DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 7 – 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kingsford (US 2007/0025108 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kingsford (US 2007/0025108 A1) discloses a bus (Fig 1-2,5), comprising: a substrate (12,27,48) that is flexible ([0058]) and non-conductive ([0058]) and configured for roll-to-roll processing (see Fig 1,5; [0068-0088]); a plurality of bus conductors (40,112-120; [0062,0065]) disposed on the substrate (12,27,48) and configured to: receive at least one device (42,50), and transfer one or more of power ([0065]) or data ([0065]) signals to the at least one device (42,50); and at least one strap (14; note that this structure is not structurally defined in the claim nor the Applicant’s specification; the Office interest this as a means of fastening) configured to couple a respective bus conductor (40,112-120) of the plurality of bus conductors (40,112-120; [0065]) to a respective contact (44) of the at least one device (42,50).
Regarding Claim 7, Kingsford further discloses the bus (Fig 1-2,5) of claim 1, wherein the substrate (12,27,48) includes a material selected from the group consisting of plastic ([0005,0024,0059,0076]), polyethylene terephthalate, treated paper, and coated paper.
Regarding Claim 8, Kingsford further discloses the bus (Fig 1-2,5) of claim 1, wherein each conductor (40,112-120) is selected from the group consisting of a conductive ink ([0074]) printed onto the substrate (12,27), a metal foil secured on the substrate, an aluminum metal foil secured on the substrate, a copper clad metal foil secured on the substrate, a die cut metal foil secured on the substrate, a laser etched metal foil secured on the substrate, and a metal vacuum deposited onto the substrate.
Regarding Claim 9, Kingsford further discloses the bus (Fig 1-2,5) of claim 1, wherein the substrate and the plurality of bus conductors are configured to be stored ([0072-0088] “storage rolls”) in a roll (62) without devices ([0072]) and receive ([0085]) a plurality of the at least one device (42) that are attached to two or more of the plurality of bus conductors (via roll-to-roll processing see Fig 5).
The Claim states a “via roll-to-roll processing” but “via roll-to-roll processing” does not represent product structure but only refers to the process by which the layers are formed. Thus the Claim is a product claim that recites a process step(s) of roll-to-roll, and is thus treated as a product-by-process claim. See MPEP 2113.
Regarding Claim 10, Kingsford further discloses the bus (Fig 1-2,5) of claim 1, wherein the plurality of bus conductors comprise exactly two bus conductors (110,112) configured to conduct both (respectively) power and data signals ([0065]).
Claim states “configured to conduct both power and data signals” however it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987)
Regarding Claim 11, Kingsford further discloses the bus (Fig 1-2,5) of claim 1, wherein the plurality of bus conductors comprises at least one bus conductor (110,120) configured to conduct only power ([0065]) and at least one bus conductor (112,114,116,118) configured to conduct only data signals ([0065]).
Claim states configured to conduct only power and only data signals however it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kingsford (US 2007/0025108 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Forster (US 2019/0356173 A1; herein referenced as “Forster’173”).
Regarding Claim 2, Kingsford discloses the limitations of the preceding claim.
Kingsford does not disclose the bus of claim 1, wherein the at least one device is an energy harvester device selected from the group consisting of: a photovoltaic cell, a radio frequency energy harvester, and a mechanical energy harvester.
Forster (US 2019/0356173 A1) teaches of a device (Fig 1) wherein at least one device (102) is an energy harvester device ([0020]) selected from the group consisting of: a photovoltaic cell, a radio frequency energy harvester ([0020]), and a mechanical energy harvester.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bus as disclosed by Kingsford, wherein the at least one device is an energy harvester device selected from the group consisting of: a photovoltaic cell, a radio frequency energy harvester, and a mechanical energy harvester as taught by Forster, in order to derive energy from radio frequency signals, convert AC to DC, assist in a retail environment and transmit or receive signals to or from a smartphone (Forster’173, [0003,0019-0020]).
Please note that in the instant application, [0048-0050], applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Claim(s) 3, 4, 6, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kingsford (US 2007/0025108 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Forster (US 2006/0043198 A1; herein referenced as “Forster’198”).
