DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement of primary amendment dated 07/08/2024 to claim set.
Domestic Benefit
18/727,145 filed 07/08/2024 is a National Stage entry of PCT/US2023/060469 with international filing date of 01/11/2023.
PCT/US2023/060469 claims priority from provisional application 63/298,387 filed 01/11/2022.
PCT/US2023/060469 claims priority from provisional application 63/298,424 filed 01/11/2022.
Foreign Priority
No claim to an application for foreign priority.
Two Information Disclosure Statements
The two information disclosure statements respectively submitted on 07/08/2024 and 12/04/2025 were filed before first Office action. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the two information disclosure statements have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 9, 10, 12, 13, 15, 17, 18, 23, 24, 28, 31, 32, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 41, 43, 44 and 59-66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by journal article entitled Substantial P-Type Conductivity of AlN Achieved via Beryllium Doping by Ahmad et al. (“Ahmad”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Ahmad teaches
Disposing over a substrate at a temperature below about 1000° C.: The paper explicitly states that AlN:Be films were grown at substrate temperatures of 600 °C and 700 °C, which are below 1000 °C.
A doped material comprising a group III metal nitride: The method involves doping Group III metal nitrides such as AlN:Be and GaN:Be.
At least one of a p-type dopant or an n-type dopant: The paper discusses both p-type doping with Beryllium (Be) in AlN and n-type doping with Germanium (Ge) in GaN.
Wherein the doped material has a bandgap energy greater than 4.5 electronvolts (eV): This limitation is met for AlN, which has a bandgap of 6.1 eV.
Regarding claim 2, Ahmad teaches, wherein the doped material at least one of:
comprises the dopant in a concentration ranging from about 1×1011 cm−3 to about 3×1020 cm−3 (The article describes the use of dopant concentrations within the specified range. For instance, Be SIMS concentrations in AlN:Be films were in the range of 2 × 10^16 cm^-3 to 2 × 10^20 cm^-3. Additionally, GaN:Mg films were grown with a doping level of 1 × 10^20 cm^-3, and GaN:Be films were grown at a doping level of 2 × 10^19 cm^-3. These values fall within the range of 1 × 10^11 cm^-3 to 3 × 10^20 cm^-3.);
has a hole-carrier concentration of at least about 1×1011 cm−3;
has an electron-carrier concentration of at least about 6×1015 cm−3; or
achieves at least 100 thousand increased electron-carrier concentration compared to a second doped material disposed over a second substrate at a temperature greater than 1000° C.
Regarding claim 9, Ahmad teaches wherein the group III metal nitride comprises a material selected from aluminum nitride (AlN) (see claim 1 rejection supra), gallium nitride (GaN), aluminum gallium nitride (AlGaN), indium aluminum nitride (InAlN), aluminum scandium nitride (AlScN), indium gallium aluminum scandium nitride (InGaAlScN), or combinations thereof.
Regarding claim 10, Ahmad teaches wherein the p-type dopant comprises beryllium (Be) (see claim 1 rejection supra).
Regarding claim 12, Ahmad teaches further comprising disposing a semiconductor upon the doped material (there are multiple layers of semiconductor material AlN, GaN).
Regarding claim 13, Ahmad teaches wherein the doped material disposed upon the semiconductor forms a homojunction or a heterojunction ( "For further validation of the p-type nature MME grown AlN:Be films, a pn junction is desired as conclusive evidence of the presence of holes... Thus, a p-AlN:Be/i-GaN:Be/n-GaN:Ge diode structure was grown... The first pin heterojunction AlN/GaN diode was demonstrated...").
Regarding claim 15, Ahmad teaches wherein the device is configured to at least one of:
disrupt viral and bacterial replication; or enhance polymer curing (the method of claim 1 has enough method steps to form a device as depicted by Ahmad, this appears to be defining the method of making the device in terms of usage. Since Ahmad teaches all the limitations for the method and the device it thereof operates as claimed. The implied method steps or structure from the method of use is the already taught limitations of claim 1 supra).
