DETAILED ACTION
Claims 71-97 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 71, 77-79, and 89 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2015/0130101 A1 (FIEGENER).
FIEGENER teaches in 3D printer, see [0004, 0022], of a storage cavity 85 with conveying member 93 that rotates when driven, and the output assembly to selectively convey the printing material from the storage cavity to the tray, see nozzles 111, see Fig. 6 and Figs. 7-9, see top surface 71 of the plate 65 (or tray). The operation of the printer assembly includes use of circuitry and processor, see [0027, 0041].
Re: 71, FIEGENER teaches of a material supply mechanism (see printer assembly 61), configured to add a printing material (pellets, see abstract) to a tray (see plate 65) of a three-dimensional (3D) printer (printer 1), and comprising:
a conveying assembly comprising a storage cavity (see hopper 85 and chamber 96) for storing the printing material and a conveying member (auger 93), the conveying member is arranged in the storage cavity and is configured to rotate when driven; and
an output assembly (see nozzle 107) configured to selectively convey the printing material from the storage cavity to the tray or to stop conveying (via operation of the auger and the heating element for the molten material, see [0029-0032]).
Re: 77 (upon 71), wherein the FIEGENER teaches of the conveying member further comprises a transmission shaft (95) and a conveying portion (flights 94); and the conveying portion is arranged at a periphery of the transmission shaft along a spiral path (see Fig. 6, see flights 94 located on a shaft 95, see also auger 93, see [0029]).
Re: 78, FIEGLER teaches of a 3D printer, comprising: a tray (plate 65) configured to receive a printing material; and a material supply mechanism comprising: a conveying assembly (see Fig. 6 and printer assembly 61) comprising a storage cavity (see hopper 85 and chamber 96) for storing the printing material and a conveying member (see auger 93), the conveying member is arranged in the storage cavity and is configured to rotate when driven (see Fig. 6, see also [0029-0032]); and an output assembly (see nozzle 107) configured to selectively convey the printing material from the storage cavity to the tray or to stop conveying (via operation of the auger and the heating element for the molten material, see [0029-0032]).
Re: 79 (upon 78), wherein the 3D printer further comprises a control unit (processor, [0027]) and a driving device (see motor 91), the driving device is configured to change a rotation direction and/or a rotation speed of the conveying member according to a control instruction from the control unit (see teaching of controlling unit and processor, see [0027, 0032]).
Re: 89, a 3D printing method (see teaching of the structures as seen in claims 71, 78 and 79 above, with the processors), comprising:
receiving a supply instruction;
rotating a conveying member of a conveying assembly of a material supply mechanism of a 3D printer along a first rotation direction according to the supply instruction, so as to convey a printing material stored in a storage cavity of the conveying assembly to an output assembly; and
delivering the printing material in the output assembly to a tray of the 3D printer.
(see operation of the device and includes use of the processor and logic, see [0027-0029])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 87 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FIEGENER, as applied to claim 78 above, and further in view of US 2021/0197457 A1 (BROACH) or US 2020/0198233 A1 (YANG).
Re: 87 (upon 78), wherein the FIEGENER does not teach of the 3D printer further comprises any one of:
- a forming platform comprising a layer made of modified plastic, wherein an adhesive force between the layer of the forming platform and a printing layer formed by the printing material is not less than 1.5N per square centimeter;
- a forming platform comprising a layer subjected to surface treatment; or
- a forming platform having a forming surface, a back surface opposite to the forming surface and a plurality of through holes, wherein a diameter of the through hole gradually increases from the forming surface to the back surface.
Wherein, these are known platform features in the 3D printing arts.
Including the teaching of BROACH of applying surface treatment of the substrate to provide better adhesion with the subsequent layer to be deposited by the additive manufacturing. Further, YANG teaches of the platform with tapered holes, see [0050], and wherein, the after printing is completed allows for ease in fracturing of the 3D printed product from the platform, see [0061], wherein, the manner allows for forming holes allows to prevent warpage and deformations of the product upon the platform.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the platform of FIEGENER with the surface treatment as taught by BROACH or with tapered holes as taught by YANG in order to improve the product formed and later released from the platform.
