DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communications filed July 10th, 2024.
Claims 16-30 are currently pending. Claims 1-16 are canceled via preliminary amendments. And claims 16-30 are newly presented via preliminary amendment.
The present application is a national phase entry of International Application no. PCT/EP2023/050367, field on January 10th, 2023, which claims priority to the People’s Republic of Finland application no. FI20225023, filed on January 12th, 2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
The claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the computer readable medium includes embodiments of signals, which falls outside the statutory categories. The examiner suggests limited the computer readable medium to a “non-transitory” medium.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gao et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication no. 2024/0236982, hereinafter Gao).
With respect to claims 16, 23, and 30, Gao discloses a first device, method, and computer readable medium (paragraph [0041], lines 1-8) comprising:
at least one processor (paragraph [0041], lines 1-8); and
at least one memory including computer program codes (paragraph [0041], lines 1-8);
the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor (paragraph [0041], lines 1-8), cause the first device at least to:
monitor a first downlink control channel (paragraph [0074], lines 4-8, to be monitored) associated with a first type of Control Resource Set, CORESET (paragraph [0074], lines 4-8) based on a first Transmission Coordination Indicator, TCI, state (paragraph [0076], lines 1-6); and
in accordance with a determination that a first TCI state is different from a second TCI state used for the first device to monitor a second downlink control channel associated with a second type of CORESET (paragraph [0087], different TCI states) determine a reception of a first downlink data channel associated with the first type of CORESET based at least partially on a scheduling offset (paragraph [0089], lines 1-6, scheduling offset between DL signals).
With respect to claims 17 and 24, Gao discloses the first device of claims 16 and 23, wherein the first type of CORESET is associated with a common search space and the second type of CORESET is associated with a user specific search space (paragraph [0100]).
With respect to claims 18 and 25, Gao discloses the first device of claims 16 and 23, wherein the first type of CORESET is associated with a non-Type3 common search space and the second type of CORESET is associated with a user specific search space or a Type3 common search space (paragraph [0100]).
With respect to claims 19 and 26, Gao discloses the first device of claims 17 and 24, wherein the first device is caused to determine the reception of the first downlink data channel by:
in accordance with a determination that symbols after the first type of CORESET in a first slot are received based on the first TCI state and a scheduling grant with the scheduling offset of zero associated with the first downlink data channel is detected in the first slot (paragraph [0106], lines 1-7), performing a demodulation associated with the first downlink data channel based on the scheduling grant (paragraph [0056]).
With respect to claims 20 and 27, Gao discloses the first device of claims 17 and 24, wherein the first device is caused to determine the reception of the first downlink data channel by:
in accordance with a determination that symbols after the first type of CORESET in a first slot are received based on the first TCI state and a scheduling grant with the scheduling offset equal to or greater than a time duration for a Quasi co-location is detected in the first slot (paragraph [0088], lines 6-17), monitoring, based on the second TCI state, the first downlink control channel in a second slot subsequent to the first slot (paragraph [0088], lines 6-17); and
in accordance with a determination that further symbols are received in the second slot based on the second TCI state, performing the reception of the first downlink data channel in a time period provided by the scheduling offset (paragraph [0088], lines 6-17).
With respect to claims 21 and 28, Gao discloses the first device of claims 17 and 24, wherein the first device is caused to determine the reception of the first downlink data channel by:
in accordance with a determination that symbols after the first type of CORESET in a first slot are received based on the first TCI state and a scheduling grant with the scheduling offset less than a time duration for a Quasi co-location is detected in the first slot (paragraph [0088], lines 6-17), performing, based on the first TCI state, the reception of the first downlink data channel in a time period provided by the scheduling offset (paragraph [0088], lines 6-17).
With respect to claims 22 and 29, Gao discloses the first device of claims 16 and 23, wherein the first TCI state is an activated TCI state, and the second TCI state is an indicated TCI state (paragraph [0065]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yi Pat. Pub. 2022/0361202
Zhu Pat. Pub. 2023/0199764
Babaei Pat. Pub. 2022/0039072
Zhou Pat. Pub. 2021/0321372
Huang Pat. Pub. 2019/0342907
7/17/26
/BLAKE J RUBIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2457