Regarding claim 17, Ahmad teaches wherein the substrate is selected from the group consisting of sapphire (see Figure 2: sapphire), crystalline-silicon, gallium nitride, gallium oxide, aluminum nitride, aluminum gallium nitride, zinc oxide, lithium gallate, lithium aluminate, single crystal diamond, heteroepitaxial single crystal diamond, silicon carbide, and combinations thereof.
Regarding claim 18, Ahmad teaches flowing a plasma comprising nitrogen from a remote plasma chamber into a growth chamber; and introducing a group III metal and the at least one of a p-type dopant or an n-type dopant into the growth chamber (The experimental section describes the use of a "Veeco UNI-bulb radio frequency (RF) nitrogen plasma source" to supply nitrogen plasma for the MME films. This plasma is flowed into the growth chamber, as indicated by the MBE growth chamber base pressure and the beam equivalent pressure of the nitrogen plasma. Furthermore, it states that "Al, Ga, and Be fluxes were supplied from standard effusion cells for the MME grown films," and "Mg flux was provided from a Veeco corrosive series valved cracker." These are the Group III metals (Al, Ga) and p-type dopants (Be, Mg) being introduced into the growth chamber).
Regarding claim 23, Ahmad teaches wherein introducing the at least one of p-type dopant or the n-type dopant into the growth chamber further comprises pulsing one or more fluxes of each respective dopant (the article teaches that the Metal Modulated Epitaxy (MME) growth technique involves periodically modulating metal fluxes while keeping the nitrogen flux constant. This method is used to introduce dopants into the material. Specifically, the paper mentions that MME enables more growth control, especially for challenging problems in nitrides like p-type doping, by controlling the excess metal dose per shutter cycle.).
Regarding claim 24, Ahmad teaches wherein introducing the at least one of p-type dopant or the n-type dopant into the growth chamber further comprises pulsing one or more fluxes of the group III metal with a constant nitrogen supply (the article teaches this method. The paper describes Metal Modulated Epitaxy (MME) as a modified Molecular Beam Epitaxy (MBE) growth technique where "the metal fluxes are periodically modulated while the N-flux is kept constant throughout the growth." This technique is used for introducing dopants into the growth chamber.).
Regarding claim 28, Ahmad teaches wherein the temperature at which the doped material is disposed over the substrate is within a range from about 600° C. to about 900° C (the article teaches that the doped material is disposed over the substrate within a temperature range from about 600 °C to about 900 °C. Specifically, AlN:Be films were grown at substrate temperatures of 600 °C and 700 °C. Additionally, an undoped AlN buffer layer was grown at 800 °C, and the thermal outgassing of AlN templates was performed at 850 °C. The growth rate for AlN:Be, GaN:Be, and GaN:Mg films was 700 nm/h.).
Regarding claim 31, Ahmad teaches wherein if introducing the p-type dopant into the growth chamber, the temperature of the growth chamber is in a range from about 500° C. to about 850° C (the article teaches that p-type dopants are introduced into the growth chamber within a temperature range that falls within "about 500° C. to about 850° C." Specifically, the AlN:Be films were grown at substrate temperatures of 600 °C and 700 °C. For the pin diode structure, the AlN:Be film was grown at 700 °C, and the GaN:Be film was grown at 625 °C. All these temperatures are within the specified range.).
Regarding claim 32, Ahmad teaches wherein if introducing the p-type dopant into the growth chamber, the temperature of the growth chamber is in a range from about 600° C. to about 700° C (the article teaches that the temperature of the growth chamber, specifically the substrate temperature, is in a range from about 600 °C to about 700 °C when introducing the p-type dopant (Be). The AlN:Be films were grown via MME at substrate temperatures of 600 °C and 700 °C).