Claim(s) 95 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FIEGENER, as applied to claim 89 above.
Re: 95 (upon 89), wherein the 3D printing method further comprises:
forming a three-dimensional object on a forming platform of the 3D printer; post-processing the three-dimensional object; and
separating the three-dimensional object from the forming platform.
In this regard, FIEGENER teaches of the forming of the object on the platform. The post processing and removal of the object from the platform are known operations step in the use of a 3D printer and it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified FIEGENER with these known basic operations in removal of the formed product from the production apparatus.
Claim(s) 84 and 88 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FIEGENER as applied to claim 78 above, and further in view of US 2010/0125356 A1 (SHKOLNIK).
Re: 84 (upon 78), wherein FIEGENER fails to teach of the 3D printer further comprises at least one disposable forming platform.
SHKOLNIK teaches of a support plate 112 that can be configured as a reusable build platform or a disposable build platform, see [0271].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modify the tray of FIEGENER with the disposable platform as taught by SHKOLNIK that allows for removal of the workpiece after the build process is complete, [0271].
Re: 88 (upon 78), wherein FIEGENER fails to teach of the material supply mechanism is detachably or non-detachably connected to the tray.
Regarding the detachable or non-detachable connection between the material supply to the tray, the claim is broad and does not provide particular distinction from the connection teachings of FIEGENER. As currently seen, by SHKOLNIK, of the support plate 112 that can be attached by mechanical attachment or by a vacuum.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modify the tray of FIEGENER with the disposable platform as taught by SHKOLNIK that allows for removal of the workpiece after the build process is complete, [0271].
Claim(s) 85 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FIEGENER in view of SHKOLNIK as applied to claim 84 above, and further in view of US 2023/0129561 A1 (POELMA).
Re: 85 (upon 84), wherein the modified FIEGENER fails to teach of the forming platform is provided with at least one identifier, the identifier is configured to store a production data, and the production data comprises a printing parameter and/or a post-processing process parameter.
Wherein, POELMA teaches of a build platform that includes a unique identifier connected to the body, see [0025]. Wherein, the identifier (such as NFC tag, RFID tag, bar code, etc) can be used for tracking suage during additive manufacturing and post-additive manufacturing steps, see [0034, 0086].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modify the tray of the modified FIEGENER with the identifier as taught by POELMA as it can be used for tracking usage during additive manufacturing and post-additive manufacturing steps.
Claim(s) 80 and 96-97 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FIEGENER as applied to claims 78 and 89 above, and further in view of US 2023/0133696 A1 (ZHANG).
Re: 80 (upon 78), wherein FIEGENER fails to teach of the 3D printer further comprises a liquid level measuring mechanism, the liquid level measuring mechanism is detachably or non-detachably connected to the tray and is configured to measure an amount of the printing material in the tray.
ZHANG teaches of the sensor for measuring liquid level via the distance measuring sensor 5231, see [0054], this allowing to monitoring of the tray.
Regarding the measuring mechanism being detachably or non-detachably connected is broad and the teaching of ZHANG would encompass this feature.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the FIEGENER system with the liquid level measuring mechanism of ZHANG that allows for measuring the material in the tray, as this is seen as KSR rationale, MPEP 2143, as combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Re: 96 (upon 89), wherein similarly as in claim 80 above, FIEGENER fails to teach of the 3D printing method further comprises:
measuring a liquid level of the printing material in the tray of the 3D printer, by a liquid level measuring mechanism of the 3D printer; and
Wherein, the teaching of ZHANG would allow for monitoring of the tray during operation. Further, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art in light of the teachings of the FIEGENER in operations based upon sensors.
Re: 97 dependent upon claim upon 96, and the teaching above for claim 96 would encompass the features of claim 97.
