1b, 2b and associated text) discloses wherein said metal halide perovskite is a metal halide perovskite having a general formula AM.sup.IIX.sub.3, a double perovskite having general formula A.sub.2M.sup.IM.sup.IIIX.sub.6, a layered perovskite having general formula A′A.sub.nM.sub.nX.sub.3n+1 or combination thereof .
In regards to claim 4, Chunxiong (Methods section, Figs. 1a, 1b, 2b and associated text) discloses, wherein A is a small monovalent cation, A′ is a is a large monovalent cation, M.sup.I is a monovalent metal cation, M.sup.II is a divalent metal cation, M.sup.III is a trivalent metal cation, and X is an anion.
In regards to claim 5, Chunxiong (Methods section, Figs. 1a, 1b, 2b and associated text) discloses wherein said small monovalent cation is selected from a group consisting of methylammonium (MA.sup.+), formamidinium (FA.sup.+), Cs.sup.+ and combination thereof.
In regards to claim 6, Chunxiong (Methods section, Figs. 1a, 1b, 2b and associated text) discloses wherein said large monovalent cation is an aliphatic or aromatic alkylammonium.
In regards to claim 7, Chunxiong (Methods section, Figs. 1a, 1b, 2b and associated text) discloses wherein said monovalent metal cation is Ag+, and/or said divalent metal cation is selected from a group consisting of Pb.sup.2+, Sn.sup.2+, Ga.sup.2+, Ge.sup.2+ and combinations thereof, and/or said trivalent metal cation is selected from a group consisting of Bi.sup.3+, In.sup.3+, Sb.sup.3+ and combinations thereof.
In regards to claim 8, Chunxiong (Methods section, Figs. 1a, 1b, 2b and associated text) discloses wherein said anion is a halide anion.
In regards to claim 9, Chunxiong (Methods section, Figs. 1a, 1b, 2b and associated text) discloses wherein said anion is a mixture of bromide (Br.sup.−), iodide (I.sup.−) and chloride (Cl.sup.−).
In regards to claim 10, Chunxiong (Methods section, Figs. 1a, 1b, 2b and associated text) discloses wherein said perovskite layer (perovskite) comprises a passivation agent.
In regards to claim 11, Chunxiong (Methods section, Figs. 1a, 1b, 2b and associated text) discloses wherein said passivation agent is 2,2′-(ethylenedioxy)diethylamine (EDEA), 2,2′-(oxybis(ethylenoxy))diethylamine (ODEA), 5-aminovaleric acid (5-AVA), 5-aminovaleric acid hydroiodide (5-AVAI), or 5-aminovaleric acid hydrobromide (5-AVABr) or combination thereof.
In regards to claim 12, Chunxiong (Methods section, Figs. 1a, 1b, 2b and associated text) discloses wherein said multifunctional device (10) comprises a driving circuit, and wherein said sensing circuit is integrated into said driving circuit.
In regards to claim 13, Chunxiong (page 157, left column, Figs. 1a, 1b, 2b and associated text) discloses wherein the thickness of said ETL (ZNO/PEIE) and/or said HTL (5) is from 20 nm to 100 nm, and wherein the thickness of said perovskite layer (perovskite) is from 50 nm to 500 nm.
In regards to claim 14, Chunxiong (Methods section, Figs. 1a, 1b, 2b and associated text) discloses wherein said ETL (ZNO/PEIE) is polyethylenimine ethoxylated (PEIE) modified or pure zinc oxide (ZnO), tin oxide (SnO.sub.2) or titanium oxide (TiO.sub.2).
In regards to claim 15, Chunxiong (Methods section, Figs. 1a, 1b, 2b and associated text) discloses wherein said HTL (TFB/MoOx) is poly(9,9-dioctylfluorene-co-N-(4-sec-butylphenyl)-diphenylamine) (TFB)/molybdenum oxide (MoO.sub.x).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. All references listed in 892 could have been used as primary references and disclose the materials of the ETL, HTL and perovskite alone and/or in combination with one another. Gao et al. (US 2024/0081144 A1) could possibly be excluded due to common inventors and assignee. Examiner suggests reviewing all references before responding so that potential amendments, if any, distinguish the Applicant’s invention from the current prior art of record. This will assist in compact prosecution.
TELLY D. GREEN
Examiner
Art Unit 2898
/TELLY D GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898 August 17, 2026