Regarding claim 35, Ahmad teaches wherein if introducing the n-type dopant into the growth chamber, the temperature of the growth chamber is in a range from about 500° C. to about 1000° C (The article discusses the growth of n-type GaN:Ge films, which are a Group III metal nitride with an n-type dopant. Specifically, a 500 nm n-type GaN:Ge film with an electron concentration of 5 × 10^19 cm^-3 was grown via MME. While the exact temperature range for introducing the n-type dopant isn't explicitly stated as 500°C to 1000°C, the growth of this n-type GaN:Ge film was part of a pin diode structure where the p-AlN:Be and i-GaN:Be films were grown at 625°C and 700°C, respectively. The overall context of MME growth in the paper indicates that films are grown at temperatures below 1000°C, with specific examples like 600°C and 700°C for AlN:Be, and 625°C for GaN:Be. The experimental section also mentions that templates were outgassed in the growth chamber at 675°C for GaN templates, further supporting the use of temperatures within or near the specified range for GaN-related growth processes. Therefore when considering Ahmad as a whole it is believed that the temperatures for the claimed method are 600°C and 700°C).
Regarding claim 36, Ahmad teaches wherein if introducing the n-type dopant into the growth chamber, the temperature of the growth chamber is in a range from about 600° C. to about 800° C (refer to claim 36 rejection supra).
Regarding claim 37, Ahmad teaches wherein the device is selected from the group consisting of a diode (article teaches of pin diode) and a transistor.
Regarding claim 38, Ahmad teaches wherein the device is a diode configured to achieve a turn-on voltage of approximately 6 volts (V) (this limitation is defining a method in term of use as a device such that Ahmad teaches all limitations to make the device therefor the implied limitations to the method or structure of the device are necessarily taught by the claimed method steps).
Regarding claim 39, Ahmad teaches wherein the device is a heteroepitaxial diode with Schottky, pin (article teaches of pin diode) and Junction Barrier Schottky (JBS) electrical behavior.
Regarding claim 41, Ahmad teaches wherein the doped material is a first doped group III metal nitride disposed on the substrate (The paper describes growing a 500 nm n-type GaN:Ge film on a 4 µm HVPE n-type GaN on sapphire template. This n-type GaN:Ge acts as the first doped Group III metal nitride disposed on a substrate (the template).);
wherein the method further comprises disposing, over at least a portion of the first doped group III metal nitride at a temperature below about 1000° C., a second doped group III metal nitride (Following the n-type GaN:Ge layer, a 200 nm GaN:Be film and then a 100 nm AlN:Be film were grown via MME. The GaN:Be and AlN:Be films were grown at substrate temperatures of 625 °C and 700 °C, respectively, both of which are below 1000 °C. These layers are disposed over the first doped Group III metal nitride.); and
wherein the first doped group III metal nitride comprises a higher concentration of electrical carriers than the second doped group III metal nitride (In the pin diode structure described, the first doped Group III metal nitride (n-type GaN:Ge) had an electron concentration of 5 × 10^19 cm^-3. The subsequent layers, a 200 nm GaN:Be film and a 100 nm AlN:Be film, were grown with a Be SIMS concentration of 1 × 10^18 cm^-3. While the exact hole concentrations for these specific layers in the diode are not explicitly stated, the general trend in the paper shows that for Be-doped AlN and GaN, the hole concentrations are typically lower than the high electron concentration of the n-type GaN:Ge layer. For example, the highest hole concentration reported for AlN:Be was 3.1 × 10^18 cm^-3, which is lower than 5 × 10^19 cm^-3. This suggests that the first doped material (n-type GaN:Ge) would indeed have a higher concentration of electrical carriers.).
Regarding claim 43, Ahmad teaches further comprising disposing an ohmic electrode on at least a portion of the first doped group III-nitride (it is noted that “on” is broad: The article describes the deposition of Ohmic contacts on the top doped layers of the grown structures, not directly on a bottom doped layer. For instance, in the pin diode structure, Ti/Al/Ti/Au contacts were deposited on the n-type GaN:Ge layers, and Pt/Pd/Au contacts were deposited on the AlN:Be layers. The AlN:Be layer is the top-most doped layer in this specific device configuration. The Hall measurements for the AlN:Be films also involved depositing contacts on the top surface of these films.).
