Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/08/2024, 08/01/2025 & 06/22/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The specification (see U.S. 2025/0076384 A1) is objected to for the following grammatical and typographical errors. Correction is required without introducing new matter.
In paragraph [0010], “only minimal circuitry to configured measure current, communication with a BMS, and control” is grammatically defective. It is suggested that this language be amended to read “only minimal circuitry configured to measure current, communicate with a BMS, and perform control.”
In paragraph [0032], “is the to be connected” includes an extraneous word. It is suggested that this language be amended to read “is to be connected.”
In paragraph [0044], “a flux gate current sensor that convert” lacks subject–verb agreement. It is suggested that this language be amended to read “a flux gate current sensor that converts.”
In paragraph [0058], “ata predetermined time interval” lacks a space. It is suggested that this language be amended to read “at a predetermined time interval.”.
Appropriate correction is required.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because The abstract is objected to under 37 CFR 1.72(b) and MPEP § 608.01(b) because “communication and control mean” uses the wrong noun form for the disclosed communication and control means. Correction is required. It is suggested that “communication and control mean” be amended to read “communication and control means”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 & 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olsen et al. (US 2021/0357006 A1) in view of Dan et al. (US 2020/0300917 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Olsen discloses in Fig. 1 a case having a plurality of slots (120)(see paragraph [0037]); and teaches the board structure for at least one sensor board mounted in the plurality of slots (120)(see paragraph [0047], cards 200 mounted in chassis slots; the cards carry the current-sensor interface circuitry in the proposed combination); a mainboard having a communication and control means (see paragraph [0037], system controller card); wherein the at least one sensor board has a sensor connector configured to allow the at least one current sensing module to be connected thereto (see paragraph [0028], card-mounted external I/O connectors receive sensor data).
Olsen does not expressly disclose an integrated current sensing device comprising; or at least one current sensing module; Olsen also does not expressly disclose a mainboard having a communication and control means.
Dan discloses an integrated current sensing device comprising (see Dan, paragraph [0027], current detection device 20); and at least one current sensing module (see paragraph [0032], shunt sensing device 211 and Hall sensing device 221); circuitry for a mainboard having a communication and control means (see paragraph [0057], CAN controller 215 and isolated transceiver 216; processing device 212 calculates current as disclosed in paragraph [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Olsen by incorporating the current sensing module and associated current-processing and CAN communication circuitry as taught by Dan et al., as doing so would provide accurate battery-current measurement and reliable transmission of the measured current because Dan et al. emphasize in paragraph [0040] that the shunt sensor provides high-accuracy current measurement and CAN communication provides fast transmission with strong resistance to interference, thus predictably adapting Olsen’s interconnected sensor and controller cards for battery-current monitoring while retaining the sensing and communication functions.
As to claim 2, Olsen and Dan disclose the integrated current sensing device according to claim 1, wherein Olsen further teaches wherein the at least one sensor board transmits signals measured by the at least one current sensing module to the mainboard (see paragraph [0028], card and backplane connections transfer sensor data).
As to claim 3, Olsen and Dan disclose the integrated current sensing device according to claim 2, wherein Olsen further teaches wherein the mainboard comprises (see paragraph [0037], controller card); a main controller configured to collect and determine the measured signals received from the at least one sensor board (see paragraph [0054], processing device 212 acquires sampled voltage and calculates current; the claim 2 signal path supplies the measurements); and a signal transmission unit configured to communicate with a battery management system (BMS)(see paragraph [0057], CAN controller 215 and isolated transceiver 216 communicate with management unit 10).
As to claim 4, Olsen and Dan disclose the integrated current sensing device according to claim 1, wherein Olsen further teaches wherein the at least one current sensing module comprises a connection terminal, and is connected to the sensor connector of the at least one sensor board (see paragraph [0053], shunt signal terminal knobs and sampling lines; Olsen, paragraph [0028], card-mounted sensor I/O connector).
As to claim 5, Olsen does not expressly disclose wherein the at least one current sensing module is a Hall type current sensor, a flux gate type current sensor, or a shunt type current sensor.
Dan discloses wherein the at least one current sensing module is a Hall type current sensor, a flux gate type current sensor, or a shunt type current sensor (see paragraph [0028], Hall and shunt sensors satisfy alternatives in the claim; the claim 1 modification and motivation retain these sensor types).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Olsen by incorporating the current sensing module and associated current-processing and CAN communication circuitry as taught by Dan et al., as doing so would provide accurate battery-current measurement and reliable transmission of the measured current because Dan et al. emphasize in paragraph [0040] that the shunt sensor provides high-accuracy current measurement and CAN communication provides fast transmission with strong resistance to interference, thus predictably adapting Olsen’s interconnected sensor and controller cards for battery-current monitoring while retaining the sensing and communication functions.
As to claim 6, Olsen does not expressly disclose wherein the at least one sensor board is separately configured for each type of the at least one current sensing module.
Dan supplies the type-specific circuitry for wherein the at least one sensor board is separately configured for each type of the at least one current sensing module (see paragraph [0032], different shunt and Hall interface circuits; the proposed modification implements those respective circuits on separate custom cards of Olsen, paragraph [0037]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Olsen, as applied to claim 5, by incorporating the independent modular shunt and Hall sensing paths as taught by Dan et al. on separately configured sensor cards, as doing so would provide a corresponding interface circuit for each sensor type because Dan et al. emphasize in paragraph [0030] that the two measurement units are independent and that Hall measurements can be used when the shunt measurement fails, thus predictably preserving the independent sensing paths and improving the reliability of current measurement.
