DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/9/2024 was filed before the first office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejection Notes
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15-19, 22-28, 30, 31, and 33, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Lipman et al. (US 20080104145 A1, published: 5/1/2008).
Claim 15: Lipman teaches a method for restoring automatically reset settings of a machine, comprising: generating a display of a list of reset settings on a display device (means for displaying a list of the plurality of versions of the at least one file [Lipman, Claim 13]; [Lipman, 0079]); detecting an actuation of at least one operating element for restoring at least one reset setting from the list (means for receiving an input specifying at least one of the plurality of versions of the at least one file to be restored [Lipman, Claim 13]); and restoring the at least one reset setting in response to the detected actuation of the at least one operating element (as with the file list illustrated in FIG. 4, the listing under the restoration interface provides a tree structure 250, retrieved from the file tree 152 of the index 150, which allows the user to expand or collapse the tree. With each file is an indication 251 of when the file was last backed up, including the date and time. If more than one version of a file has been backed up, the tree 250 is expandable to list all versions. One or more versions of a file can be restored. If multiple versions of a file are restored, each will be given a filename which indicates when it was backed up [Lipman, 0079]).
Claims 24 and 33, sharing similar elements to claim 15, are likewise rejected.
Claim 16: Lipman teaches the method of claim 15. Lipman further teaches further comprising: displaying an indication of a presence of the reset settings; and displaying the list of the reset settings in response to an actuation of a trigger operating element (the process for restoring data commences with this interface. The restore process has three screens for setting options, which are selected by tabs 241-243. In the first screen, selected by tab 241, a listing of files 250 which have been backed up is displayed. As with the file list illustrated in FIG. 4, the listing under the restoration interface provides a tree structure 250, retrieved from the file tree 152 of the index 150, which allows the user to expand or collapse the tree. With each file is an indication 251 of when the file was last backed up, including the date and time. If more than one version of a file has been backed up, the tree 250 is expandable to list all versions. One or more versions of a file can be restored [Lipman, 0079]).
Claims 25 and 34, sharing similar elements to claim 16, are likewise rejected.
Claim 17: Lipman teaches the method of claim 16. Lipman further teaches wherein the indication is configured as the trigger operating element ([Lipman, 0079-0080]).
Claim 26, sharing similar elements to claim 17, is likewise rejected.
Claim 18: Lipman teaches the method of claim 16. Lipman further teaches further comprising automatically displaying the indication or the list of the reset settings upon a startup of the machine or a user login (the administrator must enter an ID and password to get access to information on the backup device [Lipman, 0032]. The removable copies may be used for accessing certain login information, such as usernames and passwords, which have been forgotten or lost. [Lipman, 0087]).
Claim 27, sharing similar elements to claim 18, is likewise rejected.
Claim 19: Lipman teaches the method of claim 18. Lipman further teaches wherein the automatically displaying of the indication or the list is selectively deactivatable via a user setting (it is common for software products, in particular backup products, to use a three-state model to indicate the selection status of nested folders in a file system or other tree-like hierarchies. In such systems, one state indicates that the folder and its contents are selected, a second state indicates that the folder and its contents are not selected, and a third state ("partially selected") indicates that some of the contents of the folder are selected and some are not selected. [Lipman, 0034]).
Claim 28, sharing similar elements to claim 19, is likewise rejected.
Claim 22: Lipman teaches the method of claim 15. Lipman further teaches wherein the at least one operating element is configured to restore exactly one reset setting, a defined selection of reset settings, or all reset settings in the list via a single actuation (it is common for software products, in particular backup products, to use a three-state model to indicate the selection status of nested folders in a file system or other tree-like hierarchies. In such systems, one state indicates that the folder and its contents are selected, a second state indicates that the folder and its contents are not selected, and a third state ("partially selected") indicates that some of the contents of the folder are selected and some are not selected. Typically, these states are indicated graphically with a white square with a checkmark, an empty white square, and a gray square with a checkmark. [Lipman, 0034]; [Lipman, 0079-0080]).
Claim 31, sharing similar elements to claim 22, is likewise rejected.
Claim 23: Lipman teaches the method of claim 15. Lipman further teaches further comprising providing access to explanatory information regarding a reason for the reset of the settings via a secondary operating element (with each file is an indication 251 of when the file was last backed up, including the date and time [Lipman, 0079]).
Claim 32, sharing similar elements to claim 23, is likewise rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20, 21, 29, and 30, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lipman et al. (US 20080104145 A1, published: 5/1/2008), in view of Bangalore et al. (US 20180285201 A1, published: 10/4/2018).
Claim 20: Lipman teaches the method of claim 15. Lipman does not teach wherein the display device is configured as a touch-sensitive interface.
However, Bangalore teaches wherein the display device is configured as a touch-sensitive interface (the interactive user interfaces may be displayed on, for example, electronic displays (including, for example, touch-enabled displays), consoles, etc. [Bangalore, 0107]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the automatic restore settings interface invention of Lipman to include the generic computer touch and scroll input features of Bangalore.
One would have been motivated to make this modification to give users the familiar computer interface features, such as touch input and scroll input, which have been present in the computing field for the past 3 and a half decades. Such input features have become standard for graphical user interfaces.
Claim 29, sharing similar elements to claim 20, is likewise rejected.
Claim 21: The combination Lipman and Bangalore, teaches the method of claim 20. Bangalore further teaches wherein the at least one operating element is configured as a button or a slider control displayed on the touch-sensitive interface (a user may define a classification policy by indicating criteria, parameters or descriptors of the policy via a graphical user interface, such as a form or page with fields to be filled in, pull-down menus or entries allowing one or more of several options to be selected, buttons, sliders, hypertext links or other known user interface tools for receiving user input, etc. [Bangalore, 0217]).
Claim 30, sharing similar elements to claim 21, is likewise rejected.
Conclusion
/Seth A Silverman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172