Regarding claim 44, Ahmad teaches wherein at least one of:
the first doped group III metal nitride has a first electrical-carrier concentration in a range from about 5×1017 cm−3 to about 3×1020 cm−3; or
the second p-doped group III metal nitride has a second electrical-carrier concentration in a range from about 1×1015 cm−3 to about 5×1019 cm−3 (The article teaches that the first doped group III metal nitride (AlN:Be) has a first electrical-carrier concentration in the range of 2.3 × 10^15 cm^-3 to 3.1 × 10^18 cm^-3 at room temperature. This range is derived from the Hall measurements of AlN:Be films grown at 600 °C and 700 °C, as detailed in Table 4 and the accompanying text.
The article also teaches that the second p-doped group III metal nitride (GaN:Mg) has an electrical-carrier concentration of 2.3 × 10^19 cm^-3 at a doping level of 1 × 10^20 cm^-3 (Table 3). For GaN:Be, a hole concentration of 2 × 10^14 cm^-3 was achieved. While the AlN:Be concentrations fall within the range of "about 1 × 10^15 cm^-3 to about 5 × 10^19 cm^-3", the GaN:Mg concentration also falls within the higher end of this range. Therefore in certain embodiments it appears Ahmad does teach this)
Regarding independent claim 59, Ahmad teaches: a method of forming a device comprising:
growing a first doped group III metal nitride at a temperature below 1000° C.;
growing a second doped group III metal nitride at a temperature below 1000° C.;
disposing the first doped group III metal nitride on a substrate; and
disposing the second doped group III metal nitride on at least a portion of the first doped group III metal nitride (the article describes a method that aligns with the provided steps. The paper details the growth of multiple doped Group III metal nitride layers at temperatures below 1000 °C, specifically 600 °C, 625 °C, and 700 °C. These layers are grown sequentially, with a first doped layer (e.g., n-type GaN:Ge) on a template (substrate) and subsequent doped layers (e.g., i-GaN:Be and p-AlN:Be) disposed on top of the preceding layers to form a pin diode structure.).
Regarding claim 60, Ahmad teaches of the first doped group III metal nitride is a first n-doped group III metal nitride; the second doped group III metal nitride is a p-doped group III metal nitride; and the device is a diode (the article describes a PIN diode structure where the n-doped material is below the p-doped material. Specifically, for the PIN diode, a 500 nm n-type GaN:Ge film was grown first, followed by a 200 nm GaN:Be film (acting as an i-layer), and then a 100 nm AlN:Be film (p-type). This arrangement places the n-type GaN:Ge layer beneath the p-type AlN:Be layer.).
Regarding claim 61, Ahmad teaches further comprising growing a second n-doped group III metal nitride between the first n-doped group III metal nitride and the p-doped group III metal nitride (The article describes a pin diode structure that includes a 500 nm n-type GaN:Ge film, followed by a 200 nm GaN:Be film, and then a 100 nm AlN:Be film. This configuration means that an n-doped GaN:Ge layer is grown, and then an i-GaN:Be layer (which is essentially undoped for conductivity purposes, acting as an intrinsic layer) is grown between the n-GaN:Ge and the p-AlN:Be. While the GaN:Be layer is technically doped, it is described as having potential applications as a semi-insulating layer, meaning it functions more as an intrinsic region rather than a conductive n-type layer in this specific diode structure. Therefore, the article does not explicitly teach growing a second n-doped Group III metal nitride between a first n-doped Group III metal nitride and a p-doped Group III metal nitride.).
Regarding claim 62, Ahmad teaches further comprising at least one of:
disposing a Schottky barrier electrode on at least a portion of the second doped group III nitride; or disposing an ohmic electrode disposed on at least a portion of the first doped group III-nitride The article discusses the formation and characteristics of Ohmic contacts. Specifically, it details the use of a metal stack of Pt (10 nm)/Pd (10 nm)/Au (100 nm) as contacts to AlN:Be films. The paper explains that annealing these contacts at 800 °C significantly improved their conductance by approximately 5–6 orders of magnitude, resulting in highly linear Ohmic contacts. The linearity of these contacts was confirmed through current-voltage (I-V) characteristics, which showed the current crossing zero at zero voltage, indicating the absence of thermal or piezoelectric offsets.
