Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “second step difference” , which is referenced in the specification as element 1530, must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference signs mentioned in the description: 1530, 1531, 1532, and 1533.
The drawings are objected to because not all of the structures in the drawings are labeled - see right side corresponding to element 270 on the left side of figures 10, 12, 15E, 15F, 16, 17, 18, 19. Is this element also 270?
Claim Objections
Claim 15 objected to because of the following informalities: there is no antecedent basis for “the same layer”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 17 objected to because of the following informalities: there is no antecedent basis for “the first assembly wiring” or “the second assembly wiring” (in claim 1 they were referred to as ‘assembling wiring’). For the purpose of examination, these elements will be assumed to correspond to the assembling wirings introduced in claim 1’.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. There is no antecedent basis for “the first electrode” – “a first electrode” is claimed in claim 7, but claim 10 is not dependent on claim 7. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. WO 2020166777. Here, Park et al. US 20220246583 is used as a translation.
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses a display device, comprising:
a substrate (1100 figure 12, [0165]);
a first assembling wiring on the substrate (1111 figure 12, [0138]);
a second assembling wiring on the substrate (1112 figure 12, [0138]);
a partition wall disposed on the first and second assembling wirings and having a hole (partition wall 1130 is disposed over the first and second wirings 1111 and 1112 [0140] and has a coupling hole 1102 [0142] see figure 12);
a semiconductor light-emitting device disposed in the hole and having a first step difference part on a side portion thereof (LED 1000 is disposed in coupling hole 1102 [0141-0143]) and has a first step difference part disposed on the top side portion of the semiconductor light-emitting device as shown in annotated figure 14C),
a connection electrode disposed on at least the first step difference part (connection electrode 1162/1184 is disposed on the first step difference part as seen in figure 14D [0172 and 0176]).
Regarding claim 11, Park discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein the partition wall has a second step difference part on a side portion thereof (see annotated figure 14C above)
Regarding claim 12, Park discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein the partition wall comprises;
a first partition wall (1130a, the unshaded part of 1130 in annotated figure 14B) spaced apart from the semiconductor light-emitting device by a first distance (indicated by the lower horizontal arrows);
and a second partition wall (1130b, the shaded part of 1130 in annotated figure 14B) spaced apart from the semiconductor light-emitting device by a second distance (indicated by the upper horizontal arrows) and disposed on the first partition wall (1130b, the unshaded part of 1130, is disposed on 1130a) ;
the second distance being greater than the first distance (the second distance, d2, is greater than the first distance d1)
Regarding claim 13, Park discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein the second step difference part comprises:
a second-first side region on a side portion of the first partition wall (see annotated figure 14D);
a second-second side region on a side portion of the second partition wall (see annotated figure 14D);
and a second bottom region on an upper side of the second partition wall between the first partition wall and the second partition wall (see annotated figure 14D).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Kim US 20210265541.
Regarding claim 2, Park discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein the semiconductor light-emitting device comprises:
a first conductivity type semiconductor layer (1010 is an n-type semiconductor layer [0126]);
a second conductivity type semiconductor layer on the active layer (1030 [0176]); and
a passivation layer (1070/1160 described in [0170])
wherein the first step difference part is disposed on a side portion of the first conductivity type semiconductor layer (see annotated figure 14C above, where the first step difference is disposed on a top a side portion of the first conductivity type semiconductor layer, with the second conductivity part between).
Park lacks:
an active layer on the first conductivity-type semiconductor layer;
and that the second conductivity type semiconductor layer is on the active layer
and that the passivation layer surrounds at least the active layer and the second conductivity type semiconductor layer
However, Kim discloses in paragraph [0073] that an active layer 154 may be layered between the first conductivity-type semiconductive layer and the second conductivity-type active layer, in which case.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having reasonable skill in the art before the time of filing to add an active layer between the first conductivity-type semiconductive layer and the second conductivity-type active layer in order to improve the efficiency of the LED (see Fletcher et al. US 5008718). In the combination, this active layer 154 from Kim, would therefore be surrounded by the passivation layer (1070/1160) of Park.
Regarding claim 3, Park, as modified by Kim as in claim 2, discloses the display device according to claim 2, wherein the first conductivity type semiconductor layer comprises:
a first-first conductivity type semiconductor layer having a first width (see annotated figure 14D); and
a first-second conductivity type semiconductor layer disposed on the first-first conductivity type semiconductor layer and having a second width smaller than the first width (see annotated figure 14D).
Regarding claim 9, Park, as modified by Kim in claim 2 above, discloses the display device according to claim 2, wherein the connection electrode is disposed on the passivation layer (figure 14D shows that connection electrode 1162/1184 is disposed on passivation layer 1070/1160).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as prior art does not anticipate or render obvious the display device according to claim 3, wherein the first step difference part, a first-first side region on a side portion of the first-first conductivity type semiconductor layer; a first-second side region on a side portion of the first-second conductivity type semiconductor layer; and a first bottom region on an upper side of the first-first conductivity type semiconductor layer between the first-first side region and the first-second side region in combination as claimed.
Claims 5-8 are objected to as being dependent on claim 4, but would be allowable if claim 4 is rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 10, if amended to depend on claim 7 in order to resolve the 112(b) rejection above, would be allowable if claim 4 is rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as prior art does not anticipate or render obvious the display device according to claim 13, wherein the connection electrode is disposed on the second-first side region and the second bottom region in combination as claimed.
Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as prior art does not anticipate or render obvious the display device according to claim 1, wherein the first assembling wiring and the second assembling wiring are disposed on the same layer, and the connection electrode is electrically connected to the first assembling wiring and the second assembling wiring in combination as claimed.
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as prior art does not anticipate or render obvious the display device according to claim 1, wherein the first assembling wiring and the second assembling wiring are disposed on different layers, and the connection electrode is electrically connected to the first assembling wiring and the second assembling wiring in combination as claimed.
Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as prior art does not anticipate or render obvious the display device according to claim, further comprising: an electrode wiring disposed on the semiconductor light-emitting device, wherein the electrode wiring is electrically connected to an upper side of the semiconductor light-emitting device, and wherein at least one of the first assembly wiring or the second assembly wiring is electrically connected to the side portion of the semiconductor light emitting element through the connecting electrode in combination as claimed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure includes Lim et al. US 10636940 similar LED device, but includes magnetic structure.
/KATRINA WALJESKI-MOSES/Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/JEFF W NATALINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818