DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 12, 13, 19-29 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jeon (US 2023/0413379).
Regarding Claims 1 and 19, Jeon teaches a method by a user equipment, UE, for adapting a small data transmission, SDT, the method comprising:
determining that at least one proximity condition is fulfilled (¶ [0401] – [0404], see specifically paging occasions overlapping with an SDT),
the at least one proximity condition being associated with:
at least one resource for a SDT (¶ [0401], see specifically time duration associated with an SDT), and
at least one paging resource for receiving at least one paging related signal from a network node (¶ [0401], see specifically paging occasion); and
performing (1004) at least one task for adapting the SDT based on the at least one proximity condition being fulfilled (¶ [0420], see specifically perform either the SDT or the Paging).
Regarding Claims 2 and 20, Jeon teaches determining that the at least one proximity condition is fuilfilled comprises determining that the at least one resource for the SDT at least partially overlaps in time with the at least one paging resource (¶ [0401] – [0404], see specifically paging occasions overlapping with an SDT
Regarding Claims 3 and 21, Jeon teaches wherein performing the at least one task for adapting the SDT based on the at least one proximity condition being fulfilled comprises at least one of: monitoring at least one paging occasion associated with the at least one paging resource, and receiving at least one paging related signal (¶ [0420], see specifically perform either the SDT or the Paging).
Regarding Claims 4 and 22, Jeon teaches performing the at least one task for adapting the SDT based on the at least one proximity condition being fulfilled comprises: dropping the SDT (¶ [0420], see specifically perform either the SDT or the Paging).
Regarding Claims 5 and 23, Jeon teaches performing the at least one task for adapting the SDT based on the at least one proximity condition being fulfilled comprises at least one of: postponing the SDT; and switching from a first SDT method to a second SDT method. (¶ [0420], see specifically perform either the SDT or the Paging).
Regarding Claims 6 and 24, Jeon teaches switching from the first SDT method to the second SDT method comprises: switching from a Configured Grant-SDT, CG-SDT, method to a Random Access Channel-SDT, RACH-SDT, method; switching from a RACH-SDT method to a CG-SDT method; switching from a 4-step RACH-SDT method to a 2-step RACH-SDT method; or switching from a 2-step RACH-SDT method to a 4-step RACH-SDT method. (NOTE: “switching from the first SDT method to the second SDT method comprises’ and is not required such that none of the limitations of claim 6 are limiting if the alternative limitation is chosen.
Regarding Claims 7 and 25, Jeon teaches receiving, from a network node information associated with the at least one resource for a SDT (¶ [0256], see specifically RACH based SDT.)
Regarding Claim 8 and 26, Jeon teaches receiving the information associated with the at least one resource for the SDT comprises at least one of: a Physical Uplink Shared Channel, PUSCH, allocation; a Random Access Channel, RACH, allocation; a frequency of a pre-configured radio resource; information indicating that the at least one resource for the SDT is periodic and/or a periodicity of the at least one resource for the SDT; information indicating that the at least one resource for the SDT is aperiodic; and a Timing Advance, TA, value associated with a pre-configured radio resource. (¶ [0256], see specifically RACH based SDT.)
Regarding Claim 9 and 27, Jeon teaches the at least one resource for the SDT is associated with a configured grant, CG (¶ [0422], see specifically CG based SDT).
Regarding Claim 12 and 28, Jeon teaches determining that the UE has data to transmit using the at least one resource for the SDT (¶ [0296], see specifically skip transmission if there is no uplink data.)
Regarding Claim 13 and 31, Jeon teaches determining that the UB has the data to transmit comprises at least one of: receiving data for transmission as SDT; determining that a buffer contains data; determining a need to retransmit previously transmitted data; receiving a request from a network node; and determining that a timer has expired. (¶ [0296], see specifically skip transmission if there is no uplink data in a buffer.)
Regarding Claim 29, Jeon teaches the information associated with the at least one paging reception resource comprises a paging configuration and/or a paging reception periodicity (¶ [0360], see specifically paging configuration parameters.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nam (US 2020/0288402) is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
/ROBERT M MORLAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409
ROBERT M. MORLAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2409