The article also mentions the challenge of applying highly Ohmic contacts to p-type AlN films due to its wide bandgap and high metal work function requirements. While the focus is on achieving Ohmic behavior, there is no discussion of Schottky electrodes or their properties.
Regarding claim 63, Ahmad teaches
The doped group III metal nitrides are grown via metal-modulated epitaxy (MME): The paper explicitly states that the films were grown in a Riber 32 plasma-assisted molecular beam epitaxy system via MME. It details the use of MME for growing AlN:Be, GaN:Be, GaN:Mg, and GaN:Ge films.
The first doped group III metal nitride is a first n-doped group III metal nitride: In the context of the pin diode structure, the first layer grown on the template is a 500 nm n-type GaN:Ge film with an electron concentration of 5 x 10^19 cm^-3.
The second doped group III metal nitride is a p-doped group III metal nitride doped with beryllium: Following the n-type GaN:Ge, a 200 nm GaN:Be film and then a 100 nm AlN:Be film were grown. The AlN:Be film is specifically described as p-type due to beryllium doping, with hole concentrations ranging from 2.3 x 10^15 to 3.1 x 10^18 cm^-3.
Regarding claim 64, Ahmed teaches:
The first doped group III metal nitride comprises one or more n-doped group III metal nitrides: The paper describes the growth of n-type GaN:Ge films with an electron concentration of 5 × 10^19 cm^-3.
The second doped group III metal nitride comprises one or more p-doped group III metal nitrides: The article focuses on the successful experimental achievement of p-type AlN films via Be doping, with hole concentrations ranging from 2.3 × 10^15 to 3.1 × 10^18 cm^-3. It also mentions p-type GaN:Be films.
The doped group III metal nitrides are grown via MME: All the doped GaN:Ge, GaN:Be, GaN:Mg, and AlN:Be films discussed in the paper were grown using the Metal Modulated Epitaxy (MME) technique.
n-type GaN doped with germanium (Ge): The paper describes a 465 nm GaN:Ge film with an n-type Hall concentration of 1.3 × 10^20 cm^-3 (Table 3).
p-type GaN doped with Be: A 100 nm GaN:Be film is mentioned, which resulted in a p-type Hall concentration of 2 × 10^14 cm^-3 (Table 3).
p-type AlN doped with Be: The article extensively discusses the successful experimental achievement of p-type AlN films via Be doping, with hole concentrations ranging from 2.3 × 10^15 to 3.1 × 10^18 cm^-3 at room temperature (Table 4 and Conclusion).
Regarding claim 65, Ahmed teaches:
the article teaches about both n-doped and p-doped Group III metal nitrides with carrier concentrations within the specified ranges.
N-doped Group III metal nitride: The paper mentions an n-type GaN:Ge film with an electron concentration of 5 × 10^19 cm^-3, which falls within the range of 1 × 10^17 cm^-3 to 3 × 10^20 cm^-3.
P-doped Group III metal nitride: The article reports p-type AlN:Be films with hole concentrations ranging from 2.3 × 10^15 cm^-3 to 3.1 × 10^18 cm^-3. While the lower end of this range is below 1 × 10^17 cm^-3, the upper end (3.1 × 10^18 cm^-3) is well within the specified range of 1 × 10^17 cm^-3 to 3 × 10^20 cm^-3. Additionally, a GaN:Mg film is mentioned with a hole concentration of 2.3 × 10^19 cm^-3, also within the specified range.
Regarding claim 66, Ahmad teaches (refer to claim 1 rejection) of at least the second n-doped group III metal nitride has an electron-carrier concentration lower than the first n-doped group III metal nitride (The article provides information on the electron-carrier concentrations for n-doped Group III metal nitrides. For GaN:Ge (n-doped), a concentration of 1.3 × 10^20 cm^-3 is reported. For UID GaN, which is also n-type, the electron concentration is 1 × 10^16 cm^-3.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmad et al., “Substantial P-Type Conductivity of AlN Achieved via Beryllium Doping,” Advanced Materials, first published 02 September 2021 (hereinafter “Ahmad”).
Ahmad discloses a device method comprising forming a doped group III metal nitride material (Be-doped AlN) using metal modulated epitaxy (MME) at temperatures substantially below 1000 °C, wherein the doped material exhibits substantial p-type conductivity with high hole concentrations. Ahmad further teaches the formation of a p-AlN:Be/i-GaN:Be/n-GaN:Ge pin diode structure using this material, which demonstrates substantial rectification. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the doped material of Ahmad to emit one or more photons at wavelengths from about 200 nm to about 350 nm, as AlN-based materials with high-quality p-type doping are well-known in the art to be suitable for deep-ultraviolet (DUV) optoelectronic devices such as LEDs and emitters operating in this exact wavelength range, and the improved bulk p-type conductivity and reduced compensation taught by Ahmad would predictably enable such photonic functionality with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP § 2144.05. Applicant has not demonstrated any unexpected results or criticality associated with the claimed emission properties
Claims 25-27, 29, 30, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmad et al., “Substantial P-Type Conductivity of AlN Achieved via Beryllium Doping,” Advanced Materials, first published 02 September 2021 (hereinafter “Ahmad”).
Ahmad teaches a method of growing Be-doped AlN via metal modulated epitaxy (MME) at temperatures substantially below 1000 °C that achieves substantial bulk p-type conductivity with hole concentrations of 2.3 × 10¹⁸ – 3.1 × 10¹⁸ cm⁻³ at room temperature, and explicitly discloses that MME enables more effective placement of Be into proper substitutional lattice sites. Ahmad further teaches the use of modulated/pulsed growth in MME. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the specific pulse delivery periods (0.1–30 s) and pause periods (1–30 s or the narrower sub-ranges of claims 25-27), as well as the III/V flux ratios greater than about 1 (including 1.1–1.5 and 1.6–2.0 as recited in claims 29, 30, and 34), through routine experimentation to achieve desired dopant incorporation, reduced compensation, improved crystal quality, and maximum carrier concentration. These parameters are well-recognized result-effective variables in MME growth of group III-nitride materials, and the claimed ranges represent nothing more than routine optimization of workable parameters taught or suggested by Ahmad. See MPEP § 2144.05. Applicant has not shown unexpected results or criticality for the specifically recited values.
Claim 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmad et al., “Substantial P-Type Conductivity of AlN Achieved via Beryllium Doping,” Advanced Materials, first published 02 September 2021 (hereinafter “Ahmad”).
Ahmad discloses a method of forming a device (e.g., a p-AlN:Be/i-GaN:Be/n-GaN:Ge pin diode) comprising growing a first doped group III metal nitride (e.g., n-type) and disposing a second doped group III metal nitride (e.g., p-type Be-doped AlN) over at least a portion of the first at temperatures substantially below 1000 °C using metal modulated epitaxy (MME), wherein the first doped group III metal nitride comprises a higher concentration of electrical carriers than the second. Ahmad further teaches the formation of such diode structures with substantial rectification. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to dispose a Schottky barrier electrode on at least a portion of the second doped group III nitride, as Schottky contacts (including high-work-function metal stacks suitable for p-type nitrides) are conventional and well-known in the art for forming rectifying junctions or improving contact properties in group III-nitride diodes and high-power devices of the type taught by Ahmad, with a reasonable expectation of success in achieving desired electrical characteristics. See MPEP § 2144.05. Applicant has not demonstrated any unexpected results or criticality associated with the claimed Schottky barrier electrode.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as listed on the current Notice of References Cited-892 Form. These are just the general state of the art.
26 June 2026
/John P. Dulka/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817