Claim(s) 83 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FIEGENER as applied to claim 78 above, and further in view of US 2023/0191448 A1 (LU).
Re: 83 (upon 78), wherein FIEGENER does not teach of the additional 3D printer features of:
a lifting mechanism;
a platform connecting mechanism connected to the lifting mechanism; and
a forming platform comprising:
a platform body;
a first sliding connecting portion connected to the platform body and slidably connected to the platform connecting mechanism; and
a limiting portion arranged on the first sliding connecting portion, and configured to limit sliding of the forming platform when the platform body reaches a predetermined position relative to the platform connecting mechanism.
Wherein, the LU reference teaches of a tray with lifting mechanism and forming platform, and further of the sliding connecting portion with a limiting portion, see Figs. 9-10.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modify the platform/tray of FIEGENER with the lifting and sliding connecting portions as taught by LU as a known alternate for mounting and aligning of a platform used in additive manufacturing.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 72-75, 81-82, 86, and 90-94 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art references fail to teach the features with the additional features of following claims below, and wherein, the FIEGENER fails to teach those features.
Re: 72 (upon 71), wherein the output assembly comprises:
a housing defining an accommodating space, provided with an outlet, and connected to the storage cavity; and
a locking assembly arranged in the accommodating space, and comprising:
a locking body arranged in the accommodating space and defining a switchable cavity in communication with the storage cavity and a discharge cavity in communication with the switchable cavity, the discharge cavity is configured for delivering the printing material; and
a movable locking member arranged in the switchable cavity and configured to selectively allow or prohibit communication between the switchable cavity and the storage cavity.
Re: 73-75, the claims being dependent upon claim 72.
Re: 76 (upon 71), wherein the output assembly comprises a discharge member and a switching member, and the discharge member is provided with a discharge channel in communication with the storage cavity; and
the switching member is configured to open the discharge channel when the switching member bears a pressure applied by the printing material greater than or equal to a preset pressure, and to close the discharge channel when the switching member bears the pressure applied by the printing material less than the preset pressure.
Re: 81 (upon 78), wherein the 3D printer further comprises:
a rack; and
a film tightening member, wherein the tray is configured to move along a first direction, such that a distance between a release film of the tray and the film tightening member gradually decreases, and the release film is tightened by the film tightening member when the tray reaches a fixed position.
Re: 82 being dependent upon claim 81.
Re: 86 (upon 78), wherein the tray comprises:
a tray body provided with a first fitting member;
a cover body provided with a second fitting member configured to fit with the first fitting member, the cover body is pivotable between a closed position where the first fitting member makes contact with the second fitting member to lock the cover body and the tray body and an open position where the first fitting member is separated from the second fitting member.
Re: 90 (upon 89), wherein the 3D printing method further comprises:
receiving a stirring instruction; and
controlling the conveying member to rotate along a second rotation direction opposite to the first rotation direction according to the stirring instruction, so as to stir the printing material stored in the storage cavity of the conveying assembly.
Re: 91 (upon 89), wherein the 3D printing method further comprises: controlling a locking member of the output assembly to move relative to a locking body of the output assembly, so as to allow the printing material stored in the storage cavity to be conveyed to the output assembly.
Re: 92 being dependent upon claim 91.
Re: 93 (upon 89), wherein said rotating comprises:
rotating the conveying member at an operation speed greater than or equal to a preset speed, such that a pressure applied by the printing material to a switching member of the output assembly is greater than or equal to a preset pressure to open a discharge channel of a discharge member of the output assembly.
Re: 94 being dependent upon claim 93.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892 form, of particular note:
US 2020/0298482 A1 teaches of a storage cavity 170, a feed tray 110 and a further support platform 150 which the build material is worked upon, and a rotating conveying (auger screw 185) member between the storage cavity to the feed tray, see Fig. 3. The arrangement being different from the claimed arrangements.
/EMMANUEL S LUK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744