CTNF 18/727,632 CTNF 84888 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim 21, 23, 31, 32 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Independent Claims 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 16, 28, 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Park (WO-2021029660-A1) . As to claim 16, 28, 35: Park teaches a first device comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing computer program codes that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the first device at least to: in response to determining that a timer associated with a validity of an antenna capability of the first device and one or more usable resources selected by the first device based on the antenna capability has expired (The update of the specific panel may be performed based on expiration of a preset timer) , determine that one or more default resources are to be used for a sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission from the first device (UE) to a second device (BS) (based on the fact that a specific panel … is updated to a first panel … the beam set in the at least one specific uplink resource is updated to a specific beam) ; and determine a transmit beam associated with the SRS transmission based on the one or more default resources (UL BM may be performed through beamformed UL SRS transmission ; The terminal determines the Tx beam for the SRS resource to be transmitted based on the SRS-SpatialRelation Info ; When SRS-SpatialRelationInfo is not set … the terminal randomly determines a Tx beam and transmits the SRS) . Dependent Claims 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 17, 18, 27, 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Park (WO-2021029660-A1) . As to claim 17, 29: Park teaches the first device of claim 16, wherein the computer program codes, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the first device at least to: transmit, to the second device, a report of the antenna capability of the first device (The UE may report capability information related to transmission and reception based on multiple panels; The capability information may include information related to simultaneous transmission and reception using different panels) and at least one reference resource measured by the first device based on the antenna capability of the first device (The UE may report a preferred beam and/or measurement result; The UE may report capability information related to transmission and reception based on multiple panels) . As to claim 18: Park teaches the first device of claim 17, wherein to transmit the report comprises: transmit the report aperiodically, semi-periodically or periodically (SRS resource sets may be configured as periodic, semi-persistent, or aperiodic) . As to claim 26: Park teaches the first device of claim 16, wherein to determine the transmit beam comprises: to determine the transmit beam based on at least one of: a spatial relation Reference Signal (RS) or a Quasi Co-location (QCL) TypeD RS of a TCI state provided for a resource associated with an uplink control channel having a lowest resource index, a spatial relation RS or a QCL TypeD RS of a TCI state provided for one or more resources that have been transmitted from the second device, a spatial relation RS or a QCL TypeD RS of a TCI state provided for one or more resources indicated in downlink control information (DCI; When SRS-SpatialRelationInfo is set to'CSI-RS', the UE transmits SRS resources) , or a spatial relation RS or a QCL TypeD RS of a TCI state of a configured grant for an uplink data channel. As to claim 27: Park teaches the first device of claim 16, wherein the first device comprises a terminal device and the second device comprises a network device (fig.15, fig.18) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (WO-2021029660-A1) in view of 3GPP TS 38.321 16.7.0 2021-12-23, “MAC Protocol specification.” As to claim 19: Park teaches the first device of claim 17, wherein the computer program codes, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the first device at least to: … upon receiving configuration information from the second device (The base station may configure uplink resources related to a panel) , the configuration information being used for the first device to measure and report the antenna capability and the at least one reference resource (The UE may report a preferred beam and/or measurement result; The UE may report capability information related to transmission and reception based on multiple panels) . Park may not explicitly teach However, 3GPP teaches start the timer (section 5.2 When a timing alignment command MAC control element is received, the wireless device may apply the timing alignment command and start or restart timeAlignmentTimer). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement start/restart timer, taught by 3GPP, into the communication system, taught by Park, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and ensure UE remains synchronized with the network. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Park and 3GPP in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (WO-2021029660-A1) in view of Tsai (EP-4024748-B1) . As to claim 20: Park teaches the first device of claim 17. Park may not explicitly teach wherein the computer program codes, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the first device at least to: start the timer at a time point when the first device transmits the report. However, Tsai teaches wherein the computer program codes, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the first device at least to: start the timer at a time point when the first device transmits the report ([0304] In one embodiment, UE may (re-)start the timer when/after the UE trigger/generate/transmit the report to NW.) . Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement start timer, taught by Tsai, into the report, taught by Park, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and ensure report is up-to-date and fresh. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Tsai and Park in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references. As to claim 30: Park teaches the method of claim 29. Park may not explicitly teach further comprising: starting, at the first device, the timer at a time point upon receiving configuration information from the second device, the configuration information being used for the first device to measure and report the antenna capability and the at least one reference resource; or starting, at the first device, the timer at a time point when the first device transmits the report. However, Tsai teaches further comprising: starting, at the first device, the timer at a time point upon receiving configuration information from the second device, the configuration information being used for the first device to measure and report the antenna capability and the at least one reference resource; or starting, at the first device, the timer at a time point when the first device transmits the report ([0304] In one embodiment, UE may (re-)start the timer when/after the UE trigger/generate/transmit the report to NW.) . Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement start timer, taught by Tsai, into the report, taught by Park, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and ensure report is up-to-date and fresh. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Tsai and Park in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (WO-2021029660-A1) in view of 3GPP TS 38.331 16.7.0 2021-12-23, “RRC protocol specification.” As to claim 22: Park teaches the first device of claim 16. Park may not explicitly teach wherein the computer program codes, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the first device at least to: obtain a time duration associated with the timer from the second device. However, 3GPP teaches wherein the computer program codes, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the first device at least to: obtain a time duration associated with the timer from the second device (section 5.3.8.3 start timer T302 with the value set to the waitTime) . Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement setting timer information, taught by 3GPP, into the communication system, taught by Park, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and adapt timer length to network conditions. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine 3GPP and Park in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 24, 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (WO-2021029660-A1) in view of ZTE. “FL Summary #2 on SRS Enhancements.” 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #103-e, Agenda Item 8.1.3, Document R1-2009650, e-Meeting, 26 Oct.–13 Nov. 2020 . As to claim 24, 33: Park teaches the first device of claim 16. Park may not explicitly teach wherein to determine that one or more default resources are to be used for the SRS transmission comprises: determine a subset of resources from the one or more current usable resources as the one or more default resources, the subset of resources being corresponding to a lowest antenna capability of the first device. However, ZTE teaches wherein to determine that one or more default resources are to be used for the SRS transmission comprises: determine a subset of resources from the one or more current usable resources as the one or more default resources (section 2.3 UE that supports nT=nR antenna switching with n={1,2,4} can be configured with an n port SRS resource that is in both an SRS resource set with usage=’codebook’ and another SRS resource set with usage=’antennaSwitching’, provided that the SRS resource sets have the same time domain behavior.) , the subset of resources being corresponding to a lowest antenna capability of the first device (section 2.4 gNB is willing to use the smaller number of antennas to assist UE power saving; UE can back off from 4 simultaneous Tx chains to 2Tx or 1Tx and turn off some of the Tx chains.) . Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement determining antenna resources, taught by ZTE, into the communication system, taught by Park, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and enable communication. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine ZTE and Parkin a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 25, 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (WO-2021029660-A1) in view of Gulati (US-20230129783) . As to claim 25, 34: Park teaches the first device of claim 16. Park may not explicitly teach wherein to determine the transmit beam comprises: in response to determining that the one or more default resource are configured based on an indicated Transmission Coordination Indicator, (TCI) state, determine the transmit beam based on the indicated TCI state. However, Gulati teaches wherein to determine the transmit beam comprises: in response to determining that the one or more default resource are configured based on an indicated Transmission Coordination Indicator, (TCI) state, determine the transmit beam based on the indicated TCI state (abstract, [0005, 6, 91]) . Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement TCI, taught by Gulati, into the communication system, taught by Park, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and use beam information and enable transmission efficiency. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Park and Gulati in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANDREW CHUNG SUK OH whose telephone number is (571)270-5273. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 12p-8p. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Faruk Hamza can be reached at 5712727969. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ANDREW C OH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/727,632 Page 2 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/727,632 Page 3 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/727,632 Page 4 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/727,632 Page 5 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/727,632 Page 6 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/727,632 Page 7 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/727,632 Page 8 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/727,632 Page 9 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/727,632 Page 10 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/727,632 Page 11 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/727,632 Page 12 Art Unit: 2466