DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4, 5, 9, 10, 13-15, are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of copending Application No. 18/839,213 (App. No. 18/839,213).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because App. No. 18/839,213 teaches each and every component and reads upon the claims in an anticipatory manner.
Regarding claims 1, 4, 5, 9, 10, 13-15, App. No. 18/839,213 teaches a polymeric composition comprising a plurality of mono-hydrocarbyloxysilyl-functionalized and dihydrocarbyloxysilyl-functionalized polydiene polymer or copolymers, the composition has an aged Mooney of 40-105, and the composition contains greater than 60 mol% of functionalized polymers, and the plurality contains 15-70 mol% of the mono-hydrocarbyloxysilyl-functionalized and dihydrocarbyloxysilyl-functionalized polydiene polymer or copolymers (claim 1), the polymeric composition is obtained by a method of reacting a reactive polydiene (co)polymers with a terminating agent having the formula
(claim 2-10), wherein the reactive polydiene is formed by anionically polymerizing butadiene at a peak polymerization temp of -10 to 200 deg C (claim 11-12) and the terminating agent is reacted with the reactive polydiene in an amount of 0.15-0.50 mole per mole of the reactive polydiene (claim 14), in a solvent, with a lithium-containing initiator (claim 14-20) and a vulcanizable rubber composition comprising the above polymeric composition, filler and curative, and a vulcanizate thereof. (claim 22-23).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15, 17, 19-22, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2021/0340286 A1 to Askey et al. (hereinafter Askey).
Regarding claims 1-15, 17, 19-22, Askey teaches a process for stabilizing a diene copolymer having terminal modification wherein the modified diene copolymers have an aged Mooney viscosity (ML1+4 @ 100°C) of about 50-105 (para 47). The process comprises polymerizing 1,3-butadiene and styrene in hexanes with butyl lithium and 2,2-di(tetrahydrofuryl)propane to a peak polymerization temperature of 85 deg C (para 80-81). Within about 5 minutes of the peak polymerization temperature, 3-(1,3-dimethylbutylidene)aminopropyltriethoxysilane (DMAPT) is added and polymerized for 30 minutes, (para 82), which meets the claimed terminating agent). Afterwards, octyltriethoxysilane (OTES) was added and the polymerization mixture was extracted, (para 82-83), which meets the claimed stabilizing agent. Askey further teaches the reactive polydiene will has an peak molecular weight (Mp) of 160-260 kg/mol (para 24), wherein at least 80% or more of the polymer molecules contain a living end (para 25). Askey further teaches the above polymer composition obtained with 0.6 mole of DMAPT terminating agent per 1 mole of lithium, 4 mole of OTES stabilizing agent per 1 mole of lithium, with a reactive base polydiene having a Mp of 191 kg/mol, results in a polymer composition terminated/coupled at 77.5%, an unaged ML1+4 @ 100°C of 78.4 and an aged ML1+4 @ 100°C of 85.5 (See sample 5, Table 1, para 83), which meets claims 1-15, and 17. The above is used in a rubber composition comprising 10-100 wt% of the above polymer, (para 77), with 5-80 parts per 100 parts of rubber (para 72), and curing/vulcanization agents. (para 73-75).
Regarding the claimed properties of Mn, one skilled in the art would have a reasonable expectation for the polymer composition of Askey to have the claimed properties of the claimed invention because Askey teaches a substantially identical polymer composition obtained by substantially identical process such as the reacting the same butadiene, styrene, butyl lithium, terminating agent, and stabilizing agents, all within the mole ratios as taught by the Applicant in their specification and examples, and it appears that is it these mole ratios which give the claimed properties, which is evident by the polymer composition of Askey having the claimed Mooney viscosities and Mp. See MPEP 2112.01. (Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)).
Claim(s) 1-15, 17, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2015/0133601 A1 to DeDecker et al. (hereinafter DeDecker’601).
Regarding claims 1-15, 17, DeDecker’601 teaches a method of making a polymer specifically by first polymerizing 1,3-butadiene, and styrene with butyl lithium and 2,2’-di(tetrahydrofuryl)propane to a temperature of 107 deg C (para 45), which meets the reactive polydiene. Next, 0.5 mole of 3-(1,3-dimethylbutylidene)aminopropyltriethoxysilane (DMBAPTS) per mole of butyl lithium is added and reacted (para 45), and is further stabilized with 2.5 mole of diphenyldimethoxysilane (DPDMS) per mole of butyl lithium (Example 1, Table 1, para 45-47), results in a functionalized polymer solution having unaged Mooney viscosity of 48.1, and an 1-2 aged Mooney viscosity of 96.3-96.6 (Table 1), which meets the claimed polymer composition. DeDecker’601 further teaches the above polydiene can be made to have a Mn of 1000-100,000,000 based on the amount of lithium initiator is used per monomers (para 27) and has a vinyl content The above DMBAPTS meets the claimed terminating agent and the above DPDMS meets the claimed hydrocarbyl hydrocarbyloxysilane stabilizing agent. DeDecker’601 further teaches the above is used in a rubber composition with fillers. (para 9).
Regarding the mole% of terminated polydienes, mole% of reactive polydienes, and Mp, one skilled in the art would have a reasonable expectation for the polymer composition of DeDecker’601 to have the claimed properties of the claimed invention because DeDecker’601 teaches a substantially identical polymer composition obtained by substantially identical process such as the same butadiene, styrene, butyl lithium, terminating agent, and stabilizing agents all within the mole ratios as taught by the Applicant in their specification and examples, and it appears that is it these mole ratios which give the claimed properties, which is evident by the polymer composition of DeDecker’601 having the claimed Mooney viscosities. See MPEP 2112.01. (Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)).
Conclusion
/HA S NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766