Regarding Claim 3,Kingsford further discloses the bus (Fig 1-2,4) of claim 1, coupled by respective ones of the at least one strap (14) to at least two bus conductors (40,112-120; [0065]).
Kingsford does not explicitly disclose the bus of claim 1, wherein the at least one device is an energy storage device that includes one or more of: a battery, a rechargeable battery, a capacitor, or a supercapacitor.
Forster (US 2006/0043198 A1) teaches of a bus (Fig 2) wherein at least one device (26) is an energy storage device that includes one or more of: a battery ([0043]), a rechargeable battery, a capacitor, or a supercapacitor.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bus as disclosed by Kingsford, wherein the at least one device is an energy storage device that includes one or more of: a battery, a rechargeable battery, a capacitor, or a supercapacitor as taught by Forster’198, in order to provide an RFID, security, building access, tracking inventory, provide interaction (Forster’198, [0004,0043]). Furthermore the combination of Kingsford in view of Forster’198 would provide a means for providing power to a chip.
Please note that in the instant application, [0049], applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Regarding Claim 4, Kingsford further discloses the bus (Fig 1-2,4) of claim 1, coupled by respective ones of the at least one strap (14) to at least two bus conductors (40,112-120; [0065]).
Kingsford does not explicitly disclose the bus of claim 1, wherein the at least one device is an energy consuming device selected from the group consisting of: an emissive display, a reflective display, an acoustic emitter, and a radio signal device.
Forster (US 2006/0043198 A1) teaches of a bus (Fig 2) wherein at least one device (26) is an energy consuming device selected from the group consisting of: an emissive display, a reflective display, an acoustic emitter, and a radio signal device (Abstract, [0002-0004,0043]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bus as disclosed by Kingsford, wherein the at least one device is an energy consuming device selected from the group consisting of: an emissive display, a reflective display, an acoustic emitter, and a radio signal device as taught by Forster’198, in order to provide an RFID, security, building access, tracking inventory, provide interaction (Forster’198, [0004,0043]).
Please note that in the instant application, [0048-0050], applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Regarding Claim 6, Kingsford further discloses the bus (Fig 1-2,4) of claim 1, coupled by respective ones of the at least one strap (14) to at least two bus conductors (40,112-120; [0065]).
Kingsford does not explicitly disclose the bus of claim 1, wherein the at least one device is a control device that includes one or more of: a processor, a programmable logic device, or a microcontroller.
Forster (US 2006/0043198 A1) teaches of a bus (Fig 2) wherein at least one device (26) is a control device that includes one or more of: a processor ([0043]), a programmable logic device, or a microcontroller.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bus as disclosed by Kingsford, wherein the at least one device is a control device that includes one or more of: a processor, a programmable logic device, or a microcontroller as taught by Forster’198, in order to provide an RFID, security, building access, tracking inventory, provide interaction (Forster’198, [0004,0043]). Furthermore the combination of Kingsford in view of Forster’198 would provide a means for executing instructions and calculations as part of the device.
Please note that in the instant application, [0052], applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Regarding Claim 13, Kingsford discloses the limitations of the preceding claim.
Kingsford further discloses the bus (Fig 1-2,4) of claim 1, coupled by respective ones of the at least one strap (14) to at least two bus conductors (40,112-120; [0065]).
Kingsford does not explicitly disclose the bus of claim 1, wherein the at least one device is capacitively coupled by respective ones of the at least one strap to at least two bus conductors of the plurality of bus conductors via a pressure sensitive adhesive.
Forster (US 2006/0043198 A1) teaches of a bus (Fig 2) wherein at least one device (26) is capacitively coupled ([0041-0042]; 13,24a,24b) by respective ones of at least one strap (16) to at least two bus conductors (20,20 as seen in Fig 2) of a plurality of bus conductors via a pressure sensitive adhesive (30,32; [0051,0078]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bus as disclosed by Kingsford, wherein the at least one device is capacitively coupled by respective ones of the at least one strap to at least two bus conductors of the plurality of bus conductors via a pressure sensitive adhesive as taught by Forster’198, in order to provide indirect electric coupling, provide reactive coupling, compensate for changes in thickness, and compensate for misalignment (Forster’198, [0039,0046]).
Regarding Claim 14, Kingsford discloses the limitations of the preceding claim.
Kingsford further discloses the bus (Fig 1-2,4) of claim 1, coupled by respective ones of the at least one strap (14) to at least two bus conductors (40,112-120; [0065]).
Kingsford does not explicitly disclose the bus of claim 1, wherein the at least one device is inductively or capacitively coupled by respective ones of the at least one strap to at least two bus conductors of the plurality of bus conductors.
Forster (US 2006/0043198 A1) teaches of a bus (Fig 2) wherein at least one device (26) is inductively or capacitively coupled ([0041-0042]; 13,24a,24b) by respective ones of at least one strap (16) to at least two bus conductors (20,20 as seen in Fig 2) of a plurality of bus conductors.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bus as disclosed by Kingsford, wherein the at least one device is inductively or capacitively coupled by respective ones of the at least one strap to at least two bus conductors of the plurality of bus conductors as taught by Forster’198, in order to provide indirect electric coupling, provide reactive coupling, compensate for changes in thickness, and compensate for misalignment (Forster’198, [0039,0046]).
Please note that in the instant application, [0005,0006,0019-0026], applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kingsford (US 2007/0025108 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Forster (US 2020/0184300 A1; herein referenced as “Forster’300”).
Regarding Claim 5, Kingsford discloses the limitations of the preceding claim.
Kingsford does not disclose the bus of claim 1, wherein the at least one device is a sensor device selected from the group consisting of: a temperature sensor, an acoustic energy sensor, an accelerometer, a shock sensor, a gas sensor, a smoke sensor, a carbon monoxide sensor, a water sensor, a PH sensor, a Hall effect sensor, and a chemical sensor.
Forster (US 2020/0184300 A1) teaches of a bus (Fig 1) wherein at least one device (12) is a sensor device selected from the group consisting of: a temperature sensor ([0022]), an acoustic energy sensor, an accelerometer, a shock sensor, a gas sensor, a smoke sensor, a carbon monoxide sensor, a water sensor, a PH sensor, a Hall effect sensor, and a chemical sensor.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bus as disclosed by Kingsford, wherein the at least one device is a sensor device selected from the group consisting of: a temperature sensor, an acoustic energy sensor, an accelerometer, a shock sensor, a gas sensor, a smoke sensor, a carbon monoxide sensor, a water sensor, a PH sensor, a Hall effect sensor, and a chemical sensor as taught by Forster, in order to ensure stored items are under certain environmental conditions (Forster’300, Abstract, [0003-0006,0022]).
Please note that in the instant application, [0051-0052], applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kingsford (US 2007/0025108 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Credelle (US 6,606,247 B2).
Regarding Claim 12, Kingsford discloses the limitations of the preceding claim.
Kingsford further discloses the bus (Fig 1-2,4) of claim 1, coupled by respective ones of the at least one strap to at least two bus conductors (40,112-120; [0065]).
Kingsford does not explicitly disclose the bus of claim 1, wherein the at least one device is conductively coupled by respective ones of the at least one strap to at least two bus conductors of the plurality of bus conductors.
Credelle (US 6,606,247 B2) teaches of a bus (Fig 3), wherein at least one device (302,303,304) is conductively coupled (Column 5, lines 12-24) by respective ones of at least one strap (301) to at least two bus conductors (311,312,313) of a plurality of bus conductors (311-313).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bus as disclosed by Kingsford, wherein the at least one device is conductively coupled by respective ones of the at least one strap to at least two bus conductors of the plurality of bus conductors as taught by Credelle, in order to compensate for the difference in size between components and pads, reduce complexity, reduce processing steps, (Credelle, Column 1, lines 45-68, Column 6, line 60-Column 7, line 44).
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kingsford (US 2007/0025108 A1) in view of Forster (US 2006/0043198 A1; herein referenced as “Forster’198”) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Forster (US 2019/0356173 A1; herein referenced as “Forster’173”).
Regarding Claim 15, Kingsford in view of Forster’198 teaches the limitations of the preceding claim.
Kingsford does not disclose the bus of claim 14, wherein the at least one device includes a rectifier circuit configured to convert an alternating current signal from one or more of the plurality of bus conductors into direct current.
Forster (US 2019/0356173 A1) teaches of a device (Fig 1) wherein at least one device (102) includes a rectifier circuit ([0020]) configured to convert an alternating current signal ([0020]) into direct current ([0020]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bus and conductors as taught by Kingsford in view of Forster’198, wherein the at least one device includes a rectifier circuit configured to convert an alternating current signal from one or more of the plurality of bus conductors into direct current as taught by Forster’173, in order to derive energy from radio frequency signals, convert AC to DC, assist in a retail environment and transmit or receive signals to or from a smartphone (Forster’173, [0003,0019-0020]).
Please note that in the instant application, [0059-0062], applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kingsford (US 2007/0025108 A1) in view of Forster (US 2006/0043198 A1; herein referenced as “Forster’198”) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Forster (US 2014/0139347 A1; herein referenced as “Forster’347”).
Regarding Claim 16, Kingsford in view of Forster’198 teaches the limitations of the preceding claim.
Kingsford does not disclose the bus of claim 14, wherein the at least one device includes a detector circuit configured to demodulate data from a data signal received from one or more of the plurality of bus conductors.
Forster (US 2014/0139347 A1) teaches of a device (Fig 1-2), wherein at least one device (Fig 1) includes a detector circuit (106) configured to demodulate data ([0028-0032]) from a data signal ([0032]) received from one or more of a plurality of bus conductors (112).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bus and conductors as taught by Kingsford in view of Forster’198, wherein the at least one device includes a detector circuit configured to demodulate data from a data signal received from one or more of the plurality of bus conductors as taught by Forster’347, in order to communicate or provide information associated with a product, provide security, provide simplicity, provide low power consumption and control illumination of an LED (Forster’347, [0002,0020-0023,0032-0036]).
Please note that in the instant application, [0059], applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Claim states “a detector circuit configured to demodulate data from a data signal received from one or more of the plurality of bus conductors” however it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987)
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kingsford (US 2007/0025108 A1) in view of Forster (US 2006/0043198 A1; herein referenced as “Forster’198”) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Forster (US 2009/0219137 A1; herein referenced as “Forster’137”).
Regarding Claim 17, Kingsford in view of Forster’198 teaches the limitations of the preceding claim including the device coupled to one or more bus conductors.
Kingsford does not disclose the bus of claim 14, wherein the at least one device includes a detector circuit configured to demodulate data from a data signal received from one or more of the plurality of bus conductors.
Forster (US 2009/0219137 A1) teaches of a device (Fig 2,4), wherein at least one device (60) includes an oscillator circuit ([0128]) configured to modulate data or power ([0128]) that is coupled (Fig 2,4).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bus and conductors as taught by Kingsford in view of Forster’198, wherein the at least one device includes an oscillator circuit configured to modulate data or power as taught by Forster’137, in order to control a rate of output, control voltage, and generate clock signal (Forster’137, Abstract, [0031,0097-0128]), such that wherein the at least one device includes an oscillator circuit configured to modulate data or power that is coupled onto one or more of the plurality of bus conductors.
Please note that in the instant application, [0059], applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Claim states “a detector circuit configured to demodulate data from a data signal received from one or more of the plurality of bus conductors” however it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987)
Claim(s) 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kingsford (US 2007/0025108 A1) in view of Forster (US 2006/0043198 A1; herein referenced as “Forster’198”).
Regarding Claim 18, Kingsford discloses a bus (Fig 1-2,4,5) for roll-to-roll processing (Fig 5), comprising: a flexible ([0058]) non-conductive substrate (12,27,48) configured for roll-to-roll processing (see Fig 5; [0068-0088]); and a plurality of flexible bus conductors (40,112-120; [0062,0065]) disposed on the substrate (12,27,48), configured to: transfer one or more of power ([0065]) or data signals ([0065]), and receive a plurality (see Fig 5) of devices (42,50) with straps (14) that are configured to be coupled to at least two bus conductors (40,112-120).
Kingsford does not explicitly disclose a plurality of devices with straps that are configured to be capacitively coupled to at least two bus conductors using a pressure sensitive adhesive.
Forster (US 2006/0043198 A1) teaches of a bus (Fig 2) wherein at least one device (26) is capacitively coupled ([0041-0042]; 13,24a,24b) by respective ones of at least one strap (16) to at least two bus conductors (20,20 as seen in Fig 2) of a plurality of bus conductors via a pressure sensitive adhesive (30,32; [0051,0078]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bus as disclosed by Kingsford, wherein a plurality of devices with straps that are configured to be capacitively coupled to at least two bus conductors using a pressure sensitive adhesive as taught by Forster’198, in order to provide indirect electric coupling, provide reactive coupling, compensate for changes in thickness, and compensate for misalignment (Forster’198, [0039,0046]).
The Claim states a “roll-to-roll processing” but “roll-to-roll processing” does not represent product structure but only refers to the process by which the layers are formed. Thus the Claim is a product claim that recites a process step(s) of roll-to-roll, and is thus treated as a product-by-process claim. See MPEP 2113.
Regarding Claim 20, Kingsford discloses a method (Fig 1,2,4,5), comprising: receiving, in a roll-to-roll processing device (Fig 5; e.g. 11; [0068-0088]), a roll of flexible non-conductive substrate (12,27,48; [0058]) that includes, disposed on the substrate, a plurality of flexible bus conductors ([0084]) configured to receive a plurality of devices (42,50) with straps (14) and transfer one or more of power ([0065]) or data ([0065]) signals between the plurality of devices; and attaching (see Fig 5), in a roll to roll processing device (Fig 5) and using a pressure sensitive adhesive, each of the plurality of devices (42,50) with straps (14) to at least two of the plurality of flexible bus conductors (40,112-120; [0065]), wherein the pressure sensitive adhesive capacitively couples each device to the at least two of the plurality of flexible bus conductors.
Kingsford does not explicitly disclose using a pressure sensitive adhesive and wherein the pressure sensitive adhesive capacitively couples each device to the at least two of the plurality of flexible bus conductors.
Forster (US 2006/0043198 A1) teaches of a bus (Fig 2) wherein at least one device (26) is capacitively coupled ([0041-0042]; 13,24a,24b) by respective ones of at least one strap (16) to at least two bus conductors (20,20 as seen in Fig 2) of a plurality of bus conductors via a pressure sensitive adhesive (30,32; [0051,0078]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as disclosed by Kingsford, comprising using a pressure sensitive adhesive and wherein the pressure sensitive adhesive capacitively couples each device to the at least two of the plurality of flexible bus conductors as taught by Forster’198, in order to provide indirect electric coupling, provide reactive coupling, compensate for changes in thickness, and compensate for misalignment (Forster’198, [0039,0046]).
Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kingsford (US 2007/0025108 A1) in view of Forster (US 2006/0043198 A1; herein referenced as “Forster’198”) as applied to claim 18 above and further in view of Forster (US 2019/0356173 A1; herein referenced as “Forster’173”).
Regarding Claim 19, Kingsford in view of Forster’198 teaches the limitations of the preceding claim and Kingsford further teaches the bus for roll-to-roll processing (Fig 5) of claim 18, further comprising: a plurality of devices (42) with straps (14), each device attached to respective bus conductors with pressure sensitive adhesive (as taught in view of Forster’198) via roll-to-roll processing (see Fig 5 of Kingsford).
Kingsford does not disclose each selected from the group consisting of an energy harvester device, an energy storage device, an energy consuming device, a sensor device, and a control device.
Forster (US 2019/0356173 A1) teaches of a device (Fig 1) wherein at least one device (102) is an energy harvester device ([0020]) selected from the group consisting of: a photovoltaic cell, a radio frequency energy harvester ([0020]), and a mechanical energy harvester.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bus as taught by Kingsford in view of Forster’198, wherein each selected from the group consisting of an energy harvester device, an energy storage device, an energy consuming device, a sensor device, and a control device as taught by Forster’173, in order to derive energy from radio frequency signals, convert AC to DC, assist in a retail environment and transmit or receive signals to or from a smartphone (Forster’173, [0003,0019-0020]).
Please note that in the instant application, [0048-0050], applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
The Claim states a “roll-to-roll processing” but “roll-to-roll processing” does not represent product structure but only refers to the process by which the layers are formed. Thus the Claim is a product claim that recites a process step(s) of roll-to-roll, and is thus treated as a product-by-process claim. See MPEP 2113.
Conclusion
/ROSHN K VARGHESE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847