Regarding claim 7, Olsen disclose the case further comprises an upper cover having a connection recess (132)(see paragraph [0044]).
Olsen does not expressly disclose an external connection portion configured to communicate with a battery management system (BMS).
Dan discloses the BMS communication function of an external connection portion configured to communicate with a battery management system (see BMS in paragraph [0078]; interface unit 30 connects current detection device 20 to the battery management unit of the BMS).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Olsen by incorporating the external connection portion configured to communicate with a battery management system as taught by Dan et al. on as doing so would provide external access to the current-sensor connection while enclosing the sensor and controller boards because Dan emphasizes in paragraph [0028] that facilitating connection of the current sensing module to the sensor board while retaining communication with the BMS.
As to claim 8, Olsen and Dan disclose the integrated current sensing device according to claim 1, wherein Olsen further teaches wherein the sensor connector protrudes into a connection recess (132)(see paragraph [0044]) so as to be connected to the at least one current sensing module (see paragraph [0028], card-mounted I/O connectors extend through the front panel; the panel opening is the connection recess).
Regarding claim 9, Olsen disclose the at least one sensor board ((see paragraph [0054], processing device 212 acquires sampled voltage and calculates current).
Olsen does not disclose the at least one current sensing module exclude a means configured to communicate with a battery management system.
Dan discloses least one current sensing module exclude a means configured to communicate with a battery management system (see [0078]; wherein Dan’s CAN controller 215 and transceiver 216).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Dan by incorporating a controller-card arrangement that places the BMS communication circuitry on the mainboard and excludes that circuitry from the sensor board and current sensing module as taught by Olsen, as doing so would provide a common BMS interface for the connected sensing circuitry because Olsen emphasizes in paragraph [0078] that multiple PCB assemblies can be interconnected within a configurable chassis using internal and external I/O connections and local control systems, thus permitting the sensing circuitry to transfer measurements internally to the mainboard for BMS communication without duplicating the BMS interface on the sensor board or current sensing module.
As to claim 11, Olsen does not expressly disclose a battery pack comprising the integrated current sensing device.
Dan supplies the battery-pack relationship for a battery pack comprising the integrated current sensing device (see paragraph [0053], a power battery pack is connected to the current-sensing apparatus through the shunt terminals).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Olsen by incorporating the battery-pack current-monitoring arrangement as taught by Dan et al., as doing so would provide the pack with current measurement and a backup sensing path because Dan et al. emphasize in paragraph [0030] that Hall measurements can be reported when the shunt measurement fails and used to diagnose that failure, thus predictably adapting the battery pack comprising the integrated current sensing device assembly for inclusion as the battery pack’s monitoring component while retaining the existing sensing functions and terminal connections.3
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
In terms of claim 10, the prior art of record does not teach alone or in combination of “the current measurement method comprising: receiving, by the at least one sensor board, an amount of current measured by the at least one current sensing module; digitally converting, by the at least one sensor board, the measured amount of current and transmitting a current value to the mainboard; comparing, by the mainboard, the received current value with a pre-stored threshold value to determine whether the current value is abnormal; and upon determining that the current value is abnormal, notifying a battery management system (BMS) of the abnormal current value and generating an alarm” in combination with all other elements in claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. 12,525,815 B2 to Bernatchez et al. disclose a distributed battery management system for a multi-module traction battery pack of an electric vehicle is provided. The battery management system comprises an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) integrated into a battery module of the traction battery pack of the electric vehicle, and a master controller external to the battery module and in digital data communication with the ADC. The ADC converts an analog signal indicative of a sensed voltage associated with one or more cells of the battery module into a digital signal indicative of the sensed voltage. The master controller performs a function associated with the traction battery pack of the electric vehicle based on the sensed voltage.
U.S. 12,431,547 B1 to Lin et al. disclose a chip-integrated intelligent battery system (CIBS) device allows an ultra-fast collection of high-fidelity battery data including, but not limited to, battery voltage, current, external and internal temperature, pressure, gaseous species, vibration and mechanical impact, during the cell operation from the moment the cell is manufactured. CIBS is integrated with actuator, microprocessor, data storage, data transmission, current sensor, voltage sensor, gas pressure sensor, gas species sensor, and power source leads, to provide instant feedback on various parameters inside the battery to assess the battery's performance. The data from CIBS is collected via an integrated or a discrete antenna and streamed wirelessly or through a wired system to a separate control device. Such a device can be part of or a discrete component of the battery management system.
U.S. 2021/0083506 A1 to Rao et al. disclose a system for managing electrical loads includes a plurality of branch circuits, a sensor system, and control circuitry. The sensor system is configured to measure one or more electrical parameters corresponding to the plurality of branch circuits, and transmit one or more signals to the control circuitry. The control circuitry is configured to determine respective electrical load information in each branch circuit based on the sensor system, and control the electrical load in each branch circuit using controllable elements based on the respective electrical load information. The control circuitry transmits usage information, generates displays indicative of usage information, accesses stored or referencing information to forecast electrical load, and manages electrical load in response to identified events. The control circuitry can associate each branch circuit with reference load information, and disaggregate loads on each branch circuit based on the reference load information and on the electrical load in the branch circuit.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TRUNG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-1966. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon- Friday 8AM - 4:00PM Eastern Time. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Huy Phan can be reached on 571-272-7924. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
Examiner: /Trung Q. Nguyen/- Art 2858
/HUY